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Executive 
Summary  

 
Executive Summary                                                     
DUI in Utah FY 2005 

Law Enforcement:  Arrests 
◘ There were 13,675 DUI arrests, 786 fewer than in FY 2004.  The majority of the 

arrests, 73 percent, were for violation of the .08 per se statute. 

◘ Over half of all arrests for DUI were made by local law enforcement 
agencies. 

◘  Eighty-one percent of DUI drivers were male. 

◘ Almost 16 percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.  DUI 
drivers between the ages of 21 and 36 accounted for over half (57%) of all 
arrests. 

◘ The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front, with Weber, 
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 65 percent of the total 
arrests. 

◘ The average BAC was .14, with the highest at .45, nearly six times the legal 
limit! 

Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions 
◘ District Courts handled 2,256 DUI cases; Justice Courts handled 9,898 DUI 

cases. 

◘ Ninety-six percent of Utah’s Justice Courts are reporting DUI data electronically. 
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◘ District Court judges ordered 57% of offenders into substance abuse treatment, 
a two percent increase over last year; and ordered ignition interlock devices for 
359 offenders, 78 fewer than last year. 

◘ The average jail sentence for DUI offenders was 147.5 days; the average time 
served was 16.9 days. 

Driver License Control 
◘ The Driver License Division conducted 4,578 hearings during FY 2005 to 

determine if there was sufficient information to warrant the suspension or 
revocation of an individual’s driver license. 

◘ In 1,318 cases, either the arresting officer or the DUI offender used the 
telephonic option to call in for the driver license hearing; in 860 cases, the Driver 
License Division was unable to take any action because the officer did not 
appear. 

Assessment, Education and Treatment 
◘ From September 2003 to September 2004, 4,316 DUI offenders participated in 

the PRIME for Life educational course.  Of the 3,623 who completed the course 
pre- and post-tests, nearly two-thirds reported it was their first DUI offense, while 
one-fifth reported it was not their first offense. 

◘ DUI Courts that utilize a drug court model of “therapeutic jurisprudence” are 
effective in addressing the underlying causes of DUI and reducing recidivism.     
A CCJJ study found that almost 96 percent of DUI offenders served in the 
Taylorsville Justice Court successfully completed the treatment ordered by the 
court. 

Recommended Action 

◘ Enact legislation to extend the sunset date on the use of pleas in 
abeyance in DUI cases. 

◘ Enact legislation to increase the use of the ignition interlock device 
(IID) as an effective tool for preventing and reducing DUI.

2 
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Introduction 

1 
Introduction 

riving under the influence remains one of Utah’s most serious violent crimes.  
During fiscal year 2005, there were 13,675 arrests for DUI throughout the 
state.  In calendar year 2004, 72 Utahns lost their lives because someone 
chose to drink and drive.  Despite the considerable progress being made to 

more effectively address DUI in Utah, there are still areas that can be strengthened in 
our response to DUI.  This year’s report provides an update of DUI-related data for the 
state, as well as recommended action that will hopefully help in preventing and 
reducing the incidence of DUI in the future.   

D
Purpose of the Report 
The Third Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was 
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code.  The statute requires the 
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI 
related data, including the following: 

� Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement 
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving 
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs; 

� Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements 
collected by the state courts); 

� Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and 
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related process of: 

o Law enforcement; 

o Adjudication; 

o Sanctions; 

o Drivers’ license control; and 

o Alcohol education, assessment, and treatment. 

 3
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2005 DUI Legislation 
 
S.B. 42  Alcohol Restricted Drivers                  

Senator Carlene M. Walker 
 

Changes the restricted blood alcohol content for certain persons and 
changes the violation from a driving under the influence violation to an 
alcohol restricted driver violation; 

Defines certain persons convicted of driving under the influence, refusal 
to submit to a chemical test, alcohol-related reckless driving, and 
automobile homicide as “alcohol restricted drivers”; 

Provides that it is a class B misdemeanor for an alcohol restricted driver 
to drive a vehicle with any measurable or detectable amount of alcohol in 
the person’s body; 

Requires a peace officer to warn a person that has been placed under 
arrest for refusing to submit to a chemical test for alcohol or drugs that a 
refusal to submit to a chemical test for alcohol or drugs may result in a 
five or ten-year prohibition of the person driving with any measurable or 
detectable amount of alcohol in the person’s body; 

Provides that a peace officer may impound a vehicle for certain 
violations; 

Prohibits the Driver License Division from issuing, reinstating, or 
renewing a driver license in the form of a no alcohol conditional license 
beginning on July 1, 2005; and 

Repeals provisions regarding no alcohol conditional licenses beginning 
on July 1, 2015; and coded licenses beginning July 1, 2005. 
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2005 DUI Committee 
Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence (USAAV) Coordinating Council 
During FY 2005, the USAAV DUI Committee met regularly to continue its work to 
identify ways to improve Utah’s response to DUI. The Committee formed an Ignition 
Interlock Workgroup to prepare legislation that will increase the use of ignition interlock 
devices.  The Committee also worked with researchers on the CCJJ study that 
examined the effectiveness of pleas in abeyance in DUI cases.  The members of the 
DUI Committee are listed below.   

