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Statistical Note: Data in this report are current as of October 1, 2022, unless otherwise noted. Due
to rounding, data in the tables in this report may not add up exactly to the totals indicated.
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Profile of a Typical Utah DUI Offender

in FY 2022

Arrested for a per se violation (82%)

Driver had a .05 or greater blood/breath alcohol concentration, or was impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a
combination of the two to the extent it was unsafe to operate a vehicle

Arrested by a municipal law enforcement officer (58%)

o]
Male (74%)
o]
Age 25-36 (37%)
o]

Had a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) between .11-.15
(26% of those tested with results reported)

Arrested on the Wasatch Front in Weber, Davis, Salt Lake or
Utah County (66%)

o]
First-time arrestee (71%)

Convicted of DUI
(81% in Justice Court; 81% in District Court)
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DUI in Utah: CY 2021/ FY 2022

Law Enforcement: DUI-Related Arrests & Enforcement Activities
e 10,413 DUI-related arrests were made in FY 2022, 206 fewer (-2%) than in FY 2021.

o Despite arrest numbers stabilizing recently, Utah’s DUl-related arrest rate (31.2 per 10,000
population) has declined steadily over the past 10 years, with a 27% decrease since FY
2013 (associated with 1,814 fewer arrests in FY 2022 than in FY 2013), even as the
population has greatly increased in the same time (17% increase in statewide population).

e The majority of arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front, with Salt Lake, Davis, Utah, and
Weber Counties accounting for 66% of the total. While counties outside the Wasatch Front
only accounted for 34% of the total, this was disproportionate to their population (25%).

e DuUI-related arrests in FY 2022 displayed the following characteristics:

o 74% of arrestees were male (24% female, with 2% unspecified).

o 37% of arrestees were between 25-36 years of age, followed by 24% 37-48, 13%
21-24, 15% 49 and older, and 11% under 21.

o The majority of arrests (58%) were made by city/municipal police departments, with
the rest split between Utah Highway Patrol (29%) and county sheriff's offices (13%).

o Half (50%) of the arrests did not have a BAC reported, and 13% of arrestees
refused testing. Of those tested with a BAC reported, 41% exceeded .15.
Additionally, 8% fell between .05-.07, a slight decrease from FY 2021 in the third full
fiscal year under the new statutory level (.05) in effect since January 2019.

o It was the first DUI-related arrest for 71% of arrestees, with 19% having one prior
arrest and another 10% having two or more prior arrests for DUI.

e The 11% of arrestees under the age of 21 is consistent with previous years, and the 1,145
total arrests in this category are down 11% from FY 2021 (lowest since FY 2019).

e Changing the statutory BAC level to .05 has not led to a significant increase in DUI arrests
to date, though arrest numbers have stabilized in the three years since the change.

e Consistent with previous years, 82% of the arrests were for per se violations where the
driver had a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit (now .05), or was
impaired by alcohol, other drugs, or a combination of the two to the extent it was unsafe to
operate a vehicle.

o Drug metabolite arrests, which had increased sharply from FY 2014-18, decreased
sharply (-74%) once again in FY 2022 to only 22 (now down 94% since FY 2018).

e Arrests included 1,367 made during specialized DUI overtime enforcement events such as
enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI sobriety checkpoints that involved law
enforcement agencies throughout the state. These overtime shifts were down in FY 2022.
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DUI and Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries, and Fatalities
e The numbers of DUl/alcohol-related fatalities increased in CY 2021 for the second straight
year; alcohol-related crashes and injured persons remained stable.

o Fatalities jumped 27% to 61 in CY 2021 (from 48 in CY 2020); crashes increased
slightly (+3%) to 918 (from 895), while injuries decreased slightly (-7%) to 313 (from
336).

e DUIl/drug-related fatalities continued to increase in CY 2021 for the seventh consecutive
year, even while crashes and injured persons both decreased significantly.

o Drug-positive driver fatalities increased 7% from 118 in CY 2020 to 126 in CY 2021.
These fatalities have increased more than three-fold (+241%) over the past ten years.

o Crashes decreased 22% to 188 in CY 2021 (from 242 in 2020).

o Injuries decreased 36% in CY 2021 to 41 (from 64 in 2020).

e The most common drug types found in drug-positive driver fatalities in CY 2021 were
stimulants (e.g., methamphetamine); marijuana/THC; depressants (e.g., sedatives); and
opioids (e.g., oxycodone).

e Crash fatalities in Utah overall were up significantly in 2021 (+52 (19%) over 2020, and +80
(32%) since 2019), and almost 60% of fatalities are now related to alcohol or drugs.
Courts: Adjudications and Sanctions
e InFY 2022, there were 7,650 DUI-related cases disposed by Utah’s Justice Courts.
o 81% resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

e InFY 2022, there were 3,202 DUI-related cases disposed by the state’s District Courts.
o 81% resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

Courts: Orders for Assessment, Treatment, and Education

e Justice Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder screening
and assessment in 4,783 cases (77% of guilty), ordered substance use disorder treatment
in 3,272 cases (53%), and ordered an educational series in 2,879 cases (47%).

¢ District Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder screening and
assessment in 1,383 cases (54% of guilty), ordered substance use disorder treatment in
1,555 cases (60%), and ordered an educational series in 502 cases (19%).

e Treatment orders have generally increased over the past ten years in both courts.

Driver License Control

e 3,436 hearings were conducted in FY 2022 (up 2%) to determine if there was sufficient
information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the individual’s driver license.

o 3,076 (90%) involved at least one of the parties calling in for the hearing.
o In 1,334 (39%) of the cases, no action could be taken against the driver due to the
absence of the arresting officer at the hearing or other factors.
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Purpose of the Report

The 20" Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature was prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511
of the Utah Code. The statute requires the Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to
prepare an annual report of DUI related data, including the following:

¢ Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement decisions to
be made in accordance with violations involving driving under the influence of alcohol
and/or other drugs;

e Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements collected by the
state courts); and

e Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and impacts of DUI
recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of: law enforcement; adjudication;
sanctions; driver license control; and alcohol education, assessment, and treatment.
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1
DUI Policy in Utah

The Utah Legislature establishes policy for dealing with driving under the influence of alcohol and
other drugs through the passage of bills that are enacted into law. This section summarizes the
bills passed by the 2022 Utah Legislature and their impact on DUI policy in Utah.

2022 DUI-Related Legislation

H.B. 29 Driving Offenses Amendments

Representative Cheryl Acton

e This bill is a realignment of the codes concerning the operation of the driving while
under the influence of drugs or alcohol or while having any measurable controlled
substance and automobile homicide and reclassifies automobile homicide as a
negligent operation resulting in death. This aligns the different sections of code that
were conflicting in the past and the penalties are now consistent regardless of drug
and/or alcohol that is present in the system. The bill also includes a coordination
clause to ensure that expungements are not applied mistakenly to already existing
automobile homicides.

H.B. 137 DUI Amendments

Representative Steve Eliason

e This bill addresses some previous incongruous language relating to blood alcohol
content to be included with breath alcohol content tests for those DUIs that would have
enhanced penalties. The bill also addresses Class A misdemeanors for refusals of
being tested and addresses the ability to suspend all requirements rather than the
intention of the suspension of jail time. Finally, the bill addresses autonomous drivers
and that a without a valid license is still subject to traffic laws.

H.B. 143 DUI Penalty Amendments

Representative Merrill Nelson

e HB 143 increases a second DUI in ten years from a Class B to a Class A
misdemeanor. The bill will move the offense from a local justice court (a court not of
record), to a state district court, which will allow courts to order AP&P supervision
[Utah Code §77-18-105(5)]. This bill will also allow appellate courts to review more
DUI convictions and improve case law for DUI in Utah [78A-7-118(1)&(8)].

7



20TH ANNUAL DUI REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE




20TH ANNUAL DUI REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE

DUI-Related Arrests

The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI-related arrests. In FY 2022, law enforcement
officers made 10,413 arrests, 206 fewer (-2%) than in FY 2021. While Utah’s population has
continued to grow, the arrest rate for DUI-related offenses has declined steadily, with a 27%
decrease over the past ten years (associated with 1,814 fewer arrests than FY 2013).

Utah DUI-Related Arrest Rates by

Population, FY 2013 - FY 2022 DUI-Related Arrest Rates FY2013-22
DUI- | Population | .RYF-
Fiscal P Related
Related as of
Year Arrests July 1 Arrest
y Rate*
2013 | 12,227 2,853,467 42.8 42.8

2014 | 10,901 2,897,927 37.6
2015 | 10,802 | 2,937,399 36.7
2016 | 10,755 | 2,982,497 36.0
2017 | 10,762 | 3,042,613 | 35.3 316 329 325 31
2018 | 10,383 | 3,103,118 33.5 DUI Arrest Rate*

2019 9,995 3,161,105 31.6
2020 | 10,532 | 3,205,958 32.9
2021 10,619 | 3,271,616 32.5 , : : : : : : : : , .
2022 | 10,413 3,337,975 31.2 2012 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

Source of DUI-Related Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Source of Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division (estimates are as of July 1 of calendar year preceding fiscal year,
though note that 2021 is based off the actual 2020 Census number from April 2020)

*DUl-related arrest rate is the number of DUI-related arrests per 10,000 population.

