%bcn

Utah Commission
on Criminal and
Juvenile Justice

2016

UTAH COMMISSION ON CRIMINAL AND JUVENILE JUSTICE

Fourteenth Annual DUI Report
to the Utah Legislature

CCJJ
Utah State Capitol Complex
Senate Office Building, Suite 330
P.O. Box 142330

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2330
Phone: 801-538-1031 » Fax: 801-538-1024
http://justice.utah.gov



http://justice.utah.gov/

Acknowledgements

The Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice gratefully acknowledges the following
agencies for providing the data for this report: the Administrative Office of the Courts; the
Utah Department of Human Services, Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health; the
Utah Department of Public Safety’s Highway Patrol, Driver License Division, and Highway
Safety Office; the Utah State Data Center; and the Utah Department of Transportation.

Special thanks to Marty Asay, George Braden, Art Brown, Kim Gibb, Effie Johnson Van Noy,
Robyn LalLumia, Linda Massie, Gary Mower, Dr. Ben Peterson, Briant Smith, Jill Sorensen,
and David Walsh for their contributions and assistance in preparing this report.




Table of Contents

Acknowledgements
Table of Contents
Executive Summary

1

6

DUI in Utah: CY 2015/ FY 2016

Introduction
Purpose of the Report
2016 DUI and Related Legislation

Law Enforcement
DUI-Related Arrests
DUI-Related Arrests by Violation Type
DUI Overtime Enforcement Events
DUI-Related Arrests by Agency Type
DUI-Related Arrests by Gender
DUI-Related Arrests by Age
DUI-Related Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
DUI-Related Arrests by Month
DUI-Related Arrests by County
DUI-Related Arrest Rates by Population
Repeat Offenders by Type of DUI-Related Arrest
DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities
DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities
DUI/Alcohol-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

Adjudications and Sanctions
Justice Court DUI-Related Data
Justice Court DUI-Related Cases and Outcomes
Justice Court Data for DUI-Related Repeat Offenders
Justice Court DUI-Related Case Information and Sanctions
District Court DUI-Related Data
District Court DUI-Related Case Outcomes
District Court Data for DUI-Related Repeat Offenders
District Court DUI-Related Case Information and Sanctions

Driver License Control
Alcohol Hearing Statistics

Screening, Assessment, Education and Treatment
Screening and Assessment

Education

Treatment

Utah’s Impaired Driving Media Campaign

Utah DUI Sentencing Matrix

NRPRRRRRRPRRPP pppRrRprRrRrER
QOWOWOWONNNN ORWWNNRPOOWOOOONNN AW R

N oD
W Rk

N NN
rWW

N
ol




Statistical Note: Data in this report are current as of September 9, 2016, unless otherwise
noted. Due to rounding, data in the tables in this report may not add up exactly to the totals

indicated.
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Executive Summary
DUI in Utah: CY 2015/FY 2016

DUI and Drug-Related Fatalities

From CY 2014 to CY 2015, DUI/alcohol-related fatalities in Utah decreased
nearly 18 percent, from 45 to 37.

The number of DUI/drug-related crashes increased from 320 in CY 2014
to 701 in CY 2015, a 119 percent increase.

The number of fatalities that were DUI/drug-related increased 76 percent,
from 38 in CY 2014 to 67 in CY 2015.

Law Enforcement: DUI-Related Arrests

There were 10,755 DUI-related arrests in FY 2016, 47 fewer than in FY 2015.

Almost 82 percent of the arrests were for per se violations where the driver had a

.08 or greater blood/breath alcohol concentration, or was impaired by alcohol,
drugs, or a combination of the two to the extent it was unsafe to operate a
vehicle.

Arrests included 1,472 made during specialized DUI overtime enforcement

events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI sobriety
checkpoints that involved 100 law enforcement agencies throughout the state.

Fifty-three percent of all arrests were made by municipal law enforcement
agencies.
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a Seventy-two percent of arrestees were male.

a Twelve percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21 and the
youngest arrestees were 14 years old.

a The average blood alcohol content (BAC) for arrestees was nearly .15 and the
highest was .40, five times the legal limit.

a The majority of arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis,
Salt Lake, and Utah Counties accounting for 71 percent of the total.

a While Utah’s population has continued to grow, the arrest rate has declined
steadily, with a nearly 38 percent decrease since FY 2009.

a Nearly 71 percent of arrests were for a first offense, almost 19 percent were for a

second offense, almost seven percent were for a third offense, and about three
percent were for a fourth or subsequent offense.

Courts: Adjudications and Sanctions

a In FY 2016, there were 8,434 DUI-related cases in Utah’s Justice Courts.
Among the cases resolved, 50 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

a In FY 2016, there were 2,884 DUI-related cases disposed by the state’s District

Courts. Among the cases resolved, 74 percent resulted in a guilty plea or
verdict.

Driver License Control

a The Driver License Division conducted 4,442 hearings in FY 2016 to determine

if there was sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the
individual’'s driver license.

Assessment, Education and Treatment

a Justice Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder

screening and assessment in 2,839 cases, ordered an educational series in
2,342 cases, and ordered substance use disorder treatment in 1,758 cases.

a District Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder

screening and assessment in 1,002 cases, ordered an educational series in 368
cases, and ordered substance use disorder treatment in 1,196 cases.
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“When the vehicular wreckage is towed away, the human wreckage

is left behind - the permanent brain damage, the spinal cord Intr(xjucum
injuries, the lost or permanently deformed limbs, the blindness . . .
- the lifetimes crippled with disability and haunted by recurrent
nightmares of how it all happened.

“Tens of thousands of deaths, hundreds of thousands of injuries.
Those are numbing statistics. But they are also more than just
statistics.

“They are real people, real human lives.”

C. Everett Koop, M.D., Sc.D.

Surgeon General of the United States, 1982 - 1989

Opening Remarks at the Surgeon General’s Workshop on Drunk Driving
December 14-16, 1988 - Washington, D.C.

Introduction

riving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs is among the most frequently

committed violent crimes, killing thousands nationwide every year. In calendar year

2015, 104 Utahns lost their lives in incidents where someone chose to drink or use

drugs and drive, and in 2016 the losses have continued throughout the state. The
following represent only a few of Utah'’s recent DUI-related tragedies, all of which were
completely preventable.

