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Executive Summary
DUI in Utah FY 2010

DUI-Related Fatalities Decreased in CY 2009

DUI-related fatalities in Utah decreased from 34 in CY 2008 to 31 in CY 2009.

In CY 2009, Utah had the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the nation at
16.4 percent. The national average was 32.1 percent.

Law Enforcement: Arrests

There were 15,285 DUI arrests in FY 2010, 398 fewer than in the previous year.

The majority of the arrests, 82 percent, were for violation of the .08 blood/breath
alcohol concentration (BAC) per se statute.

Half of all DUI arrests were made by municipal law enforcement agencies.
Seventy-five percent of DUI drivers were male.

Nine percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21. DUI drivers
ages 25 through 36 accounted for nearly 39 percent of all arrests.

The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber,

Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 73 percent of the total
arrests.

The average BAC was .14, with the highest at .40, five times the legal limit!
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Approximately 67 percent of arrests were for a first DUI offense, nearly 22

percent were for a second offense, seven percent were for a third offense, and
four percent were for a fourth or subsequent offense.

Courts: Adjudications and Sanctions

Of the total of 13,501 DUI cases handled by Utah’s courts in FY 2010, Justice

Courts handled the majority with 11,405 (85%), and District Courts handled
2,096 (15%).

Seventy-seven percent of District Court DUI cases and 56 percent of Justice
Court DUI cases resolved in FY 2010 resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

Justice Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in

2,155 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 1,585 cases,
and ordered ignition interlock devices in 915 cases.

District Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in

419 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 648 cases, and
ordered ignition interlock devices in 293 cases.

The average jail sentence for a DUI offense was 154 days and the average fine
for a DUI conviction was $1,490.

Driver License Control

The Driver License Division conducted 5,256 hearings in FY 2010 to determine

if there was sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the
individual’s driver license.

In 2,885 cases, either the arresting officer or the DUI offender used the
telephonic option to call in for the driver license hearing.
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Introduction

Introduction

Caprice. On June 25, 2010, he was drinking at a party at his mother-in-law’s

home in the Rose Park area of Salt Lake County, and even though he smelled
of alcohol and had difficulty walking and speaking, he convinced two friends, who had
also been drinking, to ride in the car with him. With Antonio Amador Solares and
Fabian Montelongo in the car, Calderon rounded a curve on 300 North and 1460 West
in excess of 50 miles per hour. The car hit a curb and crashed through a tree in a
parking strip, breaking the tree in half. The car then vaulted into the air and crashed
into another tree on the parking strip, finally coming to a stop. Passenger Solares, 17,
died on impact; Montelongo, 19, suffered serious injuries and was taken to the hospital.

J ulio Cesar Calderon, 24, wanted to show off his uncle’s restored 1976 Chevy

Following the crash, Montelongo called
a friend at the party the three men had
just left. Calderon’s wife, brother-in-
law, and mother-in-law arrived at the
accident scene before police or
medical personnel. Calderon’s mother-
in-law then drove Calderon back to her
home where he washed his bloody
clothing and took a shower.

Calderon’s wife and brother-in-law
remained at the scene and told police
that Antonio Solares, who had died in
the crash, was the driver.

Calderon later admitted to police that he was the driver in the fatal crash. He said his
relatives knew he was the driver, but told police Solares was driving “because he
[Calderon] had a family and he could not go to jail.” Calderon has been charged with
automobile homicide, a second degree felony, and with obstruction of justice, a third
degree felony. Calderon’s wife and mother-in-law have also been charged with
obstructing justice.

Information for this story was obtained from the probable cause statement provided by the Salt Lake
County District Attorney’s Office.
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Purpose of the Report

The Eighth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code. The statute requires the
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI
related data, including the following:

= Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs;

= Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements
collected by the state courts); and

* Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of:

(0]

(0]

(0]

law enforcement;
adjudication;

sanctions;

drivers’ license control; and

alcohol education, assessment, and treatment.
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2010 DUI and Related Legislation

The following bills and one appropriation were passed
by the Utah Legislature in the 2010 General Session:

S.B.91 Prosecutor Appeals
Senator Daniel R. Liljenquist

Provides that the standard for a de novo review in district court on a
pretrial order excluding evidence in a justice court for an infraction or
class C misdemeanor is that the prosecutor certifies that exclusion of
the evidence prevents continued prosecution.

Provides that the standard for a de novo review in district court on a
pretrial order excluding evidence in a justice court for a class B
misdemeanor is that the prosecutor certifies that exclusion of the
evidence impairs continued prosecution.

Provides that a notice of appeal for a hearing de novo in the district
court on a pretrial order excluding evidence shall be filed within 30
days of the justice court order excluding the evidence.

H.B. 36 Controlled Substance Database - Reporting
Convictions for Driving Under the Influence or
Impaired Driving
Representative Bradley M. Daw

Requires a court to report certain information to the Division of
Occupational and professional Licensing (DOPL) when a person is
convicted of driving under the influence or of impaired driving, if there
is evidence that the person’s driving was under the influence of, or
impaired by, a prescribed controlled substance.

Requires that, when DOPL receives a report described in the
preceding paragraph, DOPL must notify each practitioner who may
have written a prescription for the controlled substance of the
conviction and certain information relating to the conviction.

Requires DOPL to increase the licensing fee for manufacturing,
producing, distributing, dispensing, administering, or conducting
research to pay the startup and ongoing costs of DOPL for complying
with the requirements of the preceding paragraph.
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H.B. 250 Criminal Penalties Amendments - Leaving the
Scene of an Accident
Representative Christopher N. Herrod

Defines serious bodily injury as “bodily injury which involves a
substantial risk of death, unconsciousness, extreme physical pain,
protracted and obvious disfigurement, or protracted loss or
impairment of the function of a bodily member, organ, or mental
faculty”.

