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Executive Summary
DUI in Utah FY 2007

DUI-Related Fatalities Increased in 2006

DUI-related fatalities in Utah increased from 45 in calendar year 2005 to 66 in
calendar year 2006.

At the same time, Utah maintained the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the
nation, at 23 percent. The average nationwide was 41 percent.

Law Enforcement: Arrests

There were 14,658 DUI arrests in FY 2007, 520 more than the previous year.

The majority of the arrests, 80 percent, were for violation of the .08 blood alcohol
concentration (BAC) per se statute.

Sixty-one percent of all arrests for DUl were made by municipal law
enforcement agencies.

Seventy-nine percent of DUI drivers were male.

Eleven percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21. DUI drivers
between the ages of 25 and 36 accounted for 37 percent of all arrests.

The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber,

Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 65 percent of the total
arrests.

The average BAC was .14, with the highest at .41, over five times the legal limit!
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Courts: Adjudications and Sanctions

Justice Courts handled the bulk of the DUI cases, with 9,849 (83%); District
Courts handled 2,025 DUI cases (17%).

Seventy-three percent of District Court DUI cases and 62 percent of Justice
Court DUI cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

Justice Court judges ordered 652 offenders to participate in an educational

series, ordered 580 offenders into substance abuse treatment, and ordered
ignition interlock devices for 338 offenders.

District Court judges ordered 444 offenders to participate in an educational

series, ordered 626 offenders into substance abuse treatment, and ordered
ignition interlock devices for 288 offenders.

The average jail sentence for DUI offenders was 171 days; the average time

served was just under 36 days; and the average fine for a DUI conviction was
$1,528.

Driver License Control

a The Driver License Division conducted 4,237 hearings to determine if there was
sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the individual’s
driver license.

a In 1,834 cases, either the arresting officer or the DUI offender used the
telephonic option to call in for the driver license hearing.

Recommended Action

B Create the Plea of “Impaired Driving”

Establish the plea of “Impaired Driving” (§41-6a-502.5), a class B misdemeanor
to be used solely as a conviction reduced from a charge of driving under the
influence of alcohol and/or other drugs under §41-6a-502. It does not have
separate elements and is not a stand alone charge. It is to be used in place of
alcohol or drug-related reckless driving for negotiated pleas or for reductions
used as an incentive for the completion of court-ordered requirements.
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B Amend the DUI Statutes to:

» Calculate the ten-year look back period for interlock restricted driver (IRD) and
alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violations from offense date to offense date,
instead of conviction date to conviction date (§41-6a-518.2 and §41-6a-529);

» Add a definition of “drug” or “drugs” to §41-6a-501 to mean “any substance that
when taken into the human body, can impair the ability of a person to safely
operate a motor vehicle,” so that psychotoxic chemicals (inhalants) and other
substances will be included for purposes of DUI,

* Broaden the venue of jurisdiction over individuals who tamper with ignition
interlock devices to allow cities and counties to try offenders (§41-6a-518.1);

+ Add persons under the legal drinking age of 21 to the definitions of “interlock
restricted driver” and “alcohol restricted driver’ (§41-6a-518.2 and §41-6a-529);

* Increase the administrative impound fee from $230 to $330 on DUI violations
(§41-6a-1406), with revenues appropriated as follows:

o $660,000 in ongoing funding to the Department of Public Safety,
Utah Highway Patrol for additional DUI Law Enforcement Officers,
and

> $660,000 in ongoing funding to the Department of Public Safety,
Liquor Law Enforcement Program for additional Liquor Law
Enforcement Officers; and

» Amend the Not a Drop statute (§53-3-231) to address problems with
individuals who fail to obtain the required assessment and recommendation
for appropriate action from a substance abuse program.

B Appropriate Funding to Support DUI Law Enforcement and
Youth Intervention and Treatment Services

* Appropriate funding to create the Computer Expedited Arrest System to
Eliminate (CEASE) DUI in Utah.

» Appropriate funding to expand substance abuse intervention and treatment
services for Utah youth.
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Introduction

Introduction

hristmas Eve 2006 will forever be linked with tragedy for the Ceran family of

Cedar Hills in Utah County. In the early morning hours of Sunday, December

24" the family was headed home after a cast party for the Hale Centre Theatre

-/ production of “A Christmas Carol,” in which Gary Ceran played the role of Bob

Cratchit, and two of his children also had smaller parts. At the intersection of 5400
South and 700 West in Murray, the family’s car was struck by a pickup truck driven by
24-year-old Carlos Prieto. Prieto had run a red light and was intoxicated; he told police
he had consumed five beers. Gary’s wife, Cheryl, and their 15-year-old son, lan, were
killed instantly; 7-year-old Julianna died a short time later at Primary Children’s Medical
Center. Gary, 18-year-old Clarissa, and 12-year-old Caleb suffered injuries that were
serious, but not life-threatening. Prieto was charged with three counts of automobile
homicide and two counts of driving under the influence and causing serious bodily
injury, all third-degree felonies. He was also charged with two misdemeanors for
driving under the influence and causing bodily injury and driving without a license. On
April 9, 2007, Prieto plead guilty to the three counts of automobile homicide, in
exchange for prosecutors dismissing the charges for driving under the influence and
without a license. In May, he was sentenced to two consecutive terms of up to five
years in prison, and another term to run concurrently. Since the tragedy, Prieto has
accepted responsibility and participated in alcohol treatment. Gary Ceran and his
family have completely forgiven the man who took three of their loved ones from them.