Saratoga Springs - Monday, September 28, 2015

Katie Ann Nielson, 29, was driving on a suspended license for a prior DUI, and had previously
served a prison sentence for driving under the influence of methamphetamine, when she once again
made a deadly choice. In the late afternoon, while driving her SUV south on Crossroads Boulevard,
she crossed into northbound lanes and crashed head-on into the car driven by 72-year-old Lillian
Strickland of Cedar Fort, killing Lillian almost instantly. Toxicology tests showed Nielson had
methamphetamine and amphetamine in her system. She pled guilty to a third degree felony count of
automobile homicide and third degree felony possession of a controlled substance. She was
sentenced to up to 10 years in prison.

Salt Lake City - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Thirty-one year-old Lindsy Ann Floyd was driving through the Wal-Mart parking lot at 350 West Hope
Avenue when she hit the shopping cart being pushed by 71-year-old George Kassavetis. Kassavetis
fell and hit his head, and died several days later at the hospital from his injuries. Floyd's blood
alcohol content was .18, more than twice the legal limit, and she pled guilty to automobile homicide
while under the influence of alcohol, a third degree felony. She was sentenced to up to five years in
prison and ordered to pay restitution of more than $5,700.

Payson - Sunday, March 20, 2016

Tabatha Magoon made a “wide” right turn at the intersection of 680 West and 1000 South, and
struck a young boy riding a skateboard. Kaydon Sillitoe, who had just celebrated his eighth birthday
the day before, was severely injured and later died at the hospital. A urine test conducted on
Magoon, 37, showed the presence of methamphetamine, amphetamine, opiates, and oxycodone in
her system. Magoon faces charges of second degree felony automobile homicide and class A
misdemeanor possession or use of a controlled substance.
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Park City - Monday, March 28, 2016

When he entered 1-80 at Kimball Junction going the wrong way, 30-year-old Stuart Riley Miller of
Kamas had a blood alcohol content of .279, nearly three and a half times the legal limit. Traveling
about 90 miles per hour, Miller crashed head-on into a Saturn Vue driven by Amanda Kae Streit, 39,
of Park City. Streit was pronounced dead at the scene. Miller is charged with one count of
automobile homicide, a second degree felony, and having an open container in his vehicle, a class C
misdemeanor.

Layton - Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Twenty-three-year-old Zachery Alan Ericksen ran a red light at the intersection of Fairfield Road and
Antelope Drive and crashed into another vehicle. The driver of the other vehicle, Kathleen “Kitty”
Purcell, 56, was transported to the hospital where she died from her injuries the following day.
Although officers investigating the scene did not notice obvious signs that Ericksen was impaired,
blood test results were positive for tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the psychoactive chemical in
marijuana. Erickson has been charged with causing serious injury or death while driving with a
measurable controlled substance in his body, a third degree felony.

Provo - Thursday, August 4, 2016

At about 4:00 a.m., Brylee McClellan, just four months old, was in her mother’'s arms in the back seat
of a small SUV, when the car hit a tree and rolled on its side. The driver, 29-year-old Chelsea Fuller,
had a blood alcohol level more than twice the legal limit. No one in the car was wearing a seat belt.
Brylee was flown to Primary Children’s Hospital, where she died several hours later. Her mother,
Susanne McClellan, suffered head and neck injuries. Fuller faces possible charges of second-
degree felony automobile homicide, third-degree felony DUI, failure to wear a seat belt, and failure to
use a child restraint device. Brylee's mother may be charged with reckless endangerment of a child.

Information for these stories was obtained from articles in the $alt Lake Tribune, The Park Record, and reports on the KSL.com
and FOX13 websites.

Purpose of the Report

The Fourteenth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was
prepared in accordance with 841-6a-511 of the Utah Code. The statute requires the
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI
related data, including the following:

= Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs;

= Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements
collected by the state courts); and

= Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of:
law enforcement; adjudication; sanctions; driver license control; and
alcohol education, assessment, and treatment.
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2016 DUI and Related Legislation

The following were passed by the Utah Legislature in
the 2016 General Session:

H.B. 114

H.B. 120

H.B. 189

i
iy,

Controlled Substance Reporting
Representative Raymond Ward

This bill requires courts to report to the Division of Occupational and
Professional Licensing (division) certain violations of the Utah
Controlled Substances Act;

Amends the purposes of the division’s controlled substance database;
and

Requires the division to enter into the database information it receives
in reports by courts concerning persons convicted for: driving under
the influence of a prescribed controlled substance that renders the
person incapable of safely operating a vehicle; driving while impaired,
in whole or in part, by a prescribed controlled substance; or certain
violations of the Utah Controlled Substances Act.

DUI Enforcement Funding Amendments
Representative Steve Eliason

This bill increases the administrative fee (from $350 to $400) for
impounding a vehicle due to an arrest, citation, or referral for
administrative action for driving under the influence or reckless
driving;

Allocates the funds from the increased impound fee to the
Department of Public Safety Restricted Account; and

Appropriates $423,200 one-time for FY 2017 from the Restricted
Account to the Department of Public Safety — Highway Safety Office.

Motor Vehicle Impound Amendments
Representative Stephen Handy

This bill amends the sentencing requirements for DUI convictions by
requiring payment of the administrative impound fee and towing and
storage fees by the person convicted; and
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H.B. 191

Requires the Motor Vehicle Division to provide notification to a dealer
who has issued a temporary permit for a car that is towed and
impounded.

Interlock Restricted Driver Amendments
Representative Edward Redd

This bill requires an interlock restricted driver to have written
verification of certain information from the driver’'s employer in the
driver's possession while operating the employer’s motor vehicle;

Requires the Driver License Division to post the ignition interlock
restriction on a person’s electronic record that is available to law
enforcement;

Amends the requirements for an affirmative defense to an interlock
restricted driver violation;

Amends the requirements for the Driver License Division to clear the
suspension for an interlock restricted driver violation; and

Requires the Driver License Division to suspend the driving privilege
of an interlock restricted driver in certain circumstances.

Appropriation

24/7 Sobriety Pilot Program

The 2016 Legislature appropriated $100,000 one-time ($50,000 in

FY 2016 and $50,000 in FY 2017) to the Attorney General’s Office for
pass through to the Weber County Sheriff's Office.
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Law
Enforcement

Law Enforcement

The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI-related arrests. In FY 2016, law
enforcement officers made 10,755 arrests, 47 fewer than in FY 2015.

