
 

  2009 

U T A H  C O M M I S S I O N  O N  C R I M I N A L  A N D  J U V E N I L E  J U S T I C E  

SSeevveenntthh  AAnnnnuuaall  DDUUII  RReeppoorrtt                                         
ttoo  tthhee  UUttaahh  LLeeggiissllaattuurree  

 
 
 
 

 
 
 

CCJJ 
Utah State Capitol Complex 

Senate Office Building – Suite 330 
P.O. Box 142330 

Sal Lake City, Utah 84114-2330 
Phone: 801-538-1031 • Fax: 801-538-1024 

www.justice.utah.gov



 

 

 
 
 

Acknowledgements 
The Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice acknowledges the contributions of 
the Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence (USAAV) Coordinating Council, specifically the 
Council’s DUI Committee chaired by Anna Kay Waddoups.  
Also contributing to this report are the Utah Administrative Office of the Courts and the Utah 
Department of Public Safety, including the Highway Patrol, Bureau of Criminal Identification, 
Driver License Division and Highway Safety Office. 
Special thanks to Marty Asay, Paul Boyden, George Braden, Art Brown, Kim Gibb,             
Ron Gordon, Laurie Gustin, Dr. Christine Mitchell, Gary Mower, Teri Pectol, Jacey Skinner, 
Monica Taylor, Sgt. Ted Tingey, and David Walsh for their assistance in preparing this report. 

 



 

 

Table of Contents
Acknowledgements 

 

Table of Contents 
 

Executive Summary 1
 DUI in Utah FY 2009 1

 

1 Introduction 3
 Purpose of the Report 4
 2009 DUI and Related Legislation 5
 2009 USAAV DUI Committee 11

 

2 Law Enforcement 13
 DUI Arrests 13
  DUI Arrests by Type 13
  DUI Overtime Enforcement Events 14
  DUI Arrests by Agency Type 14
  DUI Arrests by Gender 14
  DUI Arrests by Age 15
  DUI Arrests by Month 15
  DUI Arrests by County 16
  DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) 17
  Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest 17
 DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 18
  Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled 19
  Day and Hour of Alcohol-Impaired Driver Crashes 20
 Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement 20

 

3 Adjudications and Sanctions 21
 Justice Court DUI Data 21
  Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes 21
  Justice Court DUI Sanctions 22
 District Court DUI Data 22
  District Court DUI Case Outcomes 22
  District Court Repeat Offender Data 23
  District Court DUI Sanctions 23
 Other DUI Sanctions 24

 

4 Driver License Control 25
 Alcohol Hearing Statistics 25

 

5 Screening,  Assessment, Education and Treatment 27
 Screening and Assessment 27
 Education 27
 Treatment 28

 

296 Utah’s Impaired Driving Media Campaign 
 

Utah DUI Sentencing Matrix 



 

 
 

 



S E V E N T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

Executive 
Summary  

 
Executive Summary                                                     
DUI in Utah FY 2009 

DUI-Related Fatalities Decreased in CY 2008 
◘ DUI-related fatalities in Utah decreased from 42 in CY 2007 to 34 in CY 2008. 

◘ In CY 2008, Utah had the second lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the 
nation at 16.7 percent.  The national average was 32 percent. 

Law Enforcement:  Arrests 
◘ There were 15,683 DUI arrests in FY 2009, 386 more than the previous year.  

The majority of the arrests, 81 percent, were for violation of the .08 blood/breath 
alcohol concentration (BAC) per se statute. 

◘ Fifty-six percent of all arrests for DUI were made by municipal law 
enforcement agencies. 

◘  Seventy-six percent of DUI drivers were male. 

◘ Ten percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.  DUI drivers 
ages 25 through 36 accounted for 39 percent of all arrests. 

◘ The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber, 
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 68 percent of the total 
arrests. 

◘ The average BAC was .14, with the highest at .43, over five times the legal limit! 
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◘ Approximately 67 percent of arrests were for a first DUI offense, 21 percent were 
for a second offense, eight percent were for a third offense, and four percent 
were for a fourth or subsequent offense. 

Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions 
◘ Of the total of 14,268 DUI cases handled by Utah’s courts in FY 2009, Justice 

Courts handled the majority with 12,002 (84%), and District Courts handled 
2,266 (16%). 

◘ Seventy-five percent of District Court DUI cases and 59 percent of Justice Court 
DUI cases resolved in FY 2009 resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. 

◘ Justice Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
1,782 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 1,291 cases, 
and ordered ignition interlock devices in 853 cases. 

◘ District Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
459 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 698 cases, and 
ordered ignition interlock devices in 312 cases. 

◘ The average jail sentence for a DUI offense was 151 days and the average fine 
for a DUI conviction was $1,468. 

Driver License Control 
◘ The Driver License Division conducted 5,159 hearings to determine if there was 

sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the individual’s 
driver license. 

◘ In 2,388 cases, either the arresting officer or the DUI offender used the 
telephonic option to call in for the driver license hearing. 

 

 

 

 

 

 



S E V E N T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

Introduction 

1 
Introduction 

endy Kerbs was planting flowers in her front yard in Roy on the afternoon of 
May 13, 2009, when an impaired driver traveling over 50 miles per hour on 
the residential street lost control of his SUV, smashed into a light pole, 

uprooted trees, and rolled his vehicle onto her lawn crushing her.  Wendy’s husband 
Marlin, who had been working by her side, had gone to get a hose when he heard the 
crash.  He saw the SUV on his lawn and an uprooted blue spruce tree, right where he 
and his wife had been gardening.  He rushed to his wife’s aid and she died in his arms. 

 W
The driver of the SUV, 40-year-old Richard Allan Bash, fled the scene and broke into a 
nearby house to hide.  He took another car and was eventually caught by police, who 
had to get a search warrant to draw his blood when he refused chemical tests. 

In addition to driving under the influence of alcohol, Bash also had methamphetamine in 
his system.  He pleaded guilty to one count of second degree felony automobile 
homicide, the toughest charge currently allowed under Utah law.  In exchange for the 
plea, misdemeanor counts of leaving the scene of a fatal accident, driving with a 
suspended license, and driving with alcohol restrictions were dismissed.  On June 30, 
2009, the judge sentenced Bash to one to 15 years in prison.  According to court 
records, Richard Bash has an extensive history of traffic violations, as well as 
convictions for other felony and misdemeanor crimes.  He also has seven prior 
convictions for DUI in various states. 