Anna Kay Waddoups 
Citizen Member 

Chair, USAAV DUI Committee 
David Beach Director, Highway Safety Office 

Department of Public Safety 
Bart Blackstock Citizen Member 

 
Paul Boyden Executive Director 

Statewide Association of Public Attorneys 
Neil Cohen Compliance Officer 

Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Victoria Delheimer Administrator, Substance Abuse Treatment 

Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Kim Gibb Bureau Chief, Driver License Division 

Department of Public Safety 
Chief Wayne Hansen Farmington Police Department 

Utah Chiefs of Police Association 
Gail Johnson Education Specialist 

Utah State Office of Education 
Teri Pectol Program Manager, Highway Safety Office 

Department of Public Safety  
Major Neil Porter Utah Highway Patrol 

Department of Public Safety 
Richard Schwermer Assistant State Court Administrator 

Administrative Office of the Courts 
Sheriff Kirk Smith Washington County Sheriff’s Office 

Utah Sheriff’s Association 
Carlene M. Walker Senator 

Utah State Senate 
Mary Lou Emerson 

Director, USAAV Council 
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Ignition Interlock Workgroup 
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a public safety measure designed to prevent drivers 
with elevated blood alcohol levels from operating motor vehicles.  In its DUI Best 
Sentencing Practices Guidebook, the Utah Sentencing Commission states that “ignition 
interlock can be an effective DUI control mechanism to be used while other 
interventions, such as education and treatment, are taking place”.1      

Current Utah law provides that judges may order an ignition interlock device for a first 
DUI offense, and shall order the device for a second or subsequent offense within 10 
years of a prior conviction and for offenders under the age of 21.  In order to better 
understand judges’ perceptions regarding ignition interlock devices, as well as the 
circumstances surrounding their use, the DUI Committee asked the Commission on 
Criminal and Juvenile Justice to study the issue.  In September of 2004, CCJJ released 
a Utah Justice Research Brief entitled Ignition Interlock and DUI Offenses:  A Survey of 
Utah Judges.2   When asked how often they sentenced DUI offenders to an IID as a 
condition of probation, Utah judges responded as illustrated in the following table: 

Question to Judges:  How often do you sentence DUI offenders to an 
                                     ignition interlock as a condition of probation? 

Misdemeanor DUI Offenders Felony DUI Offenders  
Judges Always/ 

Regularly 
 

Sometimes
 

Never 
Always/ 

Regularly 
 

Sometimes
 

Never 
District Court 59.6% 38.3% 2.1% 73.3% 20.0% 6.7% 
 
Justice Court 

 
39.1% 

 
41.4% 

 
19.5%

Justice Court judges do not 
sentence felony DUI offenders. 

Source:  Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice 
 

Judges were also asked their reasons for not ordering the IID as a condition of 
probation, which included:  1) not recommended by the prosecution (37.2%);                
2) offender’s license suspended/revoked (25.6%); 3) IIDs not available in their area 
(24.0%); 4) no mechanism to ensure compliance (20.7%); 5) IIDs too costly for 
offenders (16.5%); 6) inadequate clarity in the DUI statutes (6.6%); 7) unfamiliar with 
interlocks/how they work (4.1%); and 8) low compliance with interlock orders (4.1%).  

In response to the survey, the USAAV DUI Committee formed an Ignition Interlock 
Workgroup in December of 2004 to address IID issues and to make recommendations 
to improve use of the devices.  The Workgroup’s efforts resulted in proposed legislation 
that will be presented to the 2006 Utah Legislature.   

                                                                          

1 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

2 Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, Ignition Interlock and DUI Offenses:  A Survey of Utah 
Judges, September 2004. 
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Law Enforcement 
The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway 
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests.  In FY 05, Utah law enforcement 
officers made 13,675 DUI arrests, 786 fewer than in the previous year.   

