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Executive 
Summary  

 
Executive Summary                                                     
DUI in Utah FY 2008 

DUI-Related Fatalities Decreased in 2007 
◘ DUI-related fatalities in Utah decreased from 68 in calendar year 2006 to 67 in 

calendar year 2007. 

◘ Utah maintained the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the nation in CY 2007, 
at 22 percent.  The most recent national average was 41 percent (CY 2006). 

Law Enforcement:  Arrests 
◘ There were 15,297 DUI arrests in FY 2008, 639 more than the previous year.  

The majority of the arrests, nearly 81 percent, were for violation of the .08 blood 
alcohol concentration (BAC) per se statute. 

◘ Fifty-eight percent of all arrests for DUI were made by municipal law 
enforcement agencies. 

◘  Seventy-eight percent of DUI drivers were male. 

◘ Ten percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.  DUI drivers 
ages 25 through 36 accounted for 38 percent of all arrests. 

◘ The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber, 
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 66 percent of the total 
arrests. 

◘ The average BAC was .14, with the highest at .41, over five times the legal limit! 
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Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions 
◘ Justice Courts handled the bulk of the DUI cases, with 11,229 (85%); District 

Courts handled 2,052 DUI cases (15%). 

◘ Seventy-six percent of District Court DUI cases and 59 percent of Justice Court 
DUI cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. 

◘ Justice Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
1,058 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 819 cases, 
and ordered ignition interlock devices in 358 cases. 

◘ District Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
417 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 633 cases, and 
ordered ignition interlock devices in 353 cases. 

◘ The average jail sentence for a DUI offense was 146 days and the average fine 
for a DUI conviction was $1,488.50. 

Driver License Control 
◘ The Driver License Division conducted 4,703 hearings to determine if there was 

sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the individual’s 
driver license. 

◘ In 1,969 cases, either the arresting officer or the DUI offender used the 
telephonic option to call in for the driver license hearing. 

Recommended Action 
The Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence (USAAV) Coordinating 
Council’s DUI Subcommittee recommends the following action by the   
Utah Legislature: 

◘ Create Incentives for DUI Offenders to Complete Court-Ordered 
Sanctions, Including Substance Abuse Treatment 

• Provide for the exclusion of a conviction for impaired driving from a person’s 
motor vehicle record if:  the reporting court notifies the Driver License Division 
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that the defendant is participating in or has successfully completed a DUI Court 
program, and the court administering the program is approved as a DUI Court 
by the Utah Judicial Council (does not apply to commercial driver licensees or 
violations that occur in a commercial motor vehicle). 

• Provide that the Driver License Division shall reinstate a person’s driver license 
prior to completion of the 90 day suspension period immediately upon receiving 
written verification of the person’s conviction for impaired driving if:  the written 
verification is received prior to the completion of the suspension period, the 
reporting court notifies the Driver License Division that the defendant is 
participating in or has successfully completed a DUI Court program, and the 
court administering the program is approved as a DUI Court by the Utah 
Judicial Council. 

• Provide that if an impaired driving conviction is amended to a DUI conviction, 
the Driver License Division may not subtract from any suspension or revocation 
any time for which a license was previously suspended or revoked, and shall 
start the suspension or revocation time on the date of the amended conviction.  

◘ Amend the Not a Drop Statute to Address Individuals Who Are 
Unable to Complete Recommended Action 

• Provide that the requirement that the reinstatement of a person’s license for a 
person under 21 years of age operating a vehicle with a detectable amount of 
alcohol in the person’s body is contingent upon the person’s completion of an 
action recommended by a local substance abuse authority or a substance 
abuse program is only applicable within five years after the effective date of the 
license sanction.  

◘ Eliminate the Requirement that Administrative Alcohol 
Hearings Must be Held in the County of Arrest 
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Introduction 
ohn Anthony Edwards and three of his friends were on their way home from a 
movie shortly after midnight on Sunday morning, July 1, 2007.  Their car was 
stopped for a red light on 31st Street in Ogden when a three-quarter ton pickup 

truck going at least 63 miles per hour slammed into them, “leaving the car crumpled like 
a ball of aluminum foil”.  Edwards, 17, who was sitting in the back seat of the car, was 
killed.  Colt Hampton, also 17 and in the back seat, was taken to the hospital in critical 
condition, and to this day still suffers from physical problems and must undergo 
reconstructive surgeries.  Fortunately, the two 16-year-old girls in the front seat, Keltsey 
Miller and Mikell Bennion, were not badly injured.   

According to the Ogden Standard-Examiner, the driver of the pickup truck, 35-year-old 
Daniel Rodriguez, was “no stranger to alcohol-related arrests”.  And yet, with a history 
of DUI, alcohol-related reckless driving and public intoxication, Rodriguez chose to get 
behind the wheel of his car with a blood alcohol content of .17, more than twice Utah’s 
legal limit.  After hitting the teens’ car he fled the scene, but a witness led police to a 
home where they found him passed out.  Rodriguez had an alcohol restriction on his 
license, which meant he was prohibited from driving after consuming any amount of 
alcohol.  He was eventually sentenced to prison for up to 15 years after pleading guilty 
to second-degree felony automobile homicide.  In exchange for his pleading guilty, 
charges for leaving the scene and driving on a restricted license were dismissed.         

This incident provided Utah’s first DUI-related statistics for FY 2008, less than one hour 
into the new year.1  But the numbers don’t begin to describe the very human side of 
DUI tragedy.  John Edwards’ mother summed it up as follows:  “It hurts so bad to know 
I will never have the opportunity to hug him, touch him, hear his voice, see his face o
be able to stand next to my big six-foot-four baby boy again.  No other family should 
have to experience the pain and heartache we are now living with, each and every
without John.”

r 

 day 

                                                                          

1 Information for the DUI incident involving John Anthony Edwards was obtained from newspaper articles by 
Salt Lake Tribune reporters Steve Gehrke and Stephen Hunt, and Standard-Examiner reporter Victoria 
Johnson.  

