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Executive 
Summary  

 
Executive Summary                                                     
DUI in Utah FY 2007 

DUI-Related Fatalities Increased in 2006 
◘ DUI-related fatalities in Utah increased from 45 in calendar year 2005 to 66 in 

calendar year 2006. 

◘ At the same time, Utah maintained the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the 
nation, at 23 percent.  The average nationwide was 41 percent. 

Law Enforcement:  Arrests 
◘ There were 14,658 DUI arrests in FY 2007, 520 more than the previous year.  

The majority of the arrests, 80 percent, were for violation of the .08 blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) per se statute. 

◘ Sixty-one percent of all arrests for DUI were made by municipal law 
enforcement agencies. 

◘  Seventy-nine percent of DUI drivers were male. 

◘ Eleven percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.  DUI drivers 
between the ages of 25 and 36 accounted for 37 percent of all arrests. 

◘ The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber, 
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 65 percent of the total 
arrests. 

◘ The average BAC was .14, with the highest at .41, over five times the legal limit! 
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Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions 
◘ Justice Courts handled the bulk of the DUI cases, with 9,849 (83%); District 

Courts handled 2,025 DUI cases (17%). 

◘ Seventy-three percent of District Court DUI cases and 62 percent of Justice 
Court DUI cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. 

◘ Justice Court judges ordered 652 offenders to participate in an educational 
series, ordered 580 offenders into substance abuse treatment, and ordered 
ignition interlock devices for 338 offenders. 

◘ District Court judges ordered 444 offenders to participate in an educational 
series, ordered 626 offenders into substance abuse treatment, and ordered 
ignition interlock devices for 288 offenders. 

◘ The average jail sentence for DUI offenders was 171 days; the average time 
served was just under 36 days; and the average fine for a DUI conviction was 
$1,528. 

Driver License Control 
◘ The Driver License Division conducted 4,237 hearings to determine if there was 

sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the individual’s 
driver license. 

◘ In 1,834 cases, either the arresting officer or the DUI offender used the 
telephonic option to call in for the driver license hearing. 

Recommended Action 

◘ Create the Plea of “Impaired Driving” 

 Establish the plea of “Impaired Driving” (§41-6a-502.5), a class B misdemeanor 
to be used solely as a conviction reduced from a charge of driving under the 
influence of alcohol and/or other drugs under §41-6a-502.  It does not have 
separate elements and is not a stand alone charge.  It is to be used in place of 
alcohol or drug-related reckless driving for negotiated pleas or for reductions 
used as an incentive for the completion of court-ordered requirements. 

2 
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◘ Amend the DUI Statutes to: 

  • Calculate the ten-year look back period for interlock restricted driver (IRD) and 
   alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violations from offense date to offense date,  
   instead of conviction date to conviction date (§41-6a-518.2 and §41-6a-529); 

• Add a definition of “drug” or “drugs” to §41-6a-501 to mean “any substance that 
when taken into the human body, can impair the ability of a person to safely 
operate a motor vehicle,” so that psychotoxic chemicals (inhalants) and other 
substances will be included for purposes of DUI; 

• Broaden the venue of jurisdiction over individuals who tamper with ignition 
interlock devices to allow cities and counties to try offenders (§41-6a-518.1);  

  • Add persons under the legal drinking age of 21 to the definitions of “interlock  
   restricted driver” and “alcohol restricted driver” (§41-6a-518.2 and §41-6a-529);   

  • Increase the administrative impound fee from $230 to $330 on DUI violations 
   (§41-6a-1406), with revenues appropriated as follows:  

     ◦ $660,000 in ongoing funding to the Department of Public Safety,  
      Utah Highway Patrol for additional DUI Law Enforcement Officers, 
      and 

     ◦ $660,000 in ongoing funding to the Department of Public Safety,  
      Liquor Law Enforcement Program for additional Liquor Law   
      Enforcement Officers; and 

  • Amend the Not a Drop statute (§53-3-231) to address problems with    
   individuals who fail to obtain the required assessment and recommendation  
   for appropriate action from a substance abuse program. 

 

 ◘  Appropriate Funding to Support DUI Law Enforcement and 
   Youth Intervention and Treatment Services  

  • Appropriate funding to create the Computer Expedited Arrest System to   
   Eliminate (CEASE) DUI in Utah.  

  • Appropriate funding to expand substance abuse intervention and treatment  
   services for Utah youth. 
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Introduction 

1 
Introduction 

hristmas Eve 2006 will forever be linked with tragedy for the Ceran family of  
Cedar Hills in Utah County.  In the early morning hours of Sunday, December 
24th, the family was headed home after a cast party for the Hale Centre Theatre 
production of “A Christmas Carol,” in which Gary Ceran played the role of Bob 

Cratchit, and two of his children also had smaller parts.  At the intersection of 5400 
South and 700 West in Murray, the family’s car was struck by a pickup truck driven by 
24-year-old Carlos Prieto.  Prieto had run a red light and was intoxicated; he told police 
he had consumed five beers.  Gary’s wife, Cheryl, and their 15-year-old son, Ian, were 
killed instantly; 7-year-old Julianna died a short time later at Primary Children’s Medical 
Center.  Gary, 18-year-old Clarissa, and 12-year-old Caleb suffered injuries that were 
serious, but not life-threatening.  Prieto was charged with three counts of automobile 
homicide and two counts of driving under the influence and causing serious bodily 
injury, all third-degree felonies.  He was also charged with two misdemeanors for 
driving under the influence and causing bodily injury and driving without a license.  On 
April 9, 2007, Prieto plead guilty to the three counts of automobile homicide, in 
exchange for prosecutors dismissing the charges for driving under the influence and 
without a license.  In May, he was sentenced to two consecutive terms of up to five 
years in prison, and another term to run concurrently.  Since the tragedy, Prieto has 
accepted responsibility and participated in alcohol treatment.  Gary Ceran and his 
family have completely forgiven the man who took three of their loved ones from them.     