DUI Arrests 
DUI Arrests by Type 
As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in 
FY 05 was very similar to previous years.  The majority of the arrests, 73 percent, were 
for violations of the per se law, for driving at or above the legal blood alcohol level of 
.08.  Thirteen percent of arrests were for refusal to submit to a chemical test.  Under 
Utah law, any person who operates a motor vehicle is considered to have given 
consent to tests of breath, blood, urine or oral fluids for the purpose of determining 
whether they are driving in violation of Utah’s DUI law, with refusal resulting in 
revocation of the driver license.  It is also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled 
substance or metabolite of a controlled substance in one’s body, which accounted for 
7.6 percent of arrests in FY 05.  Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under 
the age of 21 who drove with any measurable alcohol concentration in their body, were 
responsible for 5.6 percent of the arrests.  The fewest arrests were of commercial 
drivers exceeding the .04 limit, which accounted for only 0.3 percent of the total; 
however, arrests of commercial drivers nearly doubled from FY 03 to FY 05.         

FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005  
DUI Arrests by Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Not a Drop (Under 21) 859 5.9% 818 5.6% 767 5.6%
Refusal of BAC Test 1,850 12.8% 1,865 12.9% 1,807 13.2%
Drug or Metabolite 1,039 7.2% 1,050 7.3% 1,038 7.6%
Commercial Driver (.04) 24 0.2% 30 0.2% 44 0.3%
Regular Alcohol (per se) 10,719 73.9% 10,698 74.0% 10,019 73.3%
TOTAL 14,491 100.0% 14,461 100.0% 13,675 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

Law 
Enforcement 
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DUI Sweeps 
Many of the arrests made in FY 05 occurred as a result of specialized DUI enforcement 
events or “sweeps” that specifically targeted and removed drivers under the influence of 
alcohol and/or other drugs from Utah’s roads.  DUI impound fees ($354,600 in FY 
2005) were used to fund these sweeps. 

The following table shows that all measures associated with DUI sweeps increased 
from FY 2004 to FY 2005.  The number of shifts worked increased by over 17 percent; 
DUI arrests increased by nearly 12 percent; alcohol-related arrests, including open 
container and Not a Drop violations, increased by 65 percent; and drug related arrests 
increased by an overwhelming 174 percent!   

 
Statewide DUI Sweeps 

 
FY 2004 

 
FY 2005 

Percent Change 
FY 04 – FY 05 

Shifts Worked 2,010 2,364 17.6% 
DUI Arrests 1,334 1,493 11.9% 
Vehicles Impounded 1,150 1,269 10.3% 
Vehicles Stopped 11,673 18,612 59.4% 
Alcohol Related Arrests 531 879 65.5% 
Drug Related Arrests 250 685 174.0% 
Warrants Served 154 375 143.5% 
All Other Contacts 12,341 18,477 49.7% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
 

The following tables detail the arresting agency, the gender and age of the driver, the 
month and county of arrest, and the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) at time of 
arrest.  Overall, the FY 05 data are very similar to those collected in FY 03 and FY 04.   

DUI Arrests by Agency Type 
More than half of all arrests in FY 05 were made by local law enforcement agencies 
(55%), with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 27 percent of arrests, and 
Sheriffs’ Offices responsible for just over 18 percent of DUI arrests. 

 

FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005 DUI Arrests by  
Agency Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Sheriffs’ Offices 2,189 15.1% 2,433 16.8% 2,529 18.5%
City Police/Other 7,892 54.5% 7,601 52.6% 7,464 54.6%
Highway Patrol 4,410 30.4% 4,427 30.6% 3,682 26.9%
TOTAL 14,491 100.0% 14,461 100.0% 13,675 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Gender 
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female 
arrestees have remained consistent over the past three years:  81 percent were 
male and 19 percent were female. 
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FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005  
DUI Arrests by Gender Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Male 11,740 81.0% 11,587 80.1% 11,017 80.6%
Female 2,688 18.6% 2,832 19.6% 2,625 19.2%
Unspecified 63 0.4% 42 0.3% 33 0.2%
TOTAL 14,491 100.0% 14,461 100.0% 13,675 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Age 
The youngest DUI driver in FY 05 was 15 years old; the oldest was in the 94-96 
age range.  Almost 16 percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.  
Drivers between the ages of 21 and 36 accounted for over half (57%) of all arrests.  

FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005  
DUI Arrests by Age Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Unknown 5 0.0% 4 0.0% 2 0.0%
15-20 1,625 11.2% 1,651 11.4% 2,163 15.8%
21-24 2,952 20.4% 2,780 19.2% 3,716 27.2%
25-36 5,032 34.7% 5,182 35.8% 4,105 30.0%
37-48 3,444 23.8% 3,364 23.3% 2,718 19.9%
49+ 1,433 9.9% 1,480 10.3% 971 7.1%
TOTAL 14,491 100.0% 14,461 100.0% 13,675 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Month 
DUI arrests remained consistent throughout FY 05, with an average arrest rate of 1,140 
per month.  The largest number of arrests occurred in January (1,221), with the 
smallest number of arrests in April (1,049). 

FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005  
DUI Arrests by Month Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
July 1,137 7.9% 1,171 8.1% 1,196 8.7%
August 1,256 8.7% 1,318 9.1% 1,125 8.2%
September 1,151 7.9% 1,174 8.1% 1,099 8.0%
October 1,231 8.5% 1,179 8.1% 1,102 8.1%
November 1,257 8.7% 1,184 8.2% 1,109 8.1%
December 1,279 8.8% 1,136 7.9% 1,173 8.6%
January 1,276 8.8% 1,211 8.4% 1,221 8.9%
February 1,119 7.7% 1,200 8.3% 1,106 8.1%
March 1,279 8.8% 1,295 9.0% 1,188 8.7%
April 1,150 7.9% 1,213 8.4% 1,049 7.7%
May 1,285 8.9% 1,309 9.0% 1,174 8.6%
June 1,071 7.4% 1,071 7.4% 1,133 8.3%
TOTAL 14,491 100.0% 14,461 100.0% 13,675 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI Arrests by County 
Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 05 occurred along the 
Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 65 
percent (8,933) of the total.  Salt Lake County had the highest number of arrests with 
4,686 (34%); Wayne County had the fewest arrests with five (0.04%). 

FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005  
DUI Arrests by County Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Beaver 58 0.4% 110 0.8% 139 1.0%
Box Elder 186 1.3% 221 1.5% 186 1.4%
Cache 385 2.7% 396 2.7% 434 3.2%
Carbon 169 1.2% 152 1.0% 149 1.1%
Daggett 11 0.1% 13 0.1% 14 0.1%
Davis 1,452 10.0% 1,569 10.9% 1,548 11.3%
Duchesne 195 1.3% 130 0.9% 127 0.9%
Emery 133 0.9% 93 0.6% 60 0.4%
Garfield 54 0.4% 50 0.4% 34 0.3%
Grand 212 1.5% 149 1.0% 184 1.4%
Iron 295 2.0% 286 2.0% 303 2.2%
Juab 166 1.1% 177 1.2% 188 1.4%
Kane 125 0.9% 98 0.7% 83 0.6%
Millard 110 0.8% 106 0.7% 108 0.8%
Morgan 34 0.2% 33 0.2% 40 0.3%
Piute 10 0.1% 4 0.0% 7 0.0%
Rich 16 0.1% 17 0.1% 20 0.1%
Salt Lake 5,167 35.6% 5,360 37.1% 4,686 34.3%
San Juan 123 0.8% 125 0.9% 108 0.8%
Sanpete 125 0.9% 116 0.8% 126 0.9%
Sevier 187 1.3% 185 1.3% 181 1.3%
Summit 239 1.6% 334 2.3% 441 3.2%
Tooele 564 3.9% 541 3.7% 622 4.6%
Uintah 374 2.6% 446 3.1% 380 2.8%
Utah 1,560 10.8% 1,447 10.0% 1,575 11.5%
Wasatch 217 1.5% 254 1.8% 193 1.4%
Washington 654 4.5% 649 4.5% 610 4.5%
Wayne 15 0.1% 16 0.1% 5 0.0%
Weber 1,655 11.4% 1,384 9.6% 1,124 8.2%
TOTAL 14,491 100.0% 14,461 100.0% 13,675 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI Arrests by Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) 
The average BAC remained at .14 during FY 05, with the highest BAC recorded at .45, 
nearly six times the legal limit! 

FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005 DUI Arrests by Blood 
Alcohol Content Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
BAC Results Not 

Yet Submitted 
 

2,757
 

19.0%
 

3,909
 

27.0% 
 

3,389
 

24.8%
.01 - .07 1,017 7.0% 813 5.6% 810 6.0%
.08 - .10 1,609 11.1% 1,425 9.8% 1,342 9.8%
.11 - .15 2,864 19.8% 2,589 17.9% 2,404 17.6%
.16 - .20 1,914 13.2% 1,788 12.4% 1,820 13.3%
.21 - .25 740 5.1% 683 4.7% 769 5.6%

.26+ 281 2.0% 286 2.0% 309 2.3%
Refused BAC Test 2,483 17.1% 1,865 12.9% 1,824 13.3%
No Test/Unknown N/A N/A 831 5.7% 650 4.7%

Drug Only 826 5.7% 272 2.0% 358 2.6%
TOTAL 14,491 100.0% 14,461 100.0% 13,675 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
 
 

Alcohol Related Fatalities 
In 2003, Utah experienced a ten-year low in the percentage of total crash fatalities that 
were alcohol and other drug related.  Despite an increase in 2004, Utah still maintained 
the lowest rate of alcohol/other drug related traffic fatalities in the nation, at 24 percent.  
The average nationwide was 39 percent.  