Introduction 
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Purpose of the Report 
The Sixth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was 
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code.  The statute requires the 
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI 
related data, including the following: 

 Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement 
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving 
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs; 

 Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements 
collected by the state courts); and 

 Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and 
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of: 

o law enforcement; 

o adjudication; 

o sanctions; 

o drivers’ license control; and 

o alcohol education, assessment, and treatment. 
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2008 DUI and Related Legislation 

The following bills and appropriations were passed by the                                          
Utah Legislature in the 2008 General Session:  

S.B. 15  Driving Under the Influence Amendments       
        Senator Carlene Walker 
     

Amends the definition of "drug" or "drugs" to mean:  a controlled 
substance as defined in Section 58-37-2 (Controlled Substances Act); 
a drug as defined in Section 58-17b-102 (Pharmacy Practice Act); or 
any substance that, when knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly taken 
into the human body, can impair the ability of a person to safely 
operate a motor vehicle. 
     
Enacts an impaired driving plea; provides that a plea to a driving 
under the influence violation for an offense committed after July 1, 
2008 may be entered as an impaired driving conviction in certain 
circumstances; and provides that an impaired driving violation is a 
class B misdemeanor.  
 
Provides requirements for a court entering a conviction of impaired 
driving in certain circumstances; requires the court to notify the Driver 
License Division of an impaired driving conviction; and provides 
sentencing requirements for impaired driving convictions.  
 
Provides that certain plea requirements, when the prosecution agrees 
to a plea of guilty or no contest to an alcohol or drug-related reckless 
charge in satisfaction or substitute of an original charge of driving 
under the influence, only apply to an offense committed before July 1, 
2008.  
 
Clarifies that certain license reinstatement provisions only apply to a 
certain 90-day suspension period imposed by the Driver License 
Division.  
 
Increases the administrative impound fee from $230 to $330 for a 
driving under the influence violation impound and appropriates as an 
ongoing appropriation subject to future budget constraints:  $660,000 
from the General Fund for fiscal year 2008-09 to the Department of 
Public Safety, Utah Highway Patrol; and $660,000 from the General 
Fund for fiscal year 2008-09 to the Department of Public Safety, 
Liquor Law Enforcement Program. 
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H.B. 178 Jurisdiction for Prosecution 
    Representative Paul Neuenschwander 
 

Clarifies the territorial jurisdiction of justice courts, including situations 
such as:  when the offense is committed in or on a vehicle, railroad 
car, or watercraft passing through the jurisdiction of the court; when 
the offense is committed on a body of water adjacent to the 
jurisdiction of the court; when an unlawful communication is sent or 
received within the jurisdiction; or when an element of an offense is 
committed within the jurisdiction. 

 
H.B. 371 Digital Certificates for Breathalyzers 
    Representative Christopher Herrod 
 

Allows the Department of Public Safety to digitize certificates of 
calibration for breathalyzers. 
 
Requires that the Department of Public Safety provide a secure 
location on its website to post the digital certificates. 

 

Appropriations 
 

CEASE DUI:  Computer Expedited Arrest System to Eliminate DUI  

The 2008 Legislature appropriated $750,000 in one-time funding (to 
be utilized over three years) to the Utah Commission on Criminal and 
Juvenile Justice to implement CEASE DUI.  CEASE DUI is an 
innovative redesign of Utah’s citation system to ensure that data flows 
seamlessly between law enforcement agencies, the courts, and the 
state’s criminal justice databases.   
 
Using the CEASE DUI system a local law enforcement officer will 
enter the data directly into the Utah Criminal Justice Information 
System (UCJIS) system, thus eliminating much of the paperwork 
necessary to issue a citation.  Once entered into the system, the data 
will flow directly to both prosecution and courts, improving both the 
timeliness and accuracy of Utah’s criminal justice information systems 
and decreasing the time to complete paperwork.  In addition, this 
system will facilitate the production and filing of search warrants, 
further streamlining the citation workflow. 

 8 



S I X T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

CEASE DUI will use the same techniques and technologies as the 
citation system to re-design jail booking workflow, again improving the 
timeliness and accuracy of Utah’s criminal justice information systems 
and ensuring that officers spend less time completing the necessary 
paperwork and are back to their enforcement duties more quickly.  
System advantages include: 

 
• Improves accuracy of data available to prosecutors and courts; 

  
• Enhances the accuracy and timeliness of data available in the 

state criminal justice databases; and 
 

• Improves disposition reporting for DUIs, domestic violence and 
other serious offenses. 

  
The CEASE DUI funding will be granted over a three-year period to 
enforcement agencies to purchase the technology to link state and 
local criminal justice information systems together.  In addition, a 
portion of the funding will be used to evaluate Utah’s DUI initiatives to 
measure program effectiveness. 

 

Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account 
 (§32A-1-115) 

The 2008 Legislature appropriated $5,425,600  to the Alcoholic 
Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account for FY 
2008-09.  Funding from this account is distributed on a formula basis 
to Utah’s municipalities and counties to be used for the following 
purposes:  (1) DUI law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law 
enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases,  
(4) treatment of alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/ 
prevention, and (6) confinement of alcohol law offenders.     
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2008 USAAV DUI Subcommittee 

The Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence (USAAV)                                     
Coordinating Council DUI Subcommittee members represent                                         
agencies and organizations dealing with the DUI issue in Utah.  With the support and 
action of Utah’s Legislature and other key leaders and policymakers, the subcommittee 
continues to work to strengthen Utah’s ability to effectively address the DUI problem.  

Anna Kay Waddoups 
Citizen Member and Chair 

David Beach Director, Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Brent Berkley 
 

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor 
Utah Prosecution Council 

Bart Blackstock Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director 
Driver License Division, Department of Public Safety 

Paul Boyden Executive Director 
Statewide Association of Prosecutors 

Neil Cohen Compliance Officer 
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Colonel Lance Davenport Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Patty Fox Post-Trial Services Program Manager 
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services 

Kim Gibb Bureau Chief, Driver License Division 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Chief Wayne Hansen Farmington Police Department 
Utah Chiefs of Police Association 

Gail Johnson Education Specialist 
Utah State Office of Education 

Teri Pectol Program Manager, Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety  

Richard Schwermer Assistant State Court Administrator 
Administrative Office of the Courts 

Sheriff Kirk Smith Washington County Sheriff’s Office 
Utah Sheriffs Association 

Senator Carlene Walker Senator 
Utah State Senate 

Holly Watson Substance Abuse Education Program Manager 
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Mary Lou Emerson                                                                                    Monica Taylor
Director, USAAV Council                                 Administrative Assistant, USAAV/CCJJ
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Law Enforcement 
The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway 
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests.  In FY 2008, Utah law enforcement 
officers made 15,297 DUI arrests, 639 more than in the previous year.   