Arrests by County & Region

Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI-related arrests during FY 2022 occurred along the
Wasatch Front, with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake, and Utah Counties accounting for 66% (6,903) of
the total. Salt Lake County had the highest number of arrests with 3,501 (34%) (see Table A1 in
the Appendix for all FY 2022 data by county, as well as a comparison of arrest percentages to
total population). The chart below breaks the FY 2022 arrests down by region of the state (both
arrest location and address of arrestee) compared to population.

Population

Arrest

Arrestee
of'R

Note: “Other Wasatch Front” = Davis, Utah, and Weber counties; “Non-Wasatch/Rural” = all other counties outside the Wasatch Front (*out of state)

9
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The previous figure shows an over-representation of DUI-related arrests outside the Wasatch
Front (33.7% of arrests, 26.1% of residents), relative to the total population in the region (24.9% of
the total population). Additionally, the figure below shows the DUI-related arrest rate trends over
time (FY 2013-22) by region of the state. Consistent with the previous figure, the highest arrest
rates in FY 2022 were outside the Wasatch Front (42.2 per 10,000 population), followed by Salt
Lake County (29.5), and Davis/Utah/WWeber counties (25.8). As with the overall rates for Utah
seen on the previous page, the rates in each region have seen a downward trend over the past
ten years. Salt Lake County has shown the sharpest decline over ten years (see Table A2 in the
Appendix for all the rate data by county and region).

DUI-Related Arrest Rates* by Region FY2013-22

50.6
—— \/\
T 29.5

- 25.8

33.0

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

=== Non-Wasatch/Rural  ====QOther Wasatch Front  ====Salt Lake

Note: “Other Wasatch Front” = Davis, Utah, and Weber counties; “Non-Wasatch/Rural” = all other counties outside the Wasatch Front.
*DUl-related arrest rate is the number of DUI-related arrests per 10,000 population; rates are based on location of the arrest.

Characteristics of FY 2022 DUI-Related Arrests
The figures on the next page show some characteristics of DUI-related arrests, including:

e Gender: 74% of arrestees were male, while 24% were female (an additional 2% of arrests
did not have gender specified; see Table A3 in the Appendix).

e Age: Drivers ages 25-36 accounted for 37% of all arrests, followed by 24% for ages 37-48.
11% of arrestees were under the legal age of 21 (see p.12 for more on this, and see Table
A4 for full data).

e Arresting Agency: 58% of all arrests were made by municipal law enforcement agencies,
with Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 29% and county sheriffs’ offices responsible for
13% (see Table AS).

¢ Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC): Half (50%) of the arrests did not have a
reported BAC, while another 13% refused the BAC test. Of those arrests with BAC
reported, 41% exceeded .15 (the highest BAC recorded was .46), while 26% fell between
.11-.15, 13% between .08-.10, 8% between .05-.07, and 12% under .05 (see Table AG6).
Arrests with BACs between .05-.07 continued to decrease this year (see p.12).

¢ Repeat Offenders: 71% of arrests were for a first offense, 19% had one prior offense, and
10% were for a third or subsequent offense (see Table A7 for more data by violation type).

10
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By Month: DUI-related arrests remained consistent throughout FY 2022, with an average
of 868 arrests per month and no months above 1,000 and only one below 800. The
highest number of arrests occurred in July (962), with the lowest number of arrests in
December (783; see Table A8).

Gender

12-20 21-24

11.0% 13.3%

Arresting Agency
Ci

Sheriff Police Highway Patrol

13.3%

Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC; See Figure A1)
<.05.05-.07.08-.15 .16-.25 >.25 Refused Not Reported

4.4%

First-Time vs. Repeat Offenders

1st Offense 2nd 3rd +

71.3%

Month of Arrest

Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun

11
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Underage DUI-Related Arrests

As seen on the previous page, 11% of the DUI-related arrests were offenders under the legal
drinking age of 21. This percentage of the overall arrests is consistent with recent years (see
Table A4), and the 1,145 total arrests in this category are down from FY 2020-21 (1,306 and
1,287 arrests respectively) and more in line with the 10-year low in FY 2019 (1,101).

Under 21 DUI-Related Arrests FY2013-22

1,460

1,339 1,306 1,287

1,182 1,101 1,145

e | nder 21 Yrs Old

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

Impacts of Decreasing the Legal BAC Limit to .05

Arrests by BAC Level. The recent upward trend in arrests with a BAC below .08 stabilized starting
in FY 2021. The per se legal limit was moved on December 30, 2018 to include BACs in the .05-
.07 range, and 8.4% of arrests with a reported BAC in FY 2022 were in this range (down from
9.7% in FY 2020, but up from 4.1% in FY 2018, the last full FY before the limit was decreased).
Reported BAC levels in the highest ranges have decreased. It should be noted that the data
below are only based on arrests where the BAC was reported or obtained (50% had no BAC
reported and 13% of arrestees refused a BAC test, consistent with previous years).

BAC Levels Reported* in DUI-Related Arrests FY2015-22 -
Lower Ranges

2.2%

8.4%

—

L R 5.5%
4.0%

3.2% 2.4% 3.6%
2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
- (5 e (5-.07 .08-.10

*Note: Specific BAC levels are only generally reported in around half of cases. Data distinguishing <.05 and .05-.07 not available pre-FY2015.

12
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BAC Levels Reported* in DUI-Related Arrests FY2015-22 -
Higher Ranges

51.0%
41.3% 42.9% 43.0% 40.6%
33.9% —
A9 28.6%
28.4% 27.5% o 25.6%
2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

*Note: Specific BAC levels are only generally reported in around half of cases. Data distinguishing <.05 and .05-.07 not available pre-FY2015.

Analysis of Monthly Arrests Before and After Change. Looking closer at the DUI arrests by month
before and after the statute change took effect, there is no definitive evidence that it has led to a
significant increase in arrests. With only a few exceptions before and after, the number of arrests
per month has been consistently in the range of 750 to 950 from January 2017 to December
2021. The average monthly arrest increased slightly from 836 in CY 2018 to 872 in CY 2019 and
880 in CY 2021, but all three years since have been lower than the average in 2017 (897).

DUI Arrests by Month 2017-21
New DUI Statute Effective 1/1/19 - Gray Lines Pre/Black Lines Post
(*most recent calendar year blue)

1,020 1,011 994 1,002 1,010

A Y
723 \’I 701
606
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
- e )017 2018 2019 e e 020 =021

Average Monthly DUI Arrests (Calendar Year)

2017 2018 2019 2020 2021

13



20TH ANNUAL DUI REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE

Arrests by Violation Type

The distribution of DUI-related arrests by type of violation in FY 2022 was similar to previous years
(see Table A9 in Appendix), with the vast majority (82%) for per se violations. Per se violations
occur when the driver has a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) greater than the legal limit
(.05 as of December 30, 2018), or is impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two to the
extent it is unsafe to operate a vehicle. 14% of arrests were for refusal to submit to a chemical
test — under Utah law, drivers are considered to have given consent to tests of breath, blood,
urine, or oral fluids to determine whether they are driving under the influence of alcohol and/or
other drugs. Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 who drove with
any measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for 4% of the arrests (similar to FY
2020-21). It is also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite of a
controlled substance in a person’s body — this accounted for less than 1% of arrests, continuing
a downward trend from 4% in FY 2019. Arrests of commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit
also represented less than 1% of the total.

The figures below show how the distribution of violation types has varied over the past ten years
(per se violations were left out, as these have not varied much from an average of 81% over this
period). Arrests involving violations of the Not a Drop statute (< 21 years old) have remained fairly
stable as a percentage of overall arrests over the past ten years, while those involving a positive
drug metabolite test have decreased in the past three years. The second figure shows the raw
number of arrests for drug metabolite and Not a Drop violations. After more than doubling from FY
2014 to FY 2018, drug metabolite arrests in FY 2022 were at a ten-year low. In contrast, while Not
a Drop arrests are still well below the number from ten years ago in FY 2013, the 407 arrests for
this statute in FY 2022 were still up 38% from the low pointin FY 2014.

DUI-Related Arrest Violation Type % FY2013-22

13.9%

11.6% — e ———
4.5% 4.1% 3.9%

3.8% 3.7%

1.6% ¥

2.1% )

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

====Refusal of Test ====Drug Metabolite ====Not a Drop (<21)
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DUI-Related Arrests - Selected Violation Types
547

432
398 390 407

84

22

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

=== Drug Metabolite e==Not a Drop (<21)

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Overtime Enforcement Events

The arrests made in SFY 2022/FFY 2022 included those that occurred as a result of specialized
DUI overtime enforcement events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI
checkpoints. State funding from DUl impound fees collected, as well as federal funding from the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), was used to fund the overtime shifts
coordinated through the Utah Highway Safety Office. Law enforcement agencies throughout Utah
participated, including local police agencies, sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, and
university police departments. The table below shows the measures associated with these
specialized DUI overtime enforcement events. The total DUI shifts worked were down slightly (-
3%) from 2021 levels, though they have still increased significantly (+76%) over a ten year period,
with vehicles stopped (+26%) and all other indicators increasing during that time as a result.