 CC

Just before 10:00 p.m. on Friday, February 9, 2007, a 17-year-old Skyline high school 
senior driving a Jeep Cherokee crashed into a Volkswagen Jetta carrying five members 
of the Williams Family as they drove home from a basketball game in Salt Lake County.  
Michelle Williams, six months pregnant, was killed, as were her 11-year-old son Ben 
and 9-year-old daughter Anna.  Christopher Williams and his 6-year-old son, Sam, 
were hospitalized and have since recovered from their injuries.  The driver who hit the 
Williams family fled the scene; a bottle of vodka was found in his Jeep.  When police 
found him a few blocks from the crash scene, he told them he was “too drunk” to take 
the field sobriety tests.  On February 15th, the teen was charged with four counts of 
second degree felony automobile homicide, which included Michelle Williams’ unborn 
baby.  He was also charged with third-degree felony DUI resulting in a serious injury, 
misdemeanor DUI resulting in injury, leaving the scene of an accident (class A 
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misdemeanor), and minor in possession of alcohol (class B misdemeanor).  His blood 
alcohol content was reported to be .15, nearly twice the legal limit.  The teenager plead 
guilty to the four second-degree felony counts of automobile homicide; all other counts 
were dismissed.  The District Attorney requested he be tried as an adult, but he 
remained in the juvenile system and in June, a Juvenile Court Judge sentenced him, 
now 18, to a secure facility for juveniles until he turns 21.  The Judge hopes he will 
receive more treatment and counseling than would have been available for him in the 
adult prison system.  The Williams family has offered the driver “unconditional 
forgiveness” for his actions.                

These two DUI-related incidents1 may be the ones we most remember from the past 
year, but all DUI events are tragedies.  In fiscal year 2007 there were 14,658 arrests for 
DUI in Utah, and in calendar year 2006, 66 of our fellow citizens lost their lives to 
drivers under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.  These figures and the incidents 
described above illustrate while notable progress is being made to effectively address 
DUI in Utah, there are still areas that warrant attention.  This year’s report provides an 
update of DUI-related data for the state, as well as recommended action designed to 
prevent and reduce the incidence and related tragedy of DUI in the future.   

Purpose of the Report 
The Fifth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was 
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code.  The statute requires the 
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI 
related data, including the following: 

 Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement 
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving 
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs; 

 Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements 
collected by the state courts); 

 Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and 
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of: 

o law enforcement; 

o adjudication; 

o sanctions; 

o drivers’ license control; and 

o alcohol education, assessment, and treatment. 
                                                                          

1 Information for the DUI incidents involving the Ceran and Williams families was obtained from newspaper 
articles by Deseret Morning News reporters Sara Israelsen, Wendy Leonard, Pat Reavy, Linda Thomson, 
Zack Van Dyck, and Ben Winslow; and Salt Lake Tribune reporters Nate Carlisle and Stephen Hunt. 
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2007 DUI and Related Legislation 

The following bills and appropriations were passed by the 2007 Utah Legislature: 

S.B. 4  Driving Under the Influence Amendments –      
      Senator Carlene M. Walker 
     

Clarifies the application of the ten-year look back period for felony driving 
under the influence violations. 

    Amends the definition of alcohol restricted driver and provides the   
    court shall order an ignition interlock system as a condition of probation 
    for an alcohol restricted driver violation or describe why the order would 
    not be appropriate. 

Increases the fee for a license reinstatement application for an alcohol or 
drug-related offense. 

Increases the administrative fee for license reinstatement after an alcohol 
or drug-related offense and increases the amount of revenue generated 
by the administrative fee that is deposited in the State Laboratory Drug 
Testing restricted account. 

Provides the Driver License Division shall deny, suspend, disqualify, or 
revoke a person’s license for certain violations. 

Requires the Driver License Division to reinstate a person’s license if the 
person’s charges for certain violations are reduced or dismissed within 
the suspension period. 

Requires the Driver License Division to immediately revoke, deny, 
suspend, or disqualify a person’s driver license upon receiving record of a 
person’s conviction for operating a vehicle without an ignition interlock 
system if the person is an interlock restricted driver. 

 
S.B. 51 Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment 

Restricted Account Amendments –                        
Senator Michael Waddoups 

     

Expands the list of agencies that could be awarded grants by the Utah 
Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council to include the 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, the Department of Human 
Services, and the Utah State Office of Education.  

 7
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Appropriations 
 

    Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account 
    (§32A-1-115) 

    The 2007 Legislature appropriated $4,984,800 to the Alcoholic Beverage 
    Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account for FY 2007-08.     
    Funding from this account is distributed on a formula basis to Utah’s  
    municipalities  and counties to be used for the following purposes:          
    (1)  DUI law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law enforcement,  
    (3)  prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of  
    alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and              
    (6) confinement of alcohol law offenders.     

 

    Underage Drinking Prevention Media Campaign 

    In 2006, the Legislature appropriated $1.6 in one-time funding for Utah’s 
    Underage Drinking Prevention Media Campaign.  In the 2007 Session, 
    the Legislature approved ongoing funding for the campaign and   
    increased the annual appropriation to $1.8 million in FY 2008, and $1.7 
    in FY 2009 and future years. 
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2007 USAAV DUI Subcommittee 

The Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence (USAAV)                                     
Coordinating Council DUI Subcommittee members represent                                         
agencies and organizations dealing with the DUI issue in Utah.  With the support and 
action of Utah’s Legislature and other key leaders and policymakers, the subcommittee 
continues to work to strengthen Utah’s ability to effectively address the DUI problem.  