Just before 10:00 p.m. on Friday, February 9, 2007, a 17-year-old Skyline high school
senior driving a Jeep Cherokee crashed into a Volkswagen Jetta carrying five members
of the Williams Family as they drove home from a basketball game in Salt Lake County.
Michelle Williams, six months pregnant, was killed, as were her 11-year-old son Ben
and 9-year-old daughter Anna. Christopher Williams and his 6-year-old son, Sam,
were hospitalized and have since recovered from their injuries. The driver who hit the
Williams family fled the scene; a bottle of vodka was found in his Jeep. When police
found him a few blocks from the crash scene, he told them he was “too drunk” to take
the field sobriety tests. On February 15", the teen was charged with four counts of
second degree felony automobile homicide, which included Michelle Williams’ unborn
baby. He was also charged with third-degree felony DUI resulting in a serious injury,
misdemeanor DUI resulting in injury, leaving the scene of an accident (class A
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misdemeanor), and minor in possession of alcohol (class B misdemeanor). His blood
alcohol content was reported to be .15, nearly twice the legal limit. The teenager plead
guilty to the four second-degree felony counts of automobile homicide; all other counts
were dismissed. The District Attorney requested he be tried as an adult, but he
remained in the juvenile system and in June, a Juvenile Court Judge sentenced him,
now 18, to a secure facility for juveniles until he turns 21. The Judge hopes he will
receive more treatment and counseling than would have been available for him in the
adult prison system. The Williams family has offered the driver “unconditional
forgiveness” for his actions.

These two DUI-related incidents' may be the ones we most remember from the past
year, but all DUI events are tragedies. In fiscal year 2007 there were 14,658 arrests for
DUl in Utah, and in calendar year 2006, 66 of our fellow citizens lost their lives to
drivers under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. These figures and the incidents
described above illustrate while notable progress is being made to effectively address
DUl in Utah, there are still areas that warrant attention. This year’s report provides an
update of DUIl-related data for the state, as well as recommended action designed to
prevent and reduce the incidence and related tragedy of DUI in the future.

Purpose of the Report

The Fifth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code. The statute requires the
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI
related data, including the following:

= Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs;

= Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements
collected by the state courts);

= Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of:

o law enforcement;

0 adjudication;

0 sanctions;

O drivers’ license control; and

o alcohol education, assessment, and treatment.

! Information for the DUI incidents involving the Ceran and Williams families was obtained from newspaper
articles by Deseret Morning News reporters Sara Israelsen, Wendy Leonard, Pat Reavy, Linda Thomson,
Zack Van Dyck, and Ben Winslow; and $alt Lake Tribune reporters Nate Carlisle and Stephen Hunt.
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2007 DUI and Related Legislation

The following bills and appropriations were passed by the 2007 Utah L

SB. 4

S.B. 51

Driving Under the Influence Amendments —
Senator Carlene M. Walker

Clarifies the application of the ten-year look back period for felony driving
under the influence violations.

Amends the definition of alcohol restricted driver and provides the
court shall order an ignition interlock system as a condition of probation
for an alcohol restricted driver violation or describe why the order would
not be appropriate.

Increases the fee for a license reinstatement application for an alcohol or
drug-related offense.

Increases the administrative fee for license reinstatement after an alcohol
or drug-related offense and increases the amount of revenue generated
by the administrative fee that is deposited in the State Laboratory Drug
Testing restricted account.

Provides the Driver License Division shall deny, suspend, disqualify, or
revoke a person’s license for certain violations.

Requires the Driver License Division to reinstate a person’s license if the
person’s charges for certain violations are reduced or dismissed within
the suspension period.

Requires the Driver License Division to immediately revoke, deny,
suspend, or disqualify a person’s driver license upon receiving record of a
person’s conviction for operating a vehicle without an ignition interlock
system if the person is an interlock restricted driver.

Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment
Restricted Account Amendments —
Senator Michael Waddoups

Expands the list of agencies that could be awarded grants by the Utah
Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council to include the
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, the Department of Human
Services, and the Utah State Office of Education.
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Appropriations

Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account
(§32A-1-115)

The 2007 Legislature appropriated $4,984,800 to the Alcoholic Beverage
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account for FY 2007-08.
Funding from this account is distributed on a formula basis to Utah’s
municipalities and counties to be used for the following purposes:

(1) DUI law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law enforcement,
(3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of
alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and

(6) confinement of alcohol law offenders.

Underage Drinking Prevention Media Campaign

In 2006, the Legislature appropriated $1.6 in one-time funding for Utah’s
Underage Drinking Prevention Media Campaign. In the 2007 Session,
the Legislature approved ongoing funding for the campaign and
increased the annual appropriation to $1.8 million in FY 2008, and $1.7
in FY 2009 and future years.
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2007 USAAV DUI Subcommittee

The Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence (USAAV)

Utah Substance Abuse
& Anti-Violenece

COORDINATING COUNCIL

Coordinating Council DUl Subcommittee members represent

agencies and organizations dealing with the DUI issue in Utah. With the support and
action of Utah'’s Legislature and other key leaders and policymakers, the subcommittee
continues to work to strengthen Utah’s ability to effectively address the DUI problem.

Anna Kay Waddoups

Citizen Member and Chair

David Beach Director, Highway Safety Office
Utah Department of Public Safety
Brent Berkley Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor
Utah Prosecution Council
Bart Blackstock Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director
Driver License Division, Department of Public Safety
Paul Boyden Executive Director
Statewide Association of Public Attorneys
Neil Cohen Compliance Officer

Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

Col. Lance Davenport

Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol
Utah Department of Public Safety

Victoria Delheimer

Program Administrator, Substance Abuse Treatment
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health

Patty Fox Post-Trial Services Program Manager
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services
Kim Gibb Bureau Chief, Driver License Division

Utah Department of Public Safety

Chief Wayne Hansen

Farmington Police Department
Utah Chiefs of Police Association

Gail Johnson Education Specialist
Utah State Office of Education
Teri Pectol Program Manager, Highway Safety Office

Utah Department of Public Safety

Richard Schwermer

Assistant State Court Administrator
Administrative Office of the Courts

Sheriff Kirk Smith

Washington County Sheriff's Office
Utah Sheriffs Association

Carlene M. Walker

Senator
Utah State Senate

Holly Watson

Substance Abuse Education Program Manager
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health

Mary Lou Emerson
Director, USAAV Council

Monica Taylor
Administrative Assistant, USAAV/CCJJ
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Law
Enforcement

Law Enforcement

The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests. In FY 2007, Utah law enforcement
officers made 14,658 DUI arrests, 520 more than in the previous year.