DUI Arrests 
DUI Arrests by Type 
As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in 
FY 2008 was very similar to previous years.  The majority of the arrests, nearly 81 
percent, were for violations of the per se law, for driving at or above the legal blood 
alcohol concentration level of .08.  Almost 12 percent of arrests were for refusal to 
submit to a chemical test.  Under Utah law, any person who operates a motor vehicle is 
considered to have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids for the 
purpose of determining whether they are driving in violation of the DUI laws.  Refusal 
may result in revocation of the driver license and prohibition of driving without an 
ignition interlock device.  It is also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled 
substance or metabolite in one’s body, which accounted for one percent of arrests.  
Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 who drove with any 
measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for nearly six percent of the 
arrests.  The fewest arrests were of commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit, which 
represented only 0.2 percent of the total.         

FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008  
DUI Arrests by Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Per se Alcohol (.08) 10,747 76.0% 11,732 80.0% 12,368 80.8%
Refusal of BAC Test 1,800 12.7% 1,737 11.9% 1,802 11.8%
Not a Drop (< 21) 837 5.9% 910 6.2% 902 5.9%
Drug or Metabolite 718 5.1% 251 1.7% 195 1.3%
Commercial Driver (.04) 36 0.3% 28 0.2% 30 0.2%
TOTAL 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

Law 
Enforcement 

2 
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events 
The arrests made in FY 2008 included those that occurred as a result of specialized 
DUI overtime enforcement events specifically targeted at removing drivers under the 
influence of alcohol and/or other drugs from Utah’s roads.  A portion of the DUI 
impound fees collected was specifically designated to fund the overtime shifts.  During 
FY 2008, 78 law enforcement agencies throughout the state participated in overtime 
events, including local police agencies, Sheriffs’ offices, and the Utah Highway Patrol.   

The table below shows all measures associated with DUI overtime enforcement events 
decreased from FY 2007 to FY 2008.  Of the total 1,286 DUI arrests in FY 2008, 1,066 
were for DUI-alcohol, 141 were for DUI-drug, and 79 were for metabolite.  Among the 
individuals arrested, 803 submitted to a breath test, 134 submitted to a blood test, 57 
submitted to a urine test, and 135 refused all chemical tests.     

Statewide DUI Overtime 
Enforcement Events FY 2007 FY 2008 Percent Change 

FY 07 – FY 08 
5-Hour Shifts Worked 2,347 1,956 -16.7% 
Vehicles Stopped 18,642 14,867 -20.2% 
DUI Arrests 1,536 1,286 -16.3% 
Vehicles Impounded 1,436 1,206 -16.0% 
Alcohol-Related Arrests* 862 747 -13.3%  
Drug-Related Arrests** 631 460 -27.1% 
Warrants Served 528 429 -18.7% 
Other Warnings/Citations 19,276 15,942 -17.3% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*Includes open container and youth alcohol violations (possession, consumption, attempted purchase, Not a Drop) 
**For example, drug possession 
   

DUI Arrests by Agency Type 
More than half of all arrests in FY 2008, nearly 58 percent, were made by municipal 
law enforcement agencies, with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for almost 25 
percent of arrests, and Sheriffs’ Offices responsible for 18 percent of DUI arrests. 

FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 DUI Arrests by  
Agency Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Sheriffs’ Offices 2,329 16.5% 2,386 16.3% 2,728 17.8%
City Police/Other 8,441 59.7% 8,979 61.2% 8,805 57.6%
Highway Patrol 3,368 23.8% 3,293 22.5% 3,764 24.6%
TOTAL 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Gender 
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female 
arrestees have remained very consistent over the past three years.  In FY 2008, 78 
percent were male and 21 percent were female. 
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FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008  
DUI Arrests by Gender Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Male 11,160 78.9% 11,611 79.2% 11,965 78.2%
Female 2,955 20.9% 3,024 20.6% 3,272 21.4%
Unspecified 23 0.2% 23 0.2% 60 0.4%
TOTAL 14,138 100.00% 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Age 
The youngest DUI driver in FY 2008 was 14 years old.  Ten percent of arrestees 
were under the legal drinking age of 21.  Drivers between the ages of 25 and 36 
accounted for 38 percent of all arrests.  

FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008  
DUI Arrests by Age Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Unknown 0 0.0% 0 0.0% 2 0.0%
13-20 1,606 11.4% 1,643 11.2% 1,612 10.5%
21-24 2,633 18.6% 2,726 18.7% 2,887 18.9%
25-36 5,110 36.1% 5,488 37.4% 5,882 38.4%
37-48 3,143 22.2% 3,081 21.0% 3,132 20.5%
49+ 1,646 11.7% 1,720 11.7% 1,782 11.7%
TOTAL 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Month 
As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2008, with 
an average arrest rate of 1,275 per month.  The highest number of arrests occurred in 
March (1,370), with the lowest number of arrests in January (1,139). 

FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008  
DUI Arrests by Month Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
July 1,291 9.1% 1,214 8.3% 1,302 8.5%
August 1,202 8.5% 1,228 8.4% 1,312 8.6%
September 1,174 8.3% 1,314 9.0% 1,353 8.8%
October 1,233 8.7% 1,250 8.5% 1,242 8.1%
November 1,123 7.9% 1,178 8.0% 1,270 8.3%
December 1,211 8.6% 1,257 8.6% 1,307 8.5%
January 1,184 8.4% 1,175 8.0% 1,139 7.4%
February 1,016 7.3% 1,100 7.5% 1,176 7.8%
March 1,264 8.9% 1,246 8.5% 1,370 9.0%
April 1,159 8.2% 1,202 8.2% 1,245 8.1%
May 1,161 8.2% 1,277 8.7% 1,314 8.6%
June 1,120 7.9% 1,217 8.3% 1,267 8.3%
TOTAL 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

15 



S I X T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

DUI Arrests by County 
Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 2008 occurred along 
the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 66 
percent (10,088) of the total.  Salt Lake County had the highest number of arrests with 
5,073 (33%), while Piute County had the fewest arrests with three (0.0%).  The table 
below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the percentage of both total 
population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.   