DUI-Related Arrests

DUI-Related Arrests by Violation Type

As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI-related arrests by type of
violation in FY 2016 was very similar to previous years. About 82 percent of the arrests
were for per se violations where the driver had a .08 or greater blood/breath alcohol
concentration, or was impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two to the
extent it was unsafe to operate a vehicle. Under Utah law, drivers are considered to
have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids to determine whether
they are driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs. Almost 13 percent of
arrests were for refusal to submit to a chemical test. It is also illegal to drive with any
measurable controlled substance or metabolite of a controlled substance in a person’s
body, which accounted for two percent of arrests. Violations of the Not a Drop statute,
by persons under the age of 21 who drove with any measurable alcohol concentration
in their body, accounted for three percent of the arrests. The fewest arrests were of
commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit, which represented less than one percent of
the total.

DUI-Related Arrests FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 Eﬁg’ne”;
by Violation Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent | Fy 154:% 16
Per se Alcohol/Drug 8,870 | 81.4% | 8,751 | 81.0% 8,800 81.8% +0.56%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,231 11.3% 1,373 12.7% 1,358 12.6% -1.1%
Not a Drop (< 21) 472 4.3% 397 3.7% 356 3.3% -10.3%
Drug Metabolite 142 1.3% 180 1.7% 219 2.0% | +21.7%
Commercial Driver (.04) 26 0.2% 29 0.3% 9 0.1% -69.0%
Unknown (no box marked) 160 1.5% 72 0.7% 13 0.1% -81.9%
TOTAL 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0% | 10,755 | 100.0% -0.4%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events

The arrests made in SFY 2016/FFY 2016* included those that occurred as a result of
specialized DUI overtime enforcement events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation
patrols, and DUI checkpoints. State funding from DUI impound fees collected, as well
as federal funding from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA),
was used to fund the overtime shifts coordinated through the Utah Highway Safety
Office. A total of 100 law enforcement agencies throughout Utah participated, including
local police agencies, sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, and university police
departments. The table below shows the measures associated with these specialized
DUI overtime enforcement events.

Statewide DUI Overtime Enforcement e ke Totals
Events SFY 2016* | FFY 2016~

DUI Shifts Worked 4,429 1,330 | 5,759
Vehicles Stopped 40,433 15,159 | 55,592
DUI Arrests** 1,102 370 | 1,472
Vehicles Impounded 992 315 | 1,307
Alcohol-Related Arrests*** 519 225 744
Drug-Related Arrests**** 977 364 | 1,341
Warrants Served 777 259 | 1,036
Other Warnings/Citations 44,682 9,994 | 54,676
Designated Drivers Observed/Documented 493 355 848
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*SFY 2016 = July 1, 2015 — June 30, 2016; FFY 2016 = October 1, 2015 — September 30, 2016

**Includes 909 alcohol-related, 358 other drug-related, and 205 metabolite arrests

***|ncludes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase,
Not a D

**2* Iiek;(r)s)and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession)

DUI-Related Arrests by Agency Type

Fifty-three percent of all DUI-related arrests in FY 2016 were made by municipal
law enforcement agencies, with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 33
percent, and county sheriffs’ offices responsible for almost 14 percent.

DUI-Related Arrests FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016

by Agency Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent
Sheriffs’ Offices 1,295 | 11.9% | 1,272 | 11.8% 1,463 13.6%
City Police/Other 5978 | 54.8% | 6,033| 55.8% 5,725 53.2%
Highway Patrol 3,628 | 33.3% | 3,497 | 32.4% 3,567 33.2%
TOTAL 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0% | 10,755 | 100.0%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI-Related Arrests by Gender

The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female
arrestees have remained fairly constant over the past three years. In FY 2016,
where the gender was specified, 72 percent of arrestees were male and just under
26 percent were female.
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DUI-Related Arrests FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016

by Gender Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Male 7,887 72.3% 7,887 | 73.0% 7,801 72.5%
Female 2,907 26.7% 2,727 | 25.3% 2,763 25.7%
Unspecified 107 1.0% 188 1.7% 191 1.8%
TOTAL 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0% | 10,755 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI-Related Arrests by Age

The youngest arrestees in FY 2016 were 14 years old, and the oldest were 82-87
years of age. Twelve percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.
Drivers ages 25-36 accounted for nearly 38 percent of all arrests for DUI-related
violations.

DUI-Related Arrests FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016

by Age Number \ Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Ages 14-20 1,275 | 11.7% 1,182 | 10.9% 1,339 | 12.4%
Ages 21-24 1,888 | 17.3% 1,700 | 15.7% 1,774 | 16.5%
Ages 25-36 4213 | 38.6% | 4,201 | 389% | 4,051 | 37.7%
Ages 37-48 2,120 | 19.4% | 2,146 | 19.9% 2,195 | 20.4%
Ages 49-87 1,405 | 13.0% 1,573 | 14.6% 1,396 | 13.0%
TOTAL 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0% | 10,755 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI-Related Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC)

The average BAC in FY 2016, where the test results were reported, was nearly .15
(.149), and the median BAC was .14. The highest BAC recorded was .40, five times
the legal limit!

DUI-Related Arrests FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016
by BAC Number ] Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
BAC Result Not Reported* | 4,127 | 37.9% | 4,232 | 39.2% | 4,805| 44.7%
.00 - .07 544 5.0% 425 3.9% 339 3.1%
.08 - .10 1,009 9.3% 864 8.0% 770 7.2%
11 -.15 1,875 | 17.2% 1,761 | 16.3% 1,588 | 14.8%
.16 - .20 1,248 | 11.4% 1,293 | 12.0% 1,129 | 10.5%
.21 -.25 592 5.4% 553 5.1% 505 4.7%
.26 - .40 276 2.5% 302 2.8% 261 2.4%
Refused BAC Test 1,230 | 11.3% 1,372 | 12.7% 1,358 | 12.6%
TOTAL 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0% | 10,755 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
*Arrestee may have submitted to a blood test, but the Driver License Division never received the results, or this was a
DUI/drug-related arrest and there was no BAC.
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According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), to reach a BAC of
.15, a 160-pound man would need to consume about seven beers within one hour (see
table below).*

Some likely effects on driving

The number of beers

0 . . ) ) . listed represents the
15% * Serious difficulty controlling the car and focusing on driving ppmx,-,?,ate amount
About 7 beers of alcohol that a
160-pound man would
10% * Markedly slowed reaction time need to drink in one
. f A ; hour to reach the listed
T « Difficulty staying in lane and braking when needed B
_08% ¢ Trouble controlling speed

About 4 beers o Difficulty processing information and reasoning

05% * Reduced coordination and ability to track moving objects
: (] . .
* Difficulty steering

About 3 beers

) * Loss of judgment
.02% e Trouble doing two tasks at the same time

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Levels

About 2 beers

Adapted from The ABCs of BAC, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2005, and How to Control
Your Drinking, WR Miller and RF Munoz, University of New Mexico, 1982.

