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Executive Summary                                                     
DUI in Utah FY 2012 

DUI-Related Fatalities Increased in CY 2011 
◘ From CY 2010 to CY 2011, DUI/alcohol-related fatalities in Utah increased from 

25 to 39, and DUI/drug-related fatalities increased from 26 to 30. 

Law Enforcement:  Arrests 
◘ There were 13,031 DUI arrests in FY 2012, 785 fewer than in the previous year. 

This represents a decrease of almost six percent, and a decrease of nearly 15 
percent since FY 2010.  

◘ The majority of the arrests, almost 84 percent, were for per se violations that  
included driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both.   

◘ Not a Drop violations by persons under the legal drinking age of 21 decreased 
almost 16 percent, with a decrease of nearly 29 percent since FY 2010. 

◘ Arrests included 972 made during specialized DUI overtime enforcement events 
such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI checkpoints that 
involved 100 law enforcement agencies throughout the state.  

◘ Half of all DUI arrests were made by municipal law enforcement agencies. 

◘ Seventy-two percent of DUI drivers were male and the proportion of female 
DUI drivers continued to increase. 

◘ Eight percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21. 

Executive 
Summary  
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◘ The average BAC was .14; the highest was .39, nearly five times the legal limit. 

◘ The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber, 
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 72 percent of the total. 

◘ Sixty-eight percent of arrests were for a first DUI offense, 21 percent were for a 
second offense, seven percent were for a third offense, and almost four percent 
were for a fourth or subsequent offense.  

◘ From CY 2010 to CY 2011, the percentage of total crash fatalities that were 
DUI/alcohol-related increased from 9.9 percent to 16.0 percent. 

◘ From CY 2010 to CY 2011, the percentage of total crash fatalities that were 
DUI/drug-related increased from 10.3 percent to 12.3 percent. 

Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions 
◘ In FY 2012, there were 9,599 DUI cases in Utah’s Justice Courts.  Among the 

cases resolved, 59 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.  

◘ Justice Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
3,066 cases, ordered offenders into substance use disorder treatment in 2,409 
cases, and ordered ignition interlock devices in 831 cases. 

◘ There were 2,102 DUI cases disposed by the state’s District Courts.  Among the 
cases resolved, 75 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. 

◘ District Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
303 cases, ordered offenders into substance use disorder treatment in 613 cases, 
and ordered ignition interlock devices in 246 cases. 

Driver License Control 
◘ The Driver License Division conducted 5,070 hearings in FY 2012 to determine 

if there was sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the 
individual’s driver license. 

Assessment, Education and Treatment 
◘ Eighty-one percent of participants who completed the PRIME for Life program, 

Utah’s court-ordered educational series for DUI offenders, reported they were 
highly motivated to reduce to or maintain their drinking at low-risk levels.   
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Introduction 
onathan Bowers was described as “an extremely good person . . . willing to go out of his 
way to do things for everyone”.  Around 6:00 a.m. on Sunday, May 22, 2011, he was on 
his way to work as an EMT with Gold Cross Ambulance.  He was stopped at a red light                         

at the four-way intersection of 4015 West 6200 South in Taylorsville, when a speeding car 
sideswiped the car in the adjacent lane and continued forward to rear end Jonathan’s vehicle, 
causing it to crash into the car in front of him.  The driver of the                                          
speeding car, 26-year-old Gabriel Perez-Guiterez, was traveling at                                               
75 miles per hour in a 40 mph zone and made no attempt to brake                                                
or steer to avoid the collision.  Perez-Guiterez’s vehicle continued                                            
through the intersection and hit a pole on the opposite side of the                                           
street, where it finally stopped.  Witnesses saw Perez-Guiterez exit                                            
the vehicle, run from the scene, and jump a fence.  He was found                                               
hiding in a window well and was arrested and booked into jail for                                                
investigation of hit-and-run and DUI.  Tests revealed he had a                                                
blood alcohol level of .19 and marijuana metabolite in his system.     Jonathan M. Bowers, 1979-2011                           

Drivers of two of the cars involved in the collision were taken to the hospital for treatment of their 
injuries, but were released shortly thereafter.  Jonathan Bowers, 31, was also taken to the 
hospital, but died about a week later as a result of the severe injuries he sustained in the crash. 

Gabriel Perez-Guiterez was charged with the following:  automobile homicide, a second degree 
felony; failure to remain at the scene, a third degree felony; two counts of DUI causing 
substantial bodily injury, class A misdemeanors; DUI with a controlled substance, a class B 
misdemeanor; driving on a revoked license, a class C misdemeanor; and speeding, a class C 
misdemeanor.  On February 28, 2012, Perez-Guiterez appeared before the Third District Court 
and entered pleas of guilty to automobile homicide and driving under the influence; the other 
charges were dismissed.  On April 27, 2012, Perez-Guiterez was sentenced to one to 15 years 
in prison for automobile homicide, and to an additional year for the DUI.  

On the same date, at the same time, and at the same intersection as the incident described 
above, another driver, not involved in the collision, was passed out in his vehicle at the red light.  
He was 20 years old and his blood alcohol level was .12.  He was charged with DUI, unlawful 
consumption by a minor, and driving on suspension.  He pled guilty to the DUI and the other 
counts were dismissed.  He failed to appear for sentencing in December 2011 and a warrant is 
still out for his arrest.                                                                                          

Introduction 

1 
J 

DUI/alcohol-related fatalities in Utah increased from 
25 in calendar year 2010 to 39 in calendar year 2011.  
The story of one of these tragedies is included below, 
and is made even more heartbreaking by the fact that 

all of these deaths were 100% preventable.  

Information for this story was obtained from the Information and Warrant of Arrest provided by the Salt Lake   
County District Attorney’s Office, articles in the Salt Lake Tribune, and reports on the ksl.com website. 
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Purpose of the Report 
The Tenth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was 
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code.  The statute requires the 
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI 
related data, including the following: 

 Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement 
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving 
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs; 

 Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements 
collected by the state courts); and 

 Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and 
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of: 

o law enforcement; 

o adjudication; 

o sanctions; 

o driver license control; and 

o alcohol education, assessment, and treatment. 
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2012 DUI and Related Legislation 

The following bills and appropriations were passed                                                                
by the Utah Legislature in the 2012 General Session:  

S.B. 50 Motor Vehicle Impound Amendments   
Senator Michael G. Waddoups 

     

This bill requires a peace officer to seize and impound a vehicle if the 
peace officer arrests, cites, or refers for administrative action the 
operator of the vehicle for driving the motor vehicle while the 
operator’s license is denied, suspended, revoked, or disqualified for 
violating certain drug or alcohol-related offenses.  
 

