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Statistical Note: Data in this report are current as of October 1, 2023, unless otherwise noted. Due
to rounding, data in the tables in this report may not add up exactly to the totals indicated.
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Profile of a Typical Utah DUI Offender

in FY 2023

Arrested for a per se violation (82%)

Driver had a .05 or greater blood/breath alcohol concentration, or was impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a
combination of the two to the extent it was unsafe to operate a vehicle

Arrested by a municipal law enforcement officer (55%)

o]
Male (73%)
o]
Age 25-36 (36%)
o]

Had a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) between .11-.15
(30% of those tested with results reported)

Arrested on the Wasatch Front in Weber, Davis, Salt Lake or
Utah County (68%)

o]
First-time arrestee (73%)

Convicted of DUI
(78% in Justice Court; 83% in District Court)
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DUI in Utah: CY 2022 /FY 2023

Law Enforcement: DUI-Related Arrests & Enforcement Activities
e 11,246 DUI-related arrests were made in FY 2023, 833 more (+8%) than in FY 2022.

e Despite the slight increase in the past year, Utah’s DUl-related arrest rate (33.3 per 10,000
population) has declined steadily over the past 15 years (12% decrease since FY 2014,
42% since FY 2009), even as the population has greatly increased in the same time (23%
increase in statewide population). The rate has stabilized in the low 30s the past 6 years.

e The majority of arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front, with Salt Lake, Davis, Utah, and
Weber Counties accounting for 68% of the total. While counties outside the Wasatch Front
only accounted for 32% of the total, this was disproportionate to their population (25%).

e DuUI-related arrests in FY 2023 displayed the following characteristics:

o 73% of arrestees were male (24% female, with 2% unspecified).

o 36% of arrestees were between 25-36 years of age, followed by 25% 37-48, 14%
21-24, 15% 49 and older, and 10% under 21.

o The majority of arrests (55%) were made by city/municipal police departments, with
the rest split between Utah Highway Patrol (31%) and county sheriff's offices (14%).

o Nearly half (47%) of the arrests did not have a BAC reported, and 13% of arrestees
refused testing. Of those tested with a BAC reported, 38% exceeded .15 (down
from 51% in FY 2018). 11% fell between .05-.07, the highest rate to date under the
new statutory level (.05) in effect since January 2019.

o It was the first DUl-related arrest for 73% of arrestees, with 18% having one prior
arrest and another 9% having two or more prior arrests for DUI.

e The 10% of arrestees under the age of 21 is consistent with previous years, and the 1,163
total arrests in this category are still among the lowest levels in the past ten years.

e Changing the statutory BAC level to .05 led to a slight increase in DUI arrests in the first
three and a half years, though the estimated effect jumped significantly in FY 2023.

e Consistent with previous years, 82% of the arrests were for per se violations where the
driver had a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit (now .05), or was
impaired by alcohol, other drugs, or a combination of the two to the extent it was unsafe to
operate a vehicle.

o Drug metabolite arrests, which had increased sharply from FY 2014-18, remained
stable in FY 2023 at only 34 (down 91% since FY 2018).

o Arrests included 1,551 made during specialized DUI overtime enforcement events such as
enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI sobriety checkpoints that involved law
enforcement agencies throughout the state. These overtime shifts were up in FY 2023.
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DUI and Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries, and Fatalities
e The numbers of DUl/alcohol-related fatalities increased in CY 2022 for the third straight
year; alcohol-related crashes remained stable and injured persons decreased significantly.

o Fatalities jumped 13% to 69 in CY 2021 (from 61 in CY 2021); crashes decreased
slightly (-1%) to 908 (from 918), while injuries decreased significantly (-26%) to 231
(from 313).

e DUIl/drug-related fatalities continued to increase in CY 2022 for the eighth consecutive
year, even while crashes and injured persons both remained relatively stable.

o Drug-positive driver fatalities increased 19% from 127 in CY 2021 to 151 in CY 2022.
These fatalities have increased more than three-fold (+236%) over the past ten years.

o Crashes increased 17% to 219 in CY 2022 (from 188 in 2021).

o Injuries increased 7% in CY 2022 to 176 (from 164 in 2021).

e The most common drug types found in drug-positive driver fatalities in CY 2021 were
stimulants (e.g., methamphetamine); depressants (e.g., sedatives); marijuana/THC; and, to
a lesser extent, opioids (e.g., oxycodone).

e Crash fatalities in Utah overall were down slightly in 2022 (-9 (-3%) over 2021, though still
+71 (29%) since 2019), but almost 70% of fatalities are now related to alcohol or drugs.
Courts: Adjudications and Sanctions
e InFY 2023, there were 8,280 DUI-related cases disposed by Utah’s Justice Courts.

o 78% resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

e InFY 2022, there were 3,885 DUI-related cases disposed by the state’s District Courts.
o 83% resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

Courts: Orders for Assessment, Treatment, and Education

e Justice Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder screening
and assessment in 5,141 cases (79% of guilty), ordered substance use disorder treatment
in 3,336 cases (51%), and ordered an educational series in 2,886 cases (44%).

e District Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder screening and
assessment in 1,785 cases (56% of guilty), ordered substance use disorder treatment in
2,035 cases (63%), and ordered an educational series in 591 cases (18%).

e Treatment orders have generally increased over the past ten years in both courts.

Driver License Control

e 3,804 hearings were conducted in FY 2023 (up 11%) to determine if there was sufficient
information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the individual’s driver license.

o 3,436 (90%) involved at least one of the parties calling in for the hearing.
o In 1,403 (37%) of the cases, no action could be taken against the driver due to the
absence of the arresting officer at the hearing or other factors.
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Purpose of the Report

The 215t Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature was prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511
of the Utah Code. The statute requires the Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to
prepare an annual report of DUI related data, including the following:

¢ Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement decisions to
be made in accordance with violations involving driving under the influence of alcohol
and/or other drugs;

e Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements collected by the state
courts); and

e Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and impacts of DUI
recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of: law enforcement; adjudication;
sanctions; driver license control; and alcohol education, assessment, and treatment.
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1
DUI Policy in Utah

The Utah Legislature establishes policy for dealing with driving under the influence of alcohol and
other drugs through the passage of bills that are enacted into law. This section summarizes the
bills passed by the 2023 Utah Legislature and their impact on DUI policy in Utah.

2023 DUI-Related Legislation

H.B. 62 Driving Under the Influence Modifications

Representative Ryan Wilcox & Senator Keith Grover

e H.B. 62 makes changes to suspension of a driver’s license and prohibits the Driver
License Division from such suspension to those who elect to participate in an interlock
ignition program unless the person fails to complete certain requirements as an
ignition interlock restricted driver.

e The bill also prohibits the courts from ordering an ignition interlock system from a
specific provider and leaves that decision to the driver.

e |t provides procedures for a person to petition to remove an ignition interlock restriction
due to a medical condition that prohibits the individual from providing a deep lung
breath sample.

¢ Ignition interlock systems must be regularly monitored by the provider every 60 days
or more frequently if ordered by the court.

e Finally, this bill amends and improves the 24-7 sobriety including who is eligible and
license revocation periods.

H.B. 223 Drug and Alcohol Enforcement Amendments

Representative Jefferson Burton & Senator Jerry Stevenson

e H.B. 223 requires the Department of Public Safety to use the Alcoholic Beverage Control
Act Enforcement Fund to maintain a certain number of drug enforcement officers, State
Bureau of Investigation officers, and social workers.

e The bill also increases the deposits made into the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act
enforcement fund and treatment restricted account by $1,320,000.



https://le.utah.gov/%7E2023/bills/static/HB0062.html
https://le.utah.gov/%7E2023/bills/static/HB0223.html
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H.B. 247 Alcohol Control Amendments

Representative Ken Ivory & Senator Scott Sandall

H.B. 247 provides a penalty for altering, destroying, or concealing certain records that
are relevant to an official proceeding under the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act and
requires that certain under the ABC Act to, after receiving written notice of civil or
criminal action, retain records relevant to the action.

The bill also describes the circumstances under which there is a prima facie evidence
that a person is liable for an injury or death that results from the intoxication of another
individual.

H.B. 369 DUl Amendments

Representative Steve Eliason & Senator Don Ipson

H.B. 369 combines all the different and sometimes contradictory sections related to
driving under the influence offense into a single section.

The bill also combines the separate sections around refusal of a chemical test offense
and makes technical changes.

No substantive changes to statute were made.

S.B. 80 Driver License Suspension and Revocation Amendments

Senator Stephanie Pitcher & Representative Ryan Wilcox

S.B. 80 provides for the shortening of a driver license suspension or revocation period
required for certain traffic violations if an individual participates in a problem-solving
court program approved by the Judicial Council and elects to become an interlock
restricted driver as a condition of probation.

The bill also limits the types of offenses for which a court is authorized to shorten an
individual’s driver license suspension or revocation period.



https://le.utah.gov/%7E2023/bills/static/HB0247.html
https://le.utah.gov/%7E2023/bills/static/HB0369.html
https://le.utah.gov/%7E2023/bills/static/SB0080.html
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The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI-related arrests. In FY 2023, law enforcement
officers made 11,246 arrests, 833 more (+8%) than in FY 2022. The overall number of
arrests has been up and down since a historic low number in FY 2019, though the rate
(relative to the population) has remained below 35 per 10,000 population (between 31.2-33.5)
since FY 2018. While Utah’s population has continued to grow more than any state in the
nation (23% over 15 years), the arrest rate for DUl-related offenses has declined steadily,
with a 42% decrease over the same time period (associated with 4,437 fewer arrests than FY
2009), even with the slight jump in FY 2023 (from a historic low rate in FY 2022).