DUI-Related Arrests by Month

As in previous years, DUI-related arrests remained fairly consistent throughout

FY 2016, with an average of 896 arrests per month. The highest number of arrests
occurred in May (1,009), with the lowest number of arrests in September (768).

DUI-Related Arrests FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016

by Month Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
July 973 8.9% 848 7.9% 877 8.2%
August 1,055 9.7% 998 9.2% 862 8.0%
September 932 8.5% 827 7.7% 768 7.1%
October 909 8.3% 820 7.6% 890 8.3%
November 983 9.0% | 1,015 9.4% 931 8.7%
December 871 8.0% 913 8.5% 780 7.3%
January 825 7.6% | 1,070 9.9% 914 8.5%
February 859 7.9% 901 8.3% 942 8.8%
March 998 9.2% 992 9.2% 997 9.3%
April 816 7.5% 753 7.0% 902 8.4%
May 860 7.9% 903 8.4% | 1,009 9.4%
June 820 7.5% 762 7.1% 883 8.2%
TOTAL 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0% | 10,755 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

! Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Vitalsigns, Drinking and Driving: A Threat to Everyone, October
2011.
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DUI-Related Arrests by County

Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI-related arrests during FY 2016 occurred
along the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake, and Utah Counties accounting
for 71 percent (7,682) of the total. Salt Lake County had the highest number of arrests
with 4,077 (37.9%), while Daggett County had the fewest arrests with zero. The table
below also compares the percentage of DUI-related arrests to the percentage of both
total population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.

DUI-Related July 1, 2015 Vehicle Miles Traveled
County SUEaIE Hiin P.opulatlon Calendar Year 2015
FY 2016 Estimates

Number | Percent Number Percent Number Percent
Beaver 47 0.44% 6,354 0.21% 285,668,399 0.97%
Box Elder 186 1.73% 52,097 1.74% 973,650,820 3.31%
Cache 316 2.94% 120,783 4.03% 954,924,377 3.25%
Carbon 64 0.60% 20,479 0.68% 344,944,836 1.17%
Daggett 0 0.00% 1,109 0.04% 33,130,562 0.11%
Davis 884 8.22% 336,043 11.22% | 2,802,079,612 9.53%
Duchesne 93 0.86% 20,862 0.70% 327,841,653 1.12%
Emery 35 0.33% 10,370 0.35% 385,315,624 1.31%
Garfield 1 0.01% 5,009 0.17% 123,257,738 0.42%
Grand 102 0.95% 9,516 0.32% 380,937,171 1.30%
Iron 212 1.97% 48,368 1.61% 794,760,784 2.70%
Juab 104 0.97% 10,594 0.35% 418,803,123 1.42%
Kane 44 0.41% 7,131 0.24% 153,248,460 0.52%
Millard 88 0.82% 12,645 0.42% 533,404,164 1.81%
Morgan 34 0.32% 11,065 0.37% 142,800,901 0.49%
Piute 3 0.03% 1,517 0.05% 30,998,770 0.11%
Rich 7 0.07% 2,311 0.08% 52,670,161 0.18%
Salt Lake 4,077 | 37.91% | 1,107,314 | 36.96% | 9,466,255,889 | 32.21%
San Juan 62 0.58% 15,772 0.53% 323,528,333 1.10%
Sanpete 58 0.54% 28,778 0.96% 238,237,698 0.81%
Sevier 67 0.62% 20,984 0.70% 350,052,040 1.19%
Summit 223 2.07% 39,633 1.32% 816,647,139 2.78%
Tooele 383 3.56% 62,952 2.10% 863,609,453 2.94%
Uintah 180 1.67% 37,928 1.27% 436,479,501 1.48%
Utah 1,640 | 15.25% 575,205 19.20% | 4,403,917,995| 14.98%
Wasatch 279 2.59% 29,161 0.97% 393,786,656 1.34%
Washington 484 4.50% 155,602 519% | 1,565,553,150 5.33%
Wayne 1 0.01% 2,692 0.09% 52,333,595 0.18%
Weber 1,081 | 10.05% 243,645 8.13% | 1,744,319,994 5.93%
TOTAL 10,755 | 100.00% | 2,995,919 | 100.00% | 29,393,158,598 | 100.00%

Source for DUI Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Source for Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled: Utah Department of Transportation
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DUI-Related Arrest Rates by Population
The following table and figure illustrate the number of DUI-related arrests made in
Utah by fiscal year, compared to the state’s population. While Utah’s population
has continued to grow, the arrest rate for DUI-related offenses has declined
steadily, with a 38 percent decrease since FY 2009.

REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE

Utah DUI-Related Arrest Rates by
Population, FY 2007 - FY 2016

. DUI- Population DUI-
Fiscal Related
Year Related as of Arrest

Arrests | July 1, 2015
Rate*
2007 | 14,658 | 2,576,228 56.90

2008 | 15,297 | 2,636,077 58.03
2009 | 15,683 | 2,691,122 58.28
2010 | 15,285 | 2,731,558 55.96
2011 | 13,816 | 2,775,426 49,78
2012 | 13,031 | 2,816,440 46.27
2013 | 12,227 | 2,856,343 42.81
2014 | 10,901 | 2,903,685 37.58
2015 | 10,802 | 2,994,498 36.71
2016 | 10,755 | 2,995,919 35.90

DUI-Related Arrest Rates in Utah,
FY 2007 — FY 2016

70.00 -

60.00 -

50.00 -

40.00 -

30.00 -

20.00 -

10.00 -

DUI Arrest Rate*

0.00 T

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016

Source of DUI-Related Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
Source of Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division (estimates are as of July 1 of calendar year preceding

fiscal year)

*DUI-related arrest rate is the number of DUI-related arrests per 10,000 people.

Repeat Offenders by Type of DUI-Related Arrest

The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest. Data
were calculated by identifying arrests that occurred in FY 2016 as a starting point,
then counting back ten years to determine previous arrests. Each arrest was
placed in a column determined by the type of the arrest or violation. Nearly 71
percent of arrests were for a first offense, almost 19 percent were for a second
offense, almost seven percent were for a third offense, and about three percent
were for a fourth or subsequent offense.