Statewide DUI Overtime Enforcement e Fedorally- Totale
Events SFY 2022* FFY 2022*

DUI Shifts Worked 3,488 559 4,047
Vehicles Stopped 28,279 4,919 33,198
DUI Arrests** 1,227 140 1,367
Vehicles Impounded 1,091 127 1,218
Alcohol-Related Arrests*** 795 89 884
Drug-Related Arrests**** 1,318 148 1,466
Warrants Served 675 110 785
Other Warnings/Citations 30,814 4,982 35,796
Designated Drivers Observed/Documented 212 25 237
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*SFY 2022 = July 1, 2021 — June 30, 2022; FFY 2022 = October 1, 2021 — September 30, 2022

**Includes 795 DUl/alcohol-related, 459 DUI/drug-related, and 113 DUIl/metabolite arrests

***Includes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase,
Not a D

**?*:elo':yp‘)smd misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession)

15
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3

Crashes, Injuries, & Fatalities

Each year, the Department of Public Safety’s Highway Safety Office tracks the number of
crashes, injuries, and fatalities related to DUIs involving both alcohol and drugs (see Tables A10
and A11 in the Appendix for the full data tables for each). The following three sections will discuss
each of these separately.

DUI-Related Crashes

Out of a total of 61,462 automobile crashes in 2021 (calendar year), a very small percentage were
related to either alcohol (1.4%) or drug (less than 1%) DUIs. There are consistently more alcohol-
related crashes than drug-related crashes, and both have been fairly steady over the past seven
years. It should be noted that the Highway Safety Office recently changed how they define alcohol-
and drug-related crashes and injuries (next section), only including those with alcohol- and drug-
positive data (and excluding cases where each are only suspected). Because of this, numbers are
significantly lower than in previous reports. The 918 DUl/alcohol-related crashes in CY 2021 were up
slightly over 2020 levels, while the 188 DUIl/drug-related crashes in CY 2021 were down 22% from
2020.

m DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes
m DUI/Drug-Related Crashes

781

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021

Calendar Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
Note: DUl/alcohol-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol; DUI/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs
and no alcohol. These numbers no longer include alcohol- and drug-suspected data; only alcohol- and drug-positive data are now counted.

17
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DUI-Related Injuries

The trends for DUI-related injuries are very similar to those seen for crashes. Once again, a
small percentage of the 18,247 total injured persons involved in automobile crashes in 2021
(calendar year) were related to either alcohol (1.7%) or drug (less than 1%) DUIs. In addition,
there have consistently been more persons injured in alcohol-related crashes per year. There
were 313 persons injured in alcohol-related crashes in 2021, down slightly from 336 in 2020.
The 41 persons injured in drug-related crashes in 2021 was down 36% from 64 in 2020.

m DUI/Alcohol-Related Injured Persons

m DUI/Drug-Related Injured Persons 0 a5 336
320 317 ) p——— L Lo}

ZDJ'EL}O ..... RS

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Calendar Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
Note: DUl/alcohol-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol; DUI/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs
and no alcohol. These numbers no longer include alcohol- and drug-suspected data; only alcohol- and drug-positive data are now counted.

DUI-Related Fatalities

As seen in the figures on the next page, DUI-related fatalities involving both alcohol and
drugs were at 10-year highs in 2021. The 61 alcohol-related fatalities in 2021 were more than
double (+126%) the 27 fatalities in 2019, and up 27% over the 48 in 2020 which had matched
the previous 10-year high. Despite this recent volatility, alcohol-related fatalities have been
more consistent over the past ten years than drug-positive driver fatalities. After leveling off
somewhat between 2015-17, drug-positive driver fatalities have jumped 66% from 76 in 2017
to 126 in 2021, including an increase of 7% from 2020 (118) to 2021. Over the past ten years,
drug-positive driver fatalities have increased almost every year (with the sole exception of
2014), and have grown more than three-fold (+241%), from 37 in 2012 to 126 in 2021. In
recent years, drug-positive driver crashes have been more deadly, with more fatalities than
injuries. For example, in 2014, there were 111 DUI/drug-related crashes with 50 injured
persons and 38 fatalities, while in 2021, there were 188 DUI/drug-related crashes with 41
injured persons and 126 fatalities. On the other hand, there has consistently been
significantly more injured persons than fatalities in DUI/alcohol-related crashes.

18
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m DUI/Alcohol-Related Fatalities

m DUI/Drug-Positive Driver Fatalities 126

118

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021

Calendar Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

Note: DUl/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of = .08 (= .05 starting January 1, 2019).
DUI/drug-positive driver fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08 (< .05 starting January 1, 2019). Drug
presence does not imply impairment.

The figure below shows the trend in overall crash fatalities, and the share that are attributable
to DUI (both alcohol-related and drug-positive) versus non-DUI crash fatalities. Overall crash
fatalities were up significantly to 328 in 2021, from 276 in 2020 (+19%) and 248 in 2019
(+32%). While much of the increase from 2019-20 was attributable to DUI-related fatalities, a
greater portion of the 2020-21 increase was due to non-DUI fatalities. The proportion of crash
fatalities attributable to DUIs (both alcohol and drug) has grown from 26% in 2021 to 60% in
2020 and 57% in 2021.

B DUI Fatalities - All (Alcohol + Drug) 328
B Non-DUI Fatalities
278 281 73 276
256 260
217 220
174 173 161 129 125
173
187
104 108 112 131 123
57 68 83

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Calendar Year
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As there were more overall crash fatalities in 2021, even though both alcohol-related and drug-
positive driver fatalities also increased, they made up a similar (alcohol) or lower (drug-positive)
percentage of all fatalities. Unlike crashes and injuries, these DUI-related fatalities make up a far
greater percentage of total crash fatalities in a given year. Of the 328 total crash fatalities in 2021,
18.5%% were alcohol-related (up from 17.3%) and 38.4% involved a drug-positive driver fatality
(down from 43%). As seen in the figure below, crashes involving drug-positive drivers have
become increasingly fatal over the past six years (compared to 2014 levels that were more in line
with alcohol-related crash fatalities).

% of Overall Crash Fatalities - Alcohol

% of Overall Crash Fatalities - Drug-Positive Drivers 42.7%

38.4%
31.9% 7"

17.1%

14.8%

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Calendar Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

Note: DUl/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of = .08 (= .05 starting January 1, 2019).
DUI/drug-positive driver fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08 (< .05 starting January 1, 2019). Drug
presence does not imply impairment.

Drug Positive Driver Test Results in Fatal Crashes - Drug Types

The most common drugs found in drug positive tests in fatal crashes in 2020 were stimulants
(e.g., methamphetamine, amphetamines, cocaine; N = 68), marijuana/THC (N = 50), depressants
(e.g., barbiturates, sedatives; N = 36), and opioids/narcotic analgesics (e.g., oxycodone,
hydrocodone, morphine, heroin, fentanyl; N = 20). The figure below shows the trends over the
past ten years for these four most common drug types found in positive drug tests of drivers in
fatal automobile crashes. Stimulant positive tests jumped considerably, doubling from 34 in 2020
to 68 in 2021, by far the highest of the 10-year period. Marijuana positive tests in 2021 continued
a slower increase in recent years, up 16% from 43 in 2020 to 50 in 2021, though this 2021
number is almost double the 2017 number (27). Depressant positive tests returned back to 2019
levels (36) after being down considerably in 2020, while opioid positive tests stayed relatively low
for a fourth consecutive year after peaking in 2017. It should be noted that a driver in a fatal crash
can test positive for more than one drug as well as alcohol (when the BAC is greater than the
legal limit, the fatality would count as an alcohol-related fatality even with a positive drug test —
there were 187 total combined substance-related fatalities in 2021). See Table A12 in the
Appendix for the full data related to this topic.
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Drug-Positive Driver Fatalities - Drug Types

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Calendar Year

e=m=Stimulants e===Qpiates === Marijuana/THC ====Depressants

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
Note: DUI/drug-positive driver fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08 (< .05 starting January 1, 2019). Drug
presence does not imply impairment. More than one drug may be present in a positive test result.
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Adjudications and Sanctions

DUI-related offenses are classified as either misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type of
offense and whether it is a repeat offense.

e In general, first and second DUI offenses (within 10 years) are classified as Class B
misdemeanors.

e A first or second DUI offense (within 10 years) is classified as a Class A misdemeanor if it
involves bodily injury, a passenger who is under 16 years of age, a passenger under 18
years of age if the driver is 21 or older, or if the driver was driving in the wrong direction on
a freeway or controlled-access highway.

e A DUI offense is classified as a 3rd degree felony if it is a third or subsequent offense
within 10 years, if it involves serious bodily injury, or if the person has any prior felony DUI
conviction or automobile homicide conviction.

Utah’s Justice Courts, which are established by municipalities and counties, handle offenses
classified as Class B misdemeanors, Class C misdemeanors, violations of local ordinances, small
claims, and infractions committed within their territorial jurisdiction. Justice Court jurisdictions are
determined by the boundaries of the local government entities (e.g., city or county), which hire the
judges. On the other hand, District Courts are the state trial courts of general jurisdiction. These
courts have original jurisdiction to try all civil cases, all criminal felonies, and misdemeanors in
certain circumstances. DUI offenses classified as Class A misdemeanors and felonies are under
the jurisdiction of the state’s District Courts.