Utah DUI-Related Arrest Rates by
Population, FY 2009 - FY 2023

. DUI-

Fiscal | DY~ | Population | o) ted

Related as of

VEEY Arrests July 1 LTS
Rate*
2009 | 15,683 | 2,691,122 58.3
2010 | 15,285 | 2,731,558 56.0
2011 13,816 | 2,775,334 49.8
2012 | 13,031 2,814,216 46.3
2013 | 12,227 | 2,853,467 42.8
2014 | 10,901 2,897,927 37.6
2015 | 10,802 | 2,937,399 36.7
2016 | 10,755 | 2,982,497 36.0
2017 | 10,762 | 3,042,613 35.3
2018 | 10,383 | 3,103,118 33.5
2019 9,995 3,161,105 31.6
2020 | 10,532 | 3,205,958 32.9
2021 10,619 | 3,271,616 32.5
2022 | 10,413 | 3,337,975 31.2
2023 | 11,246 | 3,380,800 33.3

DUI-Related Arrest Rates FY2009-23

58.3

37.6

316 329 325 3y, 333

DUI Arrest Rate*

2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

Source of DUI-Related Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Source of Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division (estimates are as of July 1 of calendar year preceding fiscal year,
though note that 2021 is based off the actual 2020 Census number from April 2020)

*DUl-related arrest rate is the number of DUI-related arrests per 10,000 population.

Arrests by County & Region

Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI-related arrests during FY 2023 occurred along the
Wasatch Front, with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake, and Utah Counties accounting for 68% (7,606) of
the total. For the first time, Utah, Davis, and Weber counties combined had more arrests than Salt
Lake County (3,904/35% vs. 3,702/33%), with Non-Wasatch/Rural counties just behind with 3,640
(32%; see Table A1 in the Appendix for all FY 2023 data by county, as well as a comparison of
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arrest percentages to total population). The chart below breaks the FY 2022 arrests down by
region of the state (both arrest location and address of arrestee) compared to population.

FY 2023 DUI-Related Arrests by Region (N = 11,246)
Arrest
Location

Arrestee
Address

74

Note: “Other Wasatch Front” = Utah, Davis, and Weber counties; “Non-Wasatch/Rural” = all other counties outside the Wasatch Front (*out of state)

The previous figure shows a slight over-representation of DUI-related arrests outside the Wasatch
Front (32.4% of arrests, 25.5% of residents), relative to the total population in the region (25.2% of
the total population). Additionally, the figure below shows the DUI-related arrest rate trends over
time (FY 2009-23) by region of the state. Consistent with the previous figure, the highest arrest
rates in FY 2023 were outside the Wasatch Front (42.7 per 10,000 population), followed by Salt
Lake County (31.2), and Utah/Davis/Weber counties (29.1). As with the overall rates for Utah
seen on the previous page, the rates in each region have seen a downward trend over the past 15
years, though rates have leveled out in recent years. Utah/Davis/WWeber counties showed the
greatest increase in arrest rates from FY 2022 to FY 2023 (13%; see Table A2 in the Appendix for
all the rate data by county and region).

DUI-Related Arrest Rates* by Region FY2009-23

74.6

2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

=== Non-Wasatch/Rural  ====Qther Wasatch Front  ====SaltLake

Note: “Other Wasatch Front” = Davis, Utah, and Weber counties; “Non-Wasatch/Rural” = all other counties outside the Wasatch Front.
*DUlI-related arrest rate is the number of DUI-related arrests per 10,000 population; rates are based on location of the arrest.

10
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Characteristics of FY 2023 DUI-Related Arrests
The figures on the next page show some characteristics of DUI-related arrests, including:

Gender: 73% of arrestees were male, while 24% were female (an additional 2.5% of
arrests did not have gender specified; see Table A3 in the Appendix).

Age: Drivers ages 25-36 accounted for 36% of all arrests, followed by 25% for ages 37-48
and 15% 49 or over. 10% of arrestees were under the legal age of 21 (see p.12 for more
on this, and see Table A4 for full data).

Arresting Agency: 55% of all arrests were made by municipal law enforcement agencies
(down from 58% in FY 2022), with Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 31% (up from 28%)
and county sheriffs’ offices responsible for 14% (see Table A5). The share and number
(+531) of arrests made by Utah Highway Patrol is significantly more than FY 2022, and
accounts for almost two-thirds of the increase in arrests from FY 2022 to FY 2023.
Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC): Aimost half (47%) of the arrests did not
have a reported BAC, while another 13% refused the BAC test. Of those arrests with BAC
reported, 38% exceeded .15 (the highest BAC recorded was .43), while 30% fell between
11-.15, 15% between .08-.10, 12% between .05-.07, and 6% under .05 (see Table AG6).
Arrests with BACs between .05-.07 had the largest relative increase this year (see p.13).
Repeat Offenders: 73% of arrests were for a first offense, 18% had one prior offense, and
9% were for a third or subsequent offense (see Table A7 for more data by violation type).
By Month: DUI-related arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2023, with an
average of 937 arrests per month and only one month above 1,000 (October, 1,007) and
one below 800 (February, 792; see Table A8).

Gender
Male Female
73.3% 24.2%
Age
14-20 21-24 25-36 37-48
10.3% 13.6% 35.9% 25.2%

Arresting Agency
Sheriff City Police Highway Patrol

13.8% 54.8% 31.3%

11
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Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC; See Figure A1)

<.05 .05-.07.08-.15 .16-.25 >.25 Refused Not Reported
e
4.6% %
2.4% 18.0% 12.9% 46.9%

First-Time vs. Repeat Offenders
1st Offense 2nd 3rd +

73.0% 17.6% 9.4%

Month of Arrest

994 1,007 998
881 873
792

Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun

Underage DUI-Related Arrests

As seen on the previous page, 10% of the DUl-related arrests were offenders under the legal
drinking age of 21. This percentage of the overall arrests is lower than recent years (see
Table A4), and the 1,163 total arrests in this category are similar to FY 2022 (1,145) and
down from FY 2020-21 (1,306 and 1,287 arrests respectively).

Under 21 DUI-Related Arrests FY2014-23

1,275 1,339 1304 1,306 1,287

e | nder 21 Yrs Old

2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

12
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Impacts of Decreasing the Legal BAC Limit to .05

Arrests by BAC Level. The upward trend in arrests with a BAC below .08 stabilized in FY 2021-22,
but showed a fairly sharp increase in FY 2023. The per se legal limit was moved on December 30,
2018 to include BACs in the .05-.07 range, and 11.5% of arrests with a reported BAC in FY 2023
were in this range (up from 8.4% in FY 2022, and up from 4.1% in FY 2018, the last full FY before
the limit was decreased). Reported BAC levels in the highest ranges have decreased, particularly
those above .15. It should be noted that the data below are only based on arrests where the
BAC was reported or obtained (47% had no BAC reported and 13% of arrestees refused a
BAC test, consistent with previous years). The Department of Public Safety and the Department
of Health and Human Services are working to increase the rate of reported BACs, which will
improve the accuracy of this data, as well as the estimates provided in the next section.

BAC Levels Reported* in DUI-Related Arrests FY2015-23 -
Lower Ranges

11.5%

5.5% 5.9%
e RS S )
3.2% 2.4% 4.0% 3.6%

2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

e ()5 e ()5-.07 .08-.10
*Note: Specific BAC levels are only generally reported in less than half of cases. Data distinguishing <.05 and .05-.07 not available pre-FY2015.

BAC Levels Reported* in DUI-Related Arrests FY2015-23 -

Higher Ranges
51.0%
41.3% 42.9%  43.0%
A 40.6% 37.9%
\
33.9%
28.4% 27.5%  28.6% 29.5%

25.6%

2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

e 11-.15 -’ 15

*Note: Specific BAC levels are only generally reported in less than half of cases. Data distinguishing <.05 and .05-.07 not available pre-FY2015.

13
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Estimating Additional DUI-Related Arrests After Statute Change. As mentioned in the previous
section, it is difficult to estimate the number of additional DUl-related arrests that have occurred
since the BAC limit was lowered from .08 to .05 due to the amount of unreported BAC levels
(close to 50%) and the number of arrestees who refuse a BAC test (10-15% depending on year).
More complete data would certainly provide increased confidence in estimates based on the BAC
level distribution at arrest across the time period available (data from FY 2015-23 allows us to
more granularly distinguish levels below .08, particularly between .05-.07 and <.05), though these
possible effects can still be examined while also taking into account the limitations of the data at
this time. Using the data we do have, FY 2015-18 serves as a 4-year pre-statute change period
(the change was implemented halfway through FY 2019), and during this period 4.7% of arrests
with a reported BAC fell within the .05-.07 range. If we extrapolate the available percentage to all
arrests across the period and assume that, on average, 4.7% of arrests would continue to be
between .05-07 from FY 2019-23 if the legal limit remained at .08, the blue bars in the figure
below would serve as our baseline/expected number of arrests under the old statute. Under this
assumption, all arrests above and beyond the expected average from these four years before the
statute change can be considered excess arrests that would not have occurred under the old
statutory limit (orange part of bars in FY 2019-23), and this serves as our estimate of additional
arrests post-statute change.

Given this logic and the assumptions behind it above, we can estimate that there were 765
additional arrests in FY 2023 than would have been expected under the previous legal limit of .08
(7.3% more than the expected 10,481 arrests without a change). This is the highest to date,
though prior years also added a significant number of arrests (including 520 in FY 2020 and 488
in FY 2021; the 260 additional estimated in FY 2019 are for the six months after the new legal limit
was implemented). Up until FY 2023, overall DUl-related arrest totals had remained fairly stable
(including a historic low number in FY 2019), and it was unclear whether there was no effect of the
statute change or, alternatively, if the change itself is what stabilized the trend (and it would have
continued to decrease without the change). This is still not entirely clear, and it is likely there are
other benefits generated that are worth the added arrests (i.e., BACs at the highest levels (>.15)
have decreased substantially in this period, down from 51% in FY 2018 to 38% in FY 2023).