FY 2016 | perse | Refusal e
Arrest | Alcohol of MG Drug COmmEEE | = &% TOTAL
Type | (08)/ | Chemical (Brgf) Metabolite D(r(')‘;r‘;r £g%

Offense Drug Test ' = Number Percent
18t 6,255 829 324 187 8 4 | 7,607 | 70.73%
2" 1,680 315 17 19 0 6 | 2,037 | 18.94%
3 582 136 13 10 1 2 744 6.92%
4" 189 66 1 1 0 1 258 2.40%
5 58 11 1 1 0 0 71 0.66%
6™ 24 1 0 0 0 0 25 0.23%
7 7 1 0 0 0 0 8 0.07%
8"+ 5 0 0 0 0 0 5 0.05%

TOTAL | 8,800 1,359 | 356 218 9 13 | 10,755 | 100.00%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

The following table shows the total number of DUI-related vehicle crashes involving
alcohol for each calendar year from 2006 to 2015, including the number of persons injured
and the number of persons killed as a result of the crashes. The number of crash fatalities
involving drivers with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater in Utah decreased from 45 in
calendar year 2014 to 37 in calendar year 2015, a nearly 18 percent decrease.

DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2006-2015

Calend Crashes Injuries Fatalities
Skl Total DUI/ Percent T_otal AIE:)gll'n/ol Percent Total DUI/ Percent
vear Cranes él;o hhe(?sl* AIE(L)J PI1/0I Plr;]riroe: s ggjrl;:)e'? 5 AIE(L)J PI1/0I F;;crllistihes Felm-\tg:l?tiheosl** AII(D:E)J rl1/ol
2006 56,187 2,488 4.4% 27,433 1,844 6.7% 287 39 13.6%
2007 61,245 2,718 4.4% 27,420 1,900 6.9% 299 42 14.0%
2008 56,367 2,330 4.1% 24,673 1,596 6.5% 276 34 12.3%
2009 51,367 2,019 3.9% 22,847 | 1,288 5.6% 244 31 12.7%
2010 49,368 1,723 3.5% 21,675 | 1,150 5.3% 253 25 9.9%
2011 52,287 1,662 3.2% 22,325 | 1,019 4.6% 243 39 16.0%
2012 50,600 1,727 3.4% 22,336 1,043 4.7% 217 20 9.2%
2013 55,637 1,736 3.1% 22,740 1,073 4.7% 220 23 10.5%
2014 54,036 2,128 3.9% 23,364 | 1,377 5.9% 256 45 17.6%
2015 60,012 2,021 3.4% 25,332 | 1,207 4.8% 278 37 13.3%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUI/alcohol-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol.
**DUl/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of > .08.

The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI/alcohol-related crash fatalities
over the past decade, from calendar years 2006 through 2015.

20%

15%

10%

5%

% of Total Crash Deaths
DUIAlcohol-Related

0%

Percentage of Total Crash Fatalities That Were

DUI/Alcohol-Related in Utah, Calendar Years 2006-2015

6%

13.6%

{u\%\
— ____..14.0% . / #_’/’K
12.3% 127% ~_ " N\ 13.3%
v N—

10.5%
9.9% 9 29

—— % DUI/Alcohol-Related

Trendline

2006

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
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DUI/Alcohol-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
The following table shows the rates of DUI/Alcohol-related fatalities per 10,000
population and per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, for calendar years 2006
through 2015. The fatality rate decreased from CY 2014 to CY 2015 for both
population and vehicle miles traveled.

Rates of DUI/Alcohol-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, Calendar Years 2006-2015
Calendar DUI/Alcohol-Related DUI/Alcohol-Related
V- DUI/Alcohol- Fatality Rates Fatality Rates per 100 Million
Related per 10,000 Population Vehicle Miles Traveled
L

Fetalities” | Populstor | pae | VemoeMie |
2006 39 2,576,228 0.15 26,166,885,473 0.15
2007 42 2,636,077 0.16 26,824,244,333 0.16
2008 34 2,691,122 0.13 25,883,467,343 0.13
2009 31 2,731,558 0.11 26,217,108,843 0.12
2010 25 2,775,426 0.09 26,617,169,711 0.09
2011 39 2,816,440 0.14 26,379,900,505 0.15
2012 20 2,856,343 0.07 26,637,413,207 0.08
2013 23 2,903,685 0.08 27,014,745,900 0.09
2014 45 2,944,498 0.15 27,574,227,734 0.16
2015 37 2,995,919 0.12 29,393,158,598 0.13

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
* DUI/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of > .08.

The figure below illustrates the rates of DUI/Alcohol-related fatalities in Utah for
calendar years 2006 through 2015, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled. From
CY 2014 to CY 2015, the DUI/Alcohol-related fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles
traveled decreased, from 0.16 to 0.13.

Rates of DUI/Alcohol-Related Fatalities in Utah,
Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled, Calendar Years 2006-2015
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DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

The following table shows the number of vehicle crashes, injuries and fatalities
involving drugs only (no alcohol or BAC less than .08). The most common types of
drugs found in fatal drug-related crashes in CY 2015 were THC/Marijuana,
Methamphetamine, and Hydrocodone. The number of DUI/drug-related crashes
increased significantly, from 320 in CY 2014 to 701 in CY 2015, a 119% increase.
In addition, the number of fatalities that were DUI/drug-related increased 76
percent, from 38 in CY 2014 to 67 in CY 2015, the highest number in the past nine
years, and representing nearly a quarter of all crash fatalities in Utah in CY 2015.

DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2007-2015

Crashes Injuries Fatalities
Ca\l{endar Total DUI/Drug- Percent Tptal D:;{I;trgg- Percent Total DUI/Drug- Percent
0| crasnes | Somed, | Coioed | poten | mivred | SUBRS | SR Romien. | Themes
Persons

2007 61,245 158 0.3% 27,420 113 0.4% 299 16 5.4%
2008 56,367 565 1.0% 24,673 428 1.7% 276 12 4.3%
2009 51,367 547 1.1% 22,847 443 1.9% 244 36 14.8%
2010 49,368 525 1.1% 21,675 382 1.8% 253 26 10.3%
2011 52,287 603 1.1% 22,325 388 1.7% 243 30 12.3%
2012 50,600 548 1.1% 22,336 383 1.7% 217 37 17.1%
2013 55,637 567 1.0% 22,740 393 1.7% 220 45 20.5%
2014 54,036 320 0.6% 23,364 660 2.8% 256 38 14.8%
2015 60,012 701 1.2% 25,332 459 1.8% 278 67 24.1%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUl/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.
**DUl/drug-related fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08.