Increases the penalty from a class A misdemeanor to a third degree
felony for a person who violates the requirement to stop the vehicle at
the scene of an accident and remain at the scene of the accident until
the operator has fulfilled certain requirements if the accident resulted
in serious bodily injury or death of a person and regardless of whether
the person has previously been convicted of certain violations.

H.J.R. 22 Joint Resolution Recognizing the 75t Anniversary
of the Utah Highway Patrol
Representative Don L. Ipson

Recognizes the 75" anniversary of the Utah Highway Patrol and its
continued exceptional service to the state of Utah and its motoring
public.

Appropriation
Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account

The 2010 Legislature appropriated $5,622,600 to the Alcoholic
Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32A-1-
115) for FY 2010-2011. Funding from this account is distributed on a
formula basis to Utah’s municipalities and counties to be used for one
or more of the following purposes: (1) DUI law enforcement,

(2) general alcohol-related law enforcement, (3) prosecution/court
costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of alcohol problems,

(5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of
alcohol law offenders.
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2010 USAAV DUI Committee

The Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council’'s DUl Committee members represent
state and local agencies and organizations dealing with the DUl issue in Utah. With the
support and action of the Utah Legislature and other key leaders and policymakers,
during FY 2010 the Committee continued its work to strengthen Utah’s ability to
effectively address the DUI problem.

Anna Kay Waddoups
Citizen Member and Chair

Senator Stuart Adams

Senator
Utah State Senate

David Beach

Director, Highway Safety Office
Utah Department of Public Safety

Edward Berkovich

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor
Utah Prosecution Council

Bart Blackstock

Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director
Driver License Division, Department of Public Safety

Paul Boyden, Vice Chair

Executive Director
Statewide Association of Prosecutors

Neil Cohen Compliance Officer
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Patty Fox Post-Trial Services Program Manager

Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services

Colonel Daniel Fuhr

Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol
Utah Department of Public Safety

Kim Gibb

Bureau Chief, Driver License Division
Utah Department of Public Safety

Chief Wayne Hansen

Farmington Police Department
Utah Chiefs of Police Association

Gail Johnson Educational Specialist for Driver Education
Utah State Office of Education
Teri Pectol Program Manager, Highway Safety Office

Utah Department of Public Safety

Richard Schwermer

Assistant State Court Administrator
Administrative Office of the Courts

Sheriff Kirk Smith Washington County Sheriff's Office
Utah Sheriffs Association
Holly Watson Substance Abuse Education Program Manager

Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health

Mary Lou Emerson
Director, USAAV Council

Judy Jackson and Monica Taylor
Administrative Assistants, USAAV/CCJJ
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Law
Enforcement

Law Enforcement

The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests. In FY 2010, Utah law enforcement
officers made 15,285 DUI arrests, 398 fewer than in the previous year.

DUI Arrests

DUI Arrests by Violation Type

As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in
FY 2010 was very similar to previous years. The majority of the arrests, 82 percent,
were for violations of the per se law, for driving at or above the legal blood/breath
alcohol concentration level of .08. Eleven percent of arrests were for refusal to submit
to a chemical test. Under Utah law, any person who operates a motor vehicle is
considered to have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids for the
purpose of determining whether they are driving in violation of the DUI laws. Refusal
may result in revocation of the driver license and prohibition of driving without an
ignition interlock device. It is also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled
substance or metabolite in one’s body, which accounted for one percent of arrests.
Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 who drove with any
measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for five percent of the
arrests. The fewest arrests were of commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit, which
represented only 0.1 percent of the total.

DUI Arrests by FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010

Violation Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent
Per se Alcohol (.08) 12,368 | 80.9% | 12,705 | 81.0% | 12,559 82.2%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,802 | 11.8% | 1,872 | 11.9% 1,704 11.1%
Not a Drop (< 21) 902 5.9% 877 5.6% 834 5.5%
Drug or Metabolite 195 1.3% 205 1.3% 174 1.1%
Commercial Driver (.04) 30 0.2% 24 0.2% 14 0.1%
TOTAL 15,297 | 100.0% | 15,683 | 100.0% | 15,285 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events
The arrests made in FY 2010 included those that occurred as a result of specialized
DUI overtime enforcement events targeted at removing drivers under the influence of
alcohol and/or other drugs from Utah’s roads. A portion of the DUl impound fees
collected was specifically designated to fund the overtime shifts. During FY 2010,

91 law enforcement agencies throughout the state participated in overtime events,
including local police agencies, sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, Motor Vehicle
Enforcement, the Utah Attorney General’s Office, and Utah Parks & Recreation.

The table below shows the measures associated with DUI overtime enforcement
events in FY 2010. Of the total 1,053 DUI arrests, 840 were for alcohol, 133 were for
other drugs, and 80 were for metabolite.

Statewide DUI Overtime Percent Change
Enforcement Events S AT P AT 20T FY 09 - FY 10
5-Hour Shifts Worked 1,956 2,180 2,235 +2.5%
Vehicles Stopped 14,867 19,233 22,340 +16.2%
DUI Arrests 1,286 1,232 1,053 -14.5%
Vehicles Impounded 1,206 1,173 961 -18.1%
Alcohol-Related Arrests* 747 742 616 -17.0%
Drug-Related Arrests™** 460 440 461 +4.8%
Warrants Served 429 544 427 -21.5%
Other Warnings/Citations 15,942 17,199 17,883 +4.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*Includes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase,

Not a Drop)

**Felony and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession)

DUI Arrests by Agency Type
Nearly half of all arrests in FY 2010 were made by municipal law enforcement
agencies, with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 36 percent of arrests, and

sheriffs’ offices responsible for 14 percent of DUI arrests.