Utah Alcohol Related 
Traffic Fatalities                      

2002 Calendar 
Year 

2003 Calendar 
Year 

2004 Calendar 
Year 

Total Traffic Fatalities 328 309 296 
Alcohol Related Fatalities 71 47 72 
Percent Alcohol Related  22% 15% 24% 
Blood Alcohol Content = .08+ 66 39 70 
Percent BAC = .08+ 20% 13% 24% 
Source:  National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
  
The figure at the right provides 
a graphic presentation of the 
percentage of alcohol and 
other drug related traffic 
fatalities in Utah, from 1995   
to 2004.   

Source:  Utah Department of Public 
Safety, Highway Safety Office   
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Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement 
The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other 
alcohol-related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities.  In FY 05, 
$3,133,700 was distributed to municipalities and counties statewide on a formula basis.3  
Funds can be spent in one or more of six general categories:  (1) DUI law enforcement, 
(2) general alcohol-related law enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-
related cases, (4) treatment of alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/ 
prevention, and (6) confinement of alcohol law offenders.  

Communities that receive more than $1,000 in beer tax revenues are required to submit 
an Annual Report to the Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council 
by October 1st of each year, outlining how funds were utilized and certifying that they 
were used in accordance with the law.  The following table shows how FY 05 funds 
were expended, as outlined in the Alcohol Funds Annual Reports received to date. 

 
FY 2005 Alcohol Funds Reports 

How Funds Were Used - As of 10/17/05 

Number of 
Communities 

(N=86) 

 
 

Percent4

DUI Law Enforcement 54 62.8% 
General Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 46 53.5% 
Prosecution/Court Costs for Alcohol-Related Cases 7 8.1% 
Treatment of Alcohol Problems 3 3.5% 
Alcohol-Related Education/Prevention 40 46.5% 
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 4 4.6% 
Source:  Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council, FY 2005 Alcohol Funds Annual Reports 

                                                                          

3 The State Tax Commission distributes funds to municipalities and counties in December of each year based 
upon the following formula:  percentage of state population (25%); percentage of statewide convictions for all 
alcohol-related offenses (30%); percentage of all state stores, package agencies, liquor licensees, and beer 
licensees (20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes (for alcohol-related offenses) based upon the 
percentage of the state population (25%). 

4 Communities may use alcohol funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute. 
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Adjudications and Sanctions 
DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type 
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense.  Misdemeanors are handled in local 
Justice Courts, which are managed and funded by local governments.  Felonies are 
handled in state District Courts.  While the number of cases in both District and Justice 
Courts increased from FY 03 to FY 04, there was a 10.9 percent decrease in District 
Court cases and a four percent decrease in Justice Court cases from FY 04 to FY 05. 

 
DUI Cases in Utah’s Courts 

 
FY 2003 

 
FY 2004 

 
FY 2005 

% Change  
FY 04 – FY 05

District Court Cases Disposed 2,293 2,533 2,256 -10.9% 
Justice Court Charges 9,450 10,316 9,898 -4.0% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

Justice Court Electronic Reporting Capability 
In order to prevent repeat offenders from slipping through the system, state law 
required all Justice Courts to develop the capability to electronically report DUI data to 
the state by February 2004.  In FY 03, only 30 Justice Courts had met this requirement.  
By the end of FY 04, 80 Justice Courts were compliant, with another 20 in the testing 
phase.  

The following table shows the growth of Justice Court compliance from FY 03 to FY 05.  
As of October 1, 2005, 96 percent of Utah’s 133 Justice Courts were in compliance with 
the electronic reporting requirements.  Courts that are not reporting electronically must 
still submit their reports to the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) in a hard copy 
format.  

Justice Court DUI Electronic Data 
Reporting Capability 

 
FY 2003 

 
FY 2004 

 
FY 2005 

Reporting Electronically 30 80 128 
In the Testing Phase N/A 20 1 
Not Reporting Electronically N/A 37 4 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification 

Adjudications 
& Sanctions 

3 
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Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes 
During FY 05, Utah’s Justice Courts handled 9,898 DUI cases, 418 fewer than in FY 
04.  The following table details the DUI cases filed in Justice Courts and their outcomes.  
This table does not accurately represent the DUI conviction rate for the Justice Courts, 
however, as it includes cases filed in FY 04 that were not resolved until FY 05.  The 
table also shows that 1,281 cases were still pending resolution at the end of the fiscal 
year. 