  
S.B. 214 Justice Court Process Amendments 

Senator Curtis S. Bramble 
     

This bill provides that a sentence imposed by a justice court may be 
stayed if a defendant files a proper notice of appeal for a trial de novo 
in district court. 
 
Provides if a stay is ordered, the court may order post-conviction 
restrictions on the defendant’s conduct as appropriate, including drug 
and alcohol use and use of an ignition interlock. 
 
Provides that the provisions allowing a stay do not apply to 
convictions for an offense under Title 41, Chapter 6a, Part 5, Driving 
Under the Influence and Reckless Driving. 
 
 

H.B. 85 Forensic Phlebotomy 
Representative Val L. Peterson 

     

This bill amends who, acting at the request of a peace officer, is 
authorized to draw blood to determine its alcohol or drug content to 
include the following:  a physician; a registered nurse; a licensed 
practical nurse; a paramedic; emergency medical service personnel 
other than paramedics who are authorized by the Department of 
Health in rule; and a person with a valid permit issued by the 
Department of Health. 
 
Amends related immunity from liability provisions.      
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H.B. 254 Controlled Substances Amendments 
Representative Gage H. Froerer 

     

This bill amends the definition of a controlled substance analog to 
allow proof that the substance is chemically substantially similar to a 
controlled substance, without requiring proof of the effect of the 
substance by the expert testimony of a pharmacologist. 
 
Adds benzylpiperazine to Schedule I of the controlled substances list. 
 
Adds AM-2201, RCS-4, JWH-210, and JWH-203, analogs of banned 
substances found in “spice” and “bath salt” products, to the list of 
listed controlled substances in the Utah Controlled Substances Act.   
 
 

H.B. 354 Alcoholic Beverage Amendments 
Representative Ryan D. Wilcox 

     

This bill creates the Alcohol Abuse Tracking Committee to establish a 
process to collect information related to abuse of alcoholic products, 
including:  underage drinking violations, DUI violations, over-serving 
and over-consumption violations, costs of social services related to 
abuse of alcohol, where alcoholic products are obtained that result in 
violations or costs, and any additional information related to the abuse 
of alcoholic products. 

 

Appropriations 
Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account  
The 2012 Legislature appropriated $5,308,900 to the Alcoholic 
Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32B-2-
401) for FY 2013.  Funding from this account is distributed annually 
on a formula basis to Utah’s municipalities and counties to be used for 
one or more of the following purposes:  (1) alcohol-related prevention;    
(2) treatment of offenders with alcohol problems; (3) alcohol-related 
law enforcement, including DUI; (4) prosecution of alcohol-related 
cases; and (5) confinement of alcohol law offenders. 

 
DUI Overtime Enforcement Project 
The 2012 Legislature increased the appropriation to the Utah 
Highway Safety Office for its DUI Overtime Enforcement Project from 
$400,000 to $600,000.  The new $200,000 in funding is ongoing. 
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FY 2012 USAAV DUI Committee 

The Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council’s DUI Committee                           
members represent state and local agencies and organizations                              
dealing with the DUI issue in Utah.  With the support and action                                       
of the Utah Legislature and other key leaders and policymakers,                                  
during FY 2012 the Committee continued its work to strengthen                                 
Utah’s ability to more effectively address the DUI problem.  

Anna Kay Waddoups 
Citizen Member and Chair 

Senator Stuart Adams Senator 
Utah State Senate 

David Beach Director, Utah Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Edward Berkovich 
 

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor 
Utah Prosecution Council 

Bart Blackstock Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director of the 
Driver License Division, Utah Department of Public Safety 

Paul Boyden 
Vice Chair 

Executive Director 
Statewide Association of Prosecutors 

Patty Fox Probation Program Manager 
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services 

Colonel Daniel Fuhr Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Kim Gibb Chief, Records Bureau, Driver  License Division 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Chief Wayne Hansen Farmington Police Department 
Utah Chiefs of Police Association 

Linda Mayne Education Specialist for Driver Education 
Utah State Office of Education 

Doug Murakami Director of Alcohol Education 
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Sheriff Frank Park Tooele County Sheriff’s Office 
Utah Sheriffs Association 

Teri Pectol Impaired Driving/Youth Alcohol Program Manager, Utah 
Highway Safety Office, Utah Department of Public Safety  

Richard Schwermer Assistant State Court Administrator 
Administrative Office of the Courts 

Holly Watson Substance Abuse Education Program Manager 
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health  

Mary Lou Emerson, Director                         Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council 
 

 

U   S   A   A   V 

         Utah Substance Abuse 
Advisory Council 
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Law Enforcement 
The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway 
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests.  In FY 2012, law enforcement 
officers made 13,031 DUI arrests.  This was 785 fewer than in FY 2011, representing a 
decrease of almost six percent, and a decrease of nearly 15 percent since FY 2010.   

DUI Arrests 
DUI Arrests by Violation Type 
As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in 
FY 2012 was very similar to previous years.  The majority of the arrests, nearly 84 
percent, were for per se violations where the driver had a .08 or greater blood/breath 
alcohol concentration, or was impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two to 
the extent it was unsafe to operate a vehicle.  Under Utah law, drivers are considered to 
have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids to determine whether 
they are driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.  Ten percent of arrests 
were for refusal to submit to a chemical test.  It is also illegal to drive with any 
measurable controlled substance metabolite in one’s body, which accounted for one 
percent of arrests.  Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 
who drove with any measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for 
nearly five percent of the arrests.  The fewest arrests were of commercial drivers 
exceeding the .04 limit, which represented only 0.2 percent of the total.  Of particular 
note is the number of arrests for Not a Drop violations, which decreased almost 16 
percent from FY 2011 to FY 2012, with a decrease of nearly 29 percent since FY 2010.         