DUI Arrests by FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010
Agency Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent
Sheriffs’ Offices 2,728 | 17.8% | 2,576 | 16.4% 2,143 14.0%
City Police/Other 8,805 | 57.6% | 8,733 | 55.7% 7,617 49.8%
Highway Patrol 3,764 | 246% | 4,374 | 27.9% 5,525 36.1%
TOTAL 15,297 | 100.0% | 15,683 | 100.0% | 15,285 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Gender
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female
arrestees have remained fairly consistent over the past three years, although the

proportion of females arrested for DUl appears to be increasing. In FY 2010, nearly

75 percent of arrestees were male and 25 percent were female.

10
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FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010
DUI Arrests by Gender ['Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Male 11,965 78.2% | 11,972 | 76.3% | 11,402 74.6%
Female 3,272 214% | 3,653 | 23.3% | 3,815 25.0%
Unspecified 60 0.4% 58 0.4% 68 0.4%
TOTAL 15,297 | 100.0% | 15,683 | 100.0% | 15,285 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Age

The youngest DUI driver in FY 2010 was 15 years old, and the oldest was over 90
years old. About nine percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.
Drivers from 25 to 36 years of age accounted for nearly 39 percent of all arrests.

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010
DUI Arrests by Age Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Unknown 2| <0.1% 1 <0.1% 1 <0.1%
15-20 1,612 | 10.5% | 1,556 9.9% | 1,457 9.5%
21-24 2,887 | 189% | 2,894 | 185% | 2,853 | 18.7%
25-36 5,882 | 38.5% | 6,087 | 38.8% | 5,922 | 38.7%
37-48 3,132 | 20.5% | 3,255| 20.8% | 3,049 | 19.9%
49-93 1,782 | 11.6% | 1,890 | 12.1% | 2,003 13.1%
TOTAL 15,297 | 100.0% | 15,683 | 100.0% | 15,285 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Month

As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2010, with
an average arrest rate of 1,274 per month. The highest number of arrests occurred in
March (1,396), with the lowest number of arrests in April (1,171).

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010
DUI Arrests by Month Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
July 1,302 8.5% | 1,230 7.8% | 1,239 8.1%
August 1,312 8.6% | 1,539 9.8% | 1,318 8.6%
September 1,353 8.8% | 1,469 9.4% | 1,380 9.0%
October 1,242 8.1% | 1,263 8.1% | 1,264 8.3%
November 1,270 8.3% | 1,395 8.9% | 1,272 8.3%
December 1,307 8.5% | 1,207 7.7% | 1,178 7.7%
January 1,139 7.4% | 1,361 8.7% | 1,251 8.2%
February 1,176 7.7% | 1,220 7.8% | 1,214 7.9%
March 1,370 9.0% | 1,286 8.2% | 1,396 9.1%
April 1,245 8.1% | 1,201 77% | 1,171 7.7%
May 1,314 8.6% 1,397 8.9% | 1,391 9.1%
June 1,267 8.3% | 1,115 71% | 1,211 7.9%
TOTAL 15,297 | 100.0% | 15,683 | 100.0% | 15,285 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

11
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DUI Arrests by County

Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 2010 occurred along
the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for
nearly 73 percent (11,179) of the total. Salt Lake County had the highest number of
arrests with 6,749 (44%), while Rich County had the fewest arrests with six (< 0.1%).
The table below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the percentage of both
total population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.

DUI Arrests Population Estimate | Vehicle Miles Traveled
County FY 2010 July 1, 2009 Calendar Year 2009

Number | Percent Number Percent Number Percent
Beaver 88 0.6% 6,576 0.2% 248,115,514 0.9%
Box Elder 176 1.2% 49,421 1.8% 917,671,498 3.5%
Cache 415 2.7% 114,276 4.1% 861,094,707 3.3%
Carbon 186 1.2% 19,768 0.7% 298,141,117 1.1%
Daggett 71 <01% 988 <0.1% 30,873,135 0.1%
Davis 1,355 8.9% 307,656 11.0% | 2,702,081,954 10.3%
Duchesne 125 0.8% 17,368 0.6% 228,926,743 0.9%
Emery 99 0.6% 10,848 0.4% 326,440,398 1.2%
Garfield 52 0.3% 5,149 0.2% 118,254,762 0.5%
Grand 120 0.8% 9,493 0.3% 341,154,838 1.3%
Iron 314 2.1% 46,825 1.7% 702,216,514 2.7%
Juab 115 0.8% 10,191 0.4% 384,655,938 1.5%
Kane 70 0.5% 6,740 0.2% 142,718,355 0.5%
Millard 80 0.5% 13,702 0.5% 455,391,362 1.7%
Morgan 36 0.2% 9,947 0.4% 134,143,043 0.5%
Piute 7| <0.1% 1,479 0.1% 30,475,040 0.1%
Rich 6| <0.1% 2,329 0.1% 48,524,322 0.2%
Salt Lake 6,749 | 44.2% | 1,042,125 37.2% | 8,518,653,933 32.5%
San Juan 142 0.9% 15,643 0.6% 288,251,457 1.1%
Sanpete 69 0.5% 27,646 1.0% 217,721,175 0.8%
Sevier 158 1.0% 20,773 0.7% 341,143,192 1.3%
Summit 369 2.4% 40,451 1.4% 710,815,253 2.7%
Tooele 405 2.6% 59,117 21% 831,306,456 3.2%
Uintah 310 2.0% 31,291 1.1% 355,502,991 1.4%
Utah 1,842 12.1% 531,442 19.0% | 3,652,018,328 13.9%
Wasatch 124 0.8% 23,428 0.8% 304,798,580 1.2%
Washington 625 4.1% 145,466 5.2% 1,362,778,935 5.2%
Wayne 8 0.1% 2,692 0.1% 41,024,805 0.2%
Weber 1,233 8.1% 227,259 8.1% 1,622,214,496 6.2%
TOTAL 15,285 | 100.0% | 2,800,089 | 100.0% | 26,217,108,843 | 100.0%