DUI-Related Cases and Outcomes

Utah courts disposed 10,852 total DUI-related cases in FY 2022, up 7% from FY 2021. Of these cases,
7,650 (70.5%) were handled by Utah’s Justice Courts (up 5% from FY 2021), while 3,202 (29.5%)
were handled by the state’s District Courts (up 10% from FY 2021; see Table A13). The percentage of
cases disposed of by Justice Courts has decreased somewhat over the past ten years.

DUI-Related Case Disposition Court Type % FY2013-22

72.4% 71.3% 70.5%

27.6% 28.7% 29.5%

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

% Justice Court e % District Court
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
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Of the 7,650 DUI-related cases disposed by Utah’s Justice Courts during FY 2022, 81%
resulted in a guilty plea or equivalent verdict. A similar rate was found in the District Courts,
as 81% of the 3,202 cases disposed also resulted in a guilty plea or equivalent verdict. See
Table A14 in the Appendix for the overall disposition rates by court type, and Tables A15-16
for dispositions by county for the Justice Courts and by judicial district for the District Courts.

DUI-Related Sanctions

Additional DUI-related case information collected by the Courts can be found in Table A17 in the
Appendix. The data indicate that in FY 2022, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete
supervised (non-court) probation in 2,096 cases (34% of the total cases with a guilty plea or
verdict), ordered electronic monitoring in 589 cases (10%), and ordered ignition interlock devices
in 1,241 cases (20%). Additionally, District Court judges ordered offenders to complete supervised
(non-court) probation in 1,710 cases (66% of the total guilty cases), ordered electronic monitoring
in 372 cases (14%), and ordered ignition interlock devices in 550 cases (21%).

Orders for Screening, Assessment, Treatment, and Education

See Table A18 in the Appendix for full data on substance use disorder screening and
assessment, substance use disorder treatment, and educational series court orders.

Screening & Assessment

As part of any sentence for a DUI-related offense, Utah law requires offenders to participate
in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment. A screening involves
gathering information that is used to determine if an individual has a problem with alcohol
and/or other drugs, and if so, whether an in-depth clinical assessment is appropriate. An
assessment is a collection of detailed information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or
other drug use, emotional and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the
individual’s life. The assessment is used to determine the need for substance use disorder
treatment.”

In FY 2022, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete substance use disorder
screening and assessment in 4,783 cases, which was 77% of the cases with a guilty plea or
verdict. The number of orders was up (+8%) from FY 2021. District Court judges were less
likely to order screening and assessment, with orders in 1,383 cases (54% of cases with a
guilty plea or verdict). The total number of District Court orders was also up slightly (+2%)
from FY 2021 after a decline between FY 2019-20. Overall, 70% of DUI-related cases with a
guilty plea or verdict were ordered to screening and assessment.

Treatment

For a first and second DUI-related offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance use disorder treatment.
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change patterns of
behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to restore appropriate
levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning. Offenders assessed as meeting the

' Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Among Adults in
the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7.
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diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder should participate in a treatment program in
addition to, or in lieu of, the educational course.” Treatment should address both alcohol and
other substance use disorders. The level of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient,
intensive outpatient, residential) is determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of
the substance use disorder.

In FY 2022, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete substance use disorder
treatment in 3,272 cases, which was 53% of the cases with a guilty plea or verdict. The
number of orders was up 8% from FY 2021 (3,028), but the percentage remains lower than
the 61% achieved in FY 2020. District Court judges were somewhat more likely to order
treatment, with orders in 1,555 cases (60% of cases with a guilty plea or verdict). The number
of orders was up from FY 2021 (from 1,486), though the percentage decreased (from 62%).
Overall, 55% of DUI-related cases with a guilty plea or verdict were ordered to treatment (the
same percentage as FY 2021 but down from 60% in FY 2020).

As the figure below indicates, orders for substance use disorder treatment have been
generally increasing over the past ten years, even while DUI arrests have decreased over the
same period. Justice Court judge orders for treatment have increased 52% since FY 2014,
and District Court judge orders have more than doubled (+152%) since FY 2014.

Treatment Orders in DUI-Related Cases by Court FY2013-22

M Justice Court 3,272

W District Court ) g5e 3018 2,985 3,031 3028

2’144 ......... 2f156

1418 [J,432

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
Note: Earlier years may not have full participation of the Justice Courts reporting to the CORIS database.

Education

For a first DUI-related offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment. The purpose of
DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be related to use of
alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize the harmful consequences of

2 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.
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inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the dangers of drinking and driving.”* Utah
DUI offenders sentenced to an educational series attend the PRIME For Life® (PFL) program
developed by the Prevention Research Institute (PRI). “PRIME For Life® is a motivational
intervention that provides education and strategies for individuals who have experienced problems
due to high-risk alcohol or drug use. PFL is an interactive experience designed to motivate and
guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more accurate beliefs about
personal risk that will support those low-risk choices. The program provides research-based, low-
risk guidelines and assists participants in making choices to best protect what they value.™

Not surprisingly, educational series orders were much more common in the Justice Courts. In
FY 2022, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete the educational series in 2,879
cases, which was 47% of the cases with a guilty plea or verdict. District Court judges only
ordered the educational series in 502 cases (19% of cases with a guilty plea or verdict).
Overall, 39% of DUI-related cases with a guilty plea or verdict were ordered to complete the
educational series.

The DUI Statutory Overview included at the end of this report provides detailed information regarding
DUI-related offense classifications and sanctions.

8 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.

4Stafford, P., Beadnell, B., Rosengren, D.B., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2012, April). PRIME For Life UTAH 2011
Evaluation Report Executive Summary. Lexington, KY: Prevention Research Institute.
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The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or revoke the
license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following:

e Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs

¢ Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body
e Not a Drop violation (persons under 21 years of age)

e Refusal to submit to a chemical test

e Automobile homicide

e “No-alcohol” conditional license

e Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation

Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction

Hearing Statistics

A driver arrested for a DUl-related offense may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the
Driver License Division must schedule the hearing within 30 days. As shown in the table below,
there were 3,436 requested alcohol hearings held in FY 2022, up slightly from the 3,370 held in
FY 2021 but still down significantly from the 5,663 held in FY 2020. The Division is unable to take
any action against a driver if the arresting officer does not appear at the hearing. To improve
appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic option whereby officers or offenders can phone
in for the hearing. In 3,076 (90%) of the cases, at least one of the parties called in for the hearing.
In 1,334 (39%) of the cases, no action could be taken against the driver due to the absence of the
arresting officer at the hearing or other factors.

Total - Hearings Resulting in No Action
RUESRIRLE Ston Nl_re':zﬁ;:f Telephonic No Officer Other Total
No Action No Action No Action

Per Se Alcohol/Drug 2,822 2,506 871 254 1,125
Not a Drop (< 21) 111 104 27 14 41
Refusal of Chemical Test 503 466 121 47 168
TOTAL 3,436 3,076 1,019 315 1,334
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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APPENDIX: Associated Data Tables

The following tables provide more detailed data for information referenced in this report.
Note: If you linked to a table from the report, you may return to that page by clicking the link next
to the table title (e.g., “Return to p.10’).

Table A1. DUl-related Arrests by County and Region in FY 2022, Compared to Population (Retum

to p.9)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2022 Utah Population
County By Arrest Location | By Arrestee Address (2021 Census)
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent
Beaver 59 0.6% 38 0.4% 7,249 0.2%
Box Elder 167 1.6% 137 1.3% 59,688 1.8%
Cache 418 4.0% 374 3.6% 137,417 4.1%
Carbon 112 1.1% 84 0.8% 20,372 0.6%
Daggett 5 <0.1% 1 <0.1% 976 0.0%
Duchesne 95 0.9% 92 0.9% 19,790 0.6%
Emery 50 0.5% 42 0.4% 9,967 0.3%
Garfield 24 0.2% 13 0.1% 5,129 0.2%
Grand 44 0.4% 33 0.3% 9,663 0.3%
Iron 174 1.7% 153 1.5% 60,519 1.8%
Juab 123 1.2% 40 0.4% 12,155 0.4%
Kane 57 0.5% 23 0.2% 7,992 0.2%
Millard 91 0.9% 41 0.4% 13,164 0.4%
Morgan 20 0.2% 23 0.2% 12,657 0.4%
Piute 6 0.1% 5 <0.1% 1,487 0.0%
Rich 4 <0.1% 1 <0.1% 2,597 0.1%
San Juan 130 1.2% 73 0.7% 14,489 0.4%
Sanpete 105 1.0% 112 1.1% 29,106 0.9%
Sevier 41 0.4% 31 0.3% 21,906 0.7%
Summit 222 2.1% 170 1.6% 43,093 1.3%
Tooele 278 2.7% 212 2.0% 76,640 2.3%
Uintah 165 1.6% 168 1.6% 36,204 1.1%
Wasatch 247 2.4% 158 1.5% 36,173 1.1%
Washington 866 8.3% 685 6.6% 191,226 5.7%
Wayne 7 0.1% 8 0.1% 2,558 0.1%
Non-Wasatch/Rural 3,510 33.7% 2,717 26.1% 832,217 24.9%
Davis 894 8.6% 774 7.4% 367,285 11.0%
Utah 1786 17.2% 1643 15.8% 684,986 20.5%
Weber 722 6.9% 759 7.3% 267,066 8.0%
Other Wasatch Front 3,402 32.7% 3,176 30.5% 1,319,337 39.5%
Salt Lake 3,501 33.6% 3,739 35.9% 1,186,421 35.5%
Out of State - - 781 7.5%
TOTAL 10,413 100.0% 10,413 100.0% 3,337,975 100.0%
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Table A2. DUI-related Arrest Rates™* by County and Region, FY 2013-22 (Retumn to p.10)