DUI Arrests by 
Violation Type 

FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 Percent 
Change 

FY 11–FY 12 Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Per se Alcohol/Drugs 12,559 82.2% 11,586 83.9% 10,911 83.7% -5.8%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,704 11.1% 1,324 9.6% 1,350 10.4% +1.9%
Not a Drop (< 21) 834 5.5% 706 5.1% 594 4.6% -15.9%
Drug or Metabolite 174 1.1% 185 1.3% 149 1.1% -19.5%
Commercial Driver (.04) 14 0.1% 15 0.1% 27 0.2% +0.8%
TOTAL 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0% -5.7%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

Law 
Enforcement 

2 
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events 
The arrests made in FY 2012 included those that occurred as a result of specialized 
DUI overtime enforcement events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and 
DUI checkpoints.  A portion of the DUI impound fees collected was specifically 
designated to fund the overtime shifts.  During FY 2012, 100 law enforcement agencies 
throughout the state participated in overtime events, including local police agencies, 
sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, Motor Vehicle Enforcement, Utah Parks and 
Recreation, and two university police departments.   

The table below shows the measures associated with DUI overtime enforcement 
events in FY 2012.  Of the total 972 DUI arrests, 724 were for alcohol, 190 were for 
other drugs, and 58 were for metabolite.    

Statewide DUI Overtime 
Enforcement Events FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 Percent Change 

FY 11 – FY 12 
DUI Shifts Worked 2,235 2,183 2,116 -3.1% 
Vehicles Stopped 22,340 21,352 19,313 -9.5% 
DUI Arrests 1,053 1,020 972 -4.7% 
Vehicles Impounded 961 929 915 -1.5% 
Alcohol-Related Arrests* 616 640 566 -11.6% 
Drug-Related Arrests** 461 509 468 -8.1% 
Warrants Served 427 465 384 -17.4% 
Other Warnings/Citations 17,883 17,547 17,425 -0.7% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*Includes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase,   
Not a Drop) 
**Felony and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession)    

DUI Arrests by Agency Type 
Half of all arrests in FY 2012 were made by municipal law enforcement agencies, 
with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 35 percent of arrests, and county 
sheriffs’ offices responsible for 14 percent of DUI arrests. 

DUI Arrests by  
Agency Type 

FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Sheriffs’ Offices 2,143 14.0% 1,787 12.9% 1,873 14.4%
City Police/Other 7,617 49.8% 7,140 51.7% 6,586 50.5%
Highway Patrol 5,525 36.1% 4,889 35.4% 4,572 35.1%
TOTAL 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Gender 
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female 
arrestees have remained fairly consistent over the past three years, although the 
proportion of females arrested for DUI appears to be increasing.  In FY 2012, 72 
percent of arrestees were male and 27 percent were female.  From FY 2003 to FY 
2012, the proportion of females arrested for DUI has increased nearly nine percent.  
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DUI Arrests by Gender 

FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Male 11,402 74.6% 10,109 73.2% 9,448 72.5%
Female 3,815 25.0% 3,663 26.5% 3,539 27.2%
Unspecified 68 0.4% 44 0.3% 44 0.3%
TOTAL 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Age 
The youngest DUI drivers in FY 2012 were 14 years old, and the oldest were in 
their mid to late eighties.  Eight percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking 
age of 21, a decrease of nearly 20 percent since FY 2011, and a 28 percent 
decrease since FY 2010.       

 
DUI Arrests by Age 

FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Age Unknown 1 < 0.1% 1 < 0.1% 4 < 0.1%
Ages 14-20 1,457 9.5% 1,303 9.4% 1,046 8.0%
Ages 21-24 2,853 18.7% 2,458 17.8% 2,271 17.4%
Ages 25-36 5,922 38.7% 5,411 39.2% 5,275 40.5%
Ages 37-48 3,049 19.9% 2,737 19.8% 2,612 20.0%
Ages 49-93 2,003 13.1% 1,906 13.8% 1,823 14.0%
TOTAL 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) 
The average BAC remained at .14 during FY 2012, with the highest BAC recorded at 
.39, nearly five times the legal limit. 

DUI Arrests by BAC FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

BAC Results Not Reported 4,153 27.2% 3,994 28.9% 4,929 37.8%
.01 - .07  898 5.9% 813 5.9% 763 5.9%
.08 - .10 1,635 10.7% 1,402 10.1% 1,334 10.2%
.11 - .15 2,923 19.1% 2,528 18.3% 2,457 18.9%
.16 - .20 1,967 12.9% 1,833 13.3% 1,614 12.4%
.21 - .25 806 5.3% 807 5.8% 729 5.6%
.26 - .45  317 2.1% 314 2.3% 312 2.4%

Refused BAC Test 1,698 11.1% 1,345 9.7% 276 2.1%
No Test/Unknown 597 3.9% 495 3.6% 617 4.7%

Drug Only 291 1.9% 285 2.1% 0 0.0%
TOTAL 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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According to a 2011 report published by the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention (CDC), to reach a BAC of .14, a 160-pound man would need to consume 
between five and seven beers within one hour (see table below).1 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
DUI Arrests by Month 
As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2012, with 
an average of 1,086 arrests per month.  The highest number of arrests occurred in July 
(1,309), with the lowest number of arrests in April (992). 

 
DUI Arrests by Month 

FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

July 1,239 8.1% 1,359 9.8% 1,309 10.0%
August 1,318 8.6% 1,264 9.1% 1,086 8.3%
September 1,380 9.0% 1,152 8.3% 1,188 9.1%
October 1,264 8.3% 1,303 9.4% 1,190 9.1%
November 1,272 8.3% 965 7.0% 1,019 7.8%
December 1,178 7.7% 1,094 7.9% 1,065 8.2%
January 1,251 8.2% 1,202 8.7% 1,016 7.8%
February 1,214 7.9% 1,061 7.7% 1,022 7.8%
March 1,396 9.1% 1,178 8.5% 1,067 8.2%
April 1,171 7.7% 1,095 7.9% 992 7.6%
May 1,391 9.1% 1,128 8.2% 1,052 8.1%
June 1,211 7.9% 1,015 7.3% 1,025 7.9%
TOTAL 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

                                                                          

1 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Vitalsigns, Drinking and Driving:  A Threat to Everyone, October 
2011.   
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DUI Arrests by County 
Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 2012 occurred along 
the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 
nearly 72 percent (9,320) of the total.  Salt Lake County had the highest number of 
arrests with 5,497 (42%), while Piute County had the fewest arrests with four (.03%).  
The table below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the percentage of both 
total population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.   