Wendy Kerbs was only 54 years old and was looking forward to retiring from her job at 
Hill Air Force Base in the near future.  In addition to gardening, she loved to sew.  Now 
her family has only memories of someone they thought of as a role model and “the 
most unselfish person you’d ever meet”.                 

DUI in Utah isn’t just about the statistics.  It’s about our citizens and their families, and 
the safety of our communities. 

 

Information for this story was obtained from newspaper articles by Deseret News reporters Joseph M. 
Dougherty and Linda Thompson, and Salt Lake Tribune reporter Stephen Hunt.
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Purpose of the Report 
The Seventh Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was 
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code.  The statute requires the 
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI 
related data, including the following: 

 Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement 
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving 
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs; 

 Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements 
collected by the state courts); and 

 Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and 
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of: 

o law enforcement; 

o adjudication; 

o sanctions; 

o drivers’ license control; and 

o alcohol education, assessment, and treatment. 
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2009 DUI and Related Legislation 

The following bills and one appropriation were passed by                                              
the Utah Legislature in the 2009 General Session:  

S.B. 12 DUI Amendments                               
Senator Sheldon L. Killpack 

     

Defines “driving under the influence court” as “a court that is approved 
as a driving under the influence court by the Utah Judicial Council 
according to standards established by the Judicial Council”. 
 
Provides that certain reports issued by the Driver License Division 
may not contain evidence of an impaired driving conviction if the 
reporting court notifies the Driver License Division that the defendant 
is participating in or has completed the program of a driving under the 
influence court with exception for a CDL license holder or a violation 
that occurred in a commercial vehicle. 
 
Provides that if an impaired driving conviction is amended to a driving 
under the influence conviction in certain circumstances, the Driver 
License Division shall start the applicable suspension or revocation on 
the date of the amended conviction and may not subtract any time for 
which the license was previously suspended or revoked. 
 
Requires the Driver License Division to reinstate a person’s driver 
license prior to completion of the specified suspension period 
immediately upon receiving written verification of the person’s 
conviction of impaired driving if:   
 

the written verification is received prior to the completion of the 
suspension period; and  
 
the reporting court notifies the Driver License Division that the 
defendant is participating in or has successfully completed the 
program of a driving under the influence court.  

 
 

S.B. 116 Criminal Penalty Amendments 
    Senator Daniel R. Liljenquist 
 

Provides that the definition of a conviction, for purposes of certain 
driving under the influence provisions, only includes convictions 
arising from a separate episode of driving. 

 5 



S E V E N T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

Clarifies that a person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim 
suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury, or death as a result of the 
person’s violation of the driving under the influence or automobile 
homicide provisions whether or not the injuries arise from the same 
episode of driving. 
 
Clarifies that a person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim 
suffering serious bodily injury or death as a result of the person’s 
violation of the prohibition on driving a vehicle in a negligent manner 
and having a measurable amount of a controlled substance in the 
person’s body whether or not the injuries arise from the same episode 
of driving. 

 
 
S.B. 147 Driver License Revisions 
    Senator Lyle W. Hillyard 
 

Provides that the Driver License Division may extend to a person a 
limited driving privilege to and from the person’s place of employment 
when the person’s original denial, suspension, revocation, or 
disqualification involved certain driving under the influence offenses if: 
 

the person has had the period of the first denial, suspension, 
revocation, or disqualification extended for a period of at least 
three years;  

 
the Driver License Division receives written verification from the 
person’s primary care physician that to the physician’s knowledge 
the person has not used any narcotic drug or other controlled 
substance except as prescribed by a licensed medical practitioner 
within the last three years and that the physician is not aware of 
any physical, emotional, or mental impairment that would affect 
the person’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely; and  
 
for a period of one year prior to the date of the request for a limited 
driving privilege the person has not been convicted of a violation of 
any motor vehicle law in which the person was the operator of the 
vehicle or the Driver License Division has not received a report of 
an arrest for a violation of any motor vehicle law or a report of an 
accident in which the person was involved as an operator of the 
vehicle. 

 
Provides that the discretionary privilege authorized is limited to when 
the limited privilege is necessary for the person to commute to school 
or work and may be granted only once during certain periods. 
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S.B. 272 Driver License Sanctions and Sentencing 
Requirements for Driving Under the Influence and 
Alcohol Related Offenses 

    Senator Scott K. Jenkins 
 

Increases the driver license suspension periods for certain driving 
under the influence offenses committed on or after July 1, 2009: 
 

from a period of 90 days to 120 days for a person 21 years of age 
or older on the date of arrest who has violated certain driving 
under the influence or alcohol related offenses for the first time;  
 
from a period of one year to two years for a person 21 years of 
age or older on the date of arrest who has violated certain driving 
under the influence or alcohol related offenses two or more times; 
 
from a period of 24 months to a period of 36 months for a person 
who is 21 years of age or older, who refuses to submit to a 
chemical test, and who has a previous license sanction for certain 
alcohol related offenses;  
 
from a period of 90 days to until the person is 21 years of age or 
for a period of 120 days, whichever is longer, for a person under 
21 years of age on the date of arrest who has violated certain 
driving under the influence provisions for the first time; 
 
from a period of one year to until the person is 21 years of age or 
for a period of two years, whichever is longer, for a person under 
21 years of age on the date of arrest who has violated certain 
driving under the influence provisions two or more times; 
 
from a period of 18 months to until the person is 21 years of age or 
for a period of 18 months, whichever is longer, for a person who is 
under 21 years of age and who refuses to submit to a chemical 
test; and 
 
from a period of 24 months to until the person is 21 years of age or 
for a period of 36 months, whichever is longer, for a person who is 
under 21 years of age who refuses to submit to a chemical test, 
and who has a previous license sanction for certain alcohol related 
offenses. 

     
Provides that a person is an interlock restricted driver if the person, 
within the last 18 months, has been convicted of a driving under the 
influence violation. 
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Requires a court to order a minor’s driver license suspended for a  
period of one year if the minor violates certain alcohol related 
offenses for the first time and the violation was committed on or after 
July 1, 2009. 
 