DUI Arrests 
FY 2008 

Population Estimate
July 1, 2007 

Vehicle Miles Traveled 
Calendar Year 2007 County 

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Beaver 60 0.4% 6,466 0.2% 256,056,502 0.9%
Box Elder 211 1.4% 47,491 1.8% 915,253,384 3.4%
Cache 514 3.4% 109,022 4.0% 980,858,779 3.7%
Carbon 239 1.6% 19,730 0.7% 290,210,793 1.1%
Daggett 7 0.0% 969 0.0% 32,946,533 0.1%
Davis 1,753 11.5% 296,029 11.0% 2,520,879,593 9.4%
Duchesne 155 1.0% 16,163 0.6% 235,057,772 0.9%
Emery 82 0.5% 10,461 0.4% 359,607,553 1.3%
Garfield 28 0.2% 4,872 0.2% 119,839,052 0.5%
Grand 164 1.1% 9,125 0.3% 287,000,666 1.1%
Iron 405 2.7% 44,813 1.7% 705,076,284 2.6%
Juab 223 1.5% 9,654 0.4% 416,231,534 1.5%
Kane 110 0.7% 6,440 0.2% 151,567,592 0.6%
Millard 127 0.8% 13,414 0.5% 459,793,726 1.7%
Morgan 35 0.2% 9,265 0.3% 142,725,364 0.5%
Piute 3 0.0% 1,385 0.1% 31,273,031 0.1%
Rich 5 0.0% 2,162 0.1% 49,909,317 0.2%
Salt Lake 5,073 33.2% 1,018,904 37.7% 8,795,336,836 32.8%
San Juan 139 0.9% 14,807 0.5% 279,380,331 1.0%
Sanpete 134 0.9% 26,464 1.0% 234,613,884 0.9%
Sevier 162 1.1% 20,442 0.8% 420,130,782 1.6%
Summit 346 2.3% 38,412 1.4% 777,266,807 2.9%
Tooele 508 3.3% 56,536 2.1% 912,517,523 3.4%
Uintah 478 3.1% 28,806 1.1% 351,701,949 1.3%
Utah 1,847 12.1% 501,447 18.6% 3,736,343,198 13.9%
Wasatch 176 1.1% 21,951 0.8% 305,710,283 1.1%
Washington 891 5.8% 140,908 5.2% 1,382,098,903 5.2%
Wayne 7 0.0% 2,635 0.1% 40,181,829 0.2%
Weber 1,415 9.2% 220,781 8.2% 1,634,674,536 6.1%
TOTAL 15,297 100.0% 2,699,554 100.0% 26,824,244,333 100.0%
Source for DUI Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source for Population Data:  Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget, Demographic and Economic Analysis Section 
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled:  Utah Department of Transportation 
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DUI Arrests by Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) 
The average BAC remained at .14 during FY 2008, with the highest BAC recorded at 
.41, over five times the legal limit! 

FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 DUI Arrests by Blood 
Alcohol Content Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

BAC Results Not Reported 3,375 23.9% 3,428 23.4% 3,536 23.1%
.01 - .07 897 6.3% 924 6.3% 982 6.4%
.08 - .10 1,497 10.6% 1,569 10.7% 1,617 10.6%
.11 - .15 2,676 18.9% 2,854 19.5% 3,072 20.1%
.16 - .20 1,950 13.8% 2,127 14.5% 2,129 13.9%
.21 - .25 819 5.8% 873 6.0% 935 6.1%

.26+ 362 2.6% 382 2.6% 357 2.3%
Refused BAC Test 1,775 12.6% 1,808 12.3% 1,815 11.9%
No Test/Unknown 540 3.8% 470 3.2% 607 4.0%

Drug Only 247 1.7% 223 1.5% 247 1.6%
TOTAL 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest 
The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest.  Data 
were calculated by selecting offenders arrested in FY 2008 as a starting point, then 
counting back 10 years to determine previous arrests.  Each offender was placed in 
an arrest type column determined by the type of the most recent arrest.  Finally, the 
total number of arrests reflected in this table is fewer than the total arrests for FY 
2008 because each offender was counted only once, although the offender may 
have been arrested more than one time during the fiscal year.  The data show 
approximately 67 percent of arrests were for a first offense, 21 percent were for a 
second offense, 8 percent were for a third offense, and four percent were for a 
fourth or subsequent offense.     
 

Arrest 
Type TOTAL 

Offense 

Per se 
Alcohol 

(.08) 

Refusal 
of BAC 

Test 

Not a 
Drop 
(< 21) 

Drug or 
Metabolite

Commercial 
Driver 
(.04) Number Percent 

First 7,913 930 463 151 13 9,470 66.8%
Second 2,173 406 364 25 11 2,979 21.0%
Third 879 190 35 6 1 1,111 7.8%
Fourth 267 108 11 3 1 390 2.8%
Fifth 102 40 2 0 0 144 1.0%
Sixth 30 19 0 1 0 50 0.3%
Seventh 20 5 0 0 0 25 0.2%
Eighth 8 1 1 0 0 10 0.1%
Ninth 2 1 0 0 0 3 0.0%
Tenth + 2 4 0 0 0 6 0.0%
TOTAL 11,396 1,704 876 186 26 14,188 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 
According to the Utah Department of Public Safety Highway Safety Office, a DUI-related 
crash occurs in Utah every three hours.  The following table shows the total number of 
DUI-related vehicle crashes for each calendar year from 1998 to 2007, including the 
number of persons injured and the number of persons killed as a result of the crashes.  
The number of DUI-related fatalities in Utah decreased from calendar year 2006 to 2007, 
and Utah maintained the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the nation in calendar year 
2007, at 22 percent.  The most recent national average was 41 percent (National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration, Calendar Year 2006). 

DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, 1998-2007 
Injuries Fatalities Calendar 

Year 
Total 

DUI-Related 
Crashes 

Total 
Injured 

Persons 

DUI-Related 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI- 

Related 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

DUI-
Related 

Fatalities 

Percent 
DUI-

Related 
1998 1,909 30,232 1,771 5.9% 350 49 14.0% 
1999 2,045 29,959 1,849 6.2% 360 72 20.0% 
2000 2,163 30,086 1,846 6.1% 373 90 24.1% 
2001 2,150 29,375 1,764 6.0% 291 67 23.0% 
2002 2,104 30,433 1,685 5.5% 328 74 22.6% 
2003 1,947 28,352 1,360 4.8% 309 45 14.6% 
2004 1,966 29,638 1,570 5.3% 296 79 26.7% 
2005 2,056 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 45 16.0% 
2006 2,674 27,257 1,966 7.2% 287 68 23.7% 
2007 Not Available Not Available 299 67 22.4% 

Information Compiled by:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Data Source:  1998-2006 Utah Crash Data and 1998-2007 Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) Data 

 
The figure below illustrates the DUI-related crash fatality data in the table above for 
Utah, from 1998 to 2007. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

   

 

 

     Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
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Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled 
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and 
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, from 1998 to 2007. 

