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Utah DMC Data Definition 

(Adopt 11/12/08) 

 

 

1. Population at risk 

Youth who are between the ages of 10 to 17. 

 

2. Arrest 

Youth are considered to be arrested when law enforcement agencies apprehend, cite or 

refer youth to juvenile court for having committed a delinquent act.  Delinquent acts are 

those that, if an adult commits them, would be criminal, including crimes against persons, 

crimes against property, drug offenses, and crimes against the public order.  

 

3. Referral 

Referral is when a potentially delinquent youth is sent forward for legal processing and 

received by a juvenile court either as a result of law enforcement action or upon a 

complaint by a citizen, school, or government entity. 

 

4. Diversion 

Youth referred to juvenile court for delinquent acts are screened by the intake 

department.  Intake may decide to dismiss the case for lack of legal sufficiency, to 

resolve the matter informally (without the filing of charges), or formally (with the filing 

of charges). The diversion population includes all youth referred for legal processing but 

handled without the filing of formal charges.  

 

5. Detention 

Detention refers to youth held in secure detention facilities at some point during court 

processing of delinquency cases.  The detention population may also include youth held 

in secure detention to await placement following a court disposition. For the purposes of 

DMC, detention may also include youth held in jails and lockups. Detention does NOT 

include youth held in shelters, group homes, or other non-secure facilities. 

 

6. Petitioned/Charge Filing 

Formally charged (petitioned) delinquency cases are those that appear on a court calendar 

in response to the filing of a petition, complaint, or other legal instrument requesting the 

court to adjudicate a youth as a delinquent or status offender, or to waive jurisdiction and 

transfer a youth to criminal court. Petitioning occurs when a juvenile court intake officer, 

prosecutor, or other official determines that a case should be handled formally. 

 

7. Delinquent Findings 

Youth are judged or found to be delinquent during adjudicatory hearings in juvenile 

court. Being found (or adjudicated) delinquent is roughly equivalent to being convicted in 

criminal court. It is a formal legal finding of responsibility. If found to be delinquent, 

youth normally proceed to disposition hearings where they may be placed on probation, 
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committed to secure facilities, be ordered to perform community service, committed to 

Juvenile Justice Service, or various other sanctions. 

 

8. Probation 

Probation cases are those in which a youth is placed on formal or court-ordered 

supervision following a juvenile court disposition. 

 

9. Confinement in Secure Correctional Facilities 

Confined cases are those in which youth are placed in secure correctional facilities for 

delinquent offenders following a court disposition. 

 

10. Transferred to Adult Court 

In Utah, Juvenile Transferred to Adult Court are governed by the following statute: 

 

Exclusive and Original Jurisdiction of the Adult Court: Juveniles who are 16 or 17 years old who 

are charged with murder or aggravated murder are under the exclusive and original jurisdiction 

of the adult courts.  Juveniles, who are 16 or 17 years of age, who have been committed to secure 

care and are charged with a felony, are also under the exclusive and original jurisdiction of the 

adult courts. 

 

Serious Youth Offender Act: A youth who is 16 years or 17 years old who is charged with 

aggravated arson, aggravated assault, aggravated kidnapping, aggravated burglary, aggravated 

robbery, aggravated sexual assault, discharge of a firearm from a vehicle, attempted aggravated 

murder, attempted murder, or any offense other than the listed above involving the use of a 

dangers weapon which would be a felony if committed by an adult, and the minor has been 

previously adjudicated or convicted of an offense involving the use of a dangerous weapon 

which also would have been a felony if committed by an adult, may be transferred to the adult 

criminal court pursuant to the serious youth offender act.  However the juvenile court retains 

jurisdiction if the defendant establishes three retention factors: 1) No previous delinquency 

adjudication for felony with dangerous weapon. 2) Lesser degree of culpability than co-

defendants. 3) Minor did not participate in violent, aggressive, or premeditated manner. 

 

Certification to Adult Court: This is the process of determining if a youth's case should be 

transferred to adult court. For a case to be certified, it must be felony-level and committed by a 

minor 14 years of age or older.  The state must prove probable cause that the juvenile committed 

the crime and that it is contrary to the best interest of the child or public for the juvenile court to 

retain jurisdiction.  Certification factors include: seriousness of offense, if aided or encouraged 

by two or more others, if the offense was aggressive/violent/premeditated or willful, if offense 

was committed against a person, maturity of minor, previous record, likelihood of successful 

rehabilitation, if co-defendants will be tried in adult court, whether minor used firearm in an 

offense, and if minor had dangerous weapon on school grounds.   

  

Once a juvenile is transferred to the adult court, the juvenile will legally be an adult after that 

time unless the charges are dismissed, they are acquitted, or there is a finding of not guilty. 