DUI Arrests by FY with Estimate* of Additional Arrests Post-

Statute Change
*New DUI Statute (BAC > .05) Effective 1/1/19; Estimate based on percent of arrests at .
05-.07 level above average during 4-yr period before change (4.7% FY2015-18) 11,246
10,802 10,762
» 10,755 » 10.532 10,619
10,383 4 10,413
488
9,995
1
1
2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

M Baseline M Additional .05-.07 (Est.)

14
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Arrests by Violation Type

The distribution of DUI-related arrests by type of violation in FY 2023 was similar to previous years
(see Table A9 in Appendix), with the vast majority (82%) for per se violations. Per se violations
occur when the driver has a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) greater than the legal limit
(.05 as of December 30, 2018), or is impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two to the
extent it is unsafe to operate a vehicle. 13% of arrests were for refusal to submit to a chemical
test — under Utah law, drivers are considered to have given consent to tests of breath, blood,
urine, or oral fluids to determine whether they are driving under the influence of alcohol and/or
other drugs. Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 who drove with
any measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for 4% of the arrests (similar to FY
2020-22). It is also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite of a
controlled substance in a person’s body — this accounted for less than 1% of arrests, continuing
a downward trend from 4% in FY 2019. Arrests of commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit
also represented less than 1% of the total.

The figures below show how the distribution of violation types has varied over the past ten years
(per se violations were left out, as these have not varied much from an average of 81% over this
period). Arrests involving violations of the Not a Drop statute (< 21 years old) have remained fairly
stable as a percentage of overall arrests over the past ten years, while those involving a positive
drug metabolite test have decreased in the past four years. The second figure shows the raw
number of arrests for drug metabolite and Not a Drop violations. After almost tripling from FY 2014
to FY 2018, drug metabolite arrests in FY 2023 increased slightly but were still close to a ten-year
low. In contrast, while Not a Drop arrests are still well below the number from ten years ago in FY
2014, the 446 arrests for this statute in FY 2023 were still up 52% from the low pointin FY 2019.

DUI-Related Arrest Violation Type % FY2014-23

0,
13.9%  13.4%

11,3%/ —— V\
4.3% 3.8% 4.1% 3.9% 3.9%
1.3% —

08% 2%  0.3%

2.1%
2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

====Refusal of Test ====Drug Metabolite ====Not a Drop (<21)

15
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472

398

DUI-Related Arrests - Selected Violation Types

432

446

2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

=== Drug Metabolite

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Overtime Enforcement Events

2020

e==Not a Drop (<21)

2021

2022

2023

The arrests made in SFY 2023/FFY 2023 included those that occurred during specialized DUI
overtime enforcement events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI
checkpoints. State funding from DUl impound fees collected, as well as federal funding from the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), was used to fund the overtime shifts
coordinated through the Utah Highway Safety Office. Law enforcement agencies throughout Utah
participated, including local police agencies, sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, and
university police departments. The table below shows the measures associated with these
specialized DUI overtime enforcement events. The total DUI shifts worked were up (+27%) from
2022 levels after several years of decline, with vehicles stopped (+26%), DUI arrests (+13%), and
all other indicators also increasing significantly in the past year as a result.

Statewide DUI Overtime Enforcement e Fedorally- Totals
Events SFY 2023* FFY 2023*

DUI Shifts Worked 4,283 858 5,141
Vehicles Stopped 35,956 8,518 44,474
DUI Arrests** 1,372 179 1,551
Vehicles Impounded 1,176 155 1,331
Alcohol-Related Arrests*** 908 139 1,047
Drug-Related Arrests**** 1685 239 1,924
Warrants Served 706 108 814
Other Warnings/Citations 40,389 7,210 47,599
Designated Drivers Observed/Documented 220 44 264
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*SFY 2023 = July 1, 2022 — June 30, 2023; FFY 2023 = October 1, 2022 — September 30, 2023

**Includes 873 DUl/alcohol-related, 560 DUI/drug-related, and 118 metabolite arrests

***Includes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase,
Not a Di

**(*)*Ifelorr?yp‘)and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession)
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3

Crashes, Injuries, & Fatalities

Each year, the Department of Public Safety’s Highway Safety Office tracks the number of
crashes, injuries, and fatalities related to DUIs involving both alcohol and drugs by calendar year
(see Tables A10 and A11 in the Appendix for the full data tables for each). The following three
sections will discuss each of these separately.

DUI-Related Crashes

Out of a total of 59,006 automobile crashes in 2022 (calendar year), a very small percentage were
related to either alcohol (1.5%) or drug (less than 1%) DUIs. There are consistently more alcohol-
related crashes than drug-related crashes, and both have been fairly steady over the past 7 years. It
should be noted that the Highway Safety Office recently changed how they define alcohol- and drug-
related crashes and injuries (next section), only including those with alcohol- and drug-positive data
(and excluding cases where each are only suspected). Because of this, numbers are significantly
lower than in previous reports. The 908 DUI/alcohol-related crashes in CY 2022 were down slightly
over 2021 levels, while the 219 DUI/drug-related crashes in CY 2022 were up 16% from 2021.

m DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes
m DUI/Drug-Related Crashes

iy [T

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

Calendar Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
Note: DUl/alcohol-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol; DUI/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs
and no alcohol. These numbers no longer include alcohol- and drug-suspected data; only alcohol- and drug-positive data are now counted.
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DUI-Related Injuries

The trends for DUI-related injuries are very similar to those seen for crashes. Once again, a
small percentage of the 17,613 total injured persons involved in automobile crashes in 2022
(calendar year) were related to either alcohol (1.3%) or drug (1.0%) DUIs. In addition, there
have consistently been more persons injured in alcohol-related crashes per year, though the
231 persons injured in alcohol-related crashes in 2022 is a significant decrease (-35%) from
2021. The 176 persons injured in drug-related crashes in 2022 was up 7% from 164 in 2021.

m DUI/Alcohol-Related Injured Persons

m DUI/Drug-Related Injured Persons
320 317 313

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
Calendar Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
Note: DUl/alcohol-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol; DUI/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs
and no alcohol. These numbers no longer include alcohol- and drug-suspected data; only alcohol- and drug-positive data are now counted.

DUI-Related Fatalities

As seen in the figures on the next page, DUI-related fatalities involving both alcohol and
drugs continued to be at 10-year highs in 2022. The 69 alcohol-related fatalities in 2022 were
more than double (+156%) the 27 fatalities in 2019, and up 13% over the 61 in 2021 which
had been the previous 10-year high. Despite this recent volatility, alcohol-related fatalities
have been more consistent over the past ten years than drug-positive driver fatalities. After
leveling off somewhat between 2015-17, drug-positive driver fatalities have jumped 99% from
76 in 2017 to 151 in 2022, including an increase of 19% from 2021 (127) to 2022. Over the
past ten years, drug-positive driver fatalities have increased almost every year (with the sole
exception of 2014), and have grown more than three-fold (+235%), from 45 in 2013 to 151 in
2022. In recent years, drug-positive driver crashes have been more deadly, with almost as
many fatalities as injuries. For example, in 2014, there were 111 DUI/drug-related crashes
with 71 injured persons and 38 fatalities, while in 2022, there were 219 DUI/drug-related
crashes with 176 injured persons and 151 fatalities. On the other hand, there has consistently
been significantly more injured persons than fatalities in DUIl/alcohol-related crashes.
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m DUI/Alcohol-Related Fatalities 151
m DUI/Drug-Positive Driver Fatalities

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

Calendar Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

Note: DUl/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of = .08 (= .05 starting January 1, 2019).
DUI/drug-positive driver fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08 (< .05 starting January 1, 2019). Drug
presence does not imply impairment.

The figure below shows the trend in overall crash fatalities, and the share that are attributable
to DUI (both alcohol-related and drug-positive) versus non-DUI crash fatalities. Overall crash
fatalities were down slightly to 319 in 2022 from 328 in 2021, but still up significantly from 248
in 2019 (+29%). While there was an overall decline in crash fatalities in 2022, the share
attributable to DUls increased from 188 in 2021 to 220 in 2022 (+17%). The proportion of
crash fatalities attributable to DUIs (both alcohol and drug) has grown from 26% in 2012 to
69% in 2022.

B DUI Fatalities - All (Alcohol + Drug) 328 319
E Non-DUI Fatalities
278 281 273 276
256 269 248 140
217 220
110
174 173 161 129 125
173
166 188
13 123
112
83 104 108

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
Calendar Year
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Even with less overall crash fatalities in 2022, both alcohol-related and drug-positive driver
fatalities increased, and they made up a greater percentage of all fatalities. Unlike crashes and
injuries, these DUI-related fatalities make up a far greater percentage of total crash fatalities in a
given year. Of the 319 total crash fatalities in 2022, 22% were alcohol-related (up from 19%) and
47% involved a drug-positive driver fatality (up from 39%). As seen in the figure below, crashes
involving drug-positive drivers have become increasingly fatal over the past 8 years (compared to
2014 levels that were more in line with alcohol-related crash fatalities).

% of Overall Crash Fatalities - Alcohol 47.3%
=% of Overall Crash Fatalities - Drug-Positive Drivers 42.7%

38.7%

20.5%

14.8%

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
Calendar Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

Note: DUl/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of = .08 (= .05 starting January 1, 2019).
DUI/drug-positive driver fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08 (< .05 starting January 1, 2019). Drug
presence does not imply impairment.