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and           
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, 1998-2007 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
10,000 Population 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 100 
Million Vehicle Miles Traveled 

Calendar 
Year DUI-

Related 
Fatalities Population Rate Vehicle Miles 

Traveled Rate 

1998 49 2,141,632 0.23 21,236,980,216 0.23 
1999 72 2,193,014 0.33 21,867,355,694 0.33 
2000 90 2,246,553 0.40 22,517,131,427 0.40 
2001 67 2,295,971 0.29 23,398,734,621 0.29 
2002 74 2,338,761 0.32 24,438,992,554 0.30 
2003 45 2,385,358 0.19 23,963,242,376 0.19 
2004 79 2,469,230 0.32 24,624,791,795 0.32 
2005 45 2,547,389 0.18 25,129,538,952 0.18 
2006 68 2,615,129 0.26 26,166,885,473 0.25 
2007 67 2,699,554 0.25 26,824,244,333 0.25 

Information Compiled by:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Data Source:  Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) Data, 1998-2007 

 
The figure below illustrates the rate of DUI-related fatalities in Utah from 1998 to 
2007, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled.   

 
Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled  
of DUI-Related Fatalities in Utah, 1998-2007 
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Day and Hour of DUI-Related Crashes 
The Highway Safety Office reports in calendar year 2006, the highest percentage of 
DUI-related crashes, including property damage only crashes, injury crashes and fatal 
crashes, occurred on Saturday.  DUI-related injury crashes peaked in the evening and 
early morning hours, between 5:00 p.m. and 2:00 a.m.  Fatal DUI-related crashes 
varied by hour, and peaked at 1:00 a.m. 

Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement 
The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other alcohol-
related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities.  For FY 2008, the 
Legislature appropriated $4,984,800 to be distributed from the Alcoholic Beverage 
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32A-1-115) to municipalities and 
counties statewide on a formula basis.2  Funds can be spent in one or more of six 
general categories:  (1) DUI law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law 
enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of 
alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of 
alcohol law offenders.  Communities receiving more than $1,000 in beer tax revenues 
are required to submit an Annual Report to the Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-
Violence Coordinating Council by October 1st of each year, outlining how funds were 
utilized, whether the programs or projects funded were effective, and certifying the 
funds were used in accordance with the law.  Municipalities and counties that do not 
submit their reports by the deadline forfeit their alcohol funds for the current fiscal year 
and these funds are then allocated to other entities, in accordance with the statute. 

The following table shows how FY 2008 funds were utilized, as reported in the Alcohol 
Funds Annual Reports received to date. 

 
FY 2008 Alcohol Funds Reports 

How Funds Were Used - As of 10/22/08 

Number of 
Communities 

(N =164) 

 
 

Percent3

DUI Law Enforcement 91 55.5% 
General Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 99 60.4% 
Prosecution/Court Costs for Alcohol-Related Cases 46 28.0% 
Treatment of Alcohol Problems 8 4.9% 
Alcohol-Related Education/Prevention 64 39.0% 
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 15 9.1% 
Source:  Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council, FY 2008 Alcohol Funds Annual Reports 
 

                                                                          

2 In accordance with §32A-1-115 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes funds to municipalities and 
counties in December of each year based upon the following formula:  percentage of state population (25%); 
percentage of statewide convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); percentage of all state stores, 
package agencies, liquor licensees, and beer licensees (20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes 
(for alcohol-related offenses) based upon the percentage of the state population (25% to counties only). 

3 Communities may use alcohol funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute. 
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Adjudications and Sanctions 
DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type 
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense.  Misdemeanor cases are handled in 
Justice Courts, which are sponsored by municipalities and counties.  Felony cases and 
cases not referred to the Justice Courts are handled in state District Courts.  Of the 
13,281 DUI cases that went to court during FY 2008, District Courts handled 2,052 (15 
percent) and Justice Courts handled 11,229 (85 percent).  The number of DUI cases 
disposed in the state’s District Courts and the number of DUI cases charged in the 
Justice Courts both increased by about one percent from FY 2007 to FY 2008. 

 
DUI Cases in Utah’s Courts 

 
FY 2006 

 
FY 2007 

 
FY 2008 

% Change  
FY 07 – FY 08

District Court Cases Disposed 2,386 2,025 2,052 +1.3% 
Justice Court Charges 9,896 11,074 11,229 +1.4% 
Total DUI Cases 12,282 13,099 13,281 +1.4% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Justice Court DUI Data 
Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes 
During FY 2008, Utah’s Justice Courts handled 11,229 DUI cases, 155 more than in FY 
2007.  The following table details the DUI cases filed in Justice Courts and their 
outcomes.  This table does not accurately represent the DUI conviction rate for the 
Justice Courts, as it includes cases filed in FY 2007 that were not resolved until          
FY 2008.  In addition, 1,961 cases were still pending resolution at the close of FY 2008. 

FY 2007 FY 2008 Justice Court DUI  
Charges and Outcomes Number Percent Number Percent 

 

% Change 
FY 07 – FY 08 

Total DUI Charges Filed 11,074 100.0% 11,229 100.0% +1.4% 
Guilty 6,875 62.1% 6,681 59.5% -2.8% 
Dismissed or Not Guilty 2,649 23.9% 2,587 23.0% -2.3% 
Cases Pending 1,550 14.0% 1,961 17.5% +26.5% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

Adjudications 
& Sanctions 

3 
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Justice Court DUI Sanctions 
The Justice Courts also track other DUI-related case information such as blood alcohol 
content (BAC) reported; screening, assessment and treatment ordered; and ignition 
interlock ordered.  The table below includes data for the 88 Justice Courts reporting to 
the Department of Public Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Identification.  The numbers 
reflect only those dispositions loaded into the Criminal History Repository, and do not 
include those in the suspense file.  The data indicate in 1,672 cases the blood alcohol 
content was known.  The table further shows judges ordered offenders to participate in 
an educational series in 1,058 cases, substance abuse treatment in 819 cases, and 
that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 358 cases. 