Anna Kay Waddoups 
Citizen Member and Chair 

David Beach Director, Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Brent Berkley 
 

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor 
Utah Prosecution Council 

Bart Blackstock Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director 
Driver License Division, Department of Public Safety 

Paul Boyden Executive Director 
Statewide Association of Public Attorneys 

Neil Cohen Compliance Officer 
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Col. Lance Davenport Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Victoria Delheimer Program Administrator, Substance Abuse Treatment 
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Patty Fox Post-Trial Services Program Manager 
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services 

Kim Gibb Bureau Chief, Driver License Division 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Chief Wayne Hansen Farmington Police Department 
Utah Chiefs of Police Association 

Gail Johnson Education Specialist 
Utah State Office of Education 

Teri Pectol Program Manager, Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety  

Richard Schwermer Assistant State Court Administrator 
Administrative Office of the Courts 

Sheriff Kirk Smith Washington County Sheriff’s Office 
Utah Sheriffs Association 

Carlene M. Walker Senator 
Utah State Senate 

Holly Watson Substance Abuse Education Program Manager 
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Mary Lou Emerson                                                                                    Monica Taylor
Director, USAAV Council                                 Administrative Assistant, USAAV/CCJJ
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Law Enforcement 
The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway 
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests.  In FY 2007, Utah law enforcement 
officers made 14,658 DUI arrests, 520 more than in the previous year.   

DUI Arrests 
DUI Arrests by Type 
As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in 
FY 2007 was very similar to previous years.  The majority of the arrests, 80 percent, 
were for violations of the per se law, for driving at or above the legal blood alcohol 
concentration level of .08.  Almost 12 percent of arrests were for refusal to submit to a 
chemical test.  Under Utah law, any person who operates a motor vehicle is considered 
to have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids for the purpose of 
determining whether they are driving in violation of the DUI laws.  Refusal may result in 
revocation of the driver license and prohibition of driving without an ignition interlock 
device.  It is also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite 
in one’s body, which accounted for almost two percent of arrests.  Violations of the Not 
a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 who drove with any measurable alcohol 
concentration in their body, accounted for six percent of the arrests.  The fewest arrests 
were of commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit, which represented only 0.2 percent 
of the total.         

FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007  
DUI Arrests by Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Per se Alcohol (.08) 10,019 73.3% 10,747 76.0% 11,732 80.0%
Refusal of BAC Test 1,807 13.2% 1,800 12.7% 1,737 11.9%
Not a Drop (< 21) 767 5.6% 837 5.9% 910 6.2%
Drug or Metabolite 1,038 7.6% 718 5.1% 251 1.7%
Commercial Driver (.04) 44 0.3% 36 0.3% 28 0.2%
TOTAL 13,675 100.0% 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

Law 
Enforcement 

2 
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events 
Many of the arrests made in FY 2007 occurred as a result of specialized DUI overtime 
enforcement events specifically targeted at removing drivers under the influence of 
alcohol and/or other drugs from Utah’s roads.  A portion of the DUI impound fees 
collected was specifically designated to fund the overtime shifts.  During FY 2007, 65 
law enforcement agencies throughout the state participated in overtime events, 
including local police agencies, Sheriffs’ offices, and the Utah Highway Patrol.   

The table below shows all measures associated with DUI overtime enforcement events 
increased from FY 2006 to FY 2007, with the exception of the number of vehicles 
stopped, which decreased by 17 percent.  Of the total 1,536 DUI arrests in FY 2007, 
1,230 were for DUI-alcohol, 162 were for DUI-drug, 100 were for metabolite, and 44 
were not specified.   

Statewide DUI Overtime 
Enforcement Events FY 2006 FY 2007 Percent Change 

FY 06 – FY 07 
5-Hour Shifts Worked 1,987 2,347 +18.1% 
Vehicles Stopped 22,476 18,642 -17.0% 
DUI Arrests 1,329 1,536 +15.6% 
Vehicles Impounded 1,215 1,436 +18.2% 
Alcohol-Related Arrests* 611 862 +41.1% 
Drug-Related Arrests** 519 631 +21.6% 
Warrants Served 312 528 +69.2% 
Other Warnings/Citations 16,583 19,276 +16.2% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*Includes open container and youth alcohol violations (possession, consumption, attempted purchase, Not a Drop) 
**For example, drug possession 
   

DUI Arrests by Agency Type 
More than half of all arrests in FY 2007 were made by municipal law enforcement 
agencies (61%), with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 22 percent of arrests, 
and Sheriffs Offices responsible for 16 percent of DUI arrests. 

FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 DUI Arrests by  
Agency Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Sheriffs Offices 2,529 18.5% 2,329 16.5% 2,386 16.3%
City Police/Other 7,464 54.6% 8,441 59.7% 8,979 61.2%
Highway Patrol 3,682 26.9% 3,368 23.8% 3,293 22.5%
TOTAL 13,675 100.0% 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Gender 
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female 
arrestees have remained fairly consistent over the past three years.  In FY 2007, 79 
percent were male and 21 percent were female. 
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FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007  
DUI Arrests by Gender Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Male 11,017 80.6% 11,160 78.9% 11,611 79.2%
Female 2,625 19.2% 2,955 20.9% 3,024 20.6%
Unspecified 33 0.2% 23 0.2% 23 0.2%
TOTAL 13,675 100.0% 14,138 100.00% 14,658 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Age 
The youngest DUI driver in FY 2007 was 13 years old.  Eleven percent of arrestees 
were under the legal drinking age of 21.  Drivers between the ages of 25 and 36 
accounted for 37 percent of all arrests.  

FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007  
DUI Arrests by Age Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Unknown 2 0.0% 0 0.0% 0 0.0%
13-20 2,163 15.8% 1,606 11.4% 1,643 11.2%
21-24 3,716 27.2% 2,633 18.6% 2,726 18.7%
25-36 4,105 30.0% 5,110 36.1% 5,488 37.4%
37-48 2,718 19.9% 3,143 22.2% 3,081 21.0%
49+ 971 7.1% 1,646 11.7% 1,720 11.7%
TOTAL 13,675 100.0% 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Month 
As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2007, with 
an average arrest rate of 1,221 per month.  The highest number of arrests occurred in 
September (1,314), with the lowest number of arrests in February (1,100). 

FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007  
DUI Arrests by Month Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
July 1,196 8.7% 1,291 9.1% 1,214 8.3%
August 1,125 8.2% 1,202 8.5% 1,228 8.4%
September 1,099 8.0% 1,174 8.3% 1,314 9.0%
October 1,102 8.1% 1,233 8.7% 1,250 8.5%
November 1,109 8.1% 1,123 7.9% 1,178 8.0%
December 1,173 8.6% 1,211 8.6% 1,257 8.6%
January 1,221 8.9% 1,184 8.4% 1,175 8.0%
February 1,106 8.1% 1,016 7.3% 1,100 7.5%
March 1,188 8.7% 1,264 8.9% 1,246 8.5%
April 1,049 7.7% 1,159 8.2% 1,202 8.2%
May 1,174 8.6% 1,161 8.2% 1,277 8.7%
June 1,133 8.3% 1,120 7.9% 1,217 8.3%
TOTAL 13,675 100.0% 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI Arrests by County 
Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 07 occurred along the 
Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 65 
percent (9,526) of the total.  Salt Lake County had the highest number of arrests with 
4,971 (34%), while Wayne County had the fewest arrests with five (0.0%).  The table 
below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the percentage of both total 
population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.  Overall, the three measures are 
fairly consistent within each county. 

DUI Arrests 
FY 2007 

Population Estimate
July 1, 2006 

Vehicle Miles Traveled 
Calendar Year 2006 County 

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Beaver 110 0.7% 6,428 0.2% 259,363,622 1.0%
Box Elder 189 1.3% 45,987 1.8% 950,444,979 3.6%
Cache 492 3.4% 105,671 4.0% 962,042,197 3.7%
Carbon 190 1.3% 19,504 0.7% 293,236,490 1.1%
Daggett 15 0.1% 949 0.0% 35,453,183 0.1%
Davis 1,530 10.4% 286,547 11.0% 2,465,471,494 9.4%
Duchesne 158 1.1% 15,585 0.6% 217,416,021 0.8%
Emery 104 0.7% 10,438 0.4% 354,091,160 1.3%
Garfield 45 0.3% 4,772 0.2% 117,190,331 0.5%
Grand 203 1.4% 9,024 0.3% 278,740,313 1.1%
Iron 410 2.8% 43,424 1.7% 675,134,992 2.6%
Juab 216 1.5% 9,315 0.4% 408,596,690 1.6%
Kane 73 0.5% 6,294 0.2% 139,181,086 0.5%
Millard 135 0.9% 13,230 0.5% 466,147,966 1.8%
Morgan 33 0.2% 8,888 0.3% 142,721,012 0.5%
Piute 9 0.1% 1,373 0.0% 27,193,551 0.1%
Rich 21 0.1% 2,121 0.1% 54,539,784 0.2%
Salt Lake 4,971 33.9% 996,374 38.1% 8,555,082,596 32.7%
San Juan 134 0.9% 14,647 0.6% 279,318,785 1.1%
Sanpete 137 0.9% 25,799 1.0% 252,643,319 1.0%
Sevier 133 0.9% 19,984 0.8% 429,945,803 1.6%
Summit 347 2.4% 36,871 1.4% 733,056,452 2.8%
Tooele 452 3.1% 54,375 2.1% 908,077,669 3.5%
Uintah 492 3.4% 27,747 1.1% 352,421,358 1.5%
Utah 1,625 11.1% 475,425 18.2% 3,647,327,465 13.9%
Wasatch 214 1.5% 21,053 0.8% 296,594,189 1.1%
Washington 815 5.6% 134,899 5.2% 1,268,127,699 4.8%
Wayne 5 0.0% 2,535 0.1% 38,518,998 0.1%
Weber 1,400 9.5% 215,870 8.2% 1,558,806,269 6.0%
TOTAL 14,658 100.0% 2,615,129 100.0% 26,166,885,473 100.0%
Source for DUI Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source for Population Data:  Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget, Demographic and Economic Analysis Section 
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled:  Utah Department of Transportation 
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DUI Arrests by Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) 
The average BAC remained at .14 during FY 2007, with the highest BAC recorded at 
.41, over five times the legal limit! 

FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 DUI Arrests by Blood 
Alcohol Content Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

BAC Results Not Reported 3,389 24.8% 3,375 23.9% 3,428 23.4%
.01 - .07 810 6.0% 897 6.3% 924 6.3%
.08 - .10 1,342 9.8% 1,497 10.6% 1,569 10.7%
.11 - .15 2,404 17.6% 2,676 18.9% 2,854 19.5%
.16 - .20 1,820 13.3% 1,950 13.8% 2,127 14.5%
.21 - .25 769 5.6% 819 5.8% 873 6.0%

.26+ 309 2.3% 362 2.6% 382 2.6%
Refused BAC Test 1,824 13.3% 1,775 12.6% 1,808 12.3%
No Test/Unknown 650 4.7% 540 3.8% 470 3.2%

Drug Only 358 2.6% 247 1.7% 223 1.5%
TOTAL 13,675 100.0% 14,138 100.0% 14,658 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest 
The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest.  Data 
were calculated by selecting offenders arrested in FY 2007 as a starting point, then 
counting back 10 years to determine previous arrests.  Each offender was placed in 
an arrest type column determined by the type of the most recent arrest.  Finally, the 
total number of arrests reflected in this table is fewer than the total arrests for FY 
2007 because each offender was counted only once (although the offender may 
have been arrested more than one time during the fiscal year).  The data show 
approximately 66 percent of arrests were for a first offense; 22 percent were for a 
second offense; 8 percent were for a third offense; and five percent were for a 
fourth or subsequent offense.     
 

Arrest 
Type TOTAL 

Offense 

Per se 
Alcohol 

(.08) 

Refusal 
of BAC 

Test 

Not a 
Drop 
(< 21) 

Drug or 
Metabolite

Commercial 
Driver 
(.04) Number Percent 

First 7,346 878 486 185 15 8,910 65.6%
Second 2,175 402 332 37 11 2,957 21.8%
Third 821 184 44 10 2 1,061 7.8%
Fourth 303 84 9 5 0 401 3.0%
Fifth 110 44 2 0 0 156 1.2%
Sixth 39 14 0 0 0 53 0.4%
Seventh 10 8 0 0 0 18 0.1%
Eighth 5 3 0 0 0 8 0.1%
Ninth 3 1 0 0 0 4 0.0%
Tenth + 3 2 0 1 0 6 0.0%
TOTAL 10,815 1,620 873 238 28 13,574 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 
According to the Utah Department of Public Safety Highway Safety Office, a DUI-related 
crash occurs in Utah every four hours.  The following table shows the total number of DUI-
related vehicle crashes for each calendar year from 1997 to 2006, including the number of 
persons injured and the number of persons killed as a result of the crashes.  While the 
number of DUI-related fatalities in Utah increased from calendar year 2005 to 2006, Utah 
maintained the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the nation, at 23 percent.  The average 
nationwide was 41 percent (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration). 
 

DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, 1997-2006 
Injuries Fatalities Calendar 

Year 
Total 

DUI-Related 
Crashes 

Total 
Injured 

Persons 

DUI-Related 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI- 

Related 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

DUI-
Related 

Fatalities 

Percent 
DUI-

Related 
1997 1,862 31,328 1,594 5.1% 366 88 24.0% 
1998 1,909 30,232 1,771 5.9% 350 49 14.0% 
1999 2,045 29,959 1,849 6.2% 360 72 20.0% 
2000 2,163 30,086 1,846 6.1% 373 90 24.1% 
2001 2,150 29,375 1,764 6.0% 291 67 23.0% 
2002 2,104 30,433 1,685 5.5% 328 74 22.6% 
2003 1,947 28,352 1,360 4.8% 309 45 14.6% 
2004 1,966 29,638 1,570 5.3% 296 79 26.7% 
2005 2,056 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 45 16.0% 
2006 Not Available  Not Available 287 66 23.0% 

Information Compiled by:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Data Source:  1997-2005 Utah Crash Data and 1997-2006 Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) Data 

 
The figure below illustrates the DUI-related crash fatality data in the table above for 
Utah, from 1997 to 2006.   
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        Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
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Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled 
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and 
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, from 1997 to 2006. 

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and           
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, 1997-2006 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
10,000 Population 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 100 
Million Vehicle Miles Traveled 

Calendar 
Year DUI-

Related 
Fatalities Population Rate Vehicle Miles 

Traveled Rate 

1997 88 2,099,409 0.42 20,407,590,239 0.43 
1998 49 2,141,632 0.23 21,236,980,216 0.23 
1999 72 2,193,014 0.33 21,867,355,694 0.33 
2000 90 2,246,553 0.40 22,517,131,427 0.40 
2001 67 2,295,971 0.29 23,398,734,621 0.29 
2002 74 2,338,761 0.32 24,438,992,554 0.30 
2003 45 2,385,358 0.19 23,963,242,376 0.19 
2004 79 2,469,230 0.32 24,624,791,795 0.32 
2005 45 2,547,389 0.18 25,129,538,952 0.18 
2006 66 2,615,129 0.25 26,166,885,473 0.25 

Information Compiled by:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Data Source:  Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) Data, 2000-2006 

 
The figure below illustrates the rate of DUI-related fatalities in Utah from 1997 to 
2006, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled.  Despite yearly fluctuations, the rate 
has maintained a downward trend. 
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     Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
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Day and Hour of DUI-Related Crashes 
The Highway Safety Office reports in calendar year 2005, the highest percentage of 
DUI-related crashes, including property damage only crashes, injury crashes and fatal 
crashes, occurred on Saturday.  DUI-related injury crashes peaked in the evening and 
early morning hours, between 6:00 p.m. and 1:00 a.m.  Fatal DUI-related crashes 
varied by hour, and peaked at 6:00 p.m. 

Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement 
The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other alcohol-
related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities.  In FY 2007, the 
Legislature appropriated $4,350,000 to be distributed from the Alcoholic Beverage 
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32A-1-115) to municipalities and 
counties statewide on a formula basis.2  Funds can be spent in one or more of six 
general categories:  (1) DUI law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law 
enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of 
alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of 
alcohol law offenders.  Communities receiving more than $1,000 in beer tax revenues 
are required to submit an Annual Report to the Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-
Violence Coordinating Council by October 1st of each year, outlining how funds were 
utilized, whether the programs or projects funded were effective, and certifying the 
funds were used in accordance with the law.  Municipalities and counties that do not 
submit their reports by the deadline forfeit their alcohol funds for the current fiscal year, 
and these funds are then allocated to other entities, in accordance with the statute. 

The following table shows how FY 07 funds were expended, as reported in the Alcohol 
Funds Annual Reports received to date. 

 
FY 2007 Alcohol Funds Reports 

How Funds Were Used - As of 11/1/07 

Number of 
Communities 

(N = 132) 

 
 

Percent3

DUI Law Enforcement 91 68.9% 
General Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 80 60.6% 
Prosecution/Court Costs for Alcohol-Related Cases 41 31.1% 
Treatment of Alcohol Problems 10 7.6% 
Alcohol-Related Education/Prevention 62 47.0% 
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 16 12.1% 
Source:  Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council, FY 2007 Alcohol Funds Annual Reports 
 

                                                                          

2 In accordance with §32A-1-115 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes funds to municipalities and 
counties in December of each year based upon the following formula:  percentage of state population (25%); 
percentage of statewide convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); percentage of all state stores, 
package agencies, liquor licensees, and beer licensees (20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes 
(for alcohol-related offenses) based upon the percentage of the state population (25% to counties only). 

3 Communities may use alcohol funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute. 
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Adjudications and Sanctions 
DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type 
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense.  Misdemeanor cases are handled in 
Justice Courts, which are sponsored by municipalities and counties.  Felony cases and 
cases not referred to the Justice Courts are handled in state District Courts.  Of the 
11,874 DUI cases handled in courts during FY 2007, District Courts handled 2,025 (17 
percent) and Justice Courts handled 9,849 (83 percent).  The number of DUI cases 
disposed in the state’s District Courts decreased in FY 2007, by 15 percent, and the 
number of DUI cases charged in the Justice Courts increased by two percent. 