Source for DUI Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Source for Population Data: Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget, Demographic and Economic Analysis Section

Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled: Utah Department of Transportation

12
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DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC)

The average BAC remained at .14 during FY 2010, with the highest BAC recorded at

40, five times the legal limit!

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010
DUl AgEels by R Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
BAC Results Not Reported | 3,536 | 23.1% | 3,712 | 23.7% | 4,153 | 27.2%
.01-.07 982 6.4% | 1,064 6.8% 898 5.9%
.08 - .10 1,617 | 10.6% | 1,600| 10.2% | 1,635| 10.7%
A1-.15 3,072 | 20.1% | 3,100 | 19.8% | 2,923 | 19.1%
.16 - .20 2,129 | 13.9% | 2,240 | 14.3% | 1,967 | 12.9%
21-.25 935 6.1% 931 5.9% 806 5.3%
.26 - .40 357 2.3% 363 2.3% 317 2.1%
Refused BAC Test 1,815 11.9% | 1,875| 12.0% | 1,698 | 11.1%
No Test/Unknown 607 4.0% 519 3.3% 597 3.9%
Drug Only 247 1.6% 279 1.8% 291 1.9%
TOTAL 15,297 | 100.0% | 15,683 | 100.0% | 15,285 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest
The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest. Data
were calculated by selecting offenders arrested in FY 2010 as a starting point, then
counting back ten years to determine previous arrests. Each offender was placed

in a column determined by the type of the most recent arrest. About 67 percent of

arrests were for a first offense, 22 percent were for a second offense, seven

percent were for a third offense, and four percent were for a fourth or subsequent
offense. The total number of arrests reflected in this table is fewer than the total
arrests for FY 2010 because each offender was counted only once, although the

offender may have been arrested more than one time during the fiscal year.

FY 2010 Refusal ;
Arrest Per se of Not a Drug or Commerual TOTAL
Alcohol . Drop . Driver
Type Chemical Metabolite
(.08) (< 21) (.04)
Offense Test Number Percent
15t 8,157 923 358 144 11 9,593 67.4%
2nd 2,260 404 392 21 1 3,078 21.6%
31 776 172 39 4 1 992 7.0%
4th 291 80 18 1 1 391 2.7%
5t 80 27 2 0 0 109 0.8%
gt 39 12 1 0 0 52 0.4%
7 9 2 1 0 0 12 0.1%
gth 2 2 0 0 0 4 <0.1%
gth 1 2 0 0 0 3 <0.1%
10'M- 14" 3 0 0 0 0 3 <0.1%
TOTAL 11,618 1,624 811 170 14 14,237 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

13
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

The following table shows the total number of DUI-related vehicle crashes for each
calendar year from 2000 to 2009, including the number of persons injured and the number
of persons killed as a result of the crashes. The number of DUI-related fatalities in Utah
decreased from 34 in CY 2008 to 31 in CY 2009. According to the National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), whose figures differ somewhat from Utah’s
because they utilize imputations in their calculations when the driver's BAC is unknown, in
CY 2009 Utah had the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the nation at 16.4 percent.
The national average was 32.1 percent.

DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, 2000-2009
Calendar Total Injuries Fatalities

Year DUI-Related Total DUI-Related Percent Total DUI- Percent

Crashes* Injured Injured DUI- Crash Related DUI-
Persons Persons Related Fatalities | Fatalities* | Related
2000 2,162 30,086 1,846 6.1% 373 69 18.5%
2001 2,122 29,375 1,764 6.0% 291 42 14.4%
2002 2,088 30,433 1,685 5.5% 328 53 16.2%
2003 1,952 28,352 1,360 4.8% 309 29 9.4%
2004 1,948 29,638 1,570 5.3% 296 56 18.9%
2005 1,977 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 22 7.8%
2006 2,488 27,433 1,844 6.7% 287 39 13.6%
2007 2,718 27,420 1,900 6.9% 299 42 14.0%
2008 2,330 24,673 1,596 6.5% 276 34 12.3%
2009 Not Available Not Available 244 31 12.7%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUI-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol. DUI-related fatalities include only drivers with a BAC of
> .08.

The figure below illustrates the DUI-related crash fatality data in the table above for
Utah, from 2000 to 20089.

Percentage of Total Crash Fatalities That Were
DUI-Related in Utah, 2000-2009
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Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
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Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, from 2000 to 2009.

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, 2000-2009
Calendar DUI- DUI-Related Fatality Rates per DUI-Related Fatality Rates per

Year Related 10,000 Population 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled

" . Vehicle Miles

Fatalities* Population Rate Traveled Rate

2000 69 2,246,553 0.31 22,501,719,290 0.31
2001 42 2,305,652 0.18 23,382,719,060 0.18
2002 53 2,358,330 0.22 24,422,264,975 0.22
2003 29 2,413,618 0.12 23,946,840,430 0.12
2004 56 2,469,230 0.23 24,624,791,795 0.23
2005 22 2,547,389 0.09 25,129,538,952 0.09
2006 39 2,615,129 0.15 26,166,885,473 0.15
2007 42 2,699,554 0.16 26,824,244 ,333 0.16
2008 34 2,757,779 0.12 25,883,467,343 0.13
2009 31 2,800,089 0.11 26,217,108,843 0.12

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*DUI-related fatalities include only those incidents that involved alcohol and where the driver had a BAC of = .08.