Fiscal Year
County/Region 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022
Beaver 744 | 759 | 1006 | 74.0 | 108.3 | 1159 | 100.3 | 83.5 | 86.3 | 814
Box Elder 286 | 25,6 | 27.2 | 35,7 | 28.2 | 309 | 28.0 | 28.7 | 36.2 | 28.0
Cache 338 | 273 | 221 | 262 | 216 | 24.3 | 186 | 26.0 | 240 | 304
Carbon 63.0 | 31.0 | 29.0 | 31.3 | 36.3 | 47.8 | 434 | 435 | 529 | 55.0
Daggett 108.4 | 35.5 | 62.7 0.0 9.1 389 | 612 | 316 | 321 | 51.2
Duchesne 996 | 729 | 559 | 446 | 43.8 | 504 | 376 | 346 | 505 | 48.0
Emery 59.0 | 63.3 | 51.7 | 33.8 | 411 | 46.6 | 56.9 | 46.9 | 539 | 50.2
Garfield 351 | 334 | 35.8 2.0 38.1 | 453 | 276 | 37.6 | 53.1 | 46.8
Grand 158.2 | 99.4 | 105.0 | 107.2 | 741 | 744 | 1004 | 88.2 | 558 | 455
Iron 50.3 | 56.6 | 58.2 | 43.8 | 399 | 58.2 | 339 | 374 | 349 | 288
Juab 1084 | 715 | 58.2 | 98.2 | 96.3 | 103.1 | 109.0 | 104.9 | 140.0 | 101.2
Kane 549 | 799 | 689 | 61.7 | 491 | 449 | 324 | 355 | 483 | 71.3
Millard 63.4 | 50.5 | 555 | 69.6 | 90.6 | 99.5 | 73.8 | 70.5 | 64.0 | 69.1
Morgan 252 | 17.7 | 33.0 | 30.7 | 245 | 26.1 | 23.2 | 206 | 21.1 | 15.8
Piute 26.0 | 199 | 20.2 | 19.8 6.8 211 | 27.7 | 33.8 | 34.8 | 40.3
Rich 66.5 | 656 | 436 | 30.3 | 21.6 | 209 | 48.7 | 28.2 | 916 | 154
San Juan 525 | 454 | 439 | 393 | 314 | 501 | 64.7 | 745 | 785 | 89.7
Sanpete 214 | 223 | 256 | 20.2 | 269 | 310 | 271 | 242 | 369 | 36.1
Sevier 536 | 77.2 | 505 | 319 | 28.2 | 511 | 385 | 37.0 | 204 | 18.7
Summit 676 | 621 | 655 | 56.3 | 51.9 | 399 | 57.2 | 52.2 | 498 | 515
Tooele 734 | 58.3 | 636 | 60.8 | 63.1 | 53.8 | 549 | 448 | 51.0 | 36.3
Uintah 1025 | 695 | 499 | 475 | 366 | 395 | 545 | 54.8 | 47.7 | 456
Wasatch 61.1 | 586 | 711 | 957 | 94.7 | 639 | 40.3 | 634 | 68.1 | 68.3
Washington 280 | 279 | 322 | 311 | 30.7 | 334 | 320 | 31.8 | 43.8 | 45.3
Wayne 3.7 3.6 11.0 3.7 3.7 7.4 149 | 406 | 28.2 | 274
Non-Wasatch/Rural 50.5 | 43.6 | 429 | 419 | 401 | 42.2 | 39.0 | 39.7 | 43.9 | 42.2
Davis 335 | 254 | 248 | 26.3 | 26.6 | 24.8 | 250 | 26.3 | 242 | 243
Utah 26.8 | 27.7 | 285 | 285 | 26.1 | 258 | 26.2 | 26.8 | 27.8 | 26.1
Weber 46.2 | 425 | 514 | 444 | 424 | 388 | 32.3 | 28.7 | 30.1 | 27.0
Other Wasatch Front | 329 | 30.2 | 323 | 31.2 | 29.6 | 28.2 | 27.2 | 271 | 27.2 | 25.8
Salt Lake 481 | 41.2 | 37.2 | 36.8 | 38.0 | 33.2 | 314 | 344 | 30.4 | 29.5
Statewide TOTAL 429 | 37.6 | 36.7 | 359 | 353 | 33.5 | 316 | 329 | 325 | 31.2

Source for DUI Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Source for Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division

*Arrest Rates are the number of arrests per 10,000 population
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Table A3. DUI-Related Arrests by Gender (Return to p.10)

DUI-Related Arrests FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022
by Gender Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Male 7,598 72.1% 7,834 73.8% 7,704 74.0%
Female 2,678 25.4% 2,552 24.0% 2,498 24.0%
Unspecified 256 2.4% 233 2.2% 211 2.0%
TOTAL 10,532 100.0% 10,619 | 100.0% | 10,413 100.0%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Table A4. DUI-Related Arrests by Age (Return to p.10)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022
by Age Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Ages 12-20 1,306 12.4% 1,287 12.1% 1,145 11.0%
Ages 21-24 1,474 14.0% 1,473 13.9% 1,383 13.3%
Ages 25-36 3,902 37.1% 3,914 36.9% 3,840 36.9%
Ages 37-48 2,384 22.6% 2,465 23.2% 2,508 24.1%
Ages 49-84 1,466 13.9% 1,480 13.9% 1,537 14.8%
TOTAL 10,532 | 100.0% | 10,619 | 100.0% | 10,413 | 100.0%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Table AS5. DUI-Related Arrests by Agency Type (Retumn to p.10)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022
by Agency Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent
Sheriffs’ Offices 1,175 11.2% 1,295 12.2% 1,385 13.3%
City Police/Other 6,016 57.1% 6,067 57.1% 6,036 58.0%
Highway Patrol 3,341 31.7% 3,257 30.7% 2,992 28.7%
TOTAL 10,532 100.0% | 10,619 | 100.0% 10,413 100.0%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Table A6. DUI-Related Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) (Return to p.10)

DUI-Related Arrests FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022

by BAC Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent

BAC Result Not Reported* 4,302 | 40.9% | 5,167 | 48.7% | 5,208 | 50.0%

.00 -.04 275 2.6% 150 1.4% 463 4.4%

.05-.07 488 4.6% 387 3.6% 320 3.0%

.08 - .10 726 6.9% 640 6.0% 503 4.8%

11-.15 1,386 | 13.2% 1,184 | 11.1% 975 9.3%

16 -.20 1,173 | 11.1% 995 9.4% 856 8.2%

21-.25 591 5.6% 514 4.8% 448 4.3%

.26 - .46 397 3.8% 271 2.6% 239 2.9%

Refused BAC Test 1,194 | 11.3% 1,311 12.3% | 1,401 13.0%
TOTAL 10,532 | 100.0% | 10,619 | 100.0% | 10,413 | 100.0%

related arrest and there was no BAC.

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
*Arrestee may have submitted to a blood test, but the Driver License Division never received the results, or this was a DUI/drug-
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Table A7. Repeat Offenders by Type of DUIl-related Arrest (Retumn to p.10)

Note: The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest. Data were calculated by identifying
arrests that occurred in FY 2022 as a starting point, then counting back ten years to determine previous arrests. Each arrest
was placed in a column determined by the type of the arrest or violation.

