Announcement of

JUDICIAL VACANCY
December 13, 2013

Applications are now being accepted for the position of juvenile court judge in the Fifth District Juvenile Court.
(Counties include Beaver, Iron, and Washington).
This position results from the pending retirement of Judge Hans Q. Chamberlain, May 1, 2014.

Completed application forms must be received by the Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice
no later than 5:00 p.m., Friday, January 24, 2014.

Application Forms and Instructions

The required application form and instructions are available on the Commission on Criminal Juvenile Justices’ website at
www.justice.utah.gov.

You may also request a copy of the application form and instructions by sending your email address to Monica Taylor.

Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice
Attention: Monica Taylor

Utah State Capitol Complex

Senate Building, Suite 330

P.O. Box 142330

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2330

FAX: (801) 538-1024
E-Mail: monicataylor@utah.gov

Selection Process

Utah law requires the Judicial Nominating Commission to submit five nominees to the Governor within 45 days of its first
meeting. The Governor has 30 days in which to make a selection. The Utah State Senate has 60 days in which to approve or
reject the governor's selection. To obtain the procedures of Judicial Nominating Commissions and the nhames of Commission
members call (801) 538-1856.

At its first meeting the Nominating Commission accepts public comments about the judiciary.



http://www.justice.utah.gov/
mailto:monicataylor@utah.gov

Terms of Employment

A. Benefits

Minimum Requirements: Under Article VIII, Section 7 of the Utah Constitution, Supreme Court justices must be at least 30
years old, and judges of other courts of records must be at least 25 years old.

Residency: All justices and judges must be United State citizens. Supreme Court justices must be Utah residents for at least
five years immediately preceding selection. Judges of other courts of record must be residents of Utah for at least three years
preceding selection.

Practice of Law: All justices and judges must be admitted to practice law in Utah, but need not actually engage in the practice
of law.

Retirement Program: Judges are able to retire at any age with 25 years service; at age 62 with 10 years service; or at age 70
with 6 years service. Retirement amount is calculated on the basis of years of service and an average of the last 2 years of salary.
Judges receive 5% of their final average salary for each of their first 10 years of service, 2.25% of their average salary for each
year from 11 to 20 years of service, and 1% of their final average salary for each year beyond 20 years to a maximum of 75%.

Annual salary is $134,800 for Juvenile Court Judge ¢ 20 days paid vacation per year ¢ 11 paid holidays ¢ $25,000 term life
insurance policy (with an option to purchase $300,000 more at group rates) ¢ Choice of four medical and three dental plans. All
plans require a small employee contribution.

B. Judicial Retention

Each judge is subject to an unopposed, nonpartisan retention election at the first general election held more than 3 years after the
appointment. To be retained, the judge must receive a majority of affirmative votes cast. This means that newly appointed
judges will serve at least 3, but not more than 5 years prior to standing for their first retention election.

Following the first retention election, trial court and appellate judges appear on the retention ballot every 6 years. Supreme Court
Justices stand for retention every 10 years.

C. Performance Evaluation

All sitting judges undergo a performance review after the first year in office and biennially thereafter. Judges not up for retention
election can use the performance review results as a guide for self-improvement. Judges up for retention election are subject to
Certification Review by the Judicial Performance Evaluation Commission. Prior to the election, the Commission publishes in
the voter information pamphlet whether the judge met or failed to meet the following evaluation criteria:

Compliance with case delay reduction standards.

No public sanctions by the Judicial Conduct Commission during the term of office and not more than 1 private sanction

during the final 2 years of the term of office.

Completion of 30 hours of approved judicial education each year.

Self Certification that the judge is physically and mentally able to serve, and complies with the Codes of Judicial

Conduct and Administration.

A satisfactory score on the certification portion of the Commission’s survey of the Bar.

For Juvenile Court Judges a satisfactory score on the certification portion of the Commission's survey of jurors.

Those wishing to be considered for judicial office should contact Monica Taylor at the Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, Utah
State Capitol Complex, Senate Building, Suite 330, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330. (801) 538-1856. Application packets
will be forwarded to prospective candidates.