Provides that a court may reduce a minor’s license suspension for 
certain alcohol related offenses if the violation is the minor’s first 
violation and the minor completes an educational series. 
 
Requires a court to order a minor’s driver license suspended for a 
period of two years for a second or subsequent violation of certain 
alcohol related offenses and the violation was committed on or after 
July 1, 2009. 
 
Provides that for a second or subsequent violation of certain alcohol 
related offenses, a court shall order a minor to participate in an 
educational series and may order a minor to participate in a 
screening. 

     
 
H.B. 21 Amendments to Driver License Sanction 

Requirements 
    Representative Richard A. Greenwood 
 

Provides that the requirement that the reinstatement of a person’s 
license for a person under 21 years of age operating a vehicle with a 
detectable amount of alcohol in the person’s body is contingent upon 
the person’s completion of an action recommended by a local 
substance abuse authority or substance abuse program is only 
applicable within five years after the effective date of the license 
sanction.  

 
 
H.B. 104 Driver License Hearing Amendments 
    Representative Richard A. Greenwood 
 

Provides that certain Driver License Division hearings may be held in 
a county that is adjacent to the county in which the arrest occurred 
rather than just being held in the county in which the arrest occurred.  
 
 
 
 

 8 



S E V E N T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

H.B. 151 Motor Vehicle Forfeiture Amendments 
    Representative Christopher N. Herrod 
 

Provides that a motor vehicle is subject to criminal or civil forfeiture 
upon a finding by the court that:   
 

the motor vehicle was used in a violation of certain driving under 
the influence provisions;  
 
the operator of the vehicle has previously been convicted of a 
felony driving under the influence violation or automobile homicide; 
and  
 
the operator of the motor vehicle was driving on a denied, 
suspended, revoked, or disqualified license and the denial, 
suspension, revocation, or disqualification was imposed because 
of a violation of certain driving under the influence provisions. 

 

H.B. 237 Criminal Penalties Amendments – Leaving the 
Scene of an Accident 

    Representative Christopher N. Herrod 
 

Increases the penalty from a class A misdemeanor to a third degree 
felony for a person who violates the requirement to stop the vehicle at 
the scene of an accident and remain at the scene of the accident until 
the operator has fulfilled certain requirements if the accident resulted 
in the injury or death of a person and the person has previously been 
convicted of certain violations that were committed on or after May 12, 
2009.  

 

Appropriation 
Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account  

The 2009 Legislature appropriated $5,622,600 to the Alcoholic 
Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32A-1-
115) for FY 2009-2010.  Funding from this account is distributed on a 
formula basis to Utah’s municipalities and counties to be used for one 
or more of the following purposes:  (1) DUI law enforcement,            
(2) general alcohol-related law enforcement, (3) prosecution/court 
costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of alcohol problems,   
(5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of 
alcohol law offenders.     

 9 
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2009 USAAV DUI Committee 

The Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence (USAAV)                                     
Coordinating Council’s DUI Committee members represent                                         
state and local agencies and organizations dealing with the DUI issue in Utah.  With  
the support and action of Utah’s Legislature and other key leaders and policymakers, 
the Committee continued its work to strengthen Utah’s ability to effectively address    
the DUI problem.  

Anna Kay Waddoups 
Citizen Member and Chair 

David Beach Director, Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Edward Berkovich 
 

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor 
Utah Prosecution Council 

Bart Blackstock Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director 
Driver License Division, Department of Public Safety 

Paul Boyden Executive Director 
Statewide Association of Prosecutors 

Neil Cohen Compliance Officer 
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Patty Fox Post-Trial Services Program Manager 
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services 

Colonel Daniel Fuhr Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Kim Gibb Bureau Chief, Driver License Division 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Chief Wayne Hansen Farmington Police Department 
Utah Chiefs of Police Association 

Gail Johnson Educational Specialist for Driver Education 
Utah State Office of Education 

Teri Pectol Program Manager, Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety  

Richard Schwermer Assistant State Court Administrator 
Administrative Office of the Courts 

Sheriff Kirk Smith Washington County Sheriff’s Office 
Utah Sheriffs Association 

Holly Watson Substance Abuse Education Program Manager 
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Mary Lou Emerson                                                                                    Monica Taylor
Director, USAAV Council                                 Administrative Assistant, USAAV/CCJJ
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Law Enforcement 
The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway 
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests.  In FY 2009, Utah law enforcement 
officers made 15,683 DUI arrests, 386 more than in the previous year.   

DUI Arrests 
DUI Arrests by Type 
As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in 
FY 2009 was very similar to previous years.  The majority of the arrests, 81 percent, 
were for violations of the per se law, for driving at or above the legal blood/breath 
alcohol concentration level of .08.  Almost 12 percent of arrests were for refusal to 
submit to a chemical test.  Under Utah law, any person who operates a motor vehicle is 
considered to have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids for the 
purpose of determining whether they are driving in violation of the DUI laws.  Refusal 
may result in revocation of the driver license and prohibition of driving without an 
ignition interlock device.  It is also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled 
substance or metabolite in one’s body, which accounted for one percent of arrests.  
Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 who drove with any 
measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for about six percent of the 
arrests.  The fewest arrests were of commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit, which 
represented only 0.2 percent of the total.         

FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009  
DUI Arrests by Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Per se Alcohol (.08) 11,732 80.0% 12,368 80.8% 12,705 81.0%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,737 11.9% 1,802 11.8% 1,872 11.9%
Not a Drop (< 21) 910 6.2% 902 5.9% 877 5.6%
Drug or Metabolite 251 1.7% 195 1.3% 205 1.3%
Commercial Driver (.04) 28 0.2% 30 0.2% 24 0.2%
TOTAL 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

Law 
Enforcement 

2 
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events 
The arrests made in FY 2009 included those that occurred as a result of specialized 
DUI overtime enforcement events specifically targeted at removing drivers under the 
influence of alcohol and/or other drugs from Utah’s roads.  A portion of the DUI 
impound fees collected was specifically designated to fund the overtime shifts.  During 
FY 2009, 89 law enforcement agencies throughout the state participated in overtime 
events, including local police agencies, Sheriffs’ offices, and the Utah Highway Patrol.   