The figure below illustrates the rate of DUl-related fatalities in Utah from 2000 to
2009, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled.
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Day and Hour of Alcohol-Impaired Driver Crashes

The Utah Highway Safety Office reports in calendar year 2008 the highest percentage
of alcohol-impaired driver total crashes (24%) and fatal crashes (28%) occurred on
Saturday. Alcohol-impaired driver total crashes peaked in the evening and early
morning hours, between 5:00 p.m. and 2:59 a.m. Fatal alcohol-impaired driver crashes
varied by hour and peaked at 9:00 p.m. and 2:00 a.m.

Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement

The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other alcohol-
related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities. For FY 2010, the
Legislature appropriated $5,622,600 to be distributed from the Alcoholic Beverage
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32A-1-115) to municipalities and
counties statewide on a formula basis." Funds may be spent in one or more of six
general categories: (1) DUl law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law
enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of
alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of
alcohol law offenders. Municipalities and counties receiving more than $1,000 in beer
tax revenues are required to submit an Annual Report to the Utah Substance Abuse
and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council by October 1% of each year, outlining how funds
were utilized, whether the programs or projects funded were effective, and certifying the
funds were used in accordance with the law. Municipalities and counties that do not
submit their reports by the deadline forfeit their alcohol funds for the current fiscal year
and these funds are then allocated to other entities, in accordance with the statute.

The following table shows how FY 2010 funds were utilized, as reported in the Alcohol
Funds Annual Reports received to date.

FY 2010 Alcohol Funds Reports Number of
Municipalities 2
How Funds Were Used and Copunties Percent
As of October 11, 2010 (N = 162)

DUI Law Enforcement 82 50.6%
General Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 80 49.4%
Prosecution/Court Costs for Alcohol-Related Cases 42 25.9%
Treatment of Alcohol Problems 4 2.5%
Alcohol-Related Education/Prevention 63 38.9%
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 13 8.0%

Source: Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council, FY 2010 Alcohol Funds Annual Reports

" In accordance with §32A-1-115 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes funds to municipalities and
counties in December of each year based upon the following formula: percentage of state population (25%);
percentage of statewide convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); percentage of all state stores,
package agencies, liquor licensees, and beer licensees (20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes
(for alcohol-related offenses) based upon the percentage of the state population (25% to counties only).

2 Recipients may use alcohol funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute.
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Adjudications and Sanctions

DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense. Misdemeanor cases are handled in
Justice Courts, which are sponsored by municipalities and counties. Felony cases and
cases not referred to the Justice Courts are handled in state District Courts. Of the
13,501 DUI cases that went to court during FY 2010, District Courts handled 2,096 (15
percent) and Justice Courts handled 11,405 (85 percent). The number of DUI cases
disposed in the state’s District Courts and the number of DUI cases charged in the
Justice Courts both decreased from FY 2009 to FY 2010.

% Change
DUI Cases in Utah’s Courts FY 2008 | FY 2009 | FY 2010 | FY 09— FY 10
District Court Cases Disposed 2,052 2,266 2,096 -71.5%
Justice Court Charges 11,229 12,002 11,405 -5.0%
Total DUI Cases 13,281 14,268 13,501 -5.4%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Justice Court DUI Data

Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes

During FY 2010, Utah’s Justice Courts handled 11,405 DUI cases, 597 fewer than in
FY 2009. The following table details the DUI cases filed in Justice Courts and their
outcomes. This table does not represent the actual DUI conviction rate for the Justice
Courts, however, as it includes cases filed in FY 2009 that were not resolved until

FY 2010. In addition, 2,712 cases were still pending resolution at the close of FY 2010.

Justice Court FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 % Change
DUI Charges and FY 09 — FY 10
Qutcomes Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent

Total DUI Charges Filed 11,229 | 100.0% | 12,002 | 100.0% | 11,405 | 100.0% -5.0%
Guilty 6,681 59.5% 7,121 59.3% 6,371 55.9% -10.5%
Dismissed or Not Guilty 2,587 | 23.0% 2,384 19.9% 2,322 | 20.3% -2.6%
Cases Pending 1,961 17.5% 2,497 | 20.8% 2,712 | 23.8% +8.6%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
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Justice Court DUI Sanctions

The Justice Courts also track other DUl-related case information such as blood/breath
alcohol content (BAC) reported; screening, assessment and treatment ordered; and
ignition interlock ordered. The table below includes data for those Justice Courts
reporting to the Department of Public Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Identification. The
numbers reflect only those dispositions loaded into the Criminal History Repository, and
do not include those in the suspense file. The data indicate in 3,382 cases the
blood/breath alcohol content was known. The table further shows judges ordered
offenders to participate in an educational series in 2,155 cases, substance abuse
treatment in 1,585 cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 915 cases.