Drug Positive Driver Test Results in Fatal Crashes - Drug Types

The most common drugs found in drug positive tests in fatal crashes in 2022 were stimulants
(e.g., methamphetamine, amphetamines, cocaine; N = 96), depressants (e.g., barbiturates,
sedatives; N = 92), marijuana/THC (N = 74), and opioids/narcotic analgesics (e.g., oxycodone,
hydrocodone, morphine, heroin, fentanyl; N = 34). The figure below shows the trends over the
past ten years for these four most common drug types found in positive drug tests of drivers in
fatal automobile crashes. Positive tests for all four drug types in fatal crashes jumped considerably
in 2022, particularly depressants (up 156% from 36 in 2021 and a staggering 475% from 16 in
2020). Stimulant positive tests jumped 41% from 68 in 2021 (also up 317% since 2019).
Marijuana positive tests in 2022 continued a slower increase in recent years, up 48% from 50 in
2021 to 74 in 2021, though this 2022 number is almost triple the 2017 number (27). Opioid
positive tests had stayed relatively low for four consecutive year after peaking in 2017, but also
jumped 70% from 20 in 2021 to 34% in 2022. It should be noted that a driver in a fatal crash can
test positive for more than one drug as well as alcohol (when the BAC is greater than the legal
limit, the fatality would count as an alcohol-related fatality even with a positive drug test — there
were 187 total combined substance-related fatalities in 2021). See Table A12 in the Appendix for
the full data related to this topic.
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Drug-Positive Driver Fatalities - Drug Types

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
Calendar Year

e=m=Stimulants e===Qpiates === Marijuana/THC ====Depressants

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
Note: DUI/drug-positive driver fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08 (< .05 starting January 1, 2019). Drug
presence does not imply impairment. More than one drug may be present in a positive test result.
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Adjudications and Sanctions

DUI-related offenses are classified as either misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type of
offense and whether it is a repeat offense.

e In general, first and second DUI offenses (within 10 years) are classified as Class B
misdemeanors.

e A first or second DUI offense (within 10 years) is classified as a Class A misdemeanor if it
involves bodily injury, a passenger who is under 16 years of age, a passenger under 18
years of age if the driver is 21 or older, or if the driver was driving in the wrong direction on
a freeway or controlled-access highway.

e A DUI offense is classified as a 3rd degree felony if it is a third or subsequent offense
within 10 years, if it involves serious bodily injury, or if the person has any prior felony DUI
conviction or automobile homicide conviction.

Utah’s Justice Courts, which are established by municipalities and counties, handle offenses
classified as Class B misdemeanors, Class C misdemeanors, violations of local ordinances, small
claims, and infractions committed within their territorial jurisdiction. Justice Court jurisdictions are
determined by the boundaries of the local government entities (e.g., city or county), which hire the
judges. On the other hand, District Courts are the state trial courts of general jurisdiction. These
courts have original jurisdiction to try all civil cases, all criminal felonies, and misdemeanors in
certain circumstances. DUI offenses classified as Class A misdemeanors and felonies are under
the jurisdiction of the state’s District Courts.

DUI-Related Cases and Outcomes

Utah courts disposed 12,165 total DUI-related cases in FY 2023, up 12% from FY 2022. Of these
cases, 8,280 (68%) were handled by Utah’s Justice Courts (up 8% from FY 2022), while 3,885 (32%)
were handled by the state’s District Courts (up 21% from FY 2022; see Table A13). The percentage of
cases disposed of by Justice Courts has decreased somewhat over the past ten years.

DUI-Related Case Disposition Court Type % FY2014-23

0,
72.6% 70.5% 68.1%

27.4% 20.5%  31.9%

2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

% Justice Court e % District Court
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
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It should be noted that the share of Court cases filed as A level misdemeanors (MA) in
District Court (vs. at the MB level, which go to Justice Courts) was significantly impacted by
H.B. 143, which passed in the 2022 Legislative Session but went into effect for FY 2023. As
seen above, the percentage of cases disposed of by the District Courts jumped from 30% in
FY 2022 to 32% in FY 2023 (associated with a 21% increase in cases), and H.B. 143 was
likely a significant driver in this shift of cases from Justice Courts to District Courts.

Of the 8,280 DUI-related cases disposed by Utah’s Justice Courts during FY 2023, 78%
resulted in a guilty plea or equivalent verdict. A slightly higher rate was found in the District
Courts, as 83% of the 3,885 cases disposed also resulted in a guilty plea or equivalent
verdict. See Table A14 in the Appendix for the overall disposition rates by court type, and
Tables A15-16 for dispositions by county for the Justice Courts and by judicial district for the
District Courts.

DUI-Related Sanctions

Additional DUI-related case information collected by the Courts can be found in Table A17 in the
Appendix. The data indicate that in FY 2023, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete
supervised (non-court) probation in 2,230 cases (34% of the total cases with a guilty plea or
verdict), ordered electronic monitoring in 560 cases (9%), and ordered ignition interlock devices in
1,249 cases (19%). Additionally, District Court judges ordered offenders to complete supervised
(non-court) probation in 2,235 cases (70% of the total guilty cases), ordered electronic monitoring
in 630 cases (20%), and ordered ignition interlock devices in 775 cases (24%).

Orders for Screening, Assessment, Treatment, and Education

See Table A18 in the Appendix for full data on substance use disorder screening and
assessment, substance use disorder treatment, and educational series court orders.

Screening & Assessment

As part of any sentence for a DUI-related offense, Utah law requires offenders to participate
in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment. A screening involves
gathering information that is used to determine if an individual has a problem with alcohol
and/or other drugs, and if so, whether an in-depth clinical assessment is appropriate. An
assessment is a collection of detailed information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or
other drug use, emotional and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the
individual’s life. The assessment is used to determine the need for substance use disorder
treatment.”

In FY 2023, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete substance use disorder
screening and assessment in 5,141 cases, which was 79% of the cases with a guilty plea or
verdict. The number of orders was up (+7%) from FY 2022. District Court judges were less
likely to order screening and assessment, with orders in 1,785 cases (56% of cases with a
guilty plea or verdict), though he total number of District Court orders was up significantly
(+29%) from FY 2022. Overall, 71% of DUI-related cases with a guilty plea or verdict were
ordered to screening and assessment.

' Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Among Adults in
the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7.
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Treatment

For a first and second DUI-related offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance use disorder treatment.
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change patterns of
behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to restore appropriate
levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning. Offenders assessed as meeting the
diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder should participate in a treatment program in
addition to, or in lieu of, the educational course.” Treatment should address both alcohol and
other substance use disorders. The level of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient,
intensive outpatient, residential) is determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of
the substance use disorder.

In FY 2023, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete substance use disorder
treatment in 3,336 cases, which was only 51% of the cases with a guilty plea or verdict. The
number of orders was up slightly (+2%) from FY 2022 (3,272), but the percentage remains
lower than the 61% achieved in FY 2020. District Court judges were somewhat more likely to
order treatment, with orders in 2,035 cases (63% of cases with a guilty plea or verdict). The
number and percentage of orders was up from FY 2022 (1,555 and 60%). Overall, 55% of
DUl-related cases with a guilty plea or verdict were ordered to treatment (the same
percentage as FY 2021 and FY 2022, but down from 60% in FY 2020).

As the figure below indicates, orders for substance use disorder treatment have been
generally increasing over the past ten years, even while DUI dispositions have remained
stable over the last 9 years of that period. Justice Court judge orders for treatment have
increased 55% since FY 2014, and District Court judge orders have more than tripled
(+230%) since FY 2014.

Treatment Orders in DUI-Related Cases by Court FY2014-23

W Justice Court 3272 3336
W District Court 3,018 2,085 3,031 3,028
2,747 5663

2,035

2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
Note: Earlier years may not have full participation of the Justice Courts reporting to the CORIS database.

2 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.
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Education

For a first DUI-related offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment. The purpose of
DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be related to use of
alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize the harmful consequences of
inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the dangers of drinking and driving.” Utah
DUI offenders sentenced to an educational series attend the PRIME For Life® (PFL) program
developed by the Prevention Research Institute (PRI). “PRIME For Life® is a motivational
intervention that provides education and strategies for individuals who have experienced problems
due to high-risk alcohol or drug use. PFL is an interactive experience designed to motivate and
guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more accurate beliefs about
personal risk that will support those low-risk choices. The program provides research-based, low-
risk guidelines and assists participants in making choices to best protect what they value.™

Not surprisingly, educational series orders were much more common in the Justice Courts. In
FY 2023, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete the educational series in 2,886
cases, which was 44% of the cases with a guilty plea or verdict. District Court judges only
ordered the educational series in 591 cases (18% of cases with a guilty plea or verdict).
Overall, 36% of DUI-related cases with a guilty plea or verdict were ordered to complete the
educational series.

The DUI Statutory Overview included at the end of this report provides detailed information regarding
DUl-related offense classifications and sanctions.

3 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.

4Stafford, P., Beadnell, B., Rosengren, D.B., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2012, April). PRIME For Life UTAH 2011
Evaluation Report Executive Summary. Lexington, KY: Prevention Research Institute.

26



21sT ANNUAL DUI REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE

The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or revoke the
license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following:

e Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs

¢ Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body
e Not a Drop violation (persons under 21 years of age)

e Refusal to submit to a chemical test

e Automobile homicide

¢ “No-alcohol” conditional license

e Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation

Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction

Hearing Statistics

A driver arrested for a DUl-related offense may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the
Driver License Division must schedule the hearing within 30 days. As shown in the table below,
there were 3,804 requested alcohol hearings held in FY 2023, up slightly from the 3,436 held in
FY 2022 but still down significantly from the 5,663 held in FY 2020. The Division is unable to take
any action against a driver if the arresting officer does not appear at the hearing. To improve
appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic option whereby officers or offenders can phone
in for the hearing. In 3,436 (90%) of the cases, at least one of the parties called in for the hearing.
In 1,403 (37%) of the cases, no action could be taken against the driver due to the absence of the
arresting officer at the hearing or other factors (down from 39% in FY 2022).