The table below shows the measures associated with DUI overtime enforcement 
events in FY 2009.  Of the total 1,232 DUI arrests, 973 were for alcohol, 155 were for 
drugs, and 104 were for metabolite.  Among the individuals arrested, 716 submitted to a 
breath test with an average BAC of .14, 210 submitted to a blood test, 86 submitted to a 
urine test, and 104 refused all chemical tests.     

Statewide DUI Overtime 
Enforcement Events FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 Percent Change 

FY 08 – FY 09 
5-Hour Shifts Worked 2,347 1,956 2,180 +11.4% 
Vehicles Stopped 18,642 14,867 19,233 +29.4% 
DUI Arrests 1,536 1,286 1,232 -4.2% 
Vehicles Impounded 1,436 1,206 1,173 -2.7% 
Alcohol-Related Arrests* 862 747 742 -0.7% 
Drug-Related Arrests** 631 460 440 -4.3% 
Warrants Served 528 429 544 +26.8% 
Other Warnings/Citations 19,276 15,942 17,199 +7.9% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*Includes open container and youth alcohol violations (possession, consumption, attempted purchase, Not a Drop) 
**For example, drug possession 
   

DUI Arrests by Agency Type 
More than half of all arrests in FY 2009, nearly 56 percent, were made by municipal 
law enforcement agencies, with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for almost 28 
percent of arrests, and Sheriffs’ Offices responsible for 16 percent of DUI arrests. 

FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 DUI Arrests by  
Agency Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Sheriffs’ Offices 2,386 16.3% 2,728 17.8% 2,576 16.4%
City Police/Other 8,979 61.2% 8,805 57.6% 8,733 55.7%
Highway Patrol 3,293 22.5% 3,764 24.6% 4,374 27.9%
TOTAL 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Gender 
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female 
arrestees have remained very consistent over the past three years.  In FY 2009, 76 
percent were male and 23 percent were female. 
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FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009  
DUI Arrests by Gender Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Male 11,611 79.2% 11,965 78.2% 11,972 76.3%
Female 3,024 20.6% 3,272 21.4% 3,653 23.3%
Unspecified 23 0.2% 60 0.4% 58 0.4%
TOTAL 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Age 
The youngest DUI driver in FY 2009 was 15 years old.  About 10 percent of 
arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.  Drivers between the ages of 25 
and 36 accounted for nearly 39 percent of all arrests.  

FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009  
DUI Arrests by Age Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Unknown 0 0.0% 2 0.0% 1 0.0%
15-20 1,643 11.2% 1,612 10.5% 1,556 9.9%
21-24 2,726 18.7% 2,887 18.9% 2,894 18.5%
25-36 5,488 37.4% 5,882 38.4% 6,087 38.8%
37-48 3,081 21.0% 3,132 20.5% 3,255 20.8%
49-87 1,720 11.7% 1,782 11.7% 1,890 12.0%
TOTAL 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Month 
As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2009, with 
an average arrest rate of 1,307 per month.  The highest number of arrests occurred in 
August (1,539), with the lowest number of arrests in June (1,115). 

FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009  
DUI Arrests by Month Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
July 1,214 8.3% 1,302 8.5% 1,230 7.8%
August 1,228 8.4% 1,312 8.6% 1,539 9.8%
September 1,314 9.0% 1,353 8.8% 1,469 9.4%
October 1,250 8.5% 1,242 8.1% 1,263 8.0%
November 1,178 8.0% 1,270 8.3% 1,395 8.9%
December 1,257 8.6% 1,307 8.5% 1,207 7.7%
January 1,175 8.0% 1,139 7.4% 1,361 8.7%
February 1,100 7.5% 1,176 7.8% 1,220 7.8%
March 1,246 8.5% 1,370 9.0% 1,286 8.2%
April 1,202 8.2% 1,245 8.1% 1,201 7.7%
May 1,277 8.7% 1,314 8.6% 1,397 8.9%
June 1,217 8.3% 1,267 8.3% 1,115 7.1%
TOTAL 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI Arrests by County 
Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 2009 occurred along 
the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 
nearly 68 percent (10,601) of the total.  Salt Lake County had the highest number of 
arrests with 5,748 (37%), while Wayne County had the fewest arrests with six (0.0%).  
The table below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the percentage of both 
total population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.   

DUI Arrests 
FY 2009 

Population Estimate
July 1, 2008 

Vehicle Miles Traveled 
Calendar Year 2008 County 

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Beaver 85 0.5% 6,523 0.2% 239,081,054 0.9%
Box Elder 209 1.3% 48,712 1.8% 888,141,329 3.4%
Cache 529 3.4% 111,841 4.1% 933,581,410 3.6%
Carbon 250 1.6% 19,841 0.7% 298,870,342 1.2%
Daggett 7 0.0% 964 0.0% 31,755,181 0.1%
Davis 1,597 10.2% 301,915 10.9% 2,508,173,288 9.7%
Duchesne 151 1.0% 16,765 0.6% 235,574,934 0.9%
Emery 89 0.6% 10,610 0.4% 332,648,360 1.3%
Garfield 34 0.2% 5,044 0.2% 112,698,473 0.4%
Grand 129 0.8% 9,326 0.3% 319,209,905 1.2%
Iron 424 2.7% 46,341 1.7% 678,994,624 2.6%
Juab 155 1.0% 10,039 0.4% 393,948,954 1.5%
Kane 131 0.8% 6,663 0.2% 139,478,070 0.5%
Millard 93 0.6% 13,550 0.5% 432,624,553 1.7%
Morgan 42 0.3% 9,645 0.3% 137,006,302 0.5%
Piute 9 0.1% 1,447 0.0% 29,968,350 0.1%
Rich 16 0.1% 2,278 0.1% 49,070,396 0.2%
Salt Lake 5,748 36.6% 1,030,519 37.5% 8,529,679,693 33.0%
San Juan 92 0.6% 15,206 0.5% 270,382,962 1.0%
Sanpete 142 0.9% 26,960 1.0% 217,429,239 0.8%
Sevier 172 1.1% 20,619 0.7% 330,620,440 1.4%
Summit 378 2.4% 39,951 1.5% 734,516,203 2.8%
Tooele 506 3.2% 58,214 2.1% 836,524,946 3.2%
Uintah 464 3.0% 30,446 1.1% 356,307,584 1.5%
Utah 1,872 12.0% 519,632 19.0% 3,596,652,175 13.9%
Wasatch 159 1.0% 22,845 0.8% 302,992,521 1.2%
Washington 810 5.2% 144,710 5.2% 1,328,955,907 5.1%
Wayne 6 0.0% 2,637 0.1% 39,762,678 0.2%
Weber 1,384 8.8% 224,536 8.1% 1,578,817,470 6.1%
TOTAL 15,683 100.0% 2,757,779 100.0% 25,883,467,343 100.0%
Source for DUI Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source for Population Data:  Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget, Demographic and Economic Analysis Section 
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled:  Utah Department of Transportation 
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DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) 
The average BAC remained at .14 during FY 2009, with the highest BAC recorded at 
.43, over five times the legal limit! 

FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 DUI Arrests by BAC 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

BAC Results Not Reported 3,428 23.4% 3,536 23.1% 3,712 23.7%
.01 - .07  924 6.3% 982 6.4% 1,064 6.8%
.08 - .10 1,569 10.7% 1,617 10.6% 1,600 10.2%
.11 - .15 2,854 19.5% 3,072 20.1% 3,100 19.8%
.16 - .20 2,127 14.5% 2,129 13.9% 2,240 14.3%
.21 - .25 873 6.0% 935 6.1% 931 5.9%
.26 - .43  382 2.6% 357 2.3% 363 2.3%

Refused BAC Test 1,808 12.3% 1,815 11.9% 1,875 11.9%
No Test/Unknown 470 3.2% 607 4.0% 519 3.3%

Drug Only 223 1.5% 247 1.6% 279 1.8%
TOTAL 14,658 100.0% 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest 
The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest.  Data 
were calculated by selecting offenders arrested in FY 2009 as a starting point, then 
counting back ten years to determine previous arrests.  Each offender was placed 
in a column determined by the type of the most recent arrest.  Finally, the total 
number of arrests reflected in this table is fewer than the total arrests for FY 2009 
because each offender was counted only once, although the offender may have 
been arrested more than one time during the fiscal year.  About 67 percent of 
arrests were for a first offense, 21 percent were for a second offense, eight percent 
were for a third offense, and four percent were for a fourth or subsequent offense.     
 
FY 2009 

Arrest 
Type 

TOTAL 

Offense 

Per se 
Alcohol 

(.08) 

Refusal 
of 

Chemical 
Test 

Not a 
Drop 
(< 21) 

Drug or 
Metabolite

Commercial 
Driver 
(.04) 

Number Percent 

1st 8,174 960 426 156 19 9,735 66.8%
2nd 2,209 427 373 25 3 3,037 20.8%
3rd 868 215 39 11 0 1,133 7.8%
4th 320 87 10 2 0 419 2.9%
5th 96 57 2 0 0 155 1.1%
6th 38 21 1 0 0 60 0.4%
7th 17 8 0 0 0 25 0.2%
8th 4 1 0 0 0 5 0.0%
9th 6 1 0 0 0 7 0.0%

10th- 14th 2 2 0 0 0 4 0.0%
TOTAL 11,734 1,779 851 194 22 14,580 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 
The following table shows the total number of DUI-related vehicle crashes for each 
calendar year from 1999 to 2008, including the number of persons injured and the number 
of persons killed as a result of the crashes.  The number of DUI-related fatalities in Utah 
decreased from 42 in CY 2007 to 34 in CY 2008.  According to the National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), whose figures differ somewhat from Utah’s 
because they utilize imputations in their calculations when the driver’s BAC is unknown, in 
CY 2008 Utah had the second lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the nation at 16.7 
percent.  Vermont had the lowest at 16.4 percent.  The national average was 32 percent. 

DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, 1999-2008 
Injuries Fatalities Calendar 

Year 
Total 

DUI-Related 
Crashes* 

Total 
Injured 

Persons 

DUI-Related 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI- 

Related 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

DUI-
Related 

Fatalities* 

Percent 
DUI-

Related 
1999 2,026 29,959 1,849 6.2% 360 50 13.9% 
2000 2,162 30,086 1,846 6.1% 373 69 18.5% 
2001 2,122 29,375 1,764 6.0% 291 42 14.4% 
2002 2,088 30,433 1,685 5.5% 328 53 16.2% 
2003 1,952 28,352 1,360 4.8% 309 29   9.4% 
2004 1,948 29,638 1,570 5.3% 296 56 18.9% 
2005 1,977 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 22   7.8% 
2006 2,488 27,433 1,844 6.7% 287 39 13.6% 
2007 2,718 27,420 1,900 6.9% 299 42 14.0% 
2008 Not Available Not Available 276 34 12.3% 

Information Compiled by:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Data Source:  1999-2007 Utah Crash Data and 1999-2008 Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) Data 
*DUI-related crashes and fatalities include only those incidents that involved alcohol and where the driver had a BAC of ≥ .08. 

 
The figure below illustrates the DUI-related crash fatality data in the table above for 
Utah, from 1999 to 2008. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

   

 

 

     Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
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Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled 
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and 
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, from 1999 to 2008. 

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and          
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, 1999-2008 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
10,000 Population 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled

Calendar 
Year DUI-

Related 
Fatalities* Population Rate Vehicle Miles 

Traveled Rate 

1999 50 2,193,014 0.23 21,858,840,775 0.23 
2000 69 2,246,553 0.31 22,501,719,290 0.31 
2001 42 2,305,652 0.18 23,382,719,060 0.18 
2002 53 2,358,330 0.22 24,422,264,975 0.22 
2003 29 2,413,618 0.12 23,946,840,430 0.12 
2004 56 2,469,230 0.23 24,624,791,795 0.23 
2005 22 2,547,389 0.09 25,129,538,952 0.09 
2006 39 2,615,129 0.15 26,166,885,473 0.15 
2007 42 2,699,554 0.15 26,824,244,333 0.16 
2008 34 2,757,779 0.12 25,883,467,343 0.13 

Information Compiled by:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Data Source:  Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) Data, 1999-2008 
*DUI-related fatalities include only those incidents that involved alcohol and where the driver had a BAC of ≥ .08. 

 
The figure below illustrates the rate of DUI-related fatalities in Utah from 1999 to 
2008, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled.   

Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled  
of DUI-Related Fatalities in Utah, 1999-2008 
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Day and Hour of Alcohol-Impaired Driver Crashes 
The Highway Safety Office reports in calendar year 2007 the highest percentage of 
alcohol-impaired driver total crashes (23%) and fatal crashes (38%) occurred on 
Saturday.  Alcohol-impaired driver total crashes peaked in the evening and early 
morning hours, between 5:00 p.m. and 2:59 a.m.  Fatal alcohol-impaired driver crashes 
varied by hour and peaked at midnight. 

Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement 
The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other alcohol-
related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities.  For FY 2009, the 
Legislature appropriated $5,425,600 to be distributed from the Alcoholic Beverage 
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32A-1-115) to municipalities and 
counties statewide on a formula basis.1  Funds may be spent in one or more of six 
general categories:  (1) DUI law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law 
enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of 
alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of 
alcohol law offenders.  Communities receiving more than $1,000 in beer tax revenues 
are required to submit an Annual Report to the Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-
Violence Coordinating Council by October 1st of each year, outlining how funds were 
utilized, whether the programs or projects funded were effective, and certifying the 
funds were used in accordance with the law.  Municipalities and counties that do not 
submit their reports by the deadline forfeit their alcohol funds for the current fiscal year 
and these funds are then allocated to other entities, in accordance with the statute. 

The following table shows how FY 2009 funds were utilized, as reported in the Alcohol 
Funds Annual Reports received to date. 

 
FY 2009 Alcohol Funds Reports 

How Funds Were Used - As of 10/15/09 

Number of 
Communities 

(N = 163) 

 
 

Percent2

DUI Law Enforcement 87 53.4%
General Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 88 54.0%
Prosecution/Court Costs for Alcohol-Related Cases 41 25.1%
Treatment of Alcohol Problems 6 3.7%
Alcohol-Related Education/Prevention 66 40.5%
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 15 9.2%
Source:  Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council, FY 2009 Alcohol Funds Annual Reports 
 

                                                                          

1 In accordance with §32A-1-115 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes funds to municipalities and 
counties in December of each year based upon the following formula:  percentage of state population (25%); 
percentage of statewide convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); percentage of all state stores, 
package agencies, liquor licensees, and beer licensees (20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes 
(for alcohol-related offenses) based upon the percentage of the state population (25% to counties only). 

2 Communities may use alcohol funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute. 
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Adjudications and Sanctions 
DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type 
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense.  Misdemeanor cases are handled in 
Justice Courts, which are sponsored by municipalities and counties.  Felony cases and 
cases not referred to the Justice Courts are handled in state District Courts.  Of the 
14,268 DUI cases that went to court during FY 2009, District Courts handled 2,266 (16 
percent) and Justice Courts handled 12,002 (84 percent).  The number of DUI cases 
disposed in the state’s District Courts and the number of DUI cases charged in the 
Justice Courts both increased from FY 2008 to FY 2009. 

 
DUI Cases in Utah’s Courts 

 
FY 2007 

 
FY 2008 

 
FY 2009 

% Change  
FY 08 – FY 09

District Court Cases Disposed 2,025 2,052 2,266 +10.4% 
Justice Court Charges 11,074 11,229 12,002 +6.9% 
Total DUI Cases 13,099 13,281 14,268 +7.4% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Justice Court DUI Data 
Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes 
During FY 2009, Utah’s Justice Courts handled 12,002 DUI cases, 773 more than in FY 
2008.  The following table details the DUI cases filed in Justice Courts and their 
outcomes.  This table does not represent the actual DUI conviction rate for the Justice 
Courts, however, as it includes cases filed in FY 2008 that were not resolved until       
FY 2009.  In addition, 2,497 cases were still pending resolution at the close of FY 2009. 

FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 Justice Court  
DUI Charges and 
Outcomes Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

% Change  
FY 08 – FY  09

Total DUI Charges Filed 11,074 100.0% 11,229 100.0% 12,002 100.0% +6.9% 
Guilty 6,875 62.1% 6,681 59.5% 7,121 59.3% +6.6% 
Dismissed or Not Guilty 2,649 23.9% 2,587 23.0% 2,384 19.9% -7.8% 
Cases Pending 1,550 14.0% 1,961 17.5% 2,497 20.8% +27.3% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

Adjudications 
& Sanctions 
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Justice Court DUI Sanctions 
The Justice Courts also track other DUI-related case information such as blood/breath 
alcohol content (BAC) reported; screening, assessment and treatment ordered; and 
ignition interlock ordered.  The table below includes data for those Justice Courts 
reporting to the Department of Public Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Identification.  The 
numbers reflect only those dispositions loaded into the Criminal History Repository, and 
do not include those in the suspense file.  The data indicate in 2,708 cases the 
blood/breath alcohol content was known.  The table further shows judges ordered 
offenders to participate in an educational series in 1,782 cases, substance abuse 
treatment in 1,291 cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 853 cases. 

Justice Court DUI Sanctions FY 
2007 

FY 
2008 

FY 
2009 

Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 60 88 113
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content Known 803 1,672 2,708
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 796 1,104 1,953
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 580 819 1,291
Educational Series Ordered 652 1,058 1,782
Ignition Interlock Ordered 338 358 853
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 329 1,244 2,312
Electronic Monitoring 29 36 131
Enhancement Notification 777 1,278 2,184
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification 

   
District Court DUI Data 
District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,266 DUI cases 
processed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2009. 

FY 2009 District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
Judicial District DUI Case 

Outcomes 1st  2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th  
 
Total Percent

Deceased 1 0 2 1 0 0 1 0 5 0.2%
Declined Prosecution 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 2 5 0.2%
Dismissed 84 96 82 51 18 23 9 14 377 16.6%
Diversion 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.0%
Guilty 122 347 402 464 120 75 61 119 1,710 75.5%
No Contest 1 4 3 23 4 3 1 1 40 1.9%
Not Guilty 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.0%
Plea in Abeyance 2 3 0 6 2 4 0 3 20 0.9%
Remanded 1 1 43 2 6 1 0 1 55 2.4%
Transferred 0 1 7 43 0 0 1 1 53 2.3%
TOTAL 211 453 539 590 153 106 73 141 2,266 100.0%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
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Seventy-five percent of the cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.  The defendant 
was found not guilty in only one case.  In nearly 17 percent of the cases, the case was 
either dismissed or declined for prosecution.  It should be noted that this table is not a 
depiction of the District Courts’ actual DUI conviction rates, as it only examined cases 
that were disposed of during FY 2009.  Pending cases were not included in the data 
analysis. 