. . FY FY FY
Justice Court DUI Sanctions 2008 | 2009 | 2010
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 88 113 119
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content Known 1,672 | 2,708 | 3,382
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 1,104 | 1,953 | 2,414
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 819 | 1,291 | 1,585
Educational Series Ordered 1,058 | 1,782 | 2,155
Ignition Interlock Ordered 358 853 915
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 1,244 | 2,312 | 3,082
Electronic Monitoring 36 131 121
Enhancement Notification 1,278 | 2,184 | 2,400

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification

District Court DUI Data

District Court DUI Case Outcomes
The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,096 DUI cases
processed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2010

FY 2010 District Court DUl Case Outcomes

DUI Case Judicial District

Outcomes st [ 2nd | 3 [ g4t [ 5™ | g | 7' | 8™ | Total | Percent
Deceased 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 2 5 0.2%
Declined Prosecution 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 2 0.1%
Dismissed 59| 64| 80| 47 21| 23| 14| 11 319 15.2%
Diversion 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.0%
Guilty 111|344 | 434 | 391 | 121 | 46| 77| 87| 1,611 76.9%
No Contest 1 2 2| 22 1 3 3 1 35 1.7%
Not Guilty 2 0 1 0 1 0 1 0 5 0.2%
Plea in Abeyance 0 3 0 2 2 1 2 5 15 0.7%
Remanded 0 1 34 4 1 1 2 0 43 2.1%
Transferred 1 5 7| 43 0 1 1 3 61 2.9%
TOTAL 174 | 419 | 558 | 512 | 148 | 76 | 100 | 109 | 2,096 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
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About 77 percent of the cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. The defendant was
found not guilty in only five cases. In 15 percent of the cases, the case was either
dismissed or declined for prosecution. It should be noted that this table is not a
depiction of the District Courts’ actual DUI conviction rates, as it only examined cases
that were disposed of during FY 2010. Pending cases were not included in the data
analysis.

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data

The District Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled. In the table
below, which includes data for Fiscal Year 2008 through Fiscal Year 2010, the first
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that
criterion. The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.

In FY 2010 for example, 27 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense,
while 22 percent were actually third-time offenders, and 23 percent were sentenced as

third-time offenders. Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual.

An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues.

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2008-2010°

Offense Was Offense Was Offense Was
Offense Charged As Actually Sentenced As

FY 08 FY 09 FY 10 FY 08 FY 09 FY 10 FY 08 FY 09 FY 10

1% Offense 48% | 53% | 53% | 46% | 53% | 50% | 50% | 54% | 56%

2" Offense 18% | 18% | 17% | 23% | 23% | 21% | 21% | 20% | 19%

3" Offense 30% | 26% | 27% | 22% 17% | 22% | 24% | 22% | 23%

4th Offense 2% 2% 1% 4% 3% 4% 3% 2% 1%
th th

5 1010 2% | 1% | 1% | 5%| 4% | 3%| 2%| 2%| 1%
Offense

TOTAL 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court DUI Sanctions

The District Courts track DUI-related case information regarding sanctions ordered as
well. The table on the following page includes the FY 2010 data for those cases where
the values were known. The table shows judges ordered offenders to participate in an
educational series in 419 cases, ordered substance abuse treatment in 648 cases, and
that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 293 cases. DUI offenders were notified
100 percent of the time that they may be subject to enhancements.

3 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known; in FY 2008, FY
2009 and FY 2010, the number was unknown in a large number of cases. In addition, the following cases were
not included: bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and transferred.
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. : FY FY FY
District Court DUI Sanctions 2008 | 2009 2010
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content Known 603 590 560
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 646 693 686
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 633 698 648
Educational Series Ordered 417 459 419
Ignition Interlock Ordered 353 312 293
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 711 851 786
Electronic Monitoring 174 128 122
Enhancement Notification 100% | 100% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Other DUI Sanctions

The Driver License Division tracks other DUI sanctions. The following table lists the
average sanctions applied against DUI offenders. Not all offenders are ordered to
serve a jail sentence or perform community service hours, however, all convicted DUI
offenders are assessed a fine and a surcharge. For a first offense the minimum fine is
$700, for a second offense within 10 years the minimum fine is $800, and for a third or
subsequent offense the minimum fine is $1,500.

Average Jail Sentence,
Community Service Hours FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010
and Fines
Average Jail Sentence 146 days 151 days 154 days
Average Fine for DUI Convictions $1,488.50 $1,467.63 $1,490.30
Average Fine for Other Alcohol/
Drug Related Convictions BLZUREL B2 Bl

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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Driver License Control

The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following:

e Driving under the influence
e Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body
e Refusal to submit to a chemical test
e Automobile homicide
e “No-alcohol” conditional license

e Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation

Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction

Alcohol Hearing Statistics
When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license
is issued. Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license.

As shown in the table below, there were 5,256 alcohol hearings held in FY 2010. The
Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting officer does not
appear at the hearing. To improve appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic
option whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing. In 2,885 cases, one
of the parties called in for the hearing.

FY 2010 Alcohol Hearing Statistics

Total # of No No Officer Other Total Total
ACD Code | Hearings | Officer | Telephonic | No Action | No Action | Telephonic
Per Se 4,402 761 101 811 1,673 2,412
Not a Drop 256 39 2 19 60 125
Refusal 598 83 16 51 150 348
TOTAL 5,256 883 119 881 1,883 2,885

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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Screening, Assessment,
Education and Treatment

Screening and Assessment

As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment. A
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual
has a problem with alcohol and/or other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth
clinical assessment is appropriate. An assessment is a collection of detailed
information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or other drug abuse, emotional
and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.
The assessment is used to determine the need for substance abuse treatment.*
The following table shows the orders for substance abuse screening and
assessment by the District and Justice Courts in FY 2010, for those cases where
the values were known.