FY 2004 FY 2005 Justice Court DUI Charges 
and Outcomes Number Percent Number Percent 

 

% Change 
FY 04 – FY 05 

Total DUI Charges Filed 10,316 100.0% 9,898 100.0% -4.0% 
Guilty 6,212 60.0% 5,937 60.0% -4.4% 
Dismissed or Not Guilty 2,071 20.0% 2,680 27.0% 29.4% 
Cases Pending 2,033 20.0% 1,281 13.0% -37.0% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
During FY 05, Utah’s eight District Courts handled 2,256 DUI cases.  Of the cases 
processed through the District Court, 76 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.  The 
defendant was found not guilty in only four cases.  In another 17 percent of the cases, 
the case was either dismissed or declined for prosecution.  The following table identifies 
how cases were handled by Judicial District.  It should be noted that this table is not an 
accurate depiction of the District Courts’ DUI conviction rates, as it only examined 
cases that were disposed of during FY 05.  Pending cases were not included in the 
data analysis. 

FY 2005 District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
Judicial District DUI Case 

Outcomes 1st  2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th  
 
Total Percent

Bail Forfeiture  1  1 0.0%
Deceased  1 4 1 6 0.3%
Declined  1 1 2 0.1%
Dismissed 44 93 117 55 21 26 8 15 379 16.9%
Diversion  1 1 0.0%
Guilty 76 504 364 424 135 58 65 96 1,722 76.3%
Guilty/Mentally Ill   0 0.0%
No Contest 1 9 5 26 5  46 2.0%
Not Guilty  2 1 1 4 0.2%
Plea in Abeyance 3 13 6 22 2 1 4 51 2.3%
Remanded  20 1  21 0.9%
Transferred 3 2 13 4 1  23 1.0%
TOTAL 127 625 527 536 164 85 73 119 2,256 100.0%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
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Repeat Offenders 
The District Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled.  In the following 
table, the first column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a 
repeat offender.  The second column indicates how many of those in the first column 
actually met that criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.  

The table shows that of the 535 DUI offenders charged with a first offense, only 435 
were actually first-time offenders.  There were, however, 585 who were sentenced as 
first-time offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual. 
An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the 
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues. 

FY  2005 District Court Repeat Offender Data5

 
 Offense  

Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As 

1st Offense 535 435 585 
2nd Offense 131 139 163 
3rd Offense 178 151 140 
4th Offense 17 24 12 
5th Offense 8 11 7 
6th Offense 4 9 3 
7th Offense 1 4 1 
8th Offense -- -- -- 
9th Offense -- -- -- 
10th Offense 2 2 1 

Unknown 944 1,045 908 
TOTAL 1,820 1,820 1,820 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

Court Sanctions 
The District Courts also track other DUI related case information such as blood alcohol 
content (BAC) reported, screening and assessment ordered, and ignition interlock 
ordered.  

The following table shows that in 797 cases the blood alcohol content was known.  The 
table also shows that judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
45 percent of cases, substance abuse treatment in 57 percent of cases, and that 
ignition interlock devices were ordered in 359 cases.  DUI offenders were also notified 
in 100 percent of the cases that they may be subject to enhancements.  

 

                                                                          

5 The table does not add up to the 2,256 cases disposed because the following cases were not included:  bail 
forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and transferred. 
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District Court DUI Data  FY 2004 FY 2005 
Blood Alcohol Content Known 774 797 
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 60.0% 61.0% 
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 55.0% 57.0% 
Educational Series Ordered 51.0% 45.0% 
Ignition Interlock Ordered 437 359 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 797 670 
Electronic Monitoring 148 162 
Enhancement Notification 100.0% 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

The Driver License Division tracks other DUI sanctions.  The following table lists the 
average sanctions applied against DUI offenders.  Not all offenders are ordered to 
serve a jail sentence or perform community service hours.  All convicted DUI offenders, 
however, are assessed a fine and a surcharge.  For a first offense, the minimum fine is 
$700; for a second offense within 10 years, the minimum fine is $800; and, for a third or 
subsequent offense, the minimum fine is $1,500. 

Average Jail Sentence, Community Service 
Hours and Fines 

 
FY 2004 

 
FY 2005 

Average Jail Sentence 133.4 days 147.5 days
Average Time Suspended 128.4 days 146.5 days
Average Time Served 21.6 days 16.9 days
Average Community Service Hours 72.8 hours 80.2 hours
Average Fine for Other Alcohol/Drug  
Related Convictions 

 

$1,268.09 
 

$1,310.85

Average Fine for DUI Convictions $1,460.46 $1,546.35
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 

 16



T H I R D  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

Driver License 
Control 

4 
Driver License Control 
The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required by statute to 
suspend or revoke the license of a person that has been convicted or sanctioned for 
one of the following: 

• Driving under the influence 
• Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body 
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test 
• Automobile homicide 
• “No-alcohol” conditional license  

 

Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license 
is issued.  Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License 
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license. 