FY 2022
Arrest :Iicralizl Rei;L:csaI Not a Drug Commercial | Unknown TOTAL
Type | (.05)/ | Chemical | D"P | Metabolite | Dfiver | (nobox
(<21) (.04) marked)
Offense Drug Test Number | Percent
qst 6,117 912 353 19 14 12 7,427 71.3%
2nd 1,610 329 46 3 1 8 1,997 19.2%
3rd 544 138 7 0 0 5 694 6.7%
4t 151 42 1 0 0 1 195 1.9%
5th 55 15 0 0 0 0 70 0.7%
6t"-10th 22 8 0 0 0 0 30 0.3%
TOTAL | 8,499 1,444 407 22 15 26 10,413
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
Table A8. DUI-related Arrests by Month (Returmn to p.11)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022
by Month Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
July 894 8.5% 874 8.2% 962 9.2%
August 898 8.5% 967 9.1% 866 8.3%
September 856 8.1% 866 8.2% 844 8.1%
October 840 8.0% 876 8.3% 877 8.4%
November 1,010 9.6% 814 7.7% 859 8.2%
December 931 8.8% 857 8.1% 783 7.5%
January 1,020 9.7% 896 8.4% 868 8.3%
February 1,011 9.6% 839 7.9% 824 7.9%
March 851 8.1% 947 8.9% 938 9.0%
April 606 5.8% 875 8.2% 881 8.5%
May 914 8.7% 898 8.5% 885 8.5%
June 701 6.7% 910 8.6% 826 7.9%
TOTAL 10,532 | 100.0% | 10,619 | 100.0% | 10,413 | 100.0%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
Table A9. Arrests by Violation Type (Return to p.14)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 Percent
by Violation Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent CF'Ji? gze
Per se Alcohol/Drug 8,460 80.3% 8,726 82.2% 8,499 81.6% -2.6%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,448 13.8% 1,362 12.8% 1,444 13.9% +6.0%
Drug Metabolite 225 2.1% 84 0.8% 22 0.2% -73.8%
Not a Drop (< 21) 390 3.7% 432 4.1% 407 3.9% -5.8%
Commercial Driver (.04) 8 0.1% 11 0.1% 15 0.1% +36.4%
Unknown (no box marked) 1 <0.1% 4 <0.1% 26 0.2% +550.0%
TOTAL 10,532 | 100.0% | 10,619 | 100.0% | 10,413 | 100.0% -1.9%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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Table A10. DUI/Alcohol-related Crashes, Injuries, and Fatalities by Calendar Year (Return to

p.17)
DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2012-2021
Crashes Injuries Fatalities
Calendar Total DUl/ Percent Total AIDULI I Percent Total DUl/ Percent
Year . ° ; Alcohol DU/ Injured | co ‘; DU/ Crash Alcohol DUl
rashes Crashes* Alcohol Persons Pglr‘;:fns Alcohol Fatalities Fatalities** Alcohol
2012 49,254 781 1.5 % 15,015 264 1.7% 217 20 9.2%
2013 55,463 751 1.3% 15,618 260 1.6% 220 23 10.5%
2014 52,089 776 1.4% 15,753 280 1.7% 256 45 17.6%
2015 57,526 920 1.5% 17,064 320 1.8% 278 37 13.3%
2016 62,363 896 1.4% 18,324 317 1.7% 281 36 12.8%
2017 62,855 862 1.3% 18,085 299 1.6% 273 36 13.1%
2018 62,073 928 1.4% 17,976 330 1.8% 260 48 18.4%
2019 64,594 932 1.4% 18,454 335 1.8% 248 27 10.8%
2020 51,630 895 1.7% 15,899 336 21% 276 48 17.3%
2021 61,462 918 1.4% 18,247 313 1.7% 328 61 18.5%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUI/Alcohol-Related crashes include incidents where a driver tested positive for any level of alcohol.
**DUI/Alcohol-Related fatal crashes and fatalities show the number of crashes where at least one of the drivers tested positive
for alcohol and had a BAC of > 0.05 percent starting December 31, 2018 or > 0.08 percent prior to that date.

Table A11. DUI/Drug-related Crashes, Injuries, and Fatalities by Calendar Year (Return to p.17)

DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2012-2021
Crashes Injuries Fatalities

Calendar Total DUI/Drug- Percent Total D'glllntrudg' Percent Total PD".jtg' P;rcent

Year c o:: Related DUI/Drug- Injured | e'a ed DUI/Drug- Crash Ss.' ve P “.'tg'
rashes Crashes* Related Persons Pr;jrl;:fns Related Fatalities Fatarlli‘tliirs** sz;t':g

2012 49,254 95 0.19% | 15,015 44 0.29% 217 37 17.1%
2013 55,463 110 0.19% | 15,618 40 0.25% 220 45 20.5%
2014 52,526 111 0.21% | 15,753 50 0.31% 256 38 14.8%
2015 57,526 146 0.25% | 17,064 36 0.21% 278 67 24.1%
2016 62,363 188 0.30% | 18,324 55 0.30% 281 72 25.6%
2017 62,855 174 0.27% | 18,085 48 0.26% 273 76 27.8%
2018 62,073 213 0.34% | 17,976 64 0.35% 260 83 31.9%
2019 64,594 200 0.30% | 18,454 54 0.29% 248 96 38.7%
2020 51,630 242 0.46% | 15,899 64 0.40% 276 118 42.7%
2021 61,462 188 0.30% | 18,247 41 0.22% 328 126 38.4%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*DUl/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.

**Drug-related crashes and fatalities include the number of crashes resulting from one or more drivers who had a positive

drug test.

Note: Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment. For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after

any impairment that might affect driving has passed. Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of

alcohol is well understood, little evidence is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance.
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Table A12. Drug-positive Driver Test Results in Fatal Crashes by Drug Type & Calendar Year

(Retumn to p.20)
Calendar Year 2012-21

Drug Category 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021
Stimulants 20 26 7 23 22 41 28 23 34 68
Marijuana/THC 11 10 21 38 26 27 29 36 43 50
Depressants 9 12 6 20 33 22 27 37 16 36
Opioids/Narcotics 7 12 12 14 28 32 16 18 16 20
Dissociative Anesthetics 0 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 0 0
Hallucinogens 1 0 0 2 0 0 1 1 0 0
Other Drug 4 23 7 17 9 2 1 2 44 6
Unknown Type 5 2 1 0 2 13 11 3 0 0

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUl/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.
**Drug-related crashes and fatalities include the number of crashes resulting from one or more drivers who had a positive drug test.

Note: Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment. For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after any impairment that
might affect driving has passed. Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of alcohol is well understood, little evidence
is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance.

Table A13. DUI-related Cases Disposed by Court Type and Fiscal Year (Return to p.23)

% Change
Court FY 2020 | FY 2021 | FY 2022 FY 21-22
Justice Courts 6,568 7,260 7,650 +5.4%
District Courts 2,545 2,921 3,202 +9.6%
Total Cases Disposed 9,113 10,181 10,852 +6.6%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Table A14. DUI-related Case Disposition Outcomes by Court Type in FY 2022 (Return to p.24)

Case Disposition Outcome

Guilty Not Guilty
Court Equivalent* | Equivalent*® Other*
Justice Courts 6,172 1,385 93
Percent 80.7% 18.1% 1.2%
District Courts 2,577 555 70
Percent 80.5% 17.3% 2.2%
Total Cases Disposed 8,749 1,940 163
Percent 80.6% 17.9% 1.5%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Note: This table does not depict the Justice Courts’ or District Courts’ actual conviction rate, as it includes only

cases disposed during FY 2020; pending cases were not included.

* Guilty-Equivalent = Guilty, No Contest, and Plea in Abeyance; Not Guilty Equivalent = Dismissed, Declined

Prosecution, and Not Guilty; Other = Deceased, Diversion, Transferred, and Remanded.
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Table A15. DUI-related Case Disposition Outcomes for Justice Courts by County in FY
2022 (Return to p.24)

FY 2022 Justice Court DUI-Related Outcomes by County

g ® '§ § g > ; g g 8 g 7

s | £3| 2 @ £ 5 3 | =8| & L

S o o £ ) S o - o q>,* ) L

g 83| 2 = © o o |28 | § P
County Q g O a Z = =
Beaver 1 9 30 1 4
Box Elder 4 30 130 4 168
Cache 1 43 182 5 5 236
Carbon 4 7 85 5 1 3 105
Daggett 1 4 2 7
Davis 1 76 358 9 1 445
Duchesne 2 12 22 1 37
Emery 1 1 24 1 4 31
Garfield 4 9 13
Grand 12 25 37
Iron 1 19 133 6 2 161
Juab 4 3 21 62 4 3 7 104
Kane 3 31 1 35
Millard 7 34 3 44
Morgan 5 18 1 24
Piute 5 10 1 16
Rich 10 1 1
Salt Lake 7 8 568 2,036 66 23 7 14 2,729
San Juan 5 50 1 56
Sanpete 1 8 58 5 72
Sevier 23 49 3 1 76
Summit 1 37 1 120 4 1 2 166
Tooele 2 1 43 234 3 1 284
Uintah 1 19 101 8 2 131
Utah 5 6 203 1 1,008 97 2 2 8 1,332
Wasatch 1 5 29 113 31 1 2 182
Washington 6 79 394 47 5 531
Wayne 1 5 3 4 13
Weber 3 3 48 1 477 23 1 7 563
Totals 32 40 1,318 3 5,812 | 328 27 32 58 7,650
Percent 0.4% | 0.5% | 17.2% - 76.0% | 4.3% | 0.4% | 0.4% | 0.8% | 100.0%
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
Note: This table does not depict the Justice Courts’ actual conviction rate, as it includes only cases disposed during FY 2022;
pending cases were not included.
*Transferred includes Set Aside and Totals exclude Blanks.
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Table A16. DUI-related Case Disposition Outcomes for District Courts by District in FY 2022

(Return to p.24)
FY 2022 District Court DUI-Related Outcomes by Judicial District
c . b o]
o o b c 173 > [} b
o | 8% & S > e = |8 B £ ®
© = L 0 = < = © © = 2 ©
. o R g o 5 S o o > o ® B
Judicial | g | 28| @ 2 o S 5 |a2| E < °
District | © e/ 8 | - z | 2 -
1st 1 44 157 5 2 2 21
2nd 68 462 8 1 1 5 550
3 3 162 709 5 3 11 4 897
4th 4 1 130 1 551 45 1 4 5 20 762
5th 1 67 261 8 5 1 343
6t 34 126 7 1 168
7 17 101 1 2 121
gth 1 29 112 7 1 150
Totals 9 2 551 1 2,479 86 2 12 30 30 3,202
Percent 0.3% - 17.2% - 77.4% | 2.7% - 0.4% | 0.9% | 0.9% | 100.0%
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
Note: This table does not depict the District Courts’ actual conviction rate, as it includes only cases disposed during FY 2022;
pending cases were not included.