Substance Abuse Screening and
Assessment Ordered by the Courts FY 2008 | FY 2009 | FY 2010

District Court 646 693 686

Justice Court 1,104 1,953 2,414

Sources: District Courts — Utah Administrative Office of the Courts; Justice Courts — Utah Department of Public Safety,
Bureau of Criminal Identification

Education

For a first DUI offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment. The

* Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7.
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purpose of DUl education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be
related to use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize
the harmful consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the
dangers of drinking and driving.” Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational
series attend the PRIME For Life program developed by the Prevention Research
Institute (PRI). “PRIME For Life provides education and strategies for individuals who
have problems with alcohol or drug use. PRIME For Life is an interactive experience
designed to guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more
accurate beliefs about personal risk that will support those low-risk choices.” The
following table shows the orders for the educational series by the District and
Justice Courts in FY 2010, for those cases where values were known.

Educational Series Ordered EY 2008 | EY 2009 | EY 2010
By the Courts

District Court 417 459 419

Justice Court 1,058 1,782 2,155

Sources: District Courts — Utah Administrative Office of the Courts; Justice Courts — Utah Department of Public Safety,
Bureau of Criminal Identification

PRI conducts periodic studies of PRIME For Life participants to measure the impact on
changing beliefs about alcohol and other drug use, understanding the risks associated
with alcohol/drug use, and desire to change personal drinking and drug use behaviors.
In previous years this study was published annually, however, because the findings
have been virtually identical from year to year, PRI now publishes the study less
frequently. The most recent study provides data on 902 Utah offenders who
participated in the PRIME For Life program during 2008 and 2009. Offenders ranged in
age from 17 to 70, with an average age of 31. The findings from this study are
summarized in the table below and on the following page.’

2008-2009 Utah PRIME For Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes

Gender

Male 69%
Female 31%
Race/Ethnicity
White 81%
Hispanic 10%
African American 2%
American Indian 2%
Other 5%

® Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.

6 Beadnell, B., Nason, M., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2010, April). PRIME For Life 2010 Evaluation
Report Executive Summary: Utah. Lexington, KY: Prevention Research Institute.

"Ibid.
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2008-2009 Utah PRIME For Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes

Type of Offense

Impaired Driving 62%

Drug Possession 14%

Underage Drinking 10%

Underage Drinking and Driving 5%

Other 9%
DSM-IV Indicators of Alcohol Dependence

0 Indicators 19%

1 -2 Indicators 34%

3 - 6 Indicators 47%
Key Findings: Behavioral Intentions el e
Drive After Making High-Risk Choices

Did Not Drive/Will Not Drive 67% 96%

Drove/Will Drive or Unsure 33% 4%
Maximum Number of Drinks in a Day

Abstained/Will Abstain 31% 45%

1-3 Drinks 17% 32%

More Than 3 Drinks 52% 23%
Marijuana and Other Drug Use

Abstained/Will Abstain 76% 91%

Used/Will Use 24% 9%

After attending PRIME For Life, participants, especially those with the largest number of
DSM-IV indicators of possible alcohol dependence, reported the following:

e ‘“greater perception of risk associated with high-risk drinking, marijuana use,
and other drug use;

e ‘“greater perception of personal risk for developing alcoholism and drug
addiction;

e ‘“greater perception that their substance use risked things they value;
e “greater recognition of existing substance abuse problems;

e ‘“greater agreement with attitudes and beliefs that are supportive of making
low-risk choices; and

e ‘“greater motivation to reduce their use”.

Finally, “at the conclusion of PRIME For Life, over 80% of participants agreed the
program helped them decide to drink or use drugs less (82%), feel confident about
being able to drink less or use drugs less (82%), and develop skills to be able to drink
less or to use drugs less (81%)”.
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Treatment

For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance abuse treatment.
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change
patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to
restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning. DUI
offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder
should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the educational
course.” Treatment should address both alcohol and other drug problems. The level
of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive outpatient, residential) is
determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of the substance abuse
disorder. The table below shows the orders for substance abuse treatment by the
District and Justice Courts in FY 2010, for those cases where the values were
known.

Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered EY 2008 | EY 2009 | EY 2010
by the Courts

District Court 633 698 648

Justice Court 819 1,291 1,585

Sources: District Courts — Utah Administrative Office of the Courts; Justice Courts — Utah Department of Public Safety,
Bureau of Criminal Identification

8 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.
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Utah'’s Impaired Driving ;f;_;;‘(

Media Campaign DRUNK DRIVING

OVER THE LIMIT. UNDER ARREST.

The Utah Department of Public Safety Highway
Safety Office’s statewide media and outreach
campaign continues to work to change the
awareness and behavior of the 21-34 year old
demographic that is likely to drive after drinking
alcohol. The Utah campaign is funded by the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
(NHTSA) and builds upon the national campaign.
The campaign uses billboards, print ads, radio,
on-line, college newspapers, and local media to “Don’t Get Pinched (Arrested)
reinforce the message that impaired driving is one of On St. Patrick’s Day”

the most frequently committed and deadliest crimes.

And, if you get caught in Utah, you will face serious consequences.

Drive drunk and
we’ll both arrest you.
Pt

BRUNK DRIVING

Feeling lucky, drunk?
Go ahead, make my day.

Billboards

“Drunk Driving

Isn't A Game” — /
(Super Bowl = ;
Weekend) A ON r:albsll_e COMMAND CENEHz:-w"“ ]
. HEGHELAND CFIVE., COT TOINWOO0! HERGH] M

“DUI Mobile Command Center Rolls Out
New Look at Summer DUI Checkpoint”
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UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX

(Current as of October 2010)

Court-Ordered

Sentencing

MISDEMEANOR DUI

FIRST OFFENSE

SECOND OFFENSE
WITHIN 10 YEARS

FELONY DUI

CLASSIFICATION
(841-6a-503)

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

e if bodily injury*

o if passenger is under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

e if bodily injury*

o if passenger under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

THIRD DEGREE FELONY

« if third or subsequent offense
within 10 years

« if serious bodily injury*

o if any prior felony DUI conV|ct|on
or automobile homicide®
conviction

Jail:
(841-6a-505)

SHALL order:

48 consecutive hours OR
48 hours compensatory
service OR electronic home
confinement?