DUI Arrests

DUI Arrests by Type

As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in
FY 2007 was very similar to previous years. The majority of the arrests, 80 percent,
were for violations of the per se law, for driving at or above the legal blood alcohol
concentration level of .08. Almost 12 percent of arrests were for refusal to submit to a
chemical test. Under Utah law, any person who operates a motor vehicle is considered
to have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids for the purpose of
determining whether they are driving in violation of the DUI laws. Refusal may result in
revocation of the driver license and prohibition of driving without an ignition interlock
device. ltis also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite
in one’s body, which accounted for almost two percent of arrests. Violations of the Not
a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 who drove with any measurable alcohol
concentration in their body, accounted for six percent of the arrests. The fewest arrests
were of commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit, which represented only 0.2 percent
of the total.

FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007
DUI Arrests by Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Per se Alcohol (.08) 10,019 | 73.3% | 10,747 | 76.0% | 11,732 80.0%
Refusal of BAC Test 1,807 | 13.2% | 1,800 12.7% 1,737 11.9%
Not a Drop (< 21) 767 | 56% | 837| 59%| 910  6.2%
Drug or Metabolite 1,038 7.6% 718 5.1% 251 1.7%
Commercial Driver (.04) 44 0.3% 36 0.3% 28 0.2%
TOTAL 13,675 | 100.0% | 14,138 | 100.0% | 14,658 @ 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

11
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events
Many of the arrests made in FY 2007 occurred as a result of specialized DUI overtime
enforcement events specifically targeted at removing drivers under the influence of
alcohol and/or other drugs from Utah’s roads. A portion of the DUl impound fees
collected was specifically designated to fund the overtime shifts. During FY 2007, 65
law enforcement agencies throughout the state participated in overtime events,
including local police agencies, Sheriffs’ offices, and the Utah Highway Patrol.

The table below shows all measures associated with DUl overtime enforcement events

increased from FY 2006 to FY 2007, with the exception of the number of vehicles
stopped, which decreased by 17 percent. Of the total 1,536 DUI arrests in FY 2007,
1,230 were for DUl-alcohol, 162 were for DUI-drug, 100 were for metabolite, and 44

were not specified.

Statewide DUI Overtime Percent Change
Enforcement Events T Y 2 FY 06 — FY 07
5-Hour Shifts Worked 1,987 2,347 +18.1%
Vehicles Stopped 22,476 18,642 -17.0%
DUI Arrests 1,329 1,536 +15.6%
Vehicles Impounded 1,215 1,436 +18.2%
Alcohol-Related Arrests*® 611 862 +41.1%
Drug-Related Arrests** 519 631 +21.6%
Warrants Served 312 528 +69.2%
Other Warnings/Citations 16,583 19,276 +16.2%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*Includes open container and youth alcohol violations (possession, consumption, attempted purchase, Not a Drop)
**For example, drug possession

DUI Arrests by Agency Type

More than half of all arrests in FY 2007 were made by municipal law enforcement
agencies (61%), with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 22 percent of arrests,
and Sheriffs Offices responsible for 16 percent of DUI arrests.

DUI Arrests by FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007
Agency Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent
Sheriffs Offices 2529 | 185% | 2,329 | 16.5% 2,386 16.3%
City Police/Other 7,464 | 546% | 8,441 | 59.7% 8,979 61.2%
Highway Patrol 3,682 | 26.9% | 3,368 | 23.8% 3,293 22.5%
TOTAL 13,675 | 100.0% | 14,138 | 100.0% | 14,658 | 100.0%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Gender

The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female
arrestees have remained fairly consistent over the past three years. In FY 2007, 79
percent were male and 21 percent were female.

12
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FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007
DUI Arrests by Gender | Nymber | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Male 11,017 | 80.6% | 11,160 78.9% | 11,611 79.2%
Female 2,625 | 19.2% | 2,955 20.9% | 3,024 20.6%
Unspecified 33 0.2% 23 0.2% 23 0.2%
TOTAL 13,675 | 100.0% | 14,138 | 100.00% | 14,658 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Age

The youngest DUI driver in FY 2007 was 13 years old. Eleven percent of arrestees
were under the legal drinking age of 21. Drivers between the ages of 25 and 36

accounted for 37 percent of all arrests.

FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007
DUI Arrests by Age Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Unknown 2 0.0% 0 0.0% 0 0.0%
13-20 2,163 | 158% | 1606 | 11.4% | 1,643 | 11.2%
21-24 3,716 | 27.2% | 2,633 | 18.6% | 2,726 | 18.7%
25-36 4105 | 30.0% | 5,110| 36.1% | 5,488 | 37.4%
37-48 2,718 | 19.9% | 3,143 | 22.2% | 3,081 | 21.0%
49+ 971 71% | 1646 | 11.7% | 1,720| 11.7%
TOTAL 13,675 | 100.0% | 14,138 | 100.0% | 14,658 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Month

As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2007, with
an average arrest rate of 1,221 per month. The highest number of arrests occurred in
September (1,314), with the lowest number of arrests in February (1,100).

FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007
DUI Arrests by Month Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
July 1,196 8.7% | 1,291 9.1% | 1,214 8.3%
August 1,125 8.2% | 1,202 8.5% | 1,228 8.4%
September 1,099 8.0% | 1,174 8.3% | 1,314 9.0%
October 1,102 8.1% | 1,233 8.7% | 1,250 8.5%
November 1,109 81% | 1,123 7.9% | 1,178 8.0%
December 1,173 8.6% | 1,211 8.6% | 1,257 8.6%
January 1,221 8.9% 1,184 84% | 1,175 8.0%
February 1,106 8.1% | 1,016 7.3% | 1,100 7.5%
March 1,188 8.7% | 1,264 8.9% | 1,246 8.5%
April 1,049 7.7% | 1,159 8.2% | 1,202 8.2%
May 1,174 8.6% | 1,161 82% | 1,277 8.7%
June 1,133 8.3% | 1,120 7.9% | 1,217 8.3%
TOTAL 13,675 | 100.0% | 14,138 | 100.0% | 14,658 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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DUI Arrests by County

Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 07 occurred along the
Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 65
percent (9,526) of the total. Salt Lake County had the highest number of arrests with
4,971 (34%), while Wayne County had the fewest arrests with five (0.0%). The table
below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the percentage of both total
population and vehicle miles traveled in each county. Overall, the three measures are

fairly consistent within each county.

DUI Arrests Population Estimate | Vehicle Miles Traveled
County FY 2007 July 1, 2006 Calendar Year 2006

Number | Percent Number Percent Number Percent
Beaver 110 0.7% 6,428 0.2% 259,363,622 1.0%
Box Elder 189 1.3% 45,987 1.8% 950,444,979 3.6%
Cache 492 3.4% 105,671 4.0% 962,042,197 3.7%
Carbon 190 1.3% 19,504 0.7% 293,236,490 1.1%
Daggett 15 0.1% 949 0.0% 35,453,183 0.1%
Davis 1,530 10.4% 286,547 11.0% 2,465,471,494 9.4%
Duchesne 158 1.1% 15,585 0.6% 217,416,021 0.8%
Emery 104 0.7% 10,438 0.4% 354,091,160 1.3%
Garfield 45 0.3% 4,772 0.2% 117,190,331 0.5%
Grand 203 1.4% 9,024 0.3% 278,740,313 1.1%
Iron 410 2.8% 43,424 1.7% 675,134,992 2.6%
Juab 216 1.5% 9,315 0.4% 408,596,690 1.6%
Kane 73 0.5% 6,294 0.2% 139,181,086 0.5%
Millard 135 0.9% 13,230 0.5% 466,147,966 1.8%
Morgan 33 0.2% 8,888 0.3% 142,721,012 0.5%
Piute 9 0.1% 1,373 0.0% 27,193,551 0.1%
Rich 21 0.1% 2,121 0.1% 54,539,784 0.2%
Salt Lake 4,971 33.9% 996,374 38.1% 8,555,082,596 32.7%
San Juan 134 0.9% 14,647 0.6% 279,318,785 1.1%
Sanpete 137 0.9% 25,799 1.0% 252,643,319 1.0%
Sevier 133 0.9% 19,984 0.8% 429,945,803 1.6%
Summit 347 2.4% 36,871 1.4% 733,056,452 2.8%
Tooele 452 3.1% 54,375 2.1% 908,077,669 3.5%
Uintah 492 3.4% 27,747 1.1% 352,421,358 1.5%
Utah 1,625 11.1% 475,425 18.2% 3,647,327,465 13.9%
Wasatch 214 1.5% 21,053 0.8% 296,594,189 1.1%
Washington 815 5.6% 134,899 5.2% 1,268,127,699 4.8%
Wayne 5 0.0% 2,535 0.1% 38,518,998 0.1%
Weber 1,400 9.5% 215,870 8.2% 1,558,806,269 6.0%
TOTAL 14,658 | 100.0% | 2,615,129 | 100.0% | 26,166,885,473 | 100.0%

Source for DUI Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Source for Population Data: Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget, Demographic and Economic Analysis Section

Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled: Utah Department of Transportation

14
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DUI Arrests by Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)

The average BAC remained at .14 during FY 2007, with the highest BAC recorded at
41, over five times the legal limit!

DUI Arrests by Blood FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007
Alcohol Content Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
BAC Results Not Reported | 3,389 | 24.8% | 3,375| 23.9% | 3,428 | 23.4%
.01 -.07 810 6.0% 897 6.3% 924 6.3%
.08 - .10 1,342 9.8% | 1,497 | 106% | 1569 | 10.7%
A1-.15 2404 | 17.6% | 2,676 | 189% | 2,854 | 19.5%
.16 - .20 1,820 | 13.3% | 1,950 | 13.8% | 2,127 | 14.5%
21-.25 769 5.6% 819 5.8% 873 6.0%
.26+ 309 2.3% 362 2.6% 382 2.6%
Refused BAC Test 1,824 | 13.3% | 1,775| 126% | 1,808 | 12.3%
No Test/Unknown 650 4.7% 540 3.8% 470 3.2%
Drug Only 358 2.6% 247 1.7% 223 1.5%
TOTAL 13,675 | 100.0% | 14,138 | 100.0% | 14,658 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest
The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest. Data
were calculated by selecting offenders arrested in FY 2007 as a starting point, then
counting back 10 years to determine previous arrests. Each offender was placed in
an arrest type column determined by the type of the most recent arrest. Finally, the
total number of arrests reflected in this table is fewer than the total arrests for FY
2007 because each offender was counted only once (although the offender may
have been arrested more than one time during the fiscal year). The data show
approximately 66 percent of arrests were for a first offense; 22 percent were for a
second offense; 8 percent were for a third offense; and five percent were for a

fourth or subsequent offense.

Arrest | Perse | Refusal | Nota Drud or Commercial TOTAL
Type | Alcohol | of BAC | Drop Metat?olite Driver

Offense (.08) Test (<21) (.04) Number Percent

First 7,346 878 486 185 15 8,910 65.6%
Second 2,175 402 332 37 11 2,957 21.8%
Third 821 184 44 10 2 1,061 7.8%
Fourth 303 84 9 5 0 401 3.0%
Fifth 110 44 2 0 0 156 1.2%
Sixth 39 14 0 0 0 53 0.4%
Seventh 10 8 0 0 0 18 0.1%
Eighth 5 3 0 0 0 8 0.1%
Ninth 3 1 0 0 0 4 0.0%
Tenth + 3 2 0 1 0 6 0.0%
TOTAL 10,815 1,620 873 238 28 | 13,574 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

According to the Utah Department of Public Safety Highway Safety Office, a DUl-related
crash occurs in Utah every four hours. The following table shows the total number of DUI-
related vehicle crashes for each calendar year from 1997 to 2006, including the number of

persons injured and the number of persons killed as a result of the crashes. While the

number of DUI-related fatalities in Utah increased from calendar year 2005 to 2006, Utah
maintained the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the nation, at 23 percent. The average
nationwide was 41 percent (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration).

DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, 1997-2006

Calendar Total Injuries Fatalities
Year DUI-Related Total DUI-Related Percent Total DUI- Percent
Crashes Injured Injured DUI- Crash Related DUI-

Persons Persons Related Fatalities | Fatalities | Related
1997 1,862 31,328 1,594 5.1% 366 88 24.0%
1998 1,909 30,232 1,771 5.9% 350 49 14.0%
1999 2,045 29,959 1,849 6.2% 360 72 20.0%
2000 2,163 30,086 1,846 6.1% 373 90 24.1%
2001 2,150 29,375 1,764 6.0% 291 67 23.0%
2002 2,104 30,433 1,685 5.5% 328 74 22.6%
2003 1,947 28,352 1,360 4.8% 309 45 14.6%
2004 1,966 29,638 1,570 5.3% 296 79 26.7%
2005 2,056 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 45 16.0%
2006 Not Available Not Available 287 66 23.0%

Information Compiled by: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
Data Source: 1997-2005 Utah Crash Data and 1997-2006 Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) Data

The figure below illustrates the DUI-related crash fatality data in the table above for
Utah, from 1997 to 2006.

Percentage of Total Crash Fatalities That Were
DUI-Related in Utah, 1997-2006
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Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, from 1997 to 2006.

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, 1997-2006
Calendar ™7™ ["DUIRelated Fatality Rates per | DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 100
Year Related 10,000 Population Million Vehicle Miles Traveled
e . Vehicle Miles
Fatalities Population Rate Traveled Rate
1997 88 2,099,409 0.42 20,407,590,239 0.43
1998 49 2,141,632 0.23 21,236,980,216 0.23
1999 72 2,193,014 0.33 21,867,355,694 0.33
2000 90 2,246,553 0.40 22,517,131,427 0.40
2001 67 2,295,971 0.29 23,398,734,621 0.29
2002 74 2,338,761 0.32 24,438,992,554 0.30
2003 45 2,385,358 0.19 23,963,242,376 0.19
2004 79 2,469,230 0.32 24,624,791,795 0.32
2005 45 2,547,389 0.18 25,129,538,952 0.18
2006 66 2,615,129 0.25 26,166,885,473 0.25

Information Compiled by: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
Data Source: Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) Data, 2000-2006

The figure below illustrates the rate of DUl-related fatalities in Utah from 1997 to
2006, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled. Despite yearly fluctuations, the rate
has maintained a downward trend.

Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled
of DUI-Related Fatalities in Utah, 1997-2006
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Day and Hour of DUI-Related Crashes

The Highway Safety Office reports in calendar year 2005, the highest percentage of
DUI-related crashes, including property damage only crashes, injury crashes and fatal
crashes, occurred on Saturday. DUI-related injury crashes peaked in the evening and
early morning hours, between 6:00 p.m. and 1:00 a.m. Fatal DUl-related crashes
varied by hour, and peaked at 6:00 p.m.

Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement

The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other alcohol-
related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities. In FY 2007, the
Legislature appropriated $4,350,000 to be distributed from the Alcoholic Beverage
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32A-1-115) to municipalities and
counties statewide on a formula basis.? Funds can be spent in one or more of six
general categories: (1) DUl law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law
enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of
alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of
alcohol law offenders. Communities receiving more than $1,000 in beer tax revenues
are required to submit an Annual Report to the Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-
Violence Coordinating Council by October 1% of each year, outlining how funds were
utilized, whether the programs or projects funded were effective, and certifying the
funds were used in accordance with the law. Municipalities and counties that do not
submit their reports by the deadline forfeit their alcohol funds for the current fiscal year,
and these funds are then allocated to other entities, in accordance with the statute.

The following table shows how FY 07 funds were expended, as reported in the Alcohol
Funds Annual Reports received to date.

Number of

FY 2007 Alcohol Funds Reports Communities | p .

How Funds Were Used - As of 11/1/07 (N = 132) ercent
DUI Law Enforcement 91 68.9%
General Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 80 60.6%
Prosecution/Court Costs for Alcohol-Related Cases 41 31.1%
Treatment of Alcohol Problems 10 7.6%
Alcohol-Related Education/Prevention 62 47.0%
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 16 12.1%

Source: Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council, FY 2007 Alcohol Funds Annual Reports

? In accordance with §32A-1-115 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes funds to municipalities and
counties in December of each year based upon the following formula: percentage of state population (25%);
percentage of statewide convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); percentage of all state stores,
package agencies, liquor licensees, and beer licensees (20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes
(for alcohol-related offenses) based upon the percentage of the state population (25% to counties only).

® Communities may use alcohol funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute.

18




FIFTH ANNUAL DUI REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE

Adjudications and Sanctions

DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense. Misdemeanor cases are handled in
Justice Courts, which are sponsored by municipalities and counties. Felony cases and
cases not referred to the Justice Courts are handled in state District Courts. Of the
11,874 DUI cases handled in courts during FY 2007, District Courts handled 2,025 (17
percent) and Justice Courts handled 9,849 (83 percent). The number of DUI cases
disposed in the state’s District Courts decreased in FY 2007, by 15 percent, and the
number of DUI cases charged in the Justice Courts increased by two percent.