County 
DUI Arrests 

FY 2012 
July 1, 2011        

Utah Population 
Estimates 

Vehicle Miles Traveled 
Calendar Year 2011 

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Beaver 60 0.46% 6,615 0.24% 251,989,795 0.96%
Box Elder 127 0.97% 50,466 1.79% 880,904,140 3.36%
Cache 411 3.15% 114,721 4.08% 856,557,910 3.27%
Carbon 116 0.89% 21,485 0.76% 300,404,855 1.15%
Daggett 13 0.10% 1,115 0.04% 31,865,230 0.12%
Davis 1,234 9.47% 312,603 11.11% 2,506,374,700 9.56%
Duchesne 155 1.19% 19,111 0.68% 238,039,860 0.91%
Emery 59 0.45% 10,997 0.39% 313,821,160 1.20%
Garfield 29 0.22% 5,149 0.18% 107,421,690 0.41%
Grand 122 0.94% 9,322 0.33% 320,217,420 1.22%
Iron 238 1.83% 46,767 1.66% 688,709,375 2.63%
Juab 103 0.79% 10,323 0.37% 388,247,215 1.48%
Kane 62 0.48% 7,208 0.26% 137,293,655 0.52%
Millard 92 0.71% 12,591 0.45% 455,119,960 1.74%
Morgan 34 0.26% 9,668 0.34% 128,316,115 0.49%
Piute 4 0.03% 1,544 0.05% 28,035,650 0.11%
Rich 13 0.10% 2,276 0.08% 46,076,505 0.18%
Salt Lake 5,497 42.18% 1,045,829 37.17% 8,696,140,695 33.16%
San Juan 56 0.43% 14,954 0.53% 287,110,095 1.09%
Sanpete 78 0.60% 28,173 1.00% 197,819,780 0.75%
Sevier 163 1.25% 20,903 0.74% 319,515,890 1.22%
Summit 346 2.66% 37,208 1.32% 723,895,740 2.76%
Tooele 493 3.78% 59,133 2.10% 813,840,500 3.10%
Uintah 434 3.33% 33,315 1.18% 393,856,170 1.50%
Utah 1,544 11.85% 530,789 18.86% 3,768,572,075 14.37%
Wasatch 121 0.93% 24,456 0.87% 326,975,030 1.25%
Washington 374 2.87% 141,219 5.02% 1,367,394,025 5.21%
Wayne 8 0.06% 2,742 0.10% 46,154,615 0.18%
Weber 1,045 8.02% 233,241 8.29% 1,602,608,420 6.11%
TOTAL 13,031 100.00% 2,813,923 100.00% 26,223,278,270 100.00%
Source for DUI Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source for Population Data:  Utah Population Estimates Committee 
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled:  Utah Department of Transportation
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Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest 
The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest.  Data 
were calculated by selecting offenders arrested in FY 2012 as a starting point, then 
counting back ten years to determine previous arrests.  Each offender was placed 
in a column determined by the type of the most recent arrest.  Nearly 68 percent of 
arrests were for a first offense, 21 percent were for a second offense, seven 
percent were for a third offense, and almost four percent were for a fourth or 
subsequent offense.  The total number of arrests reflected in this table is fewer than 
the total arrests for FY 2012 because each offender was counted only once, while 
the offender may have been arrested more than one time during the fiscal year.      
 
FY 2012 

Arrest 
Type 

Per se 
Alcohol 

(.08)/ 
Drug 

Refusal 
of 

Chemical 
Test 

Not a 
Drop 
(< 21)

Drug 
Metabolite

Commercial 
Driver 
(.04) 

TOTAL 

Offense Number Percent 

1st 7,183 744 267 116 10 8,320 67.84%
2nd 2,019 299 273 18 14 2,623 21.39%
3rd 696 135 21 8 0 860 7.01%
4th 227 69 8 3 1 308 2.51%
5th 79 25 0 0 0 104 0.85%
6th 25 5 0 0 0 30 0.24%
7th 10 4 0 0 0 14 0.11%

8th- 13th 4 2 0 0 0 6 0.05%
TOTAL 10,243 1,283 569 145 25 12,265 100.00%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 
DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities                           
The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI/alcohol-related crash fatalities 
from calendar years 2002 through 2011. 

 

                                  
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 

Percentage of Total Crash Fatalities That Were  
  DUI/Alcohol-Related in Utah, Calendar Years 2002-2011 
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The following table shows the total number of DUI-related vehicle crashes involving 
alcohol for each calendar year from 2002 to 2011, including the number of persons injured 
and the number of persons killed as a result of the crashes.  The number of DUI-related 
fatalities involving drivers with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater in Utah increased 
from 25 in calendar year 2010 to 39 in calendar year 2011.  

Calendar 
Year 

DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah        
Calendar Years 2002-2011 

Total 
DUI-Related 

Crashes* 

Injuries Fatalities 
Total 

Injured 
Persons 

DUI-Related
Injured 

Persons 

Percent
DUI- 

Related 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

DUI-
Related 

Fatalities** 

Percent 
DUI-

Related 
2002 2,088 30,433 1,685 5.5% 328 53 16.2%
2003 1,952 28,352 1,360 4.8% 309 29   9.4%
2004 1,948 29,638 1,570 5.3% 296 56 18.9%
2005 1,977 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 22   7.8%
2006 2,488 27,433 1,844 6.7% 287 39 13.6%
2007 2,718 27,420 1,900 6.9% 299 42 14.0%
2008 2,330 24,673 1,596 6.5% 276 34 12.3%
2009 2,019 22,847 1,288 5.6% 244 31 12.7%
2010 1,723 21,675 1,150 5.3% 253 25 9.9%
2011 Not Available Not Available 243 39 16.0%

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol.   
**DUI-related fatalities include only drivers with a BAC of ≥ .08. 

 

DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 
The table below shows the number of DUI-related vehicle crashes, injuries and 
fatalities involving drugs only (no alcohol or BAC less than .08) for available years. 
 

Calendar 
Year 

DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah          
Calendar Years 2007-2011 

Total 
DUI/Drug-
Related 

Crashes* 

Injuries Fatalities 
Total 

Injured 
Persons 

DUI/Drug-
Related 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI/Drug- 
Related 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

DUI/Drug- 
Related 

Fatalities* 

Percent 
DUI/Drug- 
Related 

2007 158 27,420 113 0.4% 299 16 5.4%
2008 565 24,673 428 1.7% 276 12 4.3%
2009 547 22,847 443 1.9% 244 36 14.8%
2010 525 21,675 382 1.8% 253 26 10.3%
2011 Not Available Not Available 243 30 12.3%

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.  
**DUI/drug-related fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08. 
 
Note:  Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment.  For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after 
any impairment that might affect driving has passed.  Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of 
alcohol is well understood, little evidence is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance. 
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Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled 
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and 
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, for calendar years 2002 through 2011. 