 
DUI Cases in Utah’s Courts 

 
FY 2005 

 
FY 2006 

 
FY 2007 

% Change  
FY 06 – FY 07

District Court Cases Disposed 2,256 2,386 2,025 -15.1% 
Justice Court Charges 9,898 9,631 9,849 +2.3% 
Total DUI Cases 12,154 12,017 11,874 -1.2% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Justice Court DUI Data 
Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes 
During FY 2007, Utah’s Justice Courts handled 9,849 DUI cases, 218 more than in FY 
2006.  The following table details the DUI cases filed in Justice Courts and their 
outcomes.  This table does not accurately represent the DUI conviction rate for the 
Justice Courts, as it includes cases filed in FY 2006 that were not resolved until          
FY 2007.  In addition, 1,285 cases were still pending resolution at the end of FY 2007. 

FY 2006 FY 2007 Justice Court DUI  
Charges and Outcomes Number Percent Number Percent 

 

% Change 
FY 06 – FY 07 

Total DUI Charges Filed 9,631 100.0% 9,849 100.0% +2.3% 
Guilty 5,908 61.3% 6,148 62.4% +4.1% 
Dismissed or Not Guilty 2,465 25.6% 2,416 24.5% -2.0% 
Cases Pending 1,258 13.1% 1,285 13.1% +2.1% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

Adjudications 
& Sanctions 

3 
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Justice Court DUI Sanctions 
The Justice Courts also track other DUI-related case information such as blood alcohol 
content (BAC) reported; screening, assessment and treatment ordered; and ignition 
interlock ordered.  The table below includes data for the 60 Justice Courts reporting to 
the Department of Public Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Identification.  The numbers 
reflect only those dispositions loaded into the Criminal History Repository, and do not 
include those in the suspense file.  The data indicate in 803 cases the blood alcohol 
content was known.  The table further shows judges ordered offenders to participate in 
an educational series in 652 cases, substance abuse treatment in 580 cases, and that 
ignition interlock devices were ordered in 338 cases. 

Justice Court DUI Sanctions FY 2007 
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 60 
Blood Alcohol Content Known 803 
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 796 
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 580 
Educational Series Ordered 652 
Ignition Interlock Ordered 338 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 329 
Electronic Monitoring 29 
Enhancement Notification 777 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification 

   
District Court DUI Data 
District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
The table below shows case outcomes for the 2,025 DUI cases processed by Utah’s 
eight District Courts during FY 2007, by Judicial District. 

FY 2007 District Court DUI Case Filings and Outcomes 
Judicial District DUI Case 

Outcomes 1st  2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th  
 
Total Percent

Bail Forfeiture  1  1 0.0%
Deceased 1 3 1 5 1  11 0.5%
Declined  1 1 2 0.1%
Dismissed 80 73 82 65 26 11 4 15 356 17.6%
Diversion   0 0.0%
Guilty 94 298 342 414 116 53 80 88 1,485 73.3%
Guilty/Mentally Ill   0 0.0%
No Contest  3 3 33 1 2 2 44 2.2%
Not Guilty  1 1 1 3 0.2%
Plea in Abeyance 1 8 1 10 2 2 2 26 1.3%
Remanded 1 44 2 3 2 52 2.6%
Transferred  8 33 1 1 2 45 2.2%
TOTAL 177 385 481 565 151 66 87 113 2,025 100.0%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
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Seventy-three percent of the cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.  The defendant 
was found not guilty in only three cases.  In nearly 18 percent of the cases, the case 
was either dismissed or declined for prosecution.  It should be noted that this table is 
not an accurate depiction of the District Courts’ DUI conviction rates, as it only 
examined cases that were disposed of during FY 2007.  Pending cases were not 
included in the data analysis. 

District Court Repeat Offender Data 
The District Courts track how repeat DUI offenders are handled as well.  In the table on 
the following page, which includes data for Fiscal Year 2005 through Fiscal Year 2007, 
the first column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat 
offender.  The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually 
met that criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.   

In FY 2007 for example, 28 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense, 
while 26 percent were actually third-time offenders, and 24 percent were sentenced as 
third-time offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual.  
An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the 
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues. 

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2005-20074

Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As Offense 

FY 05 FY 06 FY 07 FY 05 FY 06 FY 07 FY 05 FY 06 FY 07 
1st Offense 61% 59% 51% 56% 53% 49% 64% 59% 54%
2nd Offense 15% 15% 16% 18% 22% 17% 18% 21% 17%
3rd Offense 20% 22% 28% 20% 17% 26% 16% 16% 24%
4th Offense 2% 2% 3% 3% 3% 3% 1% 2% 3%
5th or More 

Offense 2% 2% 2% 3% 5% 5% 1% 2% 2%

TOTAL 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court DUI Sanctions 
The District Courts also track DUI-related case information regarding sanctions ordered. 
The table on the following page shows in 607 cases the blood alcohol content was 
known.  The table further shows judges ordered offenders to participate in an 
educational series in 46 percent of cases, substance abuse treatment in 64 percent of 
cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 288 cases.  The decline in 
interlock devices ordered was due to a change in the law that created the “interlock 
restricted driver” and no longer required judges to order the devices in certain cases 

                                                                          

4 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known.  In addition, the 
following cases were not included:  bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and 
transferred. 
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(2006 – S.B. 18).5  DUI offenders were notified 100 percent of the time that they may be 
subject to enhancements. 

District Court DUI Sanctions FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 
Blood Alcohol Content Known 797 857 607 
Substance Abuse Screening and 
Assessment Ordered 

823 
(60.5%) 

774 
(58.6%) 

620 
(63.7%) 

Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 768 
(56.6%) 

747 
(57.0%) 

626 
(64.3%) 

Educational Series Ordered 601 
(44.7%) 

573 
(44.2%) 

444 
(45.7%) 

Ignition Interlock Ordered 359 432 288 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 670 335 516 
Electronic Monitoring 162 141 119 
Enhancement Notification 100.0% 100.0% 100% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
 
Other DUI Sanctions 
The Driver License Division tracks other DUI sanctions.  The following table lists the 
average sanctions applied against DUI offenders.  Not all offenders are ordered to 
serve a jail sentence or perform community service hours; however, all convicted DUI 
offenders are assessed a fine and a surcharge.  For a first offense, the minimum fine is 
$700; for a second offense within 10 years, the minimum fine is $800; and for a third or 
subsequent offense, the minimum fine is $1,500. 