Total —_— Hearings Resulting in No Action
RUESRIRLE Ston Nl_re':zﬁ;:f Telephonic No Officer Other Total
No Action No Action No Action

Per Se Alcohol/Drug 3,159 2,838 974 239 1,213
Not a Drop (< 21) 115 99 41 6 47
Refusal of Chemical Test 530 499 117 26 143
TOTAL 3,804 3,436 1,132 271 1,403
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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APPENDIX: Associated Data Tables

The following tables provide more detailed data for information referenced in this report.
Note: If you linked to a table from the report, you may return to that page by clicking the link next
to the table title (e.g., “Return to p.10’).

Table A1. DUl-related Arrests by County and Region in FY 2023, Compared to Population (Retum

top.9)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2023 Utah Population
County By Arrest Location | By Arrestee Address (2022 Census)
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent
Beaver 32 0.2% 13 0.1% 7,327 0.2%
Box Elder 183 1.6% 145 1.3% 61,498 1.8%
Cache 351 3.1% 323 2.9% 140,173 4.1%
Carbon 87 0.7% 75 0.7% 20,571 0.6%
Daggett 7 0.1% 2 <0.1% 1,014 <0.1%
Duchesne 82 0.7% ) 0.7% 20,161 0.6%
Emery 45 0.4% 27 0.2% 10,099 0.3%
Garfield 19 0.2% 16 0.1% 5,281 0.2%
Grand 64 0.6% 52 0.5% 9,769 0.3%
Iron 239 2.1% 180 1.6% 62,429 1.8%
Juab 125 1.1% 40 0.4% 12,567 0.4%
Kane 77 0.7% 32 0.3% 8,227 0.2%
Millard 68 0.6% 36 0.3% 13,330 0.4%
Morgan 35 0.3% 26 0.3% 12,832 0.4%
Piute 1 <0.1% 2 <0.1% 1,487 <0.1%
Rich 12 0.1% 8 0.1% 2,628 0.1%
San Juan 123 1.1% 80 0.7% 14,359 0.4%
Sanpete 90 0.8% 100 0.9% 29,724 0.9%
Sevier 81 0.7% 62 0.6% 22,069 0.7%
Summit 238 2.1% 193 1.7% 43,036 1.3%
Tooele 355 3.2% 281 2.5% 79,934 2.4%
Uintah 186 1.7% 176 1.6% 37,141 1.1%
Wasatch 301 2.7% 212 1.9% 36,619 1.1%
Washington 837 7.4% 703 6.2% 197,680 5.8%
Wayne 2 <0.1% 6 0.1% 2,645 0.1%
Non-Wasatch/Rural 3,640 32.4% 2,869 25.5% 852,600 25.2%,
Davis 973 8.7% 835 7.4% 369,948 10.9%
Utah 1,988 17.7% 1,862 16.5% 702,434 20.8%
Weber 943 8.4% 930 8.3 269,561 8.0%
Other Wasatch Front 3,904 34.7% 3,627 32.3% 1,341,943 39.7%
Salt Lake 3,702 32.9% 3,928 34.9% 1,186,257 35.1%
Out of State 0 - 823 7.3%
TOTAL 11,246 100% 11,246 100% 3,380,800 100%
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Table A2. DUI-related Arrest Rates* by County and Region, FY 2014-23 (Retumn to p.10)

Fiscal Year

County/Region 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023
Beaver 75.9 | 1006 | 74.0 | 108.3 | 115.9 | 100.3 | 83.5 | 86.3 | 81.4 | 43.7
Box Elder 256 | 272 | 35.7 | 282 | 309 | 28.0 | 28.7 | 36.2 | 28.0 | 29.8
Cache 27.3 | 221 | 26.2 | 216 | 243 | 186 | 26.0 | 24.0 | 30.4 | 25.0
Carbon 31.0 | 29.0 | 31.3 | 36.3 | 47.8 | 434 | 435 | 529 | 55.0 | 42.3
Daggett 35.5 | 62.7 0.0 9.1 389 | 612 | 316 | 321 | 51.2 | 69.0
Duchesne 729 | 559 | 446 | 438 | 504 | 37.6 | 346 | 50.5 | 48.0 | 40.7
Emery 63.3 | 51.7 | 338 | 411 | 466 | 56.9 | 46.9 | 53.9 | 50.2 | 44.6
Garfield 33.4 | 358 2.0 38.1 | 453 | 276 | 376 | 53.1 | 46.8 | 36.0
Grand 99.4 | 105.0 | 107.2 | 741 | 74.4 | 100.4 | 88.2 | 55.8 | 455 | 65.5
Iron 56.6 | 58.2 | 43.8 | 399 | 58.2 | 339 | 374 | 349 | 288 | 38.3
Juab 715 | 58.2 | 98.2 | 96.3 | 103.1 | 109.0 | 104.9 | 140.0 | 101.2 | 99.5
Kane 799 | 689 | 61.7 | 491 | 449 | 324 | 355 | 483 | 71.3 | 93.6
Millard 50.5 | 55,5 | 69.6 | 90.6 | 99.5 | 73.8 | 70.5 | 64.0 | 69.1 | 51.0
Morgan 17.7 | 33.0 | 30.7 | 245 | 26.1 | 23.2 | 206 | 211 | 158 | 27.3
Piute 19.9 | 20.2 | 19.8 6.8 211 | 27.7 | 33.8 | 34.8 | 40.3 6.7

Rich 65.6 | 436 | 30.3 | 216 | 209 | 487 | 28.2 | 916 | 154 | 45.7
San Juan 454 | 439 | 393 | 314 | 501 | 64.7 | 745 | 785 | 89.7 | 85.7
Sanpete 223 | 256 | 20.2 | 269 | 310 | 271 | 242 | 36.9 | 36.1 | 30.3
Sevier 772 | 505 | 319 | 28.2 | 511 | 385 | 37.0 | 204 | 18.7 | 36.7
Summit 62.1 | 655 | 56.3 | 51.9 | 399 | 57.2 | 522 | 498 | 51.5 | 55.3
Tooele 58.3 | 636 | 60.8 | 63.1 | 53.8 | 549 | 448 | 51.0 | 36.3 | 444
Uintah 69.5 | 499 | 475 | 36.6 | 395 | 545 | 54.8 | 47.7 | 456 | 50.1
Wasatch 586 | 711 | 95.7 | 947 | 639 | 40.3 | 634 | 68.1 | 68.3 | 82.2
Washington 279 | 322 | 311 | 30.7 | 334 | 320 | 31.8 | 43.8 | 453 | 423
Wayne 3.6 11.0 3.7 3.7 7.4 149 | 40.6 | 282 | 274 7.6

Non-Wasatch/Rural 43.6 | 429 | 419 | 401 | 42.2 | 39.0 | 39.7 | 43.9 | 42.2 | 42.7
Davis 254 | 248 | 26.3 | 266 | 248 | 250 | 26.3 | 24.2 | 24.3 | 26.3
Utah 27.7 | 285 | 285 | 26.1 | 25.8 | 26.2 | 26.8 | 27.8 | 26.1 | 28.3
Weber 425 | 514 | 444 | 424 | 388 | 323 | 28.7 | 30.1 | 27.0 | 35.0
Other Wasatch Front | 30.2 | 32.3 | 31.2 | 29.6 | 28.2 | 27.2 | 271 | 27.2 | 25.8 | 29.1
Salt Lake 41.2 | 37.2 | 36.8 | 38.0 | 33.2 | 314 | 344 | 304 | 29.5 | 31.2
Statewide TOTAL 376 | 36.7 | 359 | 353 | 33,5 | 31.6 | 329 | 325 | 31.2 | 33.3

Source for DUI Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Source for Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division

*Arrest Rates are the number of arrests per 10,000 population
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Table A3. DUI-Related Arrests by Gender (Return to p.11)

DUI-Related Arrests FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023
by Gender Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Male 7,834 73.8% 7,704 74.0% 8,244 73.3%
Female 2,552 24.0% 2,498 24.0% 2,716 24.2%
Unspecified 233 2.2% 211 2.0% 286 2.5%
TOTAL 10,619 100% 10,413 100% 11,246 100%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Table A4. DUI-Related Arrests by Age (Return to p.11)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023
by Age Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Ages 14-20 1,287 12.1% 1,145 11.0% 1,163 10.3%
Ages 21-24 1,473 13.9% 1,383 13.3% 1,529 13.6%
Ages 25-36 3,914 36.9% 3,840 36.9% 4,041 35.9%
Ages 37-48 2,465 23.2% 2,508 24.1% 2,836 25.2%
Ages 49-87 1,480 13.9% 1,537 14.8% 1,677 14.9%
TOTAL 10,619 100% 10,413 100% 11,246 100%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Table AS5. DUI-Related Arrests by Agency Type (Return to p.11)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023
by Agency Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent
Sheriffs’ Offices 1,295 12.2% 1,385 13.3% 1,559 13.8%
City Police/Other 6,067 57.1% 6,036 58.0% 6,164 54.8%
Highway Patrol 3,257 30.7% 2,992 28.7% 3,523 31.3%
TOTAL 10,619 100% 10,413 100% 11,246 100%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Table A6. DUI-Related Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) (Return to p.11)

DUI-Related Arrests FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023

by BAC Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent

BAC Result Not Reported* 5,167 | 48.7% | 5,208 | 50.0% | 5,272 | 46.9%

.00 -.04 150 1.4% 463 4.4% 269 2.4%

.05-.07 387 3.6% 320 3.0% 516 4.6%

.08 - .10 640 6.0% 503 4.8% 687 6.1%

A1-.15 1,184 | 11.1% 975 9.3% 1,337 | 11.9%

16 -.20 995 9.4% 856 8.2% 993 8.8%

21-.25 514 4.8% 448 4.3% 485 4.3%

.26 - .43 271 2.6% 239 2.9% 238 2.1%

Refused BAC Test 1,311 12.3% 1,401 13.0% | 1,449 | 12.9%

TOTAL 10,619 | 100% | 10,413 | 100% | 11,246 | 100%

related arrest and there was no BAC.