Justice Court DUI Sanctions FY 2007 FY 2008
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 60 88 
Blood Alcohol Content Known 803 1,672 
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 796 1,104 
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 580 819 
Educational Series Ordered 652 1,058 
Ignition Interlock Ordered 338 358 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 329 1,244 
Electronic Monitoring 29 36 
Enhancement Notification 777 1,278 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification 

   
District Court DUI Data 
District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,052 DUI cases 
processed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2008. 

FY 2008 District Court DUI Case Filings and Outcomes 
Judicial District DUI Case 

Outcomes 1st  2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th  
 
Total Percent

Deceased  2  2 0.1%
Declined Prosecution  1 2  3 0.1%
Dismissed 72 64 96 59 10 14 7 10 332 16.2%
Diversion  1  1 0.0%
Guilty 97 380 429 337 110 50 60 100 1,563 76.2%
No Contest 1 6 6 21 3 1 38 1.9%
Not Guilty  3 1  4 0.2%
Plea in Abeyance  4 4 10 2 4 1 25 1.2%
Remanded 2 2 28 3 4  39 1.9%
Transferred 1 4 7 31 2  45 2.2%
TOTAL 173 460 576 462 132 64 73 112 2,052 100.0%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
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Seventy-six percent of the cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.  The defendant was 
found not guilty in only four cases.  In 16 percent of the cases, the case was either 
dismissed or declined for prosecution.  It should be noted that this table is not an 
accurate depiction of the District Courts’ DUI conviction rates, as it only examined 
cases that were disposed of during FY 2008.  Pending cases were not included in the 
data analysis. 

District Court Repeat Offender Data 
The District Courts track how repeat DUI offenders are handled as well.  In the table 
below, which includes data for Fiscal Year 2006 through Fiscal Year 2008, the first 
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.  
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that 
criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.   

In FY 2008 for example, 30 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense, 
while 22 percent were actually third-time offenders, and 24 percent were sentenced as 
third-time offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual.  
An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the 
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues. 

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2006-20084 
Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As Offense 

FY 06 FY 07 FY 08 FY 06 FY 07 FY 08 FY 06 FY 07 FY 08 
1st Offense 59% 51% 48% 53% 49% 46% 59% 54% 50%
2nd Offense 15% 16% 18% 22% 17% 23% 21% 17% 21%
3rd Offense 22% 28% 30% 17% 26% 22% 16% 24% 24%
4th Offense 2% 3% 2% 3% 3% 4% 2% 3% 3%
5th or More 

Offense 2% 2% 2% 5% 5% 5% 2% 2% 2%

TOTAL 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court DUI Sanctions 
The District Courts also track DUI-related case information regarding sanctions ordered. 
The table on the following page shows in 603 cases the blood alcohol content was 
known.  The table further shows judges ordered offenders to participate in an 
educational series in 40 percent of cases, substance abuse treatment in 62 percent of 
cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 353 cases.  DUI offenders 
were notified 100 percent of the time that they may be subject to enhancements. 

 
                                                                          

4 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known.  In addition, the 
following cases were not included:  bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and 
transferred. 
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District Court DUI Sanctions FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008
Blood Alcohol Content Known 857 607 603 
Substance Abuse Screening and 
Assessment Ordered 

774 
(58.6%) 

620 
(63.7%) 

646 
(61.9%) 

Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 747 
(57.0%) 

626 
(64.3%) 

633 
(62.0%) 

Educational Series Ordered 573 
(44.2%) 

444 
(45.7%) 

417 
(40.2%) 

Ignition Interlock Ordered 432 288 353 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 335 516 711 
Electronic Monitoring 141 119 174 
Enhancement Notification 100.0% 100% 100% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
 
Other DUI Sanctions 
The Driver License Division tracks other DUI sanctions.  The following table lists the 
average sanctions applied against DUI offenders.  Not all offenders are ordered to 
serve a jail sentence or perform community service hours; however, all convicted DUI 
offenders are assessed a fine and a surcharge.  For a first offense, the minimum fine is 
$700; for a second offense within 10 years, the minimum fine is $800; and for a third or 
subsequent offense, the minimum fine is $1,500. 

Average Jail Sentence, 
Community Service Hours 

and Fines 
FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 

Average Jail Sentence 147.9 days 171.2 days 145.9 days
Average Community Service Hours 61.9 hours 78.9 hours 96.0 hours
Average Fine for Other Alcohol/ 
Drug Related Convictions $1,378.53 $1,321.93 $1,213.52

Average Fine for DUI Convictions $1,498.22 $1,528.52 $1,488.50
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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4 
Driver License Control 
The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or 
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following: 

• Driving under the influence 
• Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body 
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test 
• Automobile homicide 
• “No-alcohol” conditional license 
• Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation  
• Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction 

 

Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license 
is issued.  Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License 
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license. 

As shown in the table below, there were 4,703 alcohol hearings held in FY 2008.  The 
Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting officer does not 
appear at the hearing.  To improve appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic 
option, whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.  In 1,969 cases, one 
of the parties called in for the hearing.   

FY 2008 Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
 

ACD Code 
Total # of 
Hearings 

No 
Officer 

No Officer 
Telephonic

Other  
No Action 

Total  
No Action 

Total 
Telephonic

Per Se 3,983 811 120 619 1,550 1,651 
Not a Drop 201 34 6 11 51 79 
Refusal 519 89 22 64 175 239 
TOTAL 4,703 934 148 694 1,776 1,969 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Screening, Assessment, 
Education and Treatment 

Screening and Assessment 
As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to 
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment.  A 
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual 
has a problem with alcohol/other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth clinical 
assessment is appropriate.  An assessment is a collection of detailed information 
concerning the individual’s alcohol/other drug abuse, emotional and physical 
health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.  The 
assessment is used to determine the need for substance abuse treatment.5   

Education 
For a first offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must include 
participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.  The purpose 
of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be related to 
use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize the harmful 
consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the dangers of 
drinking and driving.”6  Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational series attend 
the PRIME for Life program developed by the Prevention Research Institute (PRI).  The 
16-hour curriculum presents research-based information about the risks associated with 

                                                                          

5 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7. 