Calendar 
Year 

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and           
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, Calendar Years 2002-2011

DUI-
Related 

Fatalities* 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
10,000 Population 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled

Population Rate Vehicle Miles 
Traveled Rate 

2002 53 2,331,826 0.23 24,422,264,975 0.22 
2003 29 2,372,457 0.12 23,946,840,430 0.12 
2004 56 2,430,224 0.23 24,624,791,795 0.23 
2005 22 2,505,844 0.09 25,129,538,952 0.09 
2006 39 2,576,228 0.15 26,166,885,473 0.15 
2007 42 2,636,077 0.16 26,824,244,333 0.16 
2008 34 2,691,122 0.13 25,883,467,343 0.13 
2009 31 2,731,558 0.11 26,217,108,843 0.12 
2010 25 2,774,663 0.09 26,617,169,711 0.09 
2011 39 2,813,923 0.14 26,223,278,270 0.15 

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI-related fatalities include only those incidents that involved alcohol and where the driver had a BAC of ≥ .08. 

 

The figure below illustrates the rates of DUI-related fatalities in Utah for calendar 
years 2002 through 2011, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled.  From CY 2010 to 
CY 2011, the DUI-related fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles traveled increased 
from 0.09 to 0.15. 

Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled of  
DUI-Related Fatalities in Utah, Calendar Years 2002-2011 

     

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
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Day and Hour of Alcohol-Impaired Driver Crashes 
The Utah Highway Safety Office reports in calendar year 2010 the highest percentages 
of alcohol-impaired driver total crashes occurred on Saturday (22.6%) and Sunday 
(19.3%).  The highest percentages of alcohol-impaired driver fatal crashes occurred on 
Saturday (29.2%) and Monday (25.0%).  Alcohol-impaired driver total crashes peaked 
in the evening and early morning hours, between 7:00 p.m. and 2:59 a.m.  Fatal 
alcohol-impaired driver crashes varied by hour and peaked at 11:00 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 
Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement 
The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other alcohol-
related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities.  For FY 2012, the 
Legislature appropriated $5,308,900 to be distributed from the Alcoholic Beverage 
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32B-2-401) to municipalities and 
counties statewide on a formula basis.2  Funds may be spent in one or more of six 
general categories:  (1) DUI law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law 
enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of 
alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of 
alcohol law offenders.  Municipalities and counties receiving $1,000 or more are 
required to submit an Annual Report to the Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council by 
October 1st of each year, outlining how funds were utilized, whether the programs or 
projects funded were effective, and certifying the funds were used in accordance with 
the law.  In accordance with the statute, those that do not submit their reports forfeit 
their funds for the current fiscal year and the funds are allocated to other entities. 

The table on the following page shows how FY 2012 funds were utilized, including 
dollars spent for each allowable activity, as reported in the Beer Tax Funds Annual 
Reports received to date. 

                                                                          

2 In accordance with §32B-2-404 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes beer tax funds to municipalities 
and counties in December of each year based upon the following formula:  percentage of state population 
residing in each municipality and county (25%); each municipality’s and county’s percentage of the statewide 
convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); the percentage of the following in the state that are located in 
each municipality and county:  state stores, package agencies, retail licensees, and off-premise beer retailers 
(20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes (for persons arrested for or convicted of offenses in which 
alcohol is a contributing factor) on the basis of the percentage of the state population located in each county 
(25% to counties only). 

According to the Utah Highway Safety Office,     
an alcohol-impaired driver crash occurs         

in Utah every five hours. 
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FY 2012 Beer Tax Funds Reports 

How Funds Were Used 
As of October 10, 2012 

Municipalities and 
Counties Utilizing 

Beer Tax Funds for 
Each Activity 

Beer Tax Funding 
Expended for Each 

Activity 
Number Percent3 Amount Percent 

DUI Law Enforcement 78 52.3% $   896,186.76 20.4%
General Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 94 63.1% 1,240,871.03 28.2%
Prosecution of Alcohol-Related Cases 44 29.5% 634,856.48 14.4%
Treatment of Alcohol Problems 6 4.0% 794,219.69 18.1%
Alcohol-Related Education/Prevention 49 32% 233,159.15 5.3%
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 14 9.4% 597,243.60 13.6%

Totals $4,396,536.71 100.0%
Source:  Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council, FY 2012 Beer Tax Funds Annual Reports 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                                          

3 Recipients may use beer tax funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute. 
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Adjudications and Sanctions 
DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type 
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense.  Most misdemeanor DUI cases are 
handled in Utah’s Justice Courts, which are sponsored by municipalities and counties.  
Felony cases, as well as cases not referred to the Justice Courts, are handled in the 
state’s District Courts.     

Justice Court DUI Data 
Justice Court DUI Cases and Outcomes 
The following table details the 9,599 DUI cases in the Justice Courts during FY 2012.  
There were 478 fewer cases than in the previous year, a decrease of nearly five 
percent.  Fifty-nine percent of cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, with nine percent 
not guilty or dismissed.  This table does not represent the actual DUI conviction rate, 
however, as it includes cases filed in previous fiscal years that were not resolved until 
FY 2012.  In addition, 3,027 cases were still pending resolution at the close of FY 2012. 

Justice Court DUI 
Case Outcomes 

FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 % Change  
FY 11 – FY 12 Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Guilty 6,371 55.9% 5,367 53.3% 5,702 59.4% +6.2% 
Dismissed or Not Guilty 2,322 20.3% 1,826 18.1% 870 9.1% -52.4% 
Cases Pending 2,712 23.8% 2,884 28.6% 3,027 31.5% +5.0% 
Total DUI Cases 11,405 100.0% 10,077 100.0% 9,599 100.0% -4.7% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data 
The Justice Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled.  In the table on 
the following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2010, 2011 and 2012, the first 
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.  
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that 
criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.  In FY 2012 for 
example, 15 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a second offense, while 17 
percent were actually second-time offenders, and 16 percent were sentenced as 

Adjudications 
& Sanctions 

3 
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second-time offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not 
unusual.  An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may 
not be the same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural 
issues.  Finally, almost all cases (> 99%) in the Justice Courts are first or second 
offenses, which are class B misdemeanors, or class A misdemeanors in the case of 
bodily injury, a passenger under 16, or a passenger under 18 if the driver is 21 older.  A 
third DUI offense in Utah is a third degree felony, which would typically be handled in 
the District Courts. 

Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2010-20124 

Offense 
Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As 

FY 10 FY 11 FY 12 FY 10 FY 11 FY 12 FY 10 FY 11 FY 12
1st Offense 83.2% 84.3% 84.4% 79.9% 81.3% 82.1% 81.3% 83.0% 83.7%
2nd Offense 16.6% 15.6% 15.3% 19.4% 18.1% 17.0% 18.4% 16.8% 16.0%
3rd Offense 0.2% 0.1% 0.1% 0.5% 0.4% 0.6% 0.2% 0.2% 0.2%
4th Offense 0.0% 0.0% <0.1% 0.2% <0.1% 0.1% <0.1% 0.0% <0.1%

5th or Greater 
Offense <0.1% 0.1% 0.1% 0.1% 0.1% 0.2% 0.0% 0.0% <0.1%

TOTAL 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions 
Additional DUI-related case information collected by the Justice Courts is shown in the 
table below.  The table includes data for those Justice Courts in the Courts Information 
System (CORIS).  The data indicate judges ordered offenders to participate in an 
educational series in 3,066 cases, substance abuse treatment in 2,409 cases, and that 
ignition interlock devices were ordered in 831 cases. 

Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 120 122 119
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 3,459 3,422 3,621
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 2,896 3,122 3,794
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 1,963 2,141 2,409
Educational Series Ordered 2,716 2,729 3,066
Ignition Interlock Ordered 468 564 831
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 2,613 2,891 3,255
Electronic Monitoring 156 187 189
Enhancement Notification NA NA 1,113
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

                                                                          

4 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known.  In addition, the 
following cases were not included:  bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and 
transferred. 
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District Court DUI Data 
As shown in the table below, Utah’s District Courts disposed 2,102 DUI cases during 
FY 2012, 13 fewer than in FY 2011.   

   
DUI in Utah’s District Courts 

 
FY 2010 

 
FY 2011 

 
FY 2012 

% Change  
FY 11 – FY 12

District Court Cases Disposed 2,096 2,115 2,102 -0.6% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,102 DUI cases 
disposed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2012.  Seventy-five percent of the 
cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, and the defendant was found not guilty in only 
one case.  Fifteen percent of the cases were dismissed.  This table is not a depiction of 
the District Courts’ actual DUI conviction rates, as it includes only those cases that were 
disposed during FY 2012.  Pending cases were not included in the data analysis. 

FY 2012 District Court DUI Case Outcomes by Judicial District 
DUI Case 
Outcomes 

Judicial District  
Total Percent1st  2nd  3rd  4th  5th  6th  7th  8th  

Deceased 0 1 0 1 1 0 1 0 4 0.2%
Declined Prosecution 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 < 0.1%
Dismissed 30 74 98 55 19 18 10 11 315 15.0%
Diversion 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 < 0.1%
Guilty 117 321 522 324 89 47 61 95 1,576 75.0%
No Contest 0 3 3 17 2 3 4 0 32 1.5%
Not Guilty 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 < 0.1%
Plea in Abeyance 3 2 2 5 0 4 0 1 17 0.8%
Remanded 1 3 59 7 2 0 1 0 73 3.5%
Transferred 0 2 54 27 0 0 0 0 83 3.9%
TOTAL 152 406 738 436 114 72 77 107 2,102 100.0%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data 
The District Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled.  In the table on 
the following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2010, 2011 and 2012, the first 
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.  
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that 
criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.  In FY 2012 for 
example, 30 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense, while 25 
percent were actually third-time offenders, and 25 percent were sentenced as third-time 
offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual.  An 
offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the 
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues. 
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District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2010-20125 

Offense 
Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As 

FY 10 FY 11 FY 12 FY 10 FY 11 FY 12 FY 10 FY 11 FY 12
1st Offense 53% 51% 46% 50% 47% 47% 56% 53% 52%
2nd Offense 17% 15% 18% 21% 19% 21% 19% 18% 19%
3rd Offense 27% 28% 30% 22% 24% 25% 23% 22% 25%
4th Offense 1% 4% 3% 4% 6% 3% 1% 3% 2%

5th-10th 
Offense 1% 2% 3% 3% 4% 4% 1% 3% 2%

TOTAL 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions 
Other DUI-related case information, including sanctions ordered, is also collected by the 
District Courts.  The table below includes the FY 2012 data for those cases where the 
values were known.  The table shows judges ordered offenders to participate in an 
educational series in 303 cases, ordered substance abuse treatment in 613 cases, and 
that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 246 cases.  

District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 

Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 560 451 462 
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 686 691 623 
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 648 674 613 
Educational Series Ordered 419 337 303 
Ignition Interlock Ordered 293 295 246 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 786 792 793 
Electronic Monitoring 122 119 101 
Enhancement Notification 100% 100% 100% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

                                                                          

5 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known.  In addition, the 
following cases were not included:  bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and 
transferred. 
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Driver License Control 
The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or 
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following: 

• Driving under the influence 
• Driving with any measurable controlled substance metabolite in the body 
• Not a Drop violation 
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test 
• Automobile homicide 
• “No-alcohol” conditional license 
• Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation  
• Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction 

 

Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license 
is issued.  Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License 
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license. 

As shown in the table below, there were 5,070 requested alcohol hearings held in FY 
2012.  The Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting officer 
does not appear at the hearing.  To improve appearance rates, the Division offers a 
telephonic option whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.  In 2,587 
cases, at least one of the parties called in for the hearing.   

Driver License 
Control 

4 

FY 2012 Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
ACD Code Total # of 

Hearings 
No 

Officer 
No Officer 
Telephonic

Other  
No Action 

Total  
No Action 

Total 
Telephonic

Per Se 4,362 820 130 575 1,525 2,205 
Not a Drop 205 45 7 10 62 117 
Refusal 503 69 8 59 136 265 
TOTAL 5,070 934 145 644 1,723 2,587 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Screening, Assessment, 
Education and Treatment 

Screening and Assessment 
As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to 
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment.  A 
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual 
has a problem with alcohol and/or other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth 
clinical assessment is appropriate.  An assessment is a collection of detailed 
information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or other drug abuse, emotional 
and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.  
The assessment is used to determine the need for substance use disorder 
treatment.6   The following table shows the orders for substance use disorder 
screening and assessment by the District and Justice Courts in FY 2012, for those 
cases where the values were known. 