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
*Arrestee may have submitted to a blood test, but the Driver License Division never received the results, or this was a DUI/drug-
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Table A7. Repeat Offenders by Type of DUl-related Arrest (Return to p.11)

Note: The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest. Data were calculated by identifying
arrests that occurred in FY 2023 as a starting point, then counting back ten years to determine previous arrests. Each arrest
was placed in a column determined by the type of the arrest or violation.

FY 2023
Arrest :Iicralizl Rei;L:csaI Not a Drug Commercial | Unknown TOTAL
Type | (.05)/ | Chemical | D"P | Metabolite | Dfiver | (nobox
(<21) (.04) marked)
Offense Drug Test Number | Percent
qst 6,786 985 400 24 5 7 8,207 73.0%
2nd 1,626 330 16 5 1 0 1,978 17.6%
3rd 558 124 19 4 0 1 706 6.3%
4t 179 41 5 1 0 0 226 2.0%
5th 55 21 5 0 0 0 81 0.7%
6t"-10th 33 14 1 0 0 0 48 0.4%
TOTAL | 9,237 1,515 446 34 6 8 11,246 100%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
Table A8. DUI-related Arrests by Month (Returmn to p.11)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023
by Month Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
July 874 8.2% 962 9.2% 994 8.8%
August 967 9.1% 866 8.3% 960 8.5%
September 866 8.2% 844 8.1% 944 8.4%
October 876 8.3% 877 8.4% 1,007 9.0%
November 814 7.7% 859 8.2% 881 7.8%
December 857 8.1% 783 7.5% 873 7.8%
January 896 8.4% 868 8.3% 967 8.6%
February 839 7.9% 824 7.9% 792 7.0%
March 947 8.9% 938 9.0% 971 8.6%
April 875 8.2% 881 8.5% 931 8.3%
May 898 8.5% 885 8.5% 928 8.3%
June 910 8.6% 826 7.9% 998 8.9%
TOTAL 10,619 100% 10,413 100% 11,246 100%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
Table A9. Arrests by Violation Type (Return to p.15)
DUI-Related Arrests FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 Percent
by Violation Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent CJJ?Q %e
Per se Alcohol/Drug 8,726 82.2% 8,499 81.6% 9,237 82.1% 8.7%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,362 12.8% 1,444 13.9% 1,515 13.4% 4.9%
Drug Metabolite 84 0.8% 22 0.2% 34 0.3% 54.5%
Not a Drop (< 21) 432 4.1% 407 3.9% 446 3.9% 9.6%
Commercial Driver (.04) 11 0.1% 15 0.1% 6 0.1% -60.0%
Unknown (no box marked) <0.1% 26 0.2% 8 0.1% -69.2%
TOTAL 10,619 100% 10,413 100% 11,246 100% 8.0%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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Table A10. DUI/Alcohol-related Crashes, Injuries, and Fatalities by Calendar Year (Return to

p.17)
DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2013-2022
Crashes Injuries Fatalities

Calendar Total DUl/ Percent Total AIDULI I Percent Total DUl/ Percent

Year . ° ; Alcohol DU/ Injured | co ‘; DU/ Crash Alcohol DUl
rashes Crashes* Alcohol Persons Pglr‘;:fns Alcohol Fatalities Fatalities** Alcohol

2013 55,463 751 1.3% 15,618 260 1.6% 220 23 10.5%
2014 52,089 776 1.4% 15,753 280 1.7% 256 45 17.6%
2015 57,526 920 1.5% 17,064 320 1.8% 278 37 13.3%
2016 62,363 896 1.4% 18,324 317 1.7% 281 36 12.8%
2017 62,855 862 1.3% 18,085 299 1.6% 273 36 13.1%
2018 62,073 928 1.4% 17,976 330 1.8% 260 48 18.4%
2019 64,594 932 1.4% 18,454 335 1.8% 248 27 10.8%
2020 51,630 895 1.7% 15,899 336 21% 276 48 17.3%
2021 61,462 918 1.4% 18,247 313 1.7% 328 61 18.5%
2022 59,006 908 1.5% 17,613 231 1.3% 319 69 21.6%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*DUI/Alcohol-Related crashes include incidents where a driver tested positive for any level of alcohol.

**DUI/Alcohol-Related fatal crashes and fatalities show the number of crashes where at least one of the drivers tested positive

for alcohol and had a BAC of > 0.05 percent starting December 31, 2018 or > 0.08 percent prior to that date.

Table A11. DUI/Drug-related Crashes, Injuries, and Fatalities by Calendar Year (Return to p.17)

DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2013-2022
Crashes Injuries Fatalities

Calendar Total DUI/Drug- Percent Total D'glllntrudg' Percent Total PD".jtg' P;rcent

Year c o:: Related DUI/Drug- Injured | ea ed DUI/Drug- Crash Ss.' fve P “.'tg'
rashes Crashes* Related Persons Pr;jrl;:fns Related Fatalities Fatarlli‘tliirs** sz;t':g

2013 55,463 110 0.19% | 15,618 69 0.44% 220 45 20.5%
2014 52,526 111 0.21% | 15,753 71 0.45% 256 38 14.8%
2015 57,526 146 0.25% | 17,064 90 0.52% 278 67 24.1%
2016 62,363 188 0.30% | 18,324 143 0.78% 281 72 25.6%
2017 62,855 174 0.27% | 18,085 129 0.71% 273 76 27.8%
2018 62,073 213 0.34% | 17,976 171 0.95% 260 83 31.9%
2019 64,594 200 0.30% | 18,454 136 0.73% 248 96 38.7%
2020 51,630 242 0.46% | 15,899 166 1.04% 276 118 42.7%
2021 61,462 188 0.30% | 18,247 164 0.89% 328 127 38.7%
2022 59,006 219 0.37% | 17,613 176 0.99% 319 151 47.3%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*DUl/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.

**Drug-related crashes and fatalities include the number of crashes resulting from one or more drivers who had a positive

drug test.

Note: Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment. For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after

any impairment that might affect driving has passed. Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of

alcohol is well understood, little evidence is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance.
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Table A12. Drug-positive Driver Test Results in Fatal Crashes by Drug Type & Calendar Year

(Retum to p.20)
Calendar Year 2013-22

Drug Category 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022
Stimulants 26 7 23 22 41 28 23 34 68 96
Depressants 12 6 20 33 22 27 37 16 36 92
Marijuana/THC 10 21 38 26 27 29 36 43 50 74
Opioids/Narcotics 12 12 14 28 32 16 18 16 20 34
Dissociative Anesthetics 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 0 0 0
Hallucinogens 0 0 2 0 0 1 1 0 0 1
Other Drug 23 7 17 9 2 1 2 44 6 4
Unknown Type 2 1 0 2 13 11 3 0 0 0

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUl/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.
**Drug-related crashes and fatalities include the number of crashes resulting from one or more drivers who had a positive drug test.

Note: Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment. For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after any impairment that
might affect driving has passed. Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of alcohol is well understood, little evidence
is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance.

Table A13. DUI-related Cases Disposed by Court Type and Fiscal Year (Return to p.23)

S FY 2021 | FY 2022 | FY 2023 | ‘“eChange
Justice Courts 7,260 7,650 8,280 +8.2%
District Courts 2,921 3,202 3,885 +21.3%
Total Cases Disposed 10,181 10,852 12,165 +12.1%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Table A14. DUI-related Case Disposition Outcomes by Court Type in FY 2023 (Return to p.24)

Case Disposition Outcome
Guilty Not Guilty
Court Equivalent* | Equivalent*® Other*
Justice Courts 6,492 1,669 119
Percent 78.4% 20.2% 1.4%
District Courts 3,208 558 119
Percent 82.6% 14.4% 3.1%
Total Cases Disposed 9,700 2,227 238
Percent 79.7% 18.3% 2.0%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
Note: This table does not depict the Justice Courts’ or District Courts’ actual conviction rate, as it includes only
cases disposed during FY 2020; pending cases were not included.
* Guilty-Equivalent = Guilty, No Contest, and Plea in Abeyance; Not Guilty Equivalent = Dismissed, Declined
Prosecution, and Not Guilty; Other = Deceased, Diversion, Transferred, and Remanded.
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Table A15. DUI-related Case Disposition Outcomes for Justice Courts by County in FY
2023 (Return to p.24)

FY 2023 Justice Court DUI-Related Outcomes by County
c * S - * e

S |58 | £ 5 3 5 | 3% 8 | © 8% $ S

] 8¢ ] 2 5 o Q< o o a3 s P
County a @ B a L 2 2 z =
Beaver 5 16 21
Box Elder 47 134 1 1 2 187
Cache 44 207 4 256
Carbon 1 9 79 1 6 97
Daggett 2 3 5
Davis 80 387 12 1 4 488
Duchesne 15 29 5 50
Emery 11 25 1 1 38
Garfield 5 17 4 26
Grand 18 42 1 61
Iron 22 109 6 1 138
Juab 3 32 3 45 2 4 86
Kane 8 42 1 1 1 53
Millard 14 38 1 53
Morgan 6 10 1 17
Piute 1 1 2
Rich 2 8 10
Salt Lake 13 570 2,244 78 4 6 33 2,954
San Juan 2 14 72 90
Sanpete 16 42 7 2 67
Sevier 5 27 5 62 3 1 98
Summit 33 123 1 6 1 2 176
Tooele 5 125 5 195 4 3 333
Uintah 1 37 1 93 16 1 3 152
Utah 9 244 933 108 1 1 4 1,302
Wasatch 1 44 148 19 1 2 1 217
Washington 10 94 469 64 1 638
Wayne 2 7 9
Weber 87 1 516 22 2 20 656
Totals 16 36 1,624 0 17 6,096 1 362 8 17 91 8,280
Percent 0.0% | 0.0% | 19.6% | - 0.0% | 73.6% | 0.0% | 4.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 1.1% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Note: This table does not depict the Justice Courts’ actual conviction rate, as it includes only cases disposed during FY 2023; pending cases were
not included.