District Court Repeat Offender Data 
The District Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled.  In the table 
below, which includes data for Fiscal Year 2007 through Fiscal Year 2009, the first 
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.  
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that 
criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.   

In FY 2009 for example, 26 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense, 
while 17 percent were actually third-time offenders, and 22 percent were sentenced as 
third-time offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual.  
An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the 
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues. 

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2007-20093 
Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As Offense 

FY 07 FY 08 FY 09 FY 07 FY 08 FY 09 FY 07 FY 08 FY 09 
1st Offense 51% 48% 53% 49% 46% 53% 54% 50% 54%
2nd Offense 16% 18% 18% 17% 23% 23% 17% 21% 20%
3rd Offense 28% 30% 26% 26% 22% 17% 24% 24% 22%
4th Offense 3% 2% 2% 3% 4% 3% 3% 3% 2%
5th to 10th 
Offense 2% 2% 1% 5% 5% 4% 2% 2% 2%

TOTAL 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court DUI Sanctions 
The District Courts track DUI-related case information regarding sanctions ordered as 
well. The table on the following page includes the FY 2009 data and shows in 590 
cases the blood/breath alcohol content was known.  The table further shows judges 
ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 44 percent of cases, 
substance abuse treatment in 66 percent of cases, and that ignition interlock devices 
were ordered in 312 cases.  DUI offenders were notified 100 percent of the time that 
they may be subject to enhancements. 
                                                                          

3 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known; in FY 2007, FY 
2008 and FY 2009, the number was unknown in a large number of cases (50–72 percent).  In addition, the 
following cases were not included:  bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and 
transferred. 



S E V E N T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

District Court DUI Sanctions FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content Known 607 603 590 
Substance Abuse Screening and 
Assessment Ordered 

620 
(63.7%) 

646 
(61.9%) 

693 
(65.6%) 

Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 626 
(64.3%) 

633 
(62.0%) 

698 
(66.3) 

Educational Series Ordered 444 
(45.7%) 

417 
(40.2%) 

459 
(44.5%) 

Ignition Interlock Ordered 288 353 312 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 516 711 851 
Electronic Monitoring 119 174 128 
Enhancement Notification 100% 100% 100% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
 
Other DUI Sanctions 
The Driver License Division tracks other DUI sanctions.  The following table lists the 
average sanctions applied against DUI offenders.  Not all offenders are ordered to 
serve a jail sentence or perform community service hours, however, all convicted DUI 
offenders are assessed a fine and a surcharge.  For a first offense the minimum fine is 
$700, for a second offense within 10 years the minimum fine is $800, and for a third or 
subsequent offense the minimum fine is $1,500. 

Average Jail Sentence, 
Community Service Hours 

and Fines 
FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 

Average Jail Sentence 171.2 days 145.9 days 150.9 days
Average Community Service Hours 79 hours 96 hours 144 hours
Average Fine for DUI Convictions $1,528.52 $1,488.50 $1,467.63
Average Fine for Other Alcohol/ 
Drug Related Convictions $1,321.93 $1,213.52 $1,280.12
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Driver License 
Control 

4 
Driver License Control 
The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or 
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following: 

• Driving under the influence 
• Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body 
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test 
• Automobile homicide 
• “No-alcohol” conditional license 
• Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation  
• Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction 

 

Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license 
is issued.  Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License 
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license. 

As shown in the table below, there were 5,159 alcohol hearings held in FY 2009.  The 
Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting officer does not 
appear at the hearing.  To improve appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic 
option whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.  In 2,388 cases, one 
of the parties called in for the hearing.   

FY 2009 Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
 

ACD Code 
Total # of 
Hearings 

No 
Officer 

No Officer 
Telephonic

Other  
No Action 

Total  
No Action 

Total 
Telephonic

Per Se 4,393 913 140 637 1,690 2,007 
Not a Drop 214 25 7 13 45 104 
Refusal 552 92 22 40 154 277 
TOTAL 5,159 1,030 169 690 1,889 2,388 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Screening, Assessment, 
Education and Treatment 

Screening and Assessment 
As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to 
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment.  A 
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual 
has a problem with alcohol and/or other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth 
clinical assessment is appropriate.  An assessment is a collection of detailed 
information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or other drug abuse, emotional 
and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.  
The assessment is used to determine the need for substance abuse treatment.4   

Education 
For a first offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must include 
participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.  The purpose 
of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be related to 
use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize the harmful 
consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the dangers of 
drinking and driving.”5  Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational series attend 
the PRIME for Life program developed by the Prevention Research Institute (PRI).  The 
16-hour curriculum presents research-based information about the risks associated with 

                                                                          

4 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7. 

5 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

Assessment, 
Education & 
Treatment 

5 
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alcohol and other drug use that helps participants identify lifestyle choices to reduce 
their personal risks6.    

PRI conducts periodic studies of PRIME for Life participants to measure the impact on 
changing beliefs about alcohol use, understanding the risks associated with alcohol 
use, and desire to change personal drinking behavior.  In previous years this study was 
published annually, however, because the findings have been virtually identical from 
year to year, PRI now publishes the study less frequently.  The next study, which will 
provide Utah data evaluated since the last report in 2006, was not available in time for 
inclusion in this report.  

Treatment 
For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or 
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance abuse treatment.  
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change 
patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to 
restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning.  DUI 
offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder 
should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the educational 
course.”7   Treatment should address both alcohol and other drug problems.  The level 
of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive outpatient, residential) is 
determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of the substance abuse 
disorder.     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                                          
6 Prevention Research Institute, PRIME for Life Utah 2004. 

7 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 
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Impaired 
Driving Media 
Campaign 

6 
 

Utah’s Impaired Driving       
Media Campaign  
During FY 2009, the Utah Department of Public Safety’s Highway Safety Office 
continued its statewide media and outreach campaign.  The campaign messages 
were designed to change Utah citizens’ perceptions and behaviors regarding 
driving under the influence of alcohol, and to reinforce the message that impaired 
driving is one of the most frequently committed and deadliest crimes. The campaign 
focused primarily on 21-34 year olds, but also targeted college students and high 
school seniors.  Utah’s multi-media campaign is funded by the National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration and builds upon NHTSA’s television and radio ads.  
Below are examples from the FY 2009 campaign. 
            