6 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

Assessment, 
Education & 
Treatment 
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alcohol and other drug use that helps participants identify lifestyle choices to reduce 
their personal risks7.    

PRI conducts periodic studies of PRIME for Life participants to measure the impact on 
changing beliefs about alcohol use, understanding the risks associated with alcohol 
use, and desire to change personal drinking behavior.  In previous years this study was 
published annually, however, because the findings have been virtually identical from 
year to year, PRI now publishes the study biennially.  The next study, which will provide 
Utah data for 2008, was not available in time for inclusion in this report.  

Treatment 
For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or 
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance abuse treatment.  
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change 
patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to 
restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning.  DUI 
offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder 
should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the educational 
course.”8   Treatment should address both alcohol and other drug problems.  The level 
of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive outpatient, residential) is 
determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of the substance abuse 
disorder.     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
                                                                          
7 Prevention Research Institute, PRIME for Life Utah 2004. 

8 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 
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Utah’s Impaired Driving       
Media Campaign  
During FY 2008, the Utah Department of Public Safety’s Highway Safety Office 
statewide media and outreach campaign focused primarily on the 21-34 year old 
male.  This targeted demographic frequents or visits bars, clubs and the social 
scene.  The secondary target was 19-27 year old college students and seniors in 
high school. Both demographics are active young adults who often drink socially. 
Highway Safety also developed private partnerships with local taxicabs to 
encourage those who drink to "take a cab".  The Highway Safety Office continues 
to work to change Utah citizens’ perceptions and behaviors regarding driving under 
the influence of alcohol, and to reinforce the message that impaired driving is one 
of the most frequently committed and deadliest crimes.  
 
Utah’s multi-media campaign builds on the National Highway                                        
Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) television and radio                                         
ads and includes billboards, posters, napkins and coasters                                         
utilized inside bars and taverns, as well as a restroom stall                                    
wrapped to look like a jail cell with the message:  “There’s a                                     place 
for people who drink and drive.  It looks kind of like this.”   

     Taxicab Art               

                        Billboard 

 

 

 

29 



S I X T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

 

30 



S I X T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

Recommended 
Action 

7 
Recommended Action 
The Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence (USAAV) Coordinating 
Council’s DUI Subcommittee recommends the following action by the 
Utah Legislature: 

◘ Create Incentives for DUI Offenders to Complete Court-Ordered 
Sanctions, Including Substance Abuse Treatment 

• Provide for the exclusion of a conviction for impaired driving from a person’s 
motor vehicle record if:  the reporting court notifies the Driver License Division 
that the defendant is participating in or has successfully completed a DUI Court 
program, and the court administering the program is approved as a DUI Court 
by the Utah Judicial Council (does not apply to commercial driver licensees or 
violations that occur in a commercial motor vehicle). 

• Provide that the Driver License Division shall reinstate a person’s driver license 
prior to completion of the 90 day suspension period immediately upon receiving 
written verification of the person’s conviction for impaired driving if:  the written 
verification is received prior to the completion of the suspension period, the 
reporting court notifies the Driver License Division that the defendant is 
participating in or has successfully completed a DUI Court program, and the 
court administering the program is approved as a DUI Court by the Utah 
Judicial Council. 

• Provide that if an impaired driving conviction is amended to a DUI conviction, 
the Driver License Division may not subtract from any suspension or revocation 
any time for which a license was previously suspended or revoked, and shall 
start the suspension or revocation time on the date of the amended conviction.  
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Rationale for Recommendation 

The 2004 Utah Legislature passed S.B. 20 – Driving Under the Influence 
Amendments, which outlined the circumstances under which a plea held in 
abeyance could and could not be used in DUI cases, and enacted a prohibition on 
the use of pleas in abeyance in DUI cases as of July 1, 2006.  The bill also 
required the Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to study the use of 
pleas in abeyance in DUI cases and to report the findings to the Transportation 
Interim Committee.   In order to allow additional time to determine the impact of 
using pleas in abeyance in DUI cases, the 2006 Utah Legislature subsequently 
passed S.B. 18 – Driving Under the Influence Amendments, which extended the 
use of pleas in abeyance in DUI cases until July 1, 2008. 

The Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice report on “DUI and Pleas in 
Abeyance” was completed in October 2005 and provided a comparison of two 
Justice Courts, one that utilized a plea in abeyance in DUI cases, and one that did 
not.  The report concluded that while one court experienced a higher treatment 
success rate among DUI offenders than the other court, an overwhelming majority 
of offenders successfully completed treatment in both courts, and that it would be 
difficult, if not impossible, to attribute the higher treatment success rate in the one 
court to the use of pleas in abeyance.  The report, however, did not resolve the 
disagreement between those who advocated for continued use of pleas in 
abeyance and those who were opposed to pleas in abeyance in all DUI cases.  
Advocates felt the plea in abeyance option provided a critical incentive for 
offenders to complete court-ordered programs, especially substance abuse 
treatment.  Opponents felt the dismissal of DUI charges upon successful 
completion of court-ordered programs was an inappropriate outcome for a crime 
that caused so much heartache for its victims and their loved ones.  

A mutually acceptable agreement was reached during the 2008 Legislative 
Session when interested parties agreed to allow the plea in abeyance option in 
DUI cases to sunset as scheduled on July 1, 2008, if the Utah Substance Abuse 
and Anti-Violence (USAAV) Coordinating Council’s DUI Subcommittee agreed to 
identify other incentives for DUI offenders to complete court-ordered substance 
abuse treatment and other programs.  On February 22, 2008, USAAV joined with 
the Statewide Association of Prosecutors and Mothers Against Drunk Driving/Utah 
Chapter in signing a “Joint Statement of USAAV DUI Subcommittee Priority for 
2008-2009” as follows: 

“This Joint Statement is a commitment of the Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-
Violence (USAAV) Coordinating Council’s DUI Subcommittee, the Utah 
Statewide Association of Prosecutors and Mothers Against Drunk Driving/Utah 
Chapter to make our top priority for 2008-09 the identification of incentives for 
DUI offenders to successfully complete all court-ordered programs, including 
substance abuse treatment.  We will specifically address viable sanctions and 
incentives to encourage participation in special DUI Court programs.  Based 
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upon the sanctions and incentives identified by the DUI Subcommittee, we will 
recommend legislation for the 2009 General Session.” 