*Dismissed includes both w/o prejudice and w/prejudice; Forfeiture includes Bail Forfeiture; Guilty includes Guilty-Bench, Guilty-Jury, and Guilty
Plea; Not Guilty includes Not Guilty-Jury; Transferred includes Set Aside; and Totals exclude Blanks.
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Table A16. DUI-related Case Disposition Outcomes for District Courts by District in FY 2023

(Retun to p.24)
FY 2023 District Court DUI-Related Outcomes by Judicial District
o T~ | T3 - o — @ ! o| T °
e | 2T | 85| 8 | » | 45| 3 | L2 & | &, =8| & | & o
© 29 | 20 o = =2 ' =8 S 52| g6 = 2 ©
- S |Eo | Ea| ¢ | 3 38| 2 |35 o |93 27| g | 2 3
Judicial 3 23 | 23 5 o = Os o o o o o G [
. X (el s o Z Z © (12 =
District
1t 31 8 214 1 1 2 3 1 261
2nd 40 24 612 3 1 12 5 11 708
3rd 3 129 53 838 2 8 1 3 30 2 1,069
4t 1 76 67 2 746 1 1 60 3 3 44 1,007
5th 2 48 7 334 1 2 10 4 4 2 414
6 2 17 22 145 1 5 1 1 194
7 1 9 82 2 1 1 1 97
gt 1 3 19 105 1 6 135
Totals 9 345 | 209 2 3,076 2 11 1 104 14 46 62 3,885
Percent 0.0% | 8.9% | 54% | 0.0% | 79.2% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 2.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 1.2% | 1.6% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
Note: This table does not depict the District Courts’ actual conviction rate, as it includes only cases disposed during FY 2023; pending cases were not included.

Table A17. Sanctions in DUI-related Cases by Court Type and Fiscal Year (Return to p.24)

DUI-Related Case Information and Sanctions FY 2021 | FY 2022 | FY 2023
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 116 113 112
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 6,605 7,477 7,883
Justice Courts | 5,188 5,586 5,879
District Courts 1,417 1,591 2,004
Ignition Interlock Ordered 1,444 1,791 2,024
Justice Courts 992 1,241 1,249
District Courts 452 550 775
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 3,542 3,806 4,465
Justice Courts | 1,980 2,096 2,230
District Courts 1,562 1,710 2,235
Electronic Monitoring 719 961 1,190
Justice Courts 428 589 560
District Courts 291 372 630

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts
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Table A18. Court Orders for Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment, Substance
Use Treatment, and Educational Series by Court Type and Fiscal Year (Retumn to p.24)

DUI-Related Case Court Orders FY 2021 | FY 2022 | FY 2023
Substance Use Disorder Screening & Assessment Ordered 5,792 6,166 6,926
Justice Courts | 4,434 4,783 5,141
District Courts 1,358 1,383 1,785
Substance Used Disorder Treatment Ordered 4,514 4,827 5,371
Justice Courts 3,028 3,272 3,336
District Courts 1,486 1,555 2,035
Educational Series Ordered 3,459 3,381 3,477
Justice Courts | 2.940 2,879 2,886
District Courts 519 502 591

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Figure A1. Blood Alcohol Concentration and Likely Effects on Driving® (Retum to p.11)

Some likely effects on driving

.15%
About 7 beers

.10%
About 5 beers

.08%

About 4 beers

.05%

About 3 beers

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Levels

02%

About 2 beers

Adapted from The ABCs of BAC, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2005, and How to Control

e Serious difficulty controlling the car and focusing on driving

* Markedly slowed reaction time
 Difficulty staying in lane and braking when needed

* Trouble controlling speed

e Difficulty processing information and reasoning

* Reduced coordination and ability to track moving objects

» Difficulty steering

e Loss of judgment

e Trouble doing two tasks at the same time

Your Drinking, WR Miller and RF Munoz, University of New Mexico, 1982.

The number of beers
listed represents the

approximate amount
of alcoho! that a
160-pound man would
need to drink in one
hour to reach the listed
BAC in each category.

5 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Vitalsigns, Drinking and Driving: A Threat to Everyone, October 2011.
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DUI Statutory Overview
The latest (May 2023) statutory overview for DUI offenses can be found on the following pages

(Return to Table of Contents)
(Return to p.26)
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UTAH DUI STATUTORY OVERVIEW'2

Court-Ordered
Sentencing

CLASSIFICATION
(§41-6a-503)

(Current as of May 2023)

MISDEMEANOR DUI

FIRST CONVICTION

FIRST CONVICTION
PLUS

e BAC .16 or higher

e BAC .05 or higher + any
controlled substance

e Combination of two or
more controlled
substances

SECOND CONVICTION
WITHIN 10 YEARS

SECOND CONVICTION

WITHIN 10 YEARS PLUS
e BAC .16 or higher
e BAC .05 or higher + any controlled
substance
e Combination of two or more controlled
substances?

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR
CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:
e if passenger is under 16*

e if passenger is under 18 and driver is 21 or older
e if driving in the wrong direction on a divided or

controlled-access highway

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR

Jail
(§41-6a-505)

SHALL order:

2 days OR 48 hours

compensatory service
MAY:
Suspend jail time if
individual is
participating in 24/7
sobriety program;®
Convert jail time to
electronic home
confinement'® or
order two-day
increments if
requirements are
met'!

SHALL order not less than:

e 5days OR

e 2 days AND 30 days
consecutive electronic
home confinement* that
includes substance abuse
testing

MAY:

Suspend jail time if

individual is participating

in 24/7 sobriety

program;® Convert jail

time to electronic home

confinement'® or order

two-day increments if

requirements are met'"

SHALL order not less than:

e 10 days OR

e 5 days AND 30 days electronic
home confinement® that includes
substance abuse testing

MAY:

Suspend jail time if individual is

participating in 24/7 sobriety

program AND serves:

e 5 days jail for a second offense or

e 10 daysg’ail for third/subsequent
offense;

Convert jail time to electronic home

confinement'® or order two-day

increments if requirements are met"!

SHALL order:

e Not less than 20 days jail OR

e 10 days jail AND 60 consecutive days
electronic home confinement* that
includes substance abuse testing OR

o Not less than 10 days jail AND substance
use tx (if tx is more likely to reduce
recidivism and is in interest of public
safety)

MAY:

Suspend jail time if individual is participating

in 24/7 sobriety program AND serves:

e 5 days jail for a second offense; or

e 10 days jail for third/subsequent offense;®

Convert jail time to electronic home

confinement'® or order two-day increments if

requirements are met'"

Increased
Sentencing
(§41-6a-505)

SHALL order unless
described on the record why
the order(s) not appropriate:
e Treatment and
One or more of the
following:
e Interlock
e Ankle attached
continuous
transdermal alcohol
monitoring device
Electronic home confinement

SHALL order unless described on the record
why the order(s) not appropriate:
e Treatment and
One or more of the following:
e Interlock
e Ankle attached continuous
transdermal alcohol monitoring device
Electronic home confinement

Supervised
Probation’
(§41-6a-507)

MAY order supervision

SHALL order supervised probation




Court-Ordered MISDEMEANOR DUI

Sentencing FIRST CONVICTION SECOND CONVICTION WITH IN 10 YEARS
Fine, Surcharge, SHALL order: SHALL order:
and Court $700 minimum fine plus a $800 minimum fine plus a
Security Fee $630 surcharge plus a $720 surcharge plus a
(§41-6a-505) $60 court security fee (justice court) or $53 (district court) $60 court security fee (justice court) or $53 (district court)
(§51-9-401)
Screening, SHALL order: SHALL order:
Assessment, e Screening e Screening
Educational Series, | e Assessment (if found appropriate by screening) e Assessment (if found appropriate by screening)
and Treatment e Educational series, unless treatment is ordered e Educational series, unless treatment is ordered
(§41-6a-505) MAY order: MAY order:
e Treatment e Treatment
24-7 sobriety program 24-7 sobriety program
Impaired A conviction may NOT be entered as impaired driving if:* Impaired driving is unavailable after first offense.
Driving BAC .16 or higher; @ BAC .05 or higher + any measurable
(§41-6a-502.5) controlled substance; e Combination of two or more
controlled substances that were not prescribed by a
licensed physician or medical cannabis as defined in §26-
61a; or e any prior conviction as defined in §41-6a-501(2)

Ignition SHALL order unless:

Interlock® e The court determines and states on the record that an ignition interlock system is not necessary for the safety of the community and in the best
(§41-6a-518) interest of justice.