% Change
DUI Cases in Utah’s Courts FY 2005 | FY 2006 | FY 2007 | FY 06 — F$ 07
District Court Cases Disposed 2,256 2,386 2,025 -15.1%
Justice Court Charges 9,898 9,631 9,849 +2.3%
Total DUI Cases 12,154 12,017 11,874 -1.2%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Justice Court DUI Data

Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes

During FY 2007, Utah’s Justice Courts handled 9,849 DUI cases, 218 more than in FY
2006. The following table details the DUI cases filed in Justice Courts and their
outcomes. This table does not accurately represent the DUI conviction rate for the
Justice Courts, as it includes cases filed in FY 2006 that were not resolved until

FY 2007. In addition, 1,285 cases were still pending resolution at the end of FY 2007.

Justice Court DUI FY 2006 FY 2007 % Change
Charges and Outcomes Number | Percent | Number | Percent | FY 06— FY 07
Total DUI Charges Filed 9,631 100.0% | 9,849 | 100.0% +2.3%
Guilty 5,908 61.3% | 6,148 | 62.4% +4.1%
Dismissed or Not Guilty 2,465 25.6% | 2,416 | 24.5% -2.0%
Cases Pending 1,258 13.1% | 1,285 | 13.1% +2.1%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
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Justice Court DUI Sanctions
The Justice Courts also track other DUI-related case information such as blood alcohol
content (BAC) reported; screening, assessment and treatment ordered; and ignition
interlock ordered. The table below includes data for the 60 Justice Courts reporting to
the Department of Public Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Identification. The numbers
reflect only those dispositions loaded into the Criminal History Repository, and do not
include those in the suspense file. The data indicate in 803 cases the blood alcohol
content was known. The table further shows judges ordered offenders to participate in
an educational series in 652 cases, substance abuse treatment in 580 cases, and that
ignition interlock devices were ordered in 338 cases.

Justice Court DUI Sanctions FY 2007
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 60
Blood Alcohol Content Known 803
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 796
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 580
Educational Series Ordered 652
Ignition Interlock Ordered 338
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 329
Electronic Monitoring 29
Enhancement Notification 777

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification

District Court DUI Data

District Court DUI Case Outcomes
The table below shows case outcomes for the 2,025 DUI cases processed by Utah’s

eight District Courts during FY 2007, by Judicial District.

FY 2007 District Court DUI Case Filings and Outcomes

DUI Case Judicial District

Outcomes qst [ 2nd | 39 | gt | 5t [ gth [ 7t [ gt | Total | Percent
Bail Forfeiture 1 1 0.0%
Deceased 1 3 1 5 1 11 0.5%
Declined 1 1 2 0.1%
Dismissed 80| 73, 82| 65| 26| 11 4 15 356 17.6%
Diversion 0 0.0%
Guilty 94 | 298 | 342 | 414 | 116 | 53 | 80 88 1,485 73.3%
Guilty/Mentally il 0 0.0%
No Contest 3 3| 33 1 2 2 44 2.2%
Not Guilty 1 1 1 3 0.2%
Plea in Abeyance 1 8 1 10 2 2 2 26 1.3%
Remanded 1 44 2 3 2 52 2.6%
Transferred 8 33 1 1 2 45 2.2%
TOTAL 177 | 385 | 481 | 565 | 151 | 66 | 87| 113 2,025 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
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Seventy-three percent of the cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. The defendant
was found not guilty in only three cases. In nearly 18 percent of the cases, the case
was either dismissed or declined for prosecution. It should be noted that this table is
not an accurate depiction of the District Courts’ DUI conviction rates, as it only
examined cases that were disposed of during FY 2007. Pending cases were not
included in the data analysis.

District Court Repeat Offender Data

The District Courts track how repeat DUI offenders are handled as well. In the table on
the following page, which includes data for Fiscal Year 2005 through Fiscal Year 2007,
the first column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat
offender. The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually
met that criterion. The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.

In FY 2007 for example, 28 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense,
while 26 percent were actually third-time offenders, and 24 percent were sentenced as

third-time offenders. Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual.

An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues.

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2005-2007*

Offense Was Offense Was Offense Was
Offense Charged As Actually Sentenced As

FY 05 FY 06 FY 07 FY 05 FY 06 FY 07 FY 05 FY 06 FY 07

1% Offense 61% | 59% | 51% | 56% | 53% | 49% | 64% | 59% | 54%

2" Offense 15% 15% | 16% 18% | 22% 17% 18% | 21% 17%

3" Offense 20% | 22% | 28% | 20% 17% | 26% 16% 16% | 24%

4th Offense 2% 2% 3% 3% 3% 3% 1% 2% 3%
5" or More 2% | 2% | 2% | 3% | 5% 5%| 1%| 2% | 2%
Offense 0 0 (o] 0 0 0 0 0 0
TOTAL 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court DUI Sanctions

The District Courts also track DUI-related case information regarding sanctions ordered.
The table on the following page shows in 607 cases the blood alcohol content was
known. The table further shows judges ordered offenders to participate in an
educational series in 46 percent of cases, substance abuse treatment in 64 percent of
cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 288 cases. The decline in
interlock devices ordered was due to a change in the law that created the “interlock
restricted driver” and no longer required judges to order the devices in certain cases

* The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known. In addition, the
following cases were not included: bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and
transferred.
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(2006 — S.B. 18).° DUI offenders were notified 100 percent of the time that they may be
subject to enhancements.

District Court DUl Sanctions FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007
Blood Alcohol Content Known 797 857 607
Substance Abuse Screening and 823 774 620
Assessment Ordered (60.5%) (58.6%) (63.7%)
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered (5;6683%) (5;_407%) (62_23%/0)
Educational Series Ordered ( 42971% ) ( 4272?:,/0 ) ( 4;4;:% )
Ignition Interlock Ordered 359 432 288
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 670 335 516
Electronic Monitoring 162 141 119
Enhancement Notification 100.0% 100.0% 100%
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Other DUI Sanctions

The Driver License Division tracks other DUI sanctions. The following table lists the
average sanctions applied against DUI offenders. Not all offenders are ordered to
serve a jail sentence or perform community service hours; however, all convicted DUI
offenders are assessed a fine and a surcharge. For a first offense, the minimum fine is
$700; for a second offense within 10 years, the minimum fine is $800; and for a third or
subsequent offense, the minimum fine is $1,500.