Substance Use Disorder Screening and 
Assessment Ordered by the Courts FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012

Justice Courts 2,896 3,122 3,794 
District Courts 686 691 623 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Education 
For a first DUI offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must 
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.     
The purpose of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to 
                                                                          

6 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7. 

Assessment, 
Education & 
Treatment 

5 
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be related to use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize 
the harmful consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the 
dangers of drinking and driving.”7  Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational 
series attend the PRIME For Life® (PFL) program developed by the Prevention 
Research Institute (PRI).  “PRIME For Life® is a motivational intervention that provides 
education and strategies for individuals who have experienced problems due to high-
risk alcohol or drug use.  PFL is an interactive experience designed to motivate and 
guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more accurate beliefs 
about personal risk that will support those low-risk choices.  The program provides 
research-based, low-risk guidelines and assists participants in making choices to best 
protect what they value.”8   

In the PFL program, “low-risk choices are defined as abstinence from drug use.  The 
guidelines for alcohol include abstinence for those who have already developed 
alcoholism; otherwise no more than one standard drink (1/2 ounce of pure alcohol) in 
an hour, two standard drinks daily, or three standard drinks on any day (known as the 
0-1-2-3 guidelines).  The peak amount per week is 14 standard drinks.”  High-risk 
choices are defined as any use that causes impairment or increases overall risk for 
health problems or premature death.  Examples include using illegal drugs, prescription 
drugs other than as prescribed, or exceeding the 0-1-2-3 guidelines for alcohol.  
Additionally, PFL identifies some situations (e.g., driving, illness, medications, and 
workplace) when any amount of use may be high-risk.”9    

The following table shows the orders for the educational series by the Justice and 
District Courts in FY 2012, for those cases where values were known. 

Educational Series Ordered by the Courts FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012
Justice Courts 2,716 2,729 3,066 
District Courts 419 337 303 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

PRI conducts periodic studies of PFL participants to measure the impact on changing 
beliefs about alcohol and other drug use, understanding the risks associated with 
alcohol/drug use, and desire to change personal drinking and drug use behaviors.  In 
previous years this study was published annually; however, because the findings have 
been virtually identical from year to year, PRI now publishes the study less frequently.  
The most recent study provides data on 442 Utahns who participated in the PFL 
program during 2011, nearly all of whom were ordered to PFL following a substance-

                                                                          

7 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

8Stafford, P., Beadnell, B., Rosengren, D.B., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2012, April).  PRIME For Life 
UTAH 2011 Evaluation Report Executive Summary.  Lexington, KY:  Prevention Research Institute. 

9 Ibid. 
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related arrest.  Participants ranged in age from 15 to 74, with an average age of 29.  
Findings from this study are summarized in the table below and on the following page.10  

2011 Utah PRIME For Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes 
Gender 
  Male 65%
  Female 35%

 

Race/Ethnicity 
  Caucasian 76%
  Hispanic 14%
  Multiracial 4%
  Other 6%

 

Type of Offense 
  Impaired Driving  59%
  At Least One Previous Arrest for Impaired Driving 15%
  Drug Possession 10%
  Underage Drinking 22%
  Not Arrested or Referred by Court 2%
  Other 7%
  

Key Findings   Pretest Posttest 
High Risk Attitudes and Beliefs 

 What is the maximum number of drinks you 
could drink in a day before it is high risk for 
you? 
-   0-3 drinks 
-   4+ drinks 
 

 Perceived risk for alcoholism/addiction: 
-   I could develop alcoholism 
-   I could develop drug addiction 

 
Readiness for Change 

 Usual number of drinks consumed in a day: 
-   Abstain 
-   1-3 drinks 
-   4+ drinks 

 
 How motivated are you to reduce to or maintain 

your drinking at low-risk levels? 
-   A lot/Extremely 
-   A little/Somewhat 
-   Not at all 

 
 
 
 

41% 
59% 

 
 

43% 
56% 

 
 
 

23% 
17% 
60% 

 
 
 

65% 
25% 
10% 

 
 
 
 

70% 
30% 

 
 

70% 
70% 

 
 
 

48% 
35% 
17% 

 
 
 

81% 
14% 
5% 

                                                                          

10Ibid.   
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2011 Utah PRIME For Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes 
 

 How motivated are you to reduce to or maintain 
your drug use at low-risk levels? 
-   A lot/Extremely 
-   A little/Somewhat 
-   Not at all 

 
 Posttest: Confidence Outweighs Temptation 

(Confidence and Temptation Scales Range is 12 to 60.)
-   Confidence in ability to make low-risk 
      choices 
-   Temptation to make high-risk choices 

Pretest 
 
 

69% 
18% 
13% 

 
 
 

NA 
 

NA 

Posttest 
 
 

74% 
16% 
10% 

 
 
 

35.3 
 

23.2 
 
Most participants in PRIME for Life during 2011 reported they agreed or strongly 
agreed PFL helped them in the following areas: 

 Forming detailed plans (87%), 
 Deciding to drink or use drugs less (82%), 
 Feeling confident about making changes (85%), and 
 Developing skills (88%). 

Treatment 
For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or 
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance use disorder 
treatment.  “Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and 
change patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to 
health; or to restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social 
functioning.  DUI offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance 
use disorder should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the 
educational course.”11   Treatment should address both alcohol and other drug 
problems.  The level of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive 
outpatient, residential) is determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of 
the substance abuse disorder.  The table below shows the orders for substance use 
disorder treatment by the Justice and District Courts in FY 2012, for those cases 
where the values were known. 

Substance Use Disorder Treatment 
Ordered by the Courts FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012

Justice Court 1,963 2,141 2,409 
District Court 648 674 613 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

                                                                          

11 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 
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Halloween Zombies Against 
Drunk Driving - “ZADD” 

Partnership with 
Department of 

Alcoholic Beverage 
Control 

 

Holiday 
Mobilization 

Labor Day 
Mobilization/Crackdown 

Partnership with 
Utah Highway Patrol 

Memorial Day Mobilization 

 

Utah’s Impaired Driving          
Media Campaign  
The Utah Department of Public Safety’s Highway  
Safety Office supports the National Highway Traffic  
Safety Administration’s “Drive Sober or Get Pulled   
Over” campaign goal to provide resources for  
communities to help keep their streets DUI-free.   
DUI Enforcement Mobilization is a statewide media  
and community outreach campaign focused on  
changing Utah citizens’ perceptions and behaviors  
regarding driving under the influence of alcohol.  
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
      
  
 
                                         
                          

                 