Note: Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment. For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after
any impairment that might affect driving has passed. Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of
alcohol is well understood, little evidence is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance.

The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI/drug-related crash fatalities from
calendar years 2007 through 2015.

Percentage of Total Crash Fatalities That Were
DUI/Drug-Related in Utah, Calendar Years 2007-2015
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Adjudications and Sanctions

DUI-related offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on
the type of offense and whether it is a repeat offense. The Justice Courts, which are
sponsored by municipalities and counties, handle offenses classified as class B
misdemeanors. Offenses classified as class A misdemeanors and felonies are under
the jurisdiction of the state’s District Courts. A DUI offense is classified as a class A
misdemeanor if it involves bodily injury, a passenger under 16, or a passenger under 18
if the driver is 21 or older. A DUI offense is classified as a third degree felony if it is a
third or subsequent offense within 10 years, if it involves serious bodily injury, or if the
person has any prior felony DUI conviction or automobile homicide conviction.

Justice Court DUI-Related Data

Justice Court DUI-Related Cases and Outcomes

The following table shows the outcomes of the 8,434 DUI-related cases in Utah'’s
Justice Courts during FY 2016. There were 121 more cases than in the previous year.
Fifty percent of the cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, with about 12 percent
dismissed or not guilty. This table does not represent the actual DUI conviction rate,
however, as it includes cases filed in previous fiscal years that were not resolved until
FY 2016. In addition, 3,129 cases were still pending resolution at the close of FY 2016.

Justice Court FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 % Change
DUI-Related Case FY 15— EY 16
Outcomes Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent

Guilty 4,764 57.0% 4,541 54.6% 4,251 50.4% -6.4%
Dismissed or Not Guilty 805 9.6% 990 | 11.9% 1,054 | 12.5% +6.5%
Cases Pending 2,791 33.4% 2,782 33.5% 3,129 37.1% +12.5%
TOTAL 8,360 | 100.0% 8,313 | 100.0% 8,434 | 100.0% +1.5%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Justice Court Data for DUI-Related Repeat Offenders
The Justice Courts also track how repeat offenders are handled. In the table on the
following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2014, 2015 and 2016, the first
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column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that
criterion. The last column shows how the offender was sentenced. In FY 2016 for
example, about 13 percent of offenders were charged with a second offense, while 16
percent were actually second-time offenders, and 15 percent were sentenced as
second-time offenders. Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not
unusual. An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may
not be the same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural

issues.

Justice Court Data for DUI-Related Repeat Offenders, Fiscal Years 2014-20162

Offense Was Offense Was Offense Was
Offense Charged As Actually Sentenced As

FY 14 FY 15 FY 16 FY 14 FY 15 FY 16 FY 14 FY 15 FY 16

1 Offense | 80.0% | 85.0% | 86.5% | 80.2% | 81.9% | 82.9% | 82.4% | 84.2% | 84.6%

2" Offense | 16.5% | 13.9% | 13.2% | 18.6% | 17.2% | 16.4% | 17.3% | 15.6% | 15.2%

3" Offense 15% | 05% | 0.1%| 08%| 0.7%| 0.6% | 02%| 0.1%| 0.2%

4" Offense 13% | 02%| 0.0%| 02%| 01% | 01% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0%

5"+Offense | 0.7% | 0.3% | 0.1% | 0.2% | 0.1% | 0.1%]| 0.0%| 0.0% | 0.0%

TOTAL 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Justice Court DUI-Related Case Information and Sanctions

Additional DUI-related case information collected by the Justice Courts is shown in the
table below. The table includes data for those Justice Courts in the Courts Information
System (CORIS). The data indicate in FY 2016 judges ordered offenders to complete
an educational series in 2,342 cases, ordered substance use disorder treatment in
1,758 cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 625 cases.

Justice Co_urt DUI-Related Case Information — s | =y s | =y s
and Sanctions

Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 117 120 114
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 3,130 3,046 | 2,987
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 3,826 3,090 | 2,839
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 2,156 1,828 | 1,758
Educational Series Ordered 2,494 2,438 | 2,342
Ignition Interlock Ordered 728 586 625
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 1,505 1,641 | 1,257
Electronic Monitoring 227 226 211
Enhancement Notification 1,682 2,635 | 3,889
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

% The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known. In addition, the
following cases were not included: bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and
transferred.
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District Court DUI-Related Data

As shown in the table below, Utah’s District Courts disposed 2,884 DUI-related cases
during FY 2016, 516 more than in FY 2015.

DUI-Related Cases in Utah’s % Change
District Courts FY 2014 | FY 2015 | FY 2016 | FY 15-FY 16
District Court Cases Disposed 2,104 2,368 2,884 +21.8%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court DUI-Related Case Outcomes

The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,884 DUI-related
cases disposed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2016. Seventy-four percent of
the cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, and the defendant was found not guilty in
only two cases. Sixteen percent of the cases were dismissed. This table is not a
depiction of the District Courts’ actual conviction rate, however, as it includes only those
cases that were disposed during FY 2016. Pending cases were not included.

FY 2016 District Court DUI-Related Case Outcomes by Judicial District

DUI-Related Judicial District

Case Outcomes | 1% [ 2@ [ 39 [ 4™ [ 5" [ g™ | 77 [ gh | Total | Percent
Deceased 1 2 5 2 3 0 0 0 13 0.5%
Declined Prosecution 0 0 0 2 1 0 0 0 3 0.1%
Dismissed 19| 87149102 | 34| 33 8| 28 460 | 16.0%
Diversion 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.0%
Guilty 130 | 429 | 611 | 505|192 | 103 | 55| 120 | 2,145 | 74.4%
No Contest 0 7 2| 39 5 5 0 0 58 2.0%
Not Guilty 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.1%
Plea in Abeyance 7 5 2 5 3 4 0 2 28 1.0%
Remanded 2 1| 64 2| 18 1 1 3 92 3.2%
Transferred 0 3| 34| 45 0 0 0 1 83 2.9%
TOTAL 159 | 534 | 869 | 702 | 256 | 146 | 64 | 154 | 2,884 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court Data for DUI-Related Repeat Offenders