As shown in the table below, there were 4,578 alcohol hearings held in FY 2005.  The 
Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting officer does not 
appear at the hearing.  To improve appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic 
option, whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.  In 1,318 cases, one 
of the parties called in for the hearing; however, In 860 cases, no action was taken 
because the officer did not appear in person or telephonically.   

FY 2005 Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
 

ACD Code 
Total # of 
Hearings 

No 
Officer 

No Officer 
Telephonic

Other No 
Action 

Total No 
Action 

Total 
Telephonic

Per Se 3,799 711 23 747 1,481 1,081
Not a Drop 177 19 3 31 53 46
Refusal 602 100 4 83 187 191
TOTAL 4,578 830 30 861 1,721 1,318
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Assessment, 
Education & 
Treatment 

5 
Assessment, Education and 
Treatment 
As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to 
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment.  A 
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual 
has a problem with alcohol/other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth clinical 
assessment is appropriate.  An assessment is a collection of detailed information 
concerning the individual’s alcohol/other drug abuse, emotional and physical 
health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.  The 
assessment is used to determine the need for substance abuse treatment.6   

For a first offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must 
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.  
For a third or subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance 
abuse treatment.   

Education 
Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational series attend the PRIME for Life 
program developed by the Prevention Research Institute.  The 16-hour curriculum 
presents research-based information about the risks associated with alcohol and other 
drug use that helps participants identify lifestyle choices to reduce their personal risks7.  
 

                                                                          

6 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7. 

 

7 Prevention Research Institute, PRIME for Life Utah 2004. 
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A study of PRIME for Life participants from September 2003 through September 2004 
indicated that the program had an impact on changing beliefs about alcohol use, 
increased participants’ understanding of the risks associated with alcohol use, and 
contributed to an increased desire to change personal drinking behavior.  The following 
table shows the findings from this most recent study (2004) are virtually identical to the 
findings from the previous year’s study (2003). 

PRIME for Life Participant Characteristics & Outcomes 2003 2004 
Number of Participants Included in Analysis8 2,678 3,628 
Gender 
  Male 80.0% 77.9%
  Female 20.0% 21.1%
  No Answer  1.0%
Race/Ethnicity 
  Caucasian 73.7% 73.2%
  Hispanic 17.1% 17.8%
  African American 1.9% 1.5%
  Other/No Answer 7.3% 7.4%
Number of Offenses 
  First-Time DUI Offense 64.0% 64.0%
  Multiple DUI Offenses 20.0% 20.0%
  No Answer 16.0% 16.0%
Self Assessment of Substance Abuse 
  Described self as having alcoholism 18.3% 18.1%
  Have used drugs in the past year 35.4% 34.7%
  After PFL course, intends not to use drugs in the future 73.8% 74.2%
PRIME for Life Course Evaluation (on a 1-5 scale) 
  Taught participants things that will work 4.3 4.3
  Changed participants’ thinking about drinking 4.2 4.2
  Changed participants’ thinking about drug use 4.0 4.0
  Class was a waste of time 1.7 1.7
Source:  PRIME for Life Utah 2004, Prevention Research Institute 

 

Treatment:  DUI Courts 
The National Drug Court Institute stated it most effectively:  “America’s drug courts are 
working.  Taking a rehabilitative approach to justice that is based on intensive drug 
treatment, close supervision, and a demand for offender accountability, drug courts 
offload nonviolent drug offenders from traditional court systems and place them in 
programs designed to get them off drugs, reduce recidivism, save money, and slow the 

                                                                          

8 In the 2003 analysis timeframe, 3,074 individuals participated in the PRIME for Life course; however, only 
2,678 completed both the pre- and post-test surveys and are included in the analysis.  In the 2004 analysis 
timeframe, 4,316 individuals participated in the PRIME for Life course; however, only 3,628 completed both the 
pre- and post-test surveys and are included in the analysis. 

 20



T H I R D  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

revolving door that has come to characterize the nation’s criminal justice system.  The 
positive outcomes for drug courts beg the question:  Can the drug court model be 
applied with equal effectiveness to other populations?  More specifically, can it work 
with drunk drivers?”9

There are currently three Justice Courts in Utah that are considered DUI Courts 
because they employ a drug court model in dealing with DUI offenders.  These courts 
are located in Clearfield, Holladay and Taylorsville.  In the Taylorsville Court, offenders 
are offered a plea in abeyance and ordered into a substance abuse treatment program.  
The plea is considered a conviction for purposes of penalty enhancement in 
subsequent offenses.  The Court has been extremely successful with over 95 percent 
of offenders who are given a plea in abeyance completing treatment,10 and a self-
reported recidivism rate of only 10 percent.   