(§41-6a-530) SHALL order:

e |Interlock if under %1
Interlock for an ARD " violation OR describe on the record why such order not appropriate

Driver License Court MAY order additional 90 days, 120 days, 180 days, one year or two years
Suspension Court MAY shorten suspension periods for a convicted DUI defendant under the age of 21 if the defendant: completes at least six months of
(§41-6a-509) suspension, completes a screening, completes an assessment as appropriate, completes substance abuse treatment or educational series as

appropriate, has not committed any traffic offense during suspension, has complied with probation, and provides an affidavit that the defendant
has not unlawfully consumed alcohol.

" The DUI Statutory Overview was formerly called the DUI Sentencing Matrix. The DUI Statutory Overview is not a substitute for reference to the Utah State Code. It does not constitute legal advice and is not legally binding. It does
not create any right or expectation on behalf of an offender or any party within the criminal justice system.

2 2022’s HB 29 created new offense for Negligent Operation of a Vehicle Resulting in Injury (76-5-102.1), which replaced a prior statutory scheme using injuries to enhance DUI offenses. Because this new statute directs the
sentencing authority to refer to the sentencing guidelines and other factors, this offense is not reflected in the DUI Statutory Overview. Note, however, that 76-5-102.1(5)(b) prohibits a court from imposing a lesser sentence than
what would be available under DUI sentencing statutes (41-6a-505), which are reflected in this overview.

3 A combination of two or more controlled substances may only be considered if the substances are not (A) prescribed by a licensed physician; or (B) recommended in accordance with Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical
Cannabis Act.

4 A person is guilty of a separate offense for each passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense that is under 16 years old.

5 See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions.

8 If an individual fails to successfully complete all the requirements of the 24/7 sobriety program, the court shall impose the suspended jail sentence or prison sentence.

7 Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517(14)(a) (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body).

8 Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a condition of probation. Note: If a person’s violation of Section 41-6a-502 does not

involve alcohol, the requirement to order ignition interlock does notapply.

9 ARD = Alcohol Restricted Driver.

10 A jail sentence may be converted to electronic home confinement with stipulation of both parties and approval from the judge (§41-6a-505(12)(b))

" A court may order a jail sentence imposed as a condition of misdemeanor probation to be served in multiple two-day increment at weekly intervals if the court determines the defendant can serve the statutorily required jail term
and maintain employment as described in (§41-6a-505(12)©




UTAH DUI STATUTORY OVERVIEW

CLASSIFICATION
(§41-6a-503)

(Current as of May 2023)

FELONY DUI

THIRD DEGREE FELONY PLUS:

e BAC .16 or higher

e BAC .05 or higher + any measurable controlled
substance

e Combination of two or more substances®

THIRD DEGREE FELONY

o if third or subsequent DUI offense within 10 years

e f any prior felony DUI conviction or negligent
operation of a vehicle resulting in injury conviction

Jail
(§41-6a-505)

SHALL order:
0-5 year prison term OR
e 60 days jail AND
e 60 days consecutive electronic home
confinement that includes substance abuse
At$sting

SHALL order
0-5 year prison term OR
e Not less than 120 days jail AND
e 120 days consecutive electronic home confinement
that includes substance abuse testing
MAY:
: o ) Convert jail time to electronic home confinement® or
Convert jail time to electronic home : order two-day increments if requirements are met'’
confinement'® or order two-day increments if
requirements are met'’

Fine, Surcharge, and Court Security Fee
(§41-6a-505)
(§51-9-401)

SHALL order:
$1,500 minimum fine plus a
$1,350 surcharge plus a
$53 court security fee,
UNLESS a 0-5 prison term is imposed

Screening, Assessment, Educational Series, and
Treatment
(§41-6a-505)

SHALL order:
e Screening
o Assessment
e Treatment as appropriate
UNLESS 0-5 prison term is imposed
MAY order:
24-7 sobriety program®

Supervised Probation’
(§41-6a-507)

SHALL order supervised probation if 0-5 prison term is not imposed

Ignition Interlock®
(§41-6a-518)
(§41-6a-530)

SHALL order unless:
The court determines and states on the record that an ignition interlock system is not necessary for the safety of]
the community and in the best interest of justice.

Driver License Suspension
(§41-6a-509)

Court MAY order additional 90 days, 120 days, 180 days, one year or two years

Court MAY shorten suspension periods for a convicted DUl defendant under the age of 21 if the defendant:
completes at least six months of suspension, completes a screening, completes an assessment as appropriate,
completes substance abuse treatment or educational series as appropriate, has not committed any traffic offense
during suspension, has complied with probation, and provides an affidavit that the defendant has not unlawfully
consumed alcohol.




The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a court order. Failure to comply carries additional criminal

sanctions.
Statutory Provisions

FIRST OFFENSE | SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation

Driving Under the Influence/ DUI
Conviction
(§41-6a-509)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21st
birthday

If under 19: Until 21st birthday

If 21 or older: 2 years
If 19-20: Longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday
If under 19: Until 21st birthday

Driving with Controlled Substance/
Metabolite in Body Conviction
(§41-6a-517)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21st
birthday

If under 19: Until 21st birthday

If 21 or older: 2 years
If 19-20: Longer of two years or until 21st birthday
If under 19: Until 21st birthday

Refusal of Chemical Test
(§41-6a-521)

If 21 or older: 36 months
If under 21: Longer of 36 months or until 21st birthday

If 21 or older: 18 months
If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21st
birthday

Per se Arrest

(§53-3-223)

2 .05 BAC, impaired todegree unsafe to drive, operating with
metabolite of drug insystem

If 21 or older: 120 days
If under 21: 6 months

If 21 or older: 2 years
If under 21: Longer of 2 years of until 21st birthday

Not A Drop
(§53-3-231)

A person under 21 may not operate a vehicle or motorboat with
detectable alcohol in body

If under 21: Until successful completion of
substance abuse program recommendation,
but not less than 6 months

If under 21: Until successful completion of substance abuse program
recommendation, and the longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday

Failure to Install or Removal of Ignition
Interlock Device
(§53-3-1007)

A person who is an interlock restricted driver (IRD) shall have their driving privilege suspended until they have had an,
interlock device installed in their vehicle. If the interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the interlock
restriction period, the driver license shall be re-suspended until an interlock device is re-installed. This suspension may be
imposed in addition to other license sanctions as listed above.

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Un

der 21

Driving Under the Influence/DUI
Conviction First Conviction
(§41-6a-509)

Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months if the person completes a screening; completes an
assessment if appropriate; completes an education series or substance abuse treatment, as deemed appropriate by the
court; has not been convicted of a violation of a motor vehicle law during the suspension period; has complied with all
terms of probation or all court orders if not ordered to probation; and provides a sworn statement to the court that the
person has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period.

Driving with Controlled Substance/
Metabolite in Body Conviction

First Conviction
(§41-6a-517)

Same as above but sworn statement must include the person has not consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by
a practitioner during the suspension period.

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers 21

or Older

Driving Under the Influence/DUI
Conviction First Conviction

(§41-6a-509)

Court may order individual to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program, which allows for early reinstatement of the driving
privilege upon payment of driver license reinstatement fees and ignition interlock installation. Provision does not apply if
the person refused to submit to a chemical test when arrested for DUI. Person is not able to reinstate their driving
privilege unless all other outstanding license sanctions have been cleared.

Driving with Controlled Substance/
Metabolite in Body Conviction
First Conviction

(§41-6a-517)

Court may order individual to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program, which allows for early reinstatement of the driving
privilege upon payment of driver license reinstatement fees. Provision does not apply if the person refused to submit to a
chemical test when arrested for DUIL. Person is not able to reinstate their driving privilege unless all other outstanding
license sanctions have been cleared.




Other Sanctions

IRD — Interlock Restricted Driver
(§41-6a-518.2)

An “interlock restricted driver” may not operate a motor vehicle
without an ignition interlock.

Note: If a person’s violation of Section 41-6a- 502 does not involve alcohol, or if all
offenses are for metabolite convictions under Section 41- 6a-517 (no alcohol involved),
IRD does not apply.

¢ 18 months IRD for 15t DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21 or refused blood draw (§41-6a-520.1(1))

e 3 years IRD for 1%t Driving Without Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), Refusal to Submit to Chemical
Test (§41-6a-520), or 15t DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21 or refused blood draw if under 21 (§41-6a-520.1(1))

¢ 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years: DUI (§41-6a-502), Refusal to Submit to
Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-Related Reckless (§41-6a-
512 — only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled
Substance/Bodily Injury or Death (§58-37-8(2)(g)), or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

¢ 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or 2nd+ offense for refused blood draw (§41-6a-520.1(1))

* 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

ARD - Alcohol Restricted Driver
(§41-6a-529)
An “alcohol restricted driver” may not operate or be in actual
physical control of a vehicle with any measurable or detectable
amount of alcohol in the person’s body.

. Note: If Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does not apply.

. Note: A person under the age of 21 is an alcohol restricted driver

e 2 years ARD for 15t DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol/Drug-Related Reckless (§41-6a-512), or Impaired Driving (§41-6a-
502.5

2 yea?‘s ARD for any Per se offense (§53-3-223)

¢ 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with alcohol in body if an ARD (§41-
6a-530) offense

¢ 5 years ARD for 15t Refusal to Submit to Test (§41-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (§41-6a-502)

» 10 years ARD for 2™ offense within 10 years, DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol/Drug-Related Reckless (§41-6a-512), or
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5)

¢ 10 years ARD for 2™ offense of Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (§41-6a-520.1(1)) if prior suspension for prior
refusal within 10 years (41-6a-520(7))

* 10 years ARD for felony violation of refusal to submit to chemical test 41-6a-520.1(1))

o Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)
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