The District Courts also track how repeat offenders are handled. In the table on the
following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2014, 2015 and 2016, the first
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that
criterion. The last column shows how the offender was sentenced. In FY 2016 for
example, 17 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a second offense, while 21
percent were actually second-time offenders, and 21 percent were sentenced as
second-time offenders. Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not
unusual. An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may
not be the same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural
issues.
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District Court Data for DUI-Related Repeat Offenders, Fiscal Years 2014-2016°

Offense Was Offense Was Offense Was
Offense Charged As Actually Sentenced As

FY 14 FY 15 FY 16 FY 14 FY 15 FY 16 FY 14 FY 15 FY 16

1° Offense 50% | 59% | 55% | 50% | 52% | 48% | 56% | 58% | 52%

2" Offense 17% | 18% | 17% | 22% | 24% | 21% | 19% | 21% | 21%

3" Offense 28% | 19% | 24% | 22% | 18% | 25% | 21% | 18% | 22%

4" Offense 4% 2% 3% 4% 4% 4% 3% 2% 4%
5" + Offense 1% 2% 1% 2% 2% 2% 1% 1% 1%
TOTAL 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court DUI-Related Case Information and Sanctions

Other DUI-related case information, including sanctions ordered, is also collected by the
District Courts. The table below includes the FY 2016 data for those cases where the
values were known. The table shows judges ordered offenders to complete an
educational series in 368 cases, ordered substance use disorder treatment in 1,196
cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 421 cases.

District Co_urt DUI-Related Case Information = | =y e | = e
and Sanctions

Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 411 563 690
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 622 754 | 1,002
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 616 799 1,196
Educational Series Ordered 258 289 368
Ignition Interlock Ordered 265 283 421
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 830 979 | 1,390
Electronic Monitoring 109 148 213
Enhancement Notification 100% 100% | 100%
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

The DUI Sentencing Matrix included at the end of this report provides detailed information
regarding DUI-related offense classifications and sanctions.

% The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known. In addition, the
following cases were not included: bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and
transferred.
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Driver License Control

The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following:

e Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs
e Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body
e Not a Drop violation (persons under 21 years of age)
e Refusal to submit to a chemical test
e Automobile homicide

e “No-alcohol” conditional license

e Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation

Alcohol Hearing Statistics
When a driver is arrested for a DUI-related offense, the license is taken and a 30-day
temporary license is issued. Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and
the Driver License Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the
temporary license. As shown in the table below, there were 4,442 requested alcohol
hearings held in FY 2016. The Division is unable to take any action against a driver if
the arresting officer does not appear at the hearing. To improve appearance rates, the
Division offers a telephonic option whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the
hearing. In 2,399 of the cases, at least one of the parties called in for the hearing.

Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction

FY 2016 Alcohol Hearing Statistics

ACD Code -Il:lc()at;rlir?? gosf I\lilc()) ?xfglf: rr1/ 'I"\Iecl)egm)cnei:; Noo,g:teiron Nngé?ilon Tel-(la—[ca) mylnic
Per Se 3,800 761 264 458 1,483 2,050
Not a Drop 70 15 5 6 26 53
Refusal 572 89 36 52 177 296
TOTAL 4,442 865 305 516 1,686 2,399

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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Screening, Assessment,
Education and Treatment

Screening and Assessment

As part of any sentence for a DUI-related offense, Utah law requires offenders to
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment. A
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual
has a problem with alcohol and/or other drugs, and if so, whether an in-depth
clinical assessment is appropriate. An assessment is a collection of detailed
information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or other drug use, emotional
and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.
The assessment is used to determine the need for substance use disorder
treatment.* The following table shows the orders for substance use disorder
screening and assessment by the District and Justice Courts in FY 2016, for those
cases where the values were known.

Substance Use Disorder Screening and
Assessment Ordered by the Courts FYy 2014 | FY 2015 | FY 2016

Justice Courts 3,826 3,090 2,839

District Courts 622 754 1,002

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Education

For a first DUI-related offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence
must include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.
The purpose of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to

* Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7.
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be related to use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize
the harmful consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the
dangers of drinking and driving.”™ Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational
series attend the PRIME For Life® (PFL) program developed by the Prevention
Research Institute (PRI). “PRIME For Life® is a motivational intervention that provides
education and strategies for individuals who have experienced problems due to high-
risk alcohol or drug use. PFL is an interactive experience designed to motivate and
guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more accurate beliefs
about personal risk that will support those low-risk choices. The program provides
research-based, low-risk guidelines and assists participants in making choices to best
protect what they value.”

The following table shows the orders for the educational series by the Justice and
District Courts in FY 2016, for those cases where values were known.

Educational Series Ordered by the Courts | FY 2014 | FY 2015 | FY 2016

Justice Courts 2,494 2,438 2,342

District Courts 258 289 368

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Treatment

For a first and second DUI-related offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance use disorder
treatment. “Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and
change patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to
health; or to restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social
functioning. Offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance use
disorder should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the
educational course.”” Treatment should address both alcohol and other substance use
disorders. The level of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive
outpatient, residential) is determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of
the substance use disorder. The table below shows the orders for substance use
disorder treatment by the Justice and District Courts in FY 2016, for those cases
where the values were known.

Substance Use Disorder Treatment
Ordered by the Courts FY 2014 | FY 2015 | FY 2016

Justice Court 2,156 1,828 1,758

District Court 616 799 1,196

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

5 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.

6Stafford, P., Beadnell, B., Rosengren, D.B., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2012, April). PRIME For Life
UTAH 2011 Evaluation Report Executive Summary. Lexington, KY: Prevention Research Institute.

" Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.
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Impaired
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Utah’s Impaired Driving
Media Campaign

The Utah Department of Public Safety’s Highway
Safety Office conducts a statewide mass media
campaign that supports planned DUI saturation
patrols, melding its message into these successful,
high visibility enforcement efforts. The primary
goal of this media campaign is to reduce the
incidence of impaired driving in Utah by raising
awareness of the dangers of driving under the Partnership with Fashion Place Mall
influence. The campaign focuses on community Holiday DUI Sing-Along
mobilization, bringing together law enforcement, media, local T
businesses, and community officials to share the prevention message Sf\"'fl?’;l 'I’ll)?l\-{i""f"f
and curb impaired driving. The campaign also aims to educate Utah’s
citizens about DUI, one of America’s most frequent and deadllest

crimes. http: //drlvesober org/ N -
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UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX
MISDEMEANOR DUI

Court-Ordered

Sentencing

(Current as of May 10, 2016)

FIRST OFFENSE

SECOND OFFENSE
WITHIN 10 YEARS

FELONY DUI

CLASSIFICATION
(841-6a-503)

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

o if bodily injury*

o if passenger is under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

o if bodily injury*

e if passenger under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

THIRD DEGREE FELONY

o if third or subsequent offense
within 10 years

o if serious bodily injuryl

o if any prior felony DUI
conviction or automobile
homicide® conviction

Jail
(§41-6a-505)

SHALL order:
48 consecutive hours OR
48 hours compensatory
service OR 48 hours
electronic home confinement?