SHALL order:

240 consecutive hours OR
240 hours compensatory
service OR electronic home
confinement?

SHALL order:
0-5 year prison term OR
1,500 hours jail (62.5 days)
MAY order:
Electronic home confinement?

Fine:
(841-6a-505)

SHALL order:
$700 minimum plus
surcharge

SHALL order:
$800 minimum plus
surcharge

SHALL order:
$1,500 minimum plus
surcharge, unless 0-5 prison
term is imposed

Screening,
Assessment,
Educational
Series,
Treatment

(841-6a-505)

SHALL order:

e Screening

e Assessment (if found
appropriate by screening)

e Educational series, unless
treatment is ordered

MAY order:

e Treatment

SHALL order:

e Screening

e Assessment (if found
appropriate by screening)

e Educational series, unless
treatment is ordered

MAY order:

e Treatment

SHALL order:

e Screening

o Assessment

¢ Intensive treatment or inpatient
treatment and aftercare for not
less than 240 hours, unless 0-5
prison term is imposed

Probation:®
(841-6a-507)

MAY order supervised
probation

SHALL order supervised
probation

SHALL order supervised probation
if 0-5 prison term is not imposed

Ignition
Interlock”

(841-6a-518)
(841-6a-530)

MAY order:

¢ |gnition interlock

SHALL order:

¢ Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on
the record why such order
not appropriate

MAY order:

¢ |gnition interlock

SHALL order:

¢ Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on
the record why such order
not appropriate

MAY order:

¢ |gnition interlock

SHALL order:

¢ Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on
the record why such order
not appropriate

High BAC:
(.16 or higher)

(841-6a-505)

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation®

e Treatment and interlock*
and/or electronic home
confinement? OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation®

e Treatment and interlock*
and/or electronic home
confinement? OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

SHALL order:

e Supervised probatlon if 0-5
prison term Is not imposed

e Treatment and interlock* and/or
electronic home confinement?
OR describe on the record why
such order(s) not appropriate

Driver License
Suspension

(841-6a-509)

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or
2 years

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or
2 years

Court MAY order additional 90
days, 180 days, 1 year or 2 years

'A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the

same episode of driving.

’See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions.
3Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance in the body).
“Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a

condition of probation.

®Alcohol restricted driver




The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a
court order. Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions.

Statutory MISDEMEANOR DUI
Provisions FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE FELONY DUI
WITHIN 10 YEARS

Driver License If 21 or older: If 21 or older: If 21 or older:
Suspension Suspend for 120 days Revoke for 2 years Revoke for 2 years
(§41-6a-5009) If under 21: If under 21: If under 21:

Suspend until 21 or for 120 Revoke until 21 or for 2 Revoke until 21 or for 2 years,

days, whichever is longer years, whichever is longer whichever is longer

OR OR

If not issued a license, deny If not issued a license, deny

application for license or application for license or

learner’s permit until 21 or learner’s permit until 21 or

for 120 days, whichever is for 2 years, whichever is

longer longer
(841-6a-521) REFUSAL OF CHEMICAL TEST

1% Offense

If 21 or older: Revoke for 18 months
If under 21: Revoke until 21 or for 18 months, whichever is longer

2"% and Subsequent Offenses
If 21 or older: Revoke for 36 months
If under 21: Revoke until 21 or for 36 months, whichever is longer

(841-6a-517) DRIVING WITH CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE IN BODY

1%' Offense
If 21 or older: Suspend for 120 days
If under 21: Suspend until 21 or for 120 days

2" and Subseguent Offenses
If 21 or older: Revoke for 2 years
If under 21: Revoke until 21 or for 2 years

Interlock Ignition interlock required for Ignition interlock required for Ignition interlock required for
Restricted Driver | 18 months 3 years 6 years

(841-6a-518.2)
An “interlock restricted ¢ |gnition interlock required for 3 years for operating a vehicle without an ignition interlock system
driver’ may not operate a if an interlock restricted driver

motor vehicle withoutan [ e |gnition interlock required for 3 years for refusal to submit to a chemical test

ignition interlock syst L : : ,
f’s”'o',‘;g;gdeggg ngj,fg: e Ignition interlock required for 3 years if under the age of 21at time of DUI

the Board of Pardons ¢ Ignition interlock required for 10 years if convicted of automobile homicide
and Parole, or due to a
statutory provision.

Alcohol Alcohol restricted driver for Alcohol restricted driver for Alcohol restricted driver for life
Restricted Driver | 2years 10 years
(841-6a-529) If bodily injury, passenger

) _ under 16, or passenger under
An "ajcohol restricted 18 if driver 21 or older, alcohol
river” may not operate . .
or be in actual physical restricted driver for 5 years

control of a vehicle with

any measurable or Convictions for the following violations will also result in a person being an alcohol restricted driver
detectable amount of for the time periods indicated:
ﬁl(fg; ol in the person’s e 2 years for impaired driving (841-6a-502.5)

o 3 years for driving with measurable/detectable alcohol in body if an alcohol restricted driver OR
for driving without an ignition interlock system if an interlock restricted driver (841-6a-518.2)

e 5 years for refusal of a chemical test (§841-6a-520)
e 10 years for impaired driving OR refusal of a chemical test within 10 years of a prior offense
e Until 21 for a person who is under 21 years of age at the time of the violation
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