Average Jail Sentence, 
Community Service Hours 

and Fines 
FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 

Average Jail Sentence 147.5 days 147.9 days 171.2 days
Average Time Suspended 146.5 days 147.3 days 153.4 days
Average Time Served 16.9 days 13.4 days 35.8 days
Average Community Service Hours 80.2 hours 61.9 hours 78.9 hours
Average Fine for Other Alcohol/ 
Drug Related Convictions $1,310.85 $1,378.53 $1,321.93

Average Fine for DUI Convictions $1,546.35 $1,498.22 $1,528.52
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 

 

                                                                          

5 The Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division reports there are currently a total of 5,866 records 
with an ignition interlock restriction.  The Division received court orders for 1,421 interlock restrictions in FY 
2007, which included both District and Justice Courts. 
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Driver License 
Control 

4 
Driver License Control 
The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or 
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following: 

• Driving under the influence 
• Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body 
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test 
• Automobile homicide 
• “No-alcohol” conditional license 
• Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation  
• Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction 

 

Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license 
is issued.  Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License 
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license. 

As shown in the table below, there were 4,237 alcohol hearings held in FY 2007.  The 
Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting officer does not 
appear at the hearing.  To improve appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic 
option, whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.  In 1,834 cases, one 
of the parties called in for the hearing.   

FY 2007 Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
 

ACD Code 
Total # of 
Hearings 

No 
Officer 

No Officer 
Telephonic

Other  
No Action 

Total  
No Action 

Total 
Telephonic

Per Se 3,562 744 74 545 1,363 1,517
Not a Drop 208 31 6 27 64 106
Refusal 467 82 7 53 142 211
TOTAL 4,237 857 87 625 1,569 1,834
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Assessment, 
Education & 
Treatment 

5 
Screening, Assessment, 
Education and Treatment 

Screening and Assessment 
As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to 
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment.  A 
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual 
has a problem with alcohol/other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth clinical 
assessment is appropriate.  An assessment is a collection of detailed information 
concerning the individual’s alcohol/other drug abuse, emotional and physical 
health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.  The 
assessment is used to determine the need for substance abuse treatment.6   

Education 
For a first offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must include 
participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.  The purpose 
of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be related to 
use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize the harmful 
consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the dangers of 
drinking and driving.”7  Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational series attend 
the PRIME for Life program developed by the Prevention Research Institute (PRI).  The 
16-hour curriculum presents research-based information about the risks associated with 

                                                                          

6 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7. 

7 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

 25



F I F T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

alcohol and other drug use that helps participants identify lifestyle choices to reduce 
their personal risks8.    

PRI conducts periodic studies of PRIME for Life participants to measure the impact on 
changing beliefs about alcohol use, understanding the risks associated with alcohol 
use, and desire to change personal drinking behavior.  The following table shows the 
findings from the most recent study, which includes offenders who received the 
program between January and June of 2006.9

2006 Utah PRIME for Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes 
Gender 
  Male 70%
  Female 28%
  No Answer 2%
Race/Ethnicity 
  White 83%
  Hispanic 7%
  African American 2%
  Other/No Answer 8%
Number of Offenses 
  First-Time Impaired Driving Offense 49%
  Two or More Impaired Driving Arrests 24%
  Never Arrested for Impaired Driving 13%
  No Answer 14%
Self Assessment of Substance Abuse 
  Reported three or more indicators of possible alcohol dependence 51%
  Reported parent, grandparent or sibling has/had problems with alcohol 64%
  Described self as having alcoholism or addiction 25%
  Reported making detailed plans to establish substitute behaviors to high- 
  risk drinking and drug choices 78%

PRIME for Life Course Evaluation 
  This class: 
  Helped me develop skills to be able to drink less or use drugs less 85%
  Helped me feel confident about being able to drink less or use drugs less 83%
  Helped me to decide to drink less or use drugs less 82%
  Changed my thinking about my drinking 89%
  Changed my thinking about drug use 84%
Source:  Utah PRIME for Life 2006 Evaluation Report, Prevention Research Institute.  The full report can be found on the 
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health website at www.dsamh.utah.gov. 

 

                                                                          
8 Prevention Research Institute, PRIME for Life Utah 2004. 

9 In the six-month period included in this analysis, 425 participants provided usable data on the pre-test; 298 of 
these participants completed the post-test with usable information and are included in the data table.  

 26

http://www.dsamh.utah.gov/


F I F T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

In addition to the information in the table on the previous page, the evaluation 
determined after attending the PRIME for Life course, “participants indicated 
significantly greater:  agreement with attitudes and beliefs that are supportive of making 
low-risk choices; perception of risk associated with high-risk drinking and marijuana 
use; perception of personal risk for developing alcoholism; and motivation to reduce 
their use.”  

Treatment 
For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or 
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance abuse treatment.  
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change 
patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to 
restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning.  DUI 
offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder 
should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the educational 
course.”10   Treatment should address both alcohol and other drug problems.  The level 
of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive outpatient, residential) is 
determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of the substance abuse 
disorder.     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
                                                                          

10 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 
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F I F T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

Impaired 
Driving Media 
Campaign 

6 
 

Utah’s Impaired Driving       
Media Campaign  
In July 2007, the Utah Department of Public Safety’s Highway Safety 
Office launched a new statewide media and outreach campaign 
focusing on changing Utah citizens’ perceptions and behaviors 
regarding driving under the influence of alcohol, and reinforcing the 
message that impaired driving is one of the most frequently 
committed and deadliest crimes.  The multi-media campaign builds 
on the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) 
television and radio ads and includes billboards, reflective mirror 
clings, coasters, napkins, and life-size cutouts of police officers!  