In September of 2005, the National Drug Court Institute, Utah Administrative Office of 
the Courts, Utah Department of Public Safety, and National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration joined together to provide a six-hour course in Salt Lake City for Utah 
Justice Court judges on how to plan and operate a DUI Court.  Thirty-one judges 
attended the training.  It is anticipated that the number of DUI Courts in Utah will 
continue to grow. 

Pleas in Abeyance in DUI Cases 
The 2004 Utah Legislature passed S.B. 20 – Driving Under the Influence Amendments.  
This bill did the following:  1) outlined the circumstances under which a plea held in 
abeyance may and may not be used in DUI cases; 2) set a sunset date for the use of 
pleas in abeyance in DUI cases on July 1, 2006; and 3) required the Commission on 
Criminal and Juvenile Justice (CCJJ) to study the use of pleas in abeyance involving 
DUI violations. 

The CCJJ study, DUI and Pleas in Abeyance, was completed in October 2005.  The 
study examined two Justice Courts:  the Taylorsville Justice Court, which uses pleas in 
abeyance in DUI cases; and the Salt Lake City Justice Court, which does not offer DUI 
offenders a plea in abeyance.  The primary measure examined in the study was the 
successful completion of the treatment regimen ordered by the court.  The study found 
the difference in treatment completion between the two sites was statistically significant.  
In Taylorsville, 95.8 percent of offenders offered a plea in abeyance successfully 
completed treatment; in Salt Lake City, 80.0 percent of offenders completed the 
ordered treatment.   

The researchers concluded, however, that it was more likely the difference in approach 
utilized by the two courts that accounted for the difference in treatment completion, not 
the use of a plea in abeyance.  The Taylorsville Justice Court utilizes a “therapeutic 
                                                                          

9 National Drug Court Institute, DUI/Drug Courts:  Defining a National Strategy, March 1999. 

10Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, DUI and Pleas in Abeyance, October 2005. 
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jurisprudence” approach in serving  DUI offenders, much like that of a drug court; the 
Salt Lake City Justice Court does not offer DUI offenders this approach.  The study 
further concluded:  “In both Salt Lake City and Taylorsville, an overwhelming majority of 
DUI offenders ordered into treatment do successfully complete treatment.  A drug court 
model can be effectively employed in the realm of DUI offenses; however, the data 
analysis does not shed light on the question of whether or not a plea in abeyance is 
critical in accomplishing the goals of a drug court approach.”11   

                                                                          

11Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, DUI and Pleas in Abeyance, October 2005. 
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Recommended 
Action 

6 
Recommended Action 

Use of Pleas in Abeyance in DUI Cases 

Enact legislation to extend the sunset date on the use of pleas in abeyance in 
DUI cases.  

The CCJJ study conducted to determine if offering DUI offenders a plea in abeyance is 
necessary to get them into treatment and to complete treatment was not able to provide 
a definitive answer.  The study did conclude that while there was a significant difference 
in the treatment completion rates between the Taylorsville Justice Court (96%), which 
used a plea in abeyance, and the Salt Lake City Justice Court (80%), which did not 
offer a plea in abeyance, the difference could not conclusively be attributed to the plea 
in abeyance.  Instead, the study concluded that the “therapeutic jurisprudence” 
approach used in the Taylorsville Justice Court, based on the drug court model, was 
most likely the reason for this Court’s significantly greater treatment completion rate.  
The Salt Lake City Justice Court does not offer DUI offenders this approach.  An 
extension of the timeframe for permitting the use of pleas in abeyance in DUI cases 
may allow for further research on the importance of using pleas in abeyance with DUI 
offenders.     

Ignition Interlock Amendments 
Enact legislation to increase the use of the ignition interlock device (IID) as an 
effective tool for preventing and reducing DUI.   

Ignition interlock devices (IIDs) have been found to be helpful in managing DUI 
offenders and in reducing DUI-related recidivism, when they are used in conjunction 
with other sanctions, such as education and treatment.  A CCJJ survey of judges to 
determine how often they ordered IIDs, however, indicated that while judges do order 
IIDs much of the time, there were also cases in which they did not order the devices.  
Amendments to Utah’s ignition interlock laws should ensure if a DUI offender meets the 
conditions for an ignition interlock device, it will be illegal for the offender to drive without 
the device.    
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