The recommendations on page 31 constitute the offender incentives identified 
by the DUI Subcommittee to take the place of pleas in abeyance in certain DUI 
cases. 

◘ Amend the Not a Drop Statute to Address Individuals Who Are 
Unable to Complete Recommended Action  

• Provide that the requirement that the reinstatement of a person’s license for a 
person under 21 years of age operating a vehicle with a detectable amount of 
alcohol in the person’s body is contingent upon the person’s completion of an 
action recommended by a local substance abuse authority or a substance 
abuse program is only applicable within five years after the effective date of the 
license sanction. 

Rationale for Recommendation 

The Not a Drop statute prohibits any person under the legal drinking age of 21 
from operating a motor vehicle with any measurable alcohol in their body.   The 
penalty for a violation includes suspension of the person’s driver license or, if the 
person has not yet been issued a driver license, a denial of the person’s 
application for a license or learner’s permit.  In addition to the driver license 
penalty, any person who violates the statute is required to obtain an assessment 
and recommendation for appropriate action from a substance abuse program.  
The recommendation for appropriate action may include a targeted education 
and prevention program, an early intervention program, or a substance abuse 
treatment program.  Reinstatement of the driver license or right to obtain a 
license is contingent upon successful completion of the action recommended by 
the substance abuse program.   

Although the requirement regarding assessment and completion of a 
recommended substance abuse program currently exists in statute, there is not 
currently a time limit specified for this requirement.  This is problematic for 
individuals who have moved out of state and have obtained a license in their 
new state of residence.  Both the Driver License Division and the Division of 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health receive numerous telephone inquiries from 
individuals who find themselves in this situation, have never had a subsequent 
offense, are well over the age of 21, and do not have the ability to have an 
assessment completed in order to reinstate the Utah record.  As a result, their 
license in their home state becomes invalid.  Adding a time limit for the 
requirement will allow Utah to address the issues of assessment and education 
for underage drivers without creating undue hardship for individuals in certain 
circumstances. 
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◘ Eliminate the Requirement that Administrative Alcohol 
Hearings Must be Held in the County of Arrest 

Rationale for Recommendation 

Implementation of the Real Id Act will require that all Driver License facilities be 
equipped with security monitoring and document scanning equipment.  This will 
result in a necessity to discontinue services through travel stations to some of the 
more rural areas for licensing purposes.  Continuing to pay for the use of travel 
locations solely for the purpose of conducting administrative hearings will not be 
cost effective for the Driver License Division. 

On September 18, 2008, the Driver License Division opened its new “South Valley” 
facility in the Draper area that will be closer for individuals to travel to from the 
northern end of Utah County.  If the requirement to hold an administrative alcohol 
or drug hearing in the county of arrest were lifted, staff at the South Valley office 
would be able to conduct the hearings for the northern part of Utah County instead 
of having law enforcement officials and customers travel to the Orem office to 
appear for a hearing. 

In addition, the Driver License Division has the ability to conduct telephonic 
hearings as a convenience for both law enforcement and the defense/arrested 
individual.  Removing the county of arrest requirement would allow for telephonic 
hearings where both parties intend to appear telephonically to be held at any office 
and would allow for more flexibility in management of the Division’s resources.  

 

  

    

  

 

 

 

 

 

 



 
UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX 

(Current as of October 2008) 
 

MISDEMEANOR DUI  
 

FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE 
WITHIN 10 YEARS 

 

FELONY DUI 

 
CLASSIFICATION 
(§41-6a-503) 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

 
CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury 
$ if passenger is under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

 
CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury 
$ if passenger under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 
THIRD DEGREE FELONY 
 
 

$ if third or subsequent 
offense within 10 years 

$ if serious bodily injury 
$ if any prior felony DUI 

conviction or automobile 
homicide conviction 

 
SENTENCING 
Jail – SHALL      
order: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 

48 consecutive hours OR 
48 hours compensatory 
service OR 
electronic home confinement1

 
240 consecutive hours OR 
240 hours compensatory 
service OR 
electronic home confinement1 

 
0-5 year prison term OR 
1,500 hours jail (62.5 days) 
May also require electronic 
home confinement1 

 
Fine – SHALL 
order: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
$700 minimum plus 
surcharge 

 
$800 minimum plus 
surcharge 

 
$1,500 minimum plus 
surcharge, unless 
0-5 prison term is imposed 

 
Screening, 
Assessment, 
Education Series, 
Treatment – 
SHALL order: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational Series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
$ MAY order treatment 

 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational Series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
$ MAY order treatment 

 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment 
$ Intensive treatment or 

inpatient treatment and 
aftercare for not less than 
240 hours 

 
Probation:2 
(§41-6a-507) 

 
MAY order supervised 
probation 

 
SHALL order supervised 
probation 

 
SHALL order supervised 
probation if 0-5 prison term is 
not imposed 

 
Ignition 
Interlock:3 
(§41-6a-518) 

 

(§41-6a-530) 

 
$ MAY order interlock 
$ SHALL order interlock if 

under 21 
$ SHALL order interlock for 

an ARD violation OR 
describe on the record why 
such order not appropriate 

 
$ MAY order interlock 
$ SHALL order interlock if 

under 21 
$ SHALL order interlock for 

an ARD violation OR 
describe on the record why 
such order not appropriate 

 
$ MAY order interlock 
$ SHALL order interlock if 

under 21 
$ SHALL order interlock for 

an ARD violation OR 
describe on the record why 
such order not appropriate 

 
High BAC: 
(.16 or higher) 
 
 

(§41-6a-505) 

 
$ SHALL order supervised 

probation2 
$ SHALL order treatment 

and interlock3 and/or home 
confinement1 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
$ SHALL order supervised 

probation2 
$ SHALL order treatment 

and interlock3 and/or home 
confinement1 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
$ SHALL order supervised 

probation2 if 0-5 prison 
term is not imposed 

$ SHALL order treatment 
and interlock3 and/or home 
confinement1 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
License 
Suspension: 
(§41-6a-509) 

 
Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or  
2 years 

 
Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or 
2 years 

 
Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or 
2 years 

 

                                                           
1See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions. 
2 Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance in the body). 
3 Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a  
  condition of probation. 
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