Average Jail Sentence,
Community Service Hours FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007
and Fines

Average Jail Sentence 147.5days | 147.9days | 171.2 days
Average Time Suspended 146.5 days | 147.3 days | 153.4 days
Average Time Served 16.9 days 13.4 days 35.8 days
Average Community Service Hours 80.2 hours | 61.9 hours | 78.9 hours
Average Fine for Other Alcohol/ $1.310.85 $1 378.53 $1.321.93
Drug Related Convictions T T T
Average Fine for DUI Convictions $1,546.35 $1,498.22 $1,528.52
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

®*The Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division reports there are currently a total of 5,866 records
with an ignition interlock restriction. The Division received court orders for 1,421 interlock restrictions in FY

2007, which included both District and Justice Courts.
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Driver License Control

Driver License
Control

The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following:

e Driving under the influence
e Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body
¢ Refusal to submit to a chemical test
e Automobile homicide
e “No-alcohol” conditional license

e Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation

Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction

Alcohol Hearing Statistics

When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license
is issued. Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license.

As shown in the table below, there were 4,237 alcohol hearings held in FY 2007. The
Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting officer does not
appear at the hearing. To improve appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic
option, whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing. In 1,834 cases, one
of the parties called in for the hearing.

FY 2007 Alcohol Hearing Statistics

Total # of No No Officer Other Total Total
ACD Code | Hearings | Officer | Telephonic | No Action | No Action | Telephonic
Per Se 3,562 744 74 545 1,363 1,517
Not a Drop 208 31 6 27 64 106
Refusal 467 82 7 53 142 211
TOTAL 4,237 857 87 625 1,569 1,834

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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Screening, Assessment,
Education and Treatment

Screening and Assessment

As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment. A
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual
has a problem with alcohol/other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth clinical
assessment is appropriate. An assessment is a collection of detailed information
concerning the individual’s alcohol/other drug abuse, emotional and physical
health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life. The
assessment is used to determine the need for substance abuse treatment.®

Education

For a first offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must include
participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment. The purpose
of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be related to
use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize the harmful
consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the dangers of
drinking and driving.” Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational series attend
the PRIME for Life program developed by the Prevention Research Institute (PRI). The
16-hour curriculum presents research-based information about the risks associated with

€ Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7.

" Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.
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alcohol and other drug use that helps participants identify lifestyle choices to reduce

their personal risks®.

PRI conducts periodic studies of PRIME for Life participants to measure the impact on
changing beliefs about alcohol use, understanding the risks associated with alcohol
use, and desire to change personal drinking behavior. The following table shows the

findings from the most recent study, which includes offenders who received the
program between January and June of 2006.°

2006 Utah PRIME for Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes

Gender

Male 70%
Female 28%
No Answer 2%
Race/Ethnicity
White 83%
Hispanic 7%
African American 2%
Other/No Answer 8%
Number of Offenses
First-Time Impaired Driving Offense 49%
Two or More Impaired Driving Arrests 24%
Never Arrested for Impaired Driving 13%
No Answer 14%
Self Assessment of Substance Abuse
Reported three or more indicators of possible alcohol dependence 51%
Reported parent, grandparent or sibling has/had problems with alcohol 64%
Described self as having alcoholism or addiction 25%
Reported making detailed plans to establish substitute behaviors to high- 78%
. . . . (o]
risk drinking and drug choices
PRIME for Life Course Evaluation
This class:
Helped me develop skills to be able to drink less or use drugs less 85%
Helped me feel confident about being able to drink less or use drugs less 83%
Helped me to decide to drink less or use drugs less 82%
Changed my thinking about my drinking 89%
Changed my thinking about drug use 84%

Source: Utah PRIME for Life 2006 Evaluation Report, Prevention Research Institute. The full report can be found on the

Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health website at www.dsamh.utah.gov.

8 Prevention Research Institute, PRIME for Life Utah 2004.

® In the six-month period included in this analysis, 425 participants provided usable data on the pre-test; 298 of

these participants completed the post-test with usable information and are included in the data table.
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In addition to the information in the table on the previous page, the evaluation
determined after attending the PRIME for Life course, “participants indicated
significantly greater: agreement with attitudes and beliefs that are supportive of making
low-risk choices; perception of risk associated with high-risk drinking and marijuana
use; perception of personal risk for developing alcoholism; and motivation to reduce
their use.”

Treatment

For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance abuse treatment.
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change
patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to
restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning. DUI
offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder
should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the educational
course.” Treatment should address both alcohol and other drug problems. The level
of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive outpatient, residential) is
determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of the substance abuse
disorder.

1% Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.
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Utah’s Impaired Driving TJ;?L(

Media Campaign anvg#filslflg:’r!'u%%ﬁnﬁsn

In July 2007, the Utah Department of Public Safety’s Highway Safety
Office launched a new statewide media and outreach campaign
focusing on changing Utah citizens’ perceptions and behaviors
regarding driving under the influence of alcohol, and reinforcing the
message that impaired driving is one of the most frequently
committed and deadliest crimes. The multi-media campaign builds
on the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA)
television and radio ads and includes billboards, reflective mirror
clings, coasters, napkins, and life-size cutouts of police officers!

Billboard

This isn’t a game.

DRUNK DRIVING

OVER THE LIMIT. UNDER ARREST.

Mirror Cling

Coasters 1MPAIRED
19GIC

ﬁﬂlllllllﬁ.l Eﬁ!lllllllﬁi

COUNTY JAIL
985465

'Lz Just Drive Homr

REALLY
SLow

= sober friend or call 2 cab.