Impaired 
Driving Media 
Campaign 

6 



 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX 

(Current as of October 1, 2012) 
 

 
Court-Ordered 
Sentencing 

 

MISDEMEANOR DUI 
 

FELONY DUI 
FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE 

WITHIN 10 YEARS
 

 
CLASSIFICATION 
(§41-6a-503) 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger is under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 

THIRD DEGREE FELONY 
$ if third or subsequent offense 

within 10 years 
$ if serious bodily injury1 
$ if any prior felony DUI 

conviction or automobile 
homicide1 conviction

 
Jail 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
   48 consecutive hours OR 
   48 hours compensatory 
   service OR 
   Electronic home confinement2 

SHALL order: 
   240 consecutive hours OR 
   240 hours compensatory        
   service OR  
   Electronic home confinement2 

 
SHALL order: 
   0-5 year prison term OR 
   1,500 hours jail (62.5 days) 
MAY order: 
   Electronic home confinement2 

Fine, Surcharge, 
and Court 
Security Fee 
(§41-6a-505) 
(§51-9-401) 

 
SHALL order: 
   $700 minimum fine plus a  
   $630 surcharge plus a  
   $40 court security fee 

SHALL order: 
   $800 minimum fine plus a 
   $720 surcharge plus a 
   $40 court security fee 

 
SHALL order: 
   $1,500 minimum fine plus a    
   $1,350 surcharge plus a   
   $40 court security fee, unless 
   a 0-5 prison term is imposed 

 
Screening, 
Assessment, 
Educational 
Series, 
Treatment 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment 
$ Intensive treatment or 

inpatient treatment and 
aftercare for not less than 
240 hours, unless 0-5 prison 
term is imposed 

Probation3 
(§41-6a-507) 

MAY order supervised 
probation 

SHALL order supervised 
probation 

 

SHALL order supervised 
probation if 0-5 prison term is 
not imposed 

 

Ignition 
Interlock4 
(§41-6a-518) 
(§41-6a-530) 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 

violation OR describe on the 
record why such order not 
appropriate 

MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on 
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on   
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
High BAC 
(.16 or higher) 
 
 

(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 if 0-5 

prison term is not imposed 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate

 

Driver License 
Suspension 
(§41-6a-509) 

 

Court MAY order additional   
90 days, 120 days, 180 days, 
one year or  2 years 

Court MAY order additional 90 
days, 120 days, 180 days, one 
year or 2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional    
90 days, 120 days, 180 days, 
one year or 2 years 

                                                           
1A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the 
 same episode of driving.  
2See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions. 
3Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body). 
4Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a  
 condition of probation. 
5Alcohol restricted driver 



 

The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a 
court order.  Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions. 
 

Statutory 
Provisions 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FIRST OFFENSE 
 

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT 
OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS 

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation
Driving Under 
the Influence/ 
DUI Conviction 
(§41-6a-509) 
 
 
 
 
 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of one year or until 21st   
   birthday* 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday** 
 

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21: 
Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months* 
or 2 years** if the person completes a screening; completes an 
assessment if appropriate; completes an education series or 
substance abuse treatment, as deemed appropriate by the court; has 
not been convicted of a violation of a motor vehicle law during the 
suspension period; has complied with all terms of probation or all 
court orders if not ordered to probation; and provides a sworn 
statement to the court that the person has not unlawfully consumed 
alcohol during the suspension period.

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday 
  
 
  

Driving with 
Controlled 
Substance/ 
Metabolite in 
Body 
Conviction 
(§41-6a-517) 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of one year or until 21st  
   birthday* 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday** 
 

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21: 
Same as above, but sworn statement must include the person has not 
consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by a practitioner 
during the suspension period. 
 

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of two years or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday   

Refusal of 
Chemical Test 
(§41-6a-521) 

If 21 or older:  18 months 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st 

   birthday 

If 21 or older:  36 months 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 36 months or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

Per se Arrest 
(§53-3-223) 
≥ .08 BAC, impaired to 
degree unsafe to drive, 
operating with metabolite of 
drug in system 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  6 months 
 

If under 19:  2 years  

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
 

If under 19:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st  
   birthday 

Not A Drop 
(§53-3-231) 
 

A person under 21 may not 
operate a vehicle or 
motorboat with detectable 
alcohol in body 

If 19-20:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, but 
not less than 6 months 
If under 19:  Until successful completion of  
substance abuse program recommendation, but 
not less than one year 

If 19-20:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, and 
the longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
If under 19:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, and 
the longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday

Failure to Install or Removal 
of Ignition Interlock Device  
(§53-3-1007) 

An individual who is an interlock restricted driver (IRD) shall have their driving privilege 
suspended until they have had an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.  If the 
interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the interlock restriction period, the driver 
license shall be re-suspended until an ignition interlock device is re-installed.  This suspension 
may be imposed in addition to other license sanctions as listed above. 

Other Sanctions 
 

IRD – Interlock 
Restricted 
Driver 
(§41-6a-518.2) 
 

An “interlock restricted 
driver” may not operate a 
motor vehicle without an 
ignition interlock system.  

• 18 months IRD for 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21
• 3 years IRD for 1st Driving Without Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), Refusal to Submit to 

Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), or 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21 
• 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years:  DUI (§41-6a-502), Refusal to Submit to 

Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-Related Reckless (§41-
6a-512 – only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled 
Substance/Bodily Injury or Death (§58-37-8(2)(g)), or Automobile Homicide  (§76-5-207)  

• 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) 
• 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 
Note:  Abeyances count as convictions, as defined in §41-6a-501; if all offenses are for Controlled Substance/Metabolite convictions, IRD does not apply 

 

ARD – Alcohol 
Restricted 
Driver 
(§41-6a-529)  

An “alcohol restricted 
driver” may not operate or 
be in actual physical control 
of a vehicle with any 
measurable or detectable 
amount of alcohol in the 
person’s body. 

• 2 years ARD for 1st DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or 
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 

• 2 years ARD for any Per se offense (§53-3-223) 
• 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with alcohol in body if an ARD 

(§41-6a-530) offense 
• 5 years ARD for 1st Refusal to Submit to Test (§41-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (§41-6a-502) 
• 10 years ARD for 2nd offense, if 2nd offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations 

prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), or Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (§41-6a-521); 
and 1st offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or 
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 

• Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 
Note: Abeyances count as convictions as stated in §53-3-229, excluding ARD and IRD abeyances; if Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does not apply. 
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