Billboard 

 

 

 

 

Mirror Cling                    Coasters 
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Recommended 
Action 

7 
Recommended Action 
Create the Plea of “Impaired Driving” 

Establish the plea of “Impaired Driving” (§41-6a-502.5), a class B misdemeanor to be 
used solely as a conviction reduced from a charge of driving under the influence of 
alcohol and/or other drugs under §41-6a-502.  It does not have separate elements and 
is not a stand alone charge.  It is to be used in place of alcohol or drug-related reckless 
driving for negotiated pleas or for reductions used as an incentive for the completion of 
court-ordered requirements. 

 

Amend the DUI Statutes to:  

  • Calculate the ten-year look back period for interlock restricted driver (IRD) and 
   alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violations from offense date to offense date,  
   instead of conviction date to conviction date (§41-6a-518.2 and §41-6a-529); 

  • Add a definition of “drug” or “drugs” to §41-6a-501 to mean “any substance that 
   when taken into the human body, can impair the ability of a person to safely  
   operate a motor vehicle,” so that psychotoxic chemicals (inhalants) and other 
   substances will be included for purposes of DUI; 

• Broaden the venue of jurisdiction over individuals who tamper with ignition 
interlock devices to allow cities and counties to try offenders (§41-6a-518.1);  

  • Add persons under the legal drinking age of 21 to the definitions of “interlock  
   restricted driver” and “alcohol restricted driver” (§41-6a-518.2 and §41-6a-529);  

  • Increase the administrative impound fee from $230 to $330 on DUI violations 
   (§41-6a-1406), with revenues appropriated as follows:  
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     ◦ $660,000 in ongoing funding to the Department of Public Safety,  
      Utah Highway Patrol for additional DUI Law Enforcement Officers, 
      and 

     ◦ $660,000 in ongoing funding to the Department of Public Safety,  
      Liquor Law Enforcement Program for additional Liquor Law   
      Enforcement Officers; and 

  • Amend the Not a Drop statute (§53-3-231) to address problems with    
   individuals who fail to obtain the required assessment and recommendation  
   for appropriate action from a substance abuse program. 

  

Appropriate Funding to Support DUI Law Enforcement and Youth 
Intervention and Treatment Services 

  Appropriate funding to create the CComputer EExpedited AArrest SSystem to  
  EEliminate (CEASE) DUI in Utah. 

  One of the keys to improving DUI law enforcement in Utah is an efficient arrest  
  process.  Currently, it takes an average of 1½ to 2 hours to fully process a DUI  
  arrest,  from stopping the suspect vehicle to booking the offender in jail.  The   
  CEASE DUI system will expedite the arrest process, and with its link to the e- 
  warrants system will reduce the number of offenders refusing sobriety tests.  The 
  results will be arrests completed more quickly and accurately, officers back on the 
  road more quickly to process more arrests, and reduced officer burnout. 

  Appropriate funding to expand substance abuse intervention and treatment 
  services for Utah youth. 

  According to the Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, there are 
  currently 16,003 youth under the age of 18 who are in need of substance abuse  
  treatment.  The current public treatment system capacity is only 2,137, which  
  means 13,866 youth, or 87% of those in need, are not able to receive services  
  through Utah’s 13 Local Substance Abuse Authority agencies.   
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UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX 

(Current as of October 2007) 
 
 

 
FIRST OFFENSE 

 
SECOND OFFENSE 
WITHIN 10 YEARS 

 

THIRD OR 
SUBSEQUENT 

OFFENSE WITHIN        
10 YEARS 

 
CLASSIFICATION 
(§41-6a-503) 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury inflicted 
$ if passenger is under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 
THIRD DEGREE FELONY: 

 

$ if serious bodily injury 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury inflicted 
$ if passenger under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 
THIRD DEGREE FELONY: 
 

$ if any prior felony DUI 
conviction or automobile 
homicide conviction 

$ if serious bodily injury 

 
THIRD DEGREE FELONY 

 
SENTENCING 
Jail – SHALL      
order: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 

48 consecutive hours OR 
48 hours compensatory 
service OR 
electronic home confinement1 

 
240 consecutive hours OR 
240 hours compensatory 
service OR 
electronic home confinement1 

 
0-5 year prison term OR 
1,500 hours jail (62.5 days) 
May also require electronic 
home confinement1 

 
Fine – SHALL 
order: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
$700 minimum plus 
surcharge 

 
$800 minimum plus 
surcharge 

 
$1,500 minimum plus 
surcharge, unless 
0-5 prison term is imposed 

 
Screening, 
Assessment, 
Education Series, 
Treatment – 
SHALL order: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational Series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
$ MAY order treatment 

 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational Series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
$ MAY order treatment 

 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment 
$ Intensive treatment or 

inpatient treatment and 
aftercare for not less than 
240 hours 

 
Probation:2 
(§41-6a-507) 

 
MAY order supervised 
probation 

 
SHALL order supervised 
probation 

 
SHALL order supervised 
probation if 0-5 prison term is 
not imposed 

 
Ignition Interlock:3 
(§41-6a-518) 

 

(§41-6a-530) 

 
$ MAY order interlock 
$ SHALL order interlock if 

under 21 
$ SHALL order interlock for 

an ARD violation OR 
describe on the record why 
such order not appropriate 

 
$ MAY order interlock 
$ SHALL order interlock if 

under 21 
$ SHALL order interlock for 

an ARD violation OR 
describe on the record why 
such order not appropriate 

 
$ MAY order interlock 
$ SHALL order interlock if 

under 21 
$ SHALL order interlock for 

an ARD violation OR 
describe on the record why 
such order not appropriate 

 
High BAC: 
(.16 or higher) 
 
 

(§41-6a-505) 

 
$ SHALL order supervised 

probation2 
$ SHALL order treatment 

and interlock3 and/or home 
confinement1 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
$ SHALL order supervised 

probation2 
$ SHALL order treatment 

and interlock3 and/or home 
confinement1 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
$ SHALL order supervised 

probation2 if 0-5 prison 
term is not imposed 

$ SHALL order treatment 
and interlock3 and/or home 
confinement1 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
License 
Suspension: 
(§41-6a-509) 

 
Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or  
2 years 

 
Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or 
2 years 

 
Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or 
2 years 

                                                           
1See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions. 
2 Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance in the body). 
3 Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a  
  condition of probation. 
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