SHALL order:
240 consecutive hours OR
240 hours compensatory
service OR 240 hours

electronic home confinement?

SHALL order:
0-5 year prison term OR
1,500 hours jail (62.5 days)
OR 1,500 hours electronic
home confinement’

Fine, Surcharge,
and Court
Security Fee

(841-6a-505)

SHALL order:
$700 minimum fine plus a
$630 surcharge plus a
$50 court security fee

SHALL order:
$800 minimum fine plus a
$720 surcharge plus a
$50 court security fee

SHALL order:
$1,500 minimum fine plus a
$1,350 surcharge plus a
$50 court security fee, unless

(851-9-401) a 0-5 prison term is imposed
Screening, SHALL order: SHALL order: SHALL order:

Assessment, e Screening e Screening e Screening

Educational e Assessment (if found » Assessment (if found e Assessment _
Series appropriate by screening) appropriate by screening) e Treatment as appropriate,
Treatrﬁent ¢ Educational series, unless e Educational series, unless unless 0-5 prison term is

(841-6a-505)

treatment is ordered
MAY order:
¢ Treatment

treatment is ordered
MAY order:
e Treatment

imposed

Probation®

MAY order supervised

SHALL order supervised

SHALL order supervised

@A robation robation probation if 0-5 prison term is
(841-6a-507) P P not imposed
Ignition MAY order: SHALL order: SHALL order:
Interlock? e |gnition interlock e Ignition interlock e |gnition interlock

(841-6a-518)
(841-6a-530)

SHALL order:

¢ Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on the
record why such order not
appropriate

SHALL order:

¢ Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on
the record why such order
not appropriate

SHALL order:

¢ Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on
the record why such order
not appropriate

High BAC
(.16 or higher)

(841-6a-505)

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation3

¢ Treatment and interlock
and/or ankle attached
continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device
and/or electronic home
confinement® OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation3

¢ Treatment and interlock
and/or ankle attached
continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device
and/or electronic home
confinement® OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation3 if 0-5
prison term Is not imposed

e Treatment and interlock”
and/or ankle attached
continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device
and/or electronic home
confinement® OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

Driver Li(_:ense
Suspension

(841-6a-509)

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 120 days, 180 days,
one year or 2 years

Court MAY order additional 90
days, 120 days, 180 days, one
year or 2 years

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 120 days, 180 days,
one year or 2 years

A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the

same episode of driving.

2See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions.
Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body).
“Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a

condition of probation.

SAlcohol restricted driver




The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a

court order.

Statutory
Provisions

Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions.

FIRST OFFENSE

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT
OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation

Driving Under
the Influence/
DUI Conviction

(841-6a-509)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21
birthday

If under 19: Until 21* birthday

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21:

Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months if
the person completes a screening; completes an assessment if
appropriate; completes an education series or substance abuse
treatment, as deemed appropriate by the court; has not been convicted
of a violation of a motor vehicle law during the suspension period; has
complied with all terms of probation or all court orders if not ordered to
probation; and provides a sworn statement to the court that the person
has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period.

If 21 or older: 2 years
If 19-20: Longer of 2 years or until 21* birthday

If under 19: Until 21* birthday

Driving with
Controlled
Substance/
Metabolite in
Body Conviction
(841-6a-517)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21
birthday

If under 19: Until 21* birthday

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21:

Same as above, but sworn statement must include the person has not
consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by a practitioner
during the suspension period.

If 21 or older: 2 years

If 19-20: Longer of two years or until 21%
birthday

If under 19: Until 21% birthday

Refusal of
Chemical Test

(841-6a-521)

If 21 or older: 18 months

If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21
birthday

If 21 or older: 36 months

If under 21: Longer of 36 months or until 21
birthday

Per se Arrest
(853-3-223)

> .08 BAC, impaired to
degree unsafe to drive,
operating with metabolite of
drug in system

If 21 or older: 120 days
If under 21: 6 months

If 21 or older: 2 years

If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21
birthday

Not A Drop
(853-3-231)

A person under 21 may not
operate a vehicle or
motorboat with detectable
alcohol in body

If under 21: Until successful completion of
substance abuse program recommendation, but
not less than 6 months

If under 21: Until successful completion of
substance abuse program recommendatlon and
the longer of 2 years or until 21* birthday

Failure to Install or Removal
of Ignition Interlock Device

(853-3-1007)

An individual who is an interlock restricted driver (IRD) shall have their driving privilege
suspended until they have had an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.
interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the interlock restriction period, the driver
license shall be re-suspended until an ignition interlock device is re-installed. This suspension
may be imposed in addition to other license sanctions as listed above.

If the

Other Sanctions

IRD — Interlock
Restricted
Driver
(§41-6a-518.2)

An “interlock restricted
driver” may not operate a
motor vehicle without an
ignition interlock system.

« 18 months IRD for 1* DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21

e 3 years IRD for 1% Driving Without Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), Refusal to Submit to
Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), or 1% DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21

e 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years: DUI (§41-6a-502), Refusal to Submit to
Chemical Test (841-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-Related Reckless (841-
6a-512 — only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (841-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled
Substance/Bodily Injury or Death (858-37-8(2)(g)), or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

e 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (841-6a-502)
¢ 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (876-5-207)

Note: If all offenses are for Controlled Substance/Metabolite convictions, IRD does not apply.

ARD — Alcohol
Restricted
Driver

(841-6a-529)

An “alcohol restricted driver”
may not operate or be in
actual physical control of a
vehicle with any measurable
or detectable amount of
alcohol in the person’s
body.

e 2 years ARD for 1 DU (841-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or

Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5)
e 2 years ARD for any Per se offense (853-3-223)

¢ 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with alcohol in body if an ARD

(841-6a-530) offense

e 5 years ARD for 1 Refusal to Submlt to Test (841-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (841-6a-502)

e 10 years ARD for 2" 4 offense, if 2" offense is DUI (841-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations
prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), or Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (841-6a-521);
and 1* offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or

Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5)

e Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

Note: If Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does not apply.
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