23 10 07 A359

M you can't picture yoursell in jail, don't drink and drive
-

THEY'E s0BER /)
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Recommended
Action

Recommended Action

Create the Plea of “Impaired Driving”

Establish the plea of “Impaired Driving” (§41-6a-502.5), a class B misdemeanor to be
used solely as a conviction reduced from a charge of driving under the influence of
alcohol and/or other drugs under §41-6a-502. It does not have separate elements and
is not a stand alone charge. ltis to be used in place of alcohol or drug-related reckless
driving for negotiated pleas or for reductions used as an incentive for the completion of
court-ordered requirements.

Amend the DUI Statutes to:

Calculate the ten-year look back period for interlock restricted driver (IRD) and
alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violations from offense date to offense date,
instead of conviction date to conviction date (§41-6a-518.2 and §41-6a-529);

Add a definition of “drug” or “drugs” to §41-6a-501 to mean “any substance that
when taken into the human body, can impair the ability of a person to safely
operate a motor vehicle,” so that psychotoxic chemicals (inhalants) and other
substances will be included for purposes of DUI,

Broaden the venue of jurisdiction over individuals who tamper with ignition
interlock devices to allow cities and counties to try offenders (§41-6a-518.1);

Add persons under the legal drinking age of 21 to the definitions of “interlock
restricted driver” and “alcohol restricted driver’ (§41-6a-518.2 and §41-6a-529);

Increase the administrative impound fee from $230 to $330 on DUI violations
(§41-6a-1406), with revenues appropriated as follows:
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o $660,000 in ongoing funding to the Department of Public Safety,
Utah Highway Patrol for additional DUI Law Enforcement Officers,
and

> $660,000 in ongoing funding to the Department of Public Safety,
Liquor Law Enforcement Program for additional Liquor Law
Enforcement Officers; and

« Amend the Not a Drop statute (§53-3-231) to address problems with
individuals who fail to obtain the required assessment and recommendation
for appropriate action from a substance abuse program.

Appropriate Funding to Support DUI Law Enforcement and Youth
Intervention and Treatment Services

Appropriate funding to create the Computer Expedited Arrest System to
Eliminate (CEASE) DUI in Utah.

One of the keys to improving DUI law enforcement in Utah is an efficient arrest
process. Currently, it takes an average of 174 to 2 hours to fully process a DUI
arrest, from stopping the suspect vehicle to booking the offender in jail. The
CEASE DUI system will expedite the arrest process, and with its link to the e-
warrants system will reduce the number of offenders refusing sobriety tests. The
results will be arrests completed more quickly and accurately, officers back on the
road more quickly to process more arrests, and reduced officer burnout.

Appropriate funding to expand substance abuse intervention and treatment
services for Utah youth.

According to the Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, there are
currently 16,003 youth under the age of 18 who are in need of substance abuse
treatment. The current public treatment system capacity is only 2,137, which
means 13,866 youth, or 87% of those in need, are not able to receive services
through Utah’s 13 Local Substance Abuse Authority agencies.
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UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX
(Current as of October 2007)

FIRST OFFENSE

SECOND OFFENSE
WITHIN 10 YEARS

THIRD OR
SUBSEQUENT
OFFENSE WITHIN
10 YEARS

CLASSIFICATION
(§41-6a-503)

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR
CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:
o if bodily injury inflicted

o if passenger is under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

THIRD DEGREE FELONY:
o if serious bodily injury

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

o if bodily injury inflicted

o if passenger under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

THIRD DEGREE FELONY:

¢ if any prior felony DUI
conviction or automobile
homicide conviction

o if serious bodily injury

THIRD DEGREE FELONY

SENTENCING
Jail — SHALL
order:

(§41-6a-505)

48 consecutive hours OR

48 hours compensatory
service OR

electronic home confinement!

240 consecutive hours OR
240 hours compensatory
service OR

electronic home confinement!

0-5 year prison term OR
1,500 hours jail (62.5 days)
May also require electronic
home confinement

SHALL order:
(841-6a-505)

treatment is ordered
e MAY order treatment

treatment is ordered
e MAY order treatment

Fine — SHALL $700 minimum plus $800 minimum plus $1,500 minimum plus
order: surcharge surcharge surcharge, unless
(§41-6a-505) 0-5 prison term is imposed
Screening, e Screening e Screening e Screening
Assessment, * Assessment (if found * Assessment (if found  Assessment
Education Series, appropriate by screening) appropriate by screening) e Intensive treatment or
Treatment — e Educational Series, unless | ¢ Educational Series, unless inpatient treatment and

aftercare for not less than
240 hours

Probation:?
(841-6a-507)

MAY order supervised
probation

SHALL order supervised
probation

SHALL order supervised
probation if 0-5 prison term is
not imposed

Ignition Interlock:?
(841-6a-518)

(841-6a-530)

e MAY order interlock

e SHALL order interlock if
under 21

e SHALL order interlock for
an ARD violation OR
describe on the record why
such order not appropriate

e MAY order interlock

e SHALL order interlock if
under 21

e SHALL order interlock for
an ARD violation OR
describe on the record why
such order not appropriate

e MAY order interlock

e SHALL order interlock if
under 21

e SHALL order interlock for
an ARD violation OR
describe on the record why
such order not appropriate

High BAC:
(.16 or higher)

(841-6a-505)

e SHALL order supervised
probation?

e SHALL order treatment
and interlock® and/or home
confinement! OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

e SHALL order supervised
probation?

e SHALL order treatment
and interlock® and/or home
confinement! OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

e SHALL order supervised
probation?if 0-5 prison
term is not imposed

e SHALL order treatment
and interlock® and/or home
confinement! OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

License
Suspension:

(841-6a-509)

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or
2 years

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or
2 years

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or
2 years

'See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions.
% Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance in the bodly).
® Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a

condition of probation.
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