Table A17. Sanctions in DUI-related Cases by Court Type and Fiscal Year (Return to p.24)

DUI-Related Case Information and Sanctions FY 2020 | FY 2021 | FY 2022
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 114 116 113
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 5,198 6,605 7,177
Justice Courts | 4,076 5,188 5,586
District Courts 1,122 1,417 1,591
Ignition Interlock Ordered 1,157 1,444 1,791
Justice Courts 762 992 1,241
District Courts 395 452 550
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 2,777 4,282 3,806
Justice Courts | 1,649 1,980 2,096
District Courts 1,128 1,562 1,710
Electronic Monitoring 589 719 961
Justice Courts 390 428 589
District Courts 199 291 372
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

36




20TH ANNUAL DUI

REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE

Table A18. Court Orders for Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment, Substance
Use Treatment, and Educational Series by Court Type and Fiscal Year (Retumn to p.24)

DUI-Related Case Court Orders FY 2020 | FY 2021 | FY 2022
Substance Use Disorder Screening & Assessment Ordered 5,565 5,792 6,166
Justice Courts | 4,392 4,434 4,783
District Courts 1,173 1,358 1,383
Substance Used Disorder Treatment Ordered 4,216 4,514 4,827
Justice Courts 3,031 3,028 3,272
District Courts 1,185 1,486 1,555
Educational Series Ordered 3,361 3,459 3,381
Justice Courts | 2,982 2.940 2,879
District Courts 379 519 502

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Figure A1. Blood Alcohol Concentration and Likely Effects on Driving® (Retum to p.11)

Some likely effects on driving

.15%
About 7 beers

.10%
About 5 beers

.08%

About 4 beers

.05%

About 3 beers

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Levels

02%

About 2 beers

Adapted from The ABCs of BAC, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2005, and How to Control

e Serious difficulty controlling the car and focusing on driving

* Markedly slowed reaction time
 Difficulty staying in lane and braking when needed

* Trouble controlling speed

e Difficulty processing information and reasoning

* Reduced coordination and ability to track moving objects

» Difficulty steering

e Loss of judgment

e Trouble doing two tasks at the same time

Your Drinking, WR Miller and RF Munoz, University of New Mexico, 1982.

The number of beers
listed represents the

approximate amount
of alcoho! that a
160-pound man would
need to drink in one
hour to reach the listed
BAC in each category.

5 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Vitalsigns, Drinking and Driving: A Threat to Everyone, October 2011.
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DUI Statutory Overview
The latest (May 2022) statutory overview for DUI offenses can be found on the following pages

(Return to Table of Contents)
(Return to p.26)
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UTAH DUI STATUTORY OVERVIEW'2

Court-Ordered
Sentencing

CLASSIFICATION
(§41-6a-503)

(Current as of May 2022)

MISDEMEANOR DUI

FIRST CONVICTION

FIRST CONVICTION

e BAC .16 or higher

e BAC .05 or higher + any
measurable controlled
substance

e Combination of two or
more controlled
substances

SECOND CONVICTION
WITHIN 10 YEARS

SECOND CONVICTION

WITHIN 10 YEARS
e BAC .16 or higher
e BAC .05 or higher + any measurable
controlled substance
e Combination of two or more controlled
substances?

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

e if passenger is under 16*

e if passenger is under
18 and driver is 21 or
older

e if driving in the wrong
direction on a freeway

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR
CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

e if passenger is under 16*
e if passenger is under
18 and driver is 21 or
older
e if driving in the
wrong direction on a

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR

or controlled-access freeway or
highway controlled-access
highway
Jail SHALL order: SHALL order not less than: | SHALL order not less than: SHALL order:
(§41-6a-505) 2 days OR 48 hours e 5days OR e 10 days OR ¢ Not less than 20 days jail OR

compensatory service
MAY:

Suspend jail time if
individual is
participating in 24/7
sobriety program;®
Convert jail time to
electronic home
confinement'® or
order two-day
increments if
requirements are
met'!

e 2 days AND 30 days
consecutive electronic
home confinement* that
includes substance abuse
testing

MAY:

Suspend jail time if

individual is

participating in 24/7

sobriety program;®

Convert jail time to

electronic home

confinement'® or order
two-day increments if
requirements are met'"

e 5 days AND 30 days electronic
home confinement® that
includes substance abuse
testing

MAY:

Suspend jail time if individual is

participating in 24/7 sobriety

program AND serves:

e 5 days jail for a second offense

or
e 10 daysg’ail for third/subsequent|
offense;
Convert jail time to electronic
home confinement'® or order two-
day increments if requirements
are met"

e 10 days jail AND 60 consecutive days
electronic home confinement* that includes
substance abuse testing OR

o Not less than 10 days jail AND substance use
tx (if tx is more likely to reduce recidivism and
is in interest of public safety)

MAY:

Suspend jail time if individual is participating in

24/7 sobriety program AND serves:

e 5 days jail for a second offense; or

e 10 days jail for third/subsequent offense;®

Convert jail time to electronic home

confinement'® or order two-day increments if

requirements are met'

Fine, Surcharge,
and Court
Security Fee
(§41-6a-505)

SHALL order:
$700 minimum fine plus a
$630 surcharge plus a
$60 court security fee
(justice court) or $53

SHALL order:
$700 minimum fine plus a
$630 surcharge plus a
$60 court security fee

SHALL order:
$800 minimum fine plus a
$720 surcharge plus a
$60 court security fee (justice
court) or $53 (district court)

SHALL order:
$800 minimum fine plus a
$720 surcharge plus a
$60 court security fee (justice court) or $53
(district court)

justice court) or $53
(§51-9-401) (district court) }Jdistrict court)
Screening, SHALL order: SHALL order: SHALL order: SHALL order:
Assessment, e Screening e Screening e Screening e Screening
Educational Series, | e Assessment (if found e Assessment (if found e Assessment (if found e Assessment (if found appropriate by
and Treatment appropriate by appropriate by appropriate by screening)

screening)

screening)

screening)

e Educational series, unless treatment is




(§41-6a-505)

e Educational series,
unless treatment is
ordered

MAY order:

e Treatment

e 24-7 sobriety program

e Educational series,
unless treatment is
ordered

MAY order:

e Treatment

e 24-7 sobriety program

e Educational series,
unless treatment is
ordered

MAY order:

e Treatment

e 24-7 sobriety program

ordered

MAY order:
e Treatment
e 24-7 sobriety program

Supervised MAY order supervised SHALL order supervised SHALL order supervised SHALL order supervised probation
Probation’ probation probation probation

(§41-6a-507)

Ignition SHALL order unless: SHALL order unless: SHALL order unless: SHALL order unless:

Interlock® e The court determines and | e The court determines and | ¢ The court determines and e The court determines and states on the

(§41-6a-518)
(§41-6a-530)

Increased
Sentencing
(§41-6a-505)

Driver License
Suspension

(§41-6a-509)

states on the record that
an ignition interlock
system is not necessary
for the safety of the
community and in the best
interest of justice.

SHALL order:

e Interlock if under %1
Interlock for an ARD
violation OR describe on the
record why such order not
appropriate

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 120 days, 180
days, one year or two years

states on the record that
an ignition interlock
system is not necessary
for the safety of the
community and in the best
interest of justice.

SHALL order:

e Interlock if under 21
Interlock for an ARD
violation OR describe on the
record why such order not
appropriate

SHALL order unless
described on the record why
the order(s) not appropriate:
e Treatment and
One or more of the
following:
e Interlock
e Ankle attached
continuous
transdermal alcohol
monitoring device
e Electronic home
confinement

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 120 days, 180
days, one year or two years

states on the record that an

ignition interlock system is not
necessary for the safety of the

community and in the best
interest of justice.

SHALL order:
e Interlock if under %1
Interlock for an ARD

order not appropriate.

Court MAY order additional 90
days, 120 days, 180 days, one
year or two years

violation OR
describe on the record why such

record that an ignition interlock system is not
necessary for the safety of the community
and in the best interest of justice.

SHALL order:

e Interlock if under %1
Interlock for an ARD” violation OR describe on
the record why such order not appropriate

SHALL order unless described on the record

why the order(s) not appropriate:

e Treatment and

One or more of the following:

e Interlock

e Ankle attached continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device

e Electronic home confinement

Court MAY order additional 90 days, 120 days,
180 days, one year or two years

Impaired Driving
(§41-6a-502.5)

A conviction may NOT be entered as impaired driving if: *BAC .16 or higher; # BAC .05 or higher + any measurable controlled substance; o
Combination of two or more controlled substances that were not prescribed by a licensed physician or medical cannabis as defined in §26-

61a; or e any prior conviction as defined in §41-6a-501(2)

"The DUI Statutory Overview was formerly called the DUI Sentencing Matrix. The DUI Statutory Overview is not a substitute for reference to the Utah State Code. It does not constitute legal advice and is not legally binding. It does
not create any right or expectation on behalf of an offender or any party within the criminal justice system.

