The Utah Board of Juvenile Justice (UBJJ) serves as the designated State Advisory Group for the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act (JJDPA, 34 U.S.C. § 11101) through the federal Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. UBJJ establishes and maintains a comprehensive plan for Utah’s compliance with the four core protections of the JJDPA, thus making Utah eligible for federal grants. UBJJ then subgrants federal funding statewide in a variety of program areas including delinquency prevention, positive youth development, juvenile justice system improvement, and juvenile record expungement services.

UBJJ partners with a variety of state agencies including Juvenile Justice Services, Juvenile Court, Department of Child and Family Services, Utah State Board of Education, Division of Indian Affairs, and the Division of Multicultural Affairs, as well as numerous community groups and stakeholders. UBJJ also collaborates with the Juvenile Justice Oversight Committee (JJOC) on implementation of juvenile justice reform efforts and the Racial and Ethnic Disparities (RED) Collaborative on reducing racial and ethnic disparities at all points of contact in the juvenile justice system.


Strategic Plans

Utah’s Three-Year Strategic Plan addresses the gaps in services and other areas of need. The Plan sets priority areas to provide funding and a roadmap for UBJJ's initiatives.

Learn More

Juvenile Record Expungement

Rather than punish kids for youthful mistakes, one of the core principles of the juvenile justice system is rehabilitation. Part of the success of rehabilitating youth is allowing them to put their past behind them and strive towards success without the stigma associated with their adjudications.

Learn More


Kayley Richards

Juvenile Justice Specialist

Alyssha Dairsow

RED Coordinator

Anna Thomas, chair

Tom Ross

Brett Peterson

Neira Siaperas

Dr. David Parker

Aubrey Myers

Kalhan Sparks

Judge Susan Eisenman

Nindy Le

Chief Blair Barfus

Carolyn Hansen

Dr. Matthew Davies

Patricia Cassell

Michael Vredenburg

Anthony Johnson

James Toledo

Julie Tang

Paige Stodtmeister

Betty Sawyer

Representative Susan Pulsipher

Marina Pena

James Navarro

Erin Jemison

Lorena Jake

Dustin Jansen