Print Ad in College                              Billboards 
     Newspapers    
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                            Holiday Media Event 

 

           Graduation Press Event 

                  

 

College 
Press 
Event 



 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX 

(Current as of October 2009) 
 

MISDEMEANOR DUI  
Court-Ordered 
Sentencing 

 

 FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE 
WITHIN 10 YEARS 

 

FELONY DUI 

 

 
CLASSIFICATION 
(§41-6a-503) 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger is under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 

THIRD DEGREE FELONY 
$ if third or subsequent offense 

within 10 years 
$ if serious bodily injury1 
$ if any prior felony DUI conviction 

or automobile homicide1 
conviction 

 
Jail: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
48 consecutive hours OR 
48 hours compensatory 
service OR electronic home 
confinement2 

 
SHALL order: 
240 consecutive hours OR 
240 hours compensatory 
service OR electronic home 
confinement2 

 
SHALL order: 
   0-5 year prison term OR 
   1,500 hours jail (62.5 days) 
MAY order: 
   Electronic home confinement2 

Fine: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
   $700 minimum plus             
   surcharge 

 
SHALL order: 
   $800 minimum plus             
   surcharge 

 
SHALL order: 
   $1,500 minimum plus                   
   surcharge, unless 0-5 prison        
   term is imposed 

 
Screening, 
Assessment, 
Educational 
Series, 
Treatment 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment 
$ Intensive treatment or inpatient 

treatment and aftercare for not 
less than 240 hours, unless 0-5 
prison term is imposed 

Probation:3 
(§41-6a-507) 

MAY order supervised 
probation 

SHALL order supervised 
probation 

 

SHALL order supervised probation 
if 0-5 prison term is not imposed 

 

Ignition 
Interlock4 
(§41-6a-518) 
(§41-6a-530) 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 

violation OR describe on 
the record why such order 
not appropriate 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on 
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on   
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
High BAC: 
(.16 or higher) 
 
 

(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 if 0-5 

prison term is not imposed 
$ Treatment and interlock4 and/or 

electronic home confinement2 
OR describe on the record why 
such order(s) not appropriate 

 

Driver License 
Suspension 
(§41-6a-509) 

 

Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or  
2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or 
2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional 90 
days, 180 days, 1 year or 2 years 

                                                           
1A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the 
 same episode of driving.  
2See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions. 
3Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance in the body). 
4Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a  
 condition of probation. 
5Alcohol restricted driver 



 
 
 
 
 

The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a 
court order.  Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions. 
 

MISDEMEANOR DUI Statutory 
Provisions FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE 

WITHIN 10 YEARS 
FELONY DUI 

 

 

If 21 or older: 
   Suspend for 120 days 
If under 21: 
   Suspend until 21 or for 120 
   days, whichever is longer    
   OR 
   If not issued a license, deny 
   application for license or      
  learner’s permit until 21 or    
  for 120 days, whichever is    
  longer 

 

 

If 21 or older: 
   Revoke for 2 years 
If under 21: 
   Revoke until 21 or for 2       
   years, whichever is longer   
   OR 
   If not issued a license, deny 
   application for license or      
  learner’s permit until 21 or    
  for 2 years, whichever is       
  longer 

 

If 21 or older: 
   Revoke for 2 years 
If under 21: 
   Revoke until 21 or for 2 years,     
   whichever is longer 
 
 

 
 

 

 

REFUSAL OF CHEMICAL TEST 
 

1st Offense 
If 21 or older:  Revoke for 18 months 
If under 21:  Revoke until 21 or for 18 months, whichever is longer 
 

2nd and Subsequent Offenses 
If 21 or older:  Revoke for 36 months 
If under 21:  Revoke until 21 or for 36 months, whichever is longer 

 

 

 

Driver License 
Suspension 
(§41-6a-509) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

(§41-6a-521) 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

(§41-6a-517) 
  

DRIVING WITH CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE IN BODY 
 

1st Offense 
If 21 or older:  Suspend for 120 days 
If under 21:  Suspend until 21 or for 120 days 
 

2nd and Subsequent Offenses 
If 21 or older:  Revoke for 2 years 
If under 21:  Revoke until 21 or for 2 years 

 

 

 

Ignition interlock required for 
18 months  
 

 

Ignition interlock required for 
3 years  

 

Ignition interlock required for          
6 years 

 

Interlock 
Restricted Driver 
(§41-6a-518.2) 
 

An “interlock restricted 
driver” may not operate a 
motor vehicle without an 
ignition interlock system 
as ordered by a court or 
the Board of Pardons 
and Parole, or due to a 
statutory provision.  
 

 
 
 

$ Ignition interlock required for 3 years for operating a vehicle without an ignition interlock system    
if an interlock restricted driver  

 

$ Ignition interlock required for 3 years for refusal to submit to a chemical test 
 

$ Ignition interlock required for 3 years if under the age of 21at time of DUI 
 

$ Ignition interlock required for 10 years if convicted of automobile homicide 

 

Alcohol restricted driver for    
2 years 
 

If bodily injury, passenger 
under 16, or passenger under 
18 if driver 21 or older, alcohol 
restricted driver for 5 years 

 

 

Alcohol restricted driver for 
10 years 
 
 

 

Alcohol restricted driver for life 
 

Alcohol 
Restricted Driver 
(§41-6a-529) 
 

An “alcohol restricted 
driver” may not operate 
or be in actual physical 
control of a vehicle with 
any measurable or 
detectable amount of 
alcohol in the person’s 
body. 

 

Convictions for the following violations will also result in a person being an alcohol restricted driver 
for the time periods indicated: 
 

$ 2 years for impaired driving (§41-6a-502.5)  
 

$ 3 years for driving with measurable/detectable alcohol in body if an alcohol restricted driver OR  
for driving without an ignition interlock system if an interlock restricted driver (§41-6a-518.2) 

 

$ 5 years for refusal of a chemical test (§41-6a-520) 
 

$ 10 years for impaired driving OR refusal of a chemical test within 10 years of a prior offense 
 

$ Until 21 for a person who is under 21 years of age at the time of the violation 
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Utah State Capitol Complex 
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