2 2022’s HB 29 created new offense for Negligent Operation of a Vehicle Resulting in Injury (76-5-102.1), which replaced a prior statutory scheme using injuries to enhance DUI offenses. Because this new statute directs the
sentencing authority to refer to the sentencing guidelines and other factors, this offense is not reflected in the DUI Statutory Overview. Note, however, that 76-5-102.1(5)(b) prohibits a court from imposing a lesser sentence than
what would be available under DUI sentencing statutes (41-6a-505), which are reflected in this overview.

3 A combination of two or more controlled substances may only be considered if the substances are not (A) prescribed by a licensed physician; or (B) recommended in accordance with Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical

Cannabis Act.

4 A person is guilty of a separate offense for each passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense that is under 16 years old.
5 See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions.

8 If an individual fails to successfully complete all the requirements of the 24/7 sobriety program, the court shall impose the suspended jail sentence or prison sentence.




7 Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517(14)(a) (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body).

8 Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a condition of probation. Note: If a person’s violation of Section 41-6a-502 does not

involve alcohol, the requirement to order ignition interlock does notapply.
9 ARD = Alcohol Restricted Driver.
10 A jail sentence may be converted to electronic home confinement with stipulation of both parties and approval from the judge (§41-6a-505(12)(b))

" A court may order a jail sentence imposed as a condition of misdemeanor probation to be served in multiple two-day increment at weekly intervals if the court determines the defendant can serve the statutorily required jail term

and maintain employment as described in (§41-6a-505(12)(c)

UTAH DUI STATUTORY OVERVIEW

(Current as of May 4, 2022)

() are o o
- SRR ; FELONY DUI
CLASSIFICATION THIRD DEGREE FELONY THIRD DEGREE FELONY PLUS:
(§41-6a-503) e if third or subsequent DUI offense within 10 years e BAC .16 or higher
e if any prior felony DUl conviction or negligent e BAC .05 or higher + any measurable controlled
operation of a vehicle resulting in injury conviction substance
e Combination of two or more substances®
Jail SHALL order: SHALL order
(§41-6a-505) 0-5 year prison term OR 0-5 year prison term OR
e 60 days jail AND e Not less than 120 days jail AND
e 60 days consecutive electronic home e 120 days consecutive electronic home confinement
confinement that includes substance abuse that includes substance abuse testing
testing AY:
AY: o ) Convert jail time to electronic home confinement® or
Convert jail time to electronic home . order two-day increments if requirements are met"
confinement'® or order two-day increments if
requirements are met'’
Fine, Surcharge, and Court Security Fee SHALL order: SHALL order: _
(§41-6a-505) $1,500 minimum fine plus a $1,500 minimum fine plus a
(§51-9-401) $1,350 surcharge plus a $1,350 surcharge plus a
$53 court security fee, $53 court security o
UNLESS a 0-5 prison term is imposed UNLESS a 0-5 prison term is imposed
Screening, Assessment, Educational Series, and | SHALL order: SHALL order:
Treatment e Screening e Screening
(§41-6a-505) o Assessment e Assessment
e Treatment as appropriate e Treatment as appropriate
UNLESS 0-5 prison term is imposed UNLESS 0-5 prison term isimposed
MAY order: MAY order:
e 24-7 sobriety program® e 24-7 sobriety program®
Supervised Probation’ SHALL order supervised probation if 0-5 prison term SHALL order supervised probation if 0-5 prison
(§41-6a-507) is not imposed term is not imposed
Ignition Interlock® SHALL order unless: SHALL order unless:
(§41-6a-518) e The court determines and states on the record that e The court determines and states on the record that
41-6a-530 an ignition interlock system is not necessary for the an ignition interlock system is not necessary for the
(§41-6a-530) safety of the community and in the best interest of safety of the community and in the best interest of
justice. justice.
Driver License Suspension e Court MAY order additional 90 days, 120 days, Court MAY order additional 90 days, 120 days, 180

(§41-6a-509) 180 days, one year or two years

days, one year or two years




The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a court order. Failure to comply carries additional criminal

sanctions.
Statutory Provisions

FIRST OFFENSE | SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation

Driving Under the Influence/ DUI
Conviction
(§41-6a-509)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21st
birthday

If under 19: Until 21st birthday

If 21 or older: 2 years
If 19-20: Longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday
If under 19: Until 21st birthday

Driving with Controlled Substance/
Metabolite in Body Conviction
(§41-6a-517)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21st
birthday

If under 19: Until 21st birthday

If 21 or older: 2 years
If 19-20: Longer of two years or until 21st birthday
If under 19: Until 21st birthday

Refusal of Chemical Test
(§41-6a-521)

If 21 or older: 36 months
If under 21: Longer of 36 months or until 21st birthday

If 21 or older: 18 months
If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21st
birthday

Per se Arrest

(§53-3-223)

2 .05 BAC, impaired todegree unsafe to drive, operating with
metabolite of drug insystem

If 21 or older: 120 days
If under 21: 6 months

If 21 or older: 2 years
If under 21: Longer of 2 years of until 21st birthday

Not A Drop
(§53-3-231)

A person under 21 may not operate a vehicle or motorboat with
detectable alcohol in body

If under 21: Until successful completion of
substance abuse program recommendation,
but not less than 6 months

If under 21: Until successful completion of substance abuse program
recommendation, and the longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday

Failure to Install or Removal of Ignition
Interlock Device
(§53-3-1007)

A person who is an interlock restricted driver (IRD) shall have their driving privilege suspended until they have had an,
interlock device installed in their vehicle. If the interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the interlock
restriction period, the driver license shall be re-suspended until an interlock device is re-installed. This suspension may be
imposed in addition to other license sanctions as listed above.

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Un

der 21

Driving Under the Influence/DUI
Conviction First Conviction
(§41-6a-509)

Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months if the person completes a screening; completes an
assessment if appropriate; completes an education series or substance abuse treatment, as deemed appropriate by the
court; has not been convicted of a violation of a motor vehicle law during the suspension period; has complied with all
terms of probation or all court orders if not ordered to probation; and provides a sworn statement to the court that the
person has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period.

Driving with Controlled Substance/
Metabolite in Body Conviction

First Conviction
(§41-6a-517)

Same as above but sworn statement must include the person has not consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by
a practitioner during the suspension period.

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers 21

or Older

Driving Under the Influence/DUI
Conviction First Conviction

(§41-6a-509)

Court may order individual to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program, which allows for early reinstatement of the driving
privilege upon payment of driver license reinstatement fees and ignition interlock installation. Provision does not apply if
the person refused to submit to a chemical test when arrested for DUI. Person is not able to reinstate their driving
privilege unless all other outstanding license sanctions have been cleared.

Driving with Controlled Substance/
Metabolite in Body Conviction
First Conviction

(§41-6a-517)

Court may order individual to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program, which allows for early reinstatement of the driving
privilege upon payment of driver license reinstatement fees. Provision does not apply if the person refused to submit to a
chemical test when arrested for DUI. Person is not able to reinstate their driving privilege unless all other outstanding
license sanctions have been cleared.




Other Sanctions

IRD — Interlock Restricted Driver
(§41-6a-518.2)

An “interlock restricted driver” may not operate a motor vehicle
without an ignition interlock.

Note: If a person’s violation of Section 41-6a- 502 does not involve alcohol, or if all
offenses are for metabolite convictions under Section 41- 6a-517 (no alcohol involved),
IRD does not apply.

¢ 18 months IRD for 15t DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21 or refused blood draw (§41-6a-520(7))

e 3 years IRD for 1%t Driving Without Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), Refusal to Submit to Chemical
Test (§41-6a-520), or 15t DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21or refused blood draw if under 21 (§41-6a-520(7))

¢ 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years: DUI (§41-6a-502), Refusal to Submit to
Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-Related Reckless (§41-6a-
512 — only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled
Substance/Bodily Injury or Death (§58-37-8(2)(g)), or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

¢ 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or 2nd+ offense for refused blood draw (§41-6a-520(7))

* 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

ARD - Alcohol Restricted Driver
(§41-6a-529)
An “alcohol restricted driver” may not operate or be in actual
physical control of a vehicle with any measurable or detectable
amount of alcohol in the person’s body.

. Note: If Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does not apply.

. Note: A person under the age of 21 is an alcohol restricted driver

e 2 years ARD for 15t DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol/Drug-Related Reckless (§41-6a-512), or Impaired Driving (§41-6a-
502.5

2 yeaZ‘s ARD for any Per se offense (§53-3-223)

¢ 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with alcohol in body if an ARD (§41-
6a-530) offense

¢ 5 years ARD for 15t Refusal to Submit to Test (§41-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (§41-6a-502)

» 10 years ARD for 2™ offense within 10 years, DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol/Drug-Related Reckless (§41-6a-512), or
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5)

» 10 years ARD for 2" offense of Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (§41-6a-520(7)) if prior suspension for prior
refusal within 10 years (41-6a-520(7))

* 10 years ARD for felony violation of refusal to submit to chemical test 41-6a-520